DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim(s) 1-4 is/are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claims 1-4, “INSECT LARVAE FATTENING MODULE” should be in lowercase and include a/the in the forefront.
Appropriate correction is required.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the
The required means for rearing the insect larvae, as it pertains to claim 1.
The automation systems, the valves and of the water and power connections, as it pertains to claim 1.
A means for folding away the mat, as it pertains to claim 3.
must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Interpretation
The limitation “the required means” in claim 1 is being interpreted as what is positively required in the body of the claim below the preamble. .
The limitation “means for folding the mat” in claim 4 is being interpreted as any manual/automatic means that can fold the mat reasonable to one of ordinary skill in the art.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim(s) 1-4 is(are) rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The claims are generally narrative and indefinite, failing to conform with current U.S. practice. They appear to be a literal translation into English from a foreign document and are replete with grammatical and idiomatic errors.
Claim 1 recites “the interior of which”. There is a lack of antecedent basis.
Claim limitation “the required means for rearing insects” has been evaluated under the three-prong test set forth in MPEP § 2181, subsection I, but the result is inconclusive. Thus, it is unclear whether this limitation should be interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claims as well as the specification do not disclose what constitutes these means. The boundaries of this claim limitation are ambiguous; therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
In response to this rejection, applicant must clarify whether this limitation should be interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. Mere assertion regarding applicant’s intent to invoke or not invoke 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph is insufficient. Applicant may:
(a) Amend the claim to clearly invoke 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, by reciting “means” or a generic placeholder for means, or by reciting “step.” The “means,” generic placeholder, or “step” must be modified by functional language, and must not be modified by sufficient structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function;
(b) Present a sufficient showing that 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, should apply because the claim limitation recites a function to be performed and does not recite sufficient structure, material, or acts to perform that function;
(c) Amend the claim to clearly avoid invoking 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, by deleting the function or by reciting sufficient structure, material or acts to perform the recited function; or
(d) Present a sufficient showing that 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, does not apply because the limitation does not recite a function or does recite a function along with sufficient structure, material or acts to perform that function.
Claim 1 recites “the required means”. There is a lack of antecedent basis. Further it is not clear what is structurally required by this recitation? The specification does not define what the required means for rearing the insect larvae is thereby rendering the claim vague and indefinite.
Claim 1 recites “the insect larvae”. There is a lack of antecedent basis.
Claim 1 recites “a hot or cold water conditioning pipe (8) on their bottom” However, it is unclear what structure’s bottom is being referred to thereby rendering the claim vague and indefinite?
Claim 1 recites “the feed substrate”. There is a lack of antecedent basis.
Claim 1 recites “to which is added an air ventilation duct” However, it is unclear what structure the air ventilation duct is being added to thereby rendering the claim vague and indefinite?
Claim 1 recites “the cabling of temperature”. There is a lack of antecedent basis.
Claim 1 recites “the outside”. There is a lack of antecedent basis. Further it is unclear what is being referred to as “outside” in this recitation.
Claim 1 recites “wherein the machinery chamber (2) is open to the outside by means of
a micro-perforated plate (12) for the air intake to permit adequate functioning of a heating and cooling aerothermal device (13) and accommodates the control elements for the automation systems, the valves and of the water and power connections as well as an electrical panel (14)”. However, it is not clear what is being positively required in this limitation. Additionally, there is no detailed mention in the specification or shown in the figures making it unclear what is required of the micro-perforated plate/a heating and cooling aerothermal device/control elements for the automation systems, valves, water and power connections/electric panel.
Claims 2-4 are rejected based on their dependency on a rejected base claim.
Claim 2 recites “the adult larvae and fertilizer waste” there is a lack of antecedent basis.
Claim 3 recites “ a heat insulation (9)” however, it is unclear if this is the same heat insulation plate recited in claim 1 or not.
Claim 3 recites “a heat insulation (9) can be arranged on the bottom” However, it is unclear what structure’s bottom is being referred to thereby rendering the claim vague and indefinite? Further the recital of “can be” renders the claim indefinite since it is unclear if it is positively required or not.
Claim 3 recites “the vertical sides (20)” there is a lack of antecedent basis.
Claim 3 recites “the evacuation adult larvae and fertilizer waste” there is a lack of antecedent basis.
Claim limitation “a means for folding away the mat is arranged.” has been evaluated under the three-prong test set forth in MPEP § 2181, subsection I, but the result is inconclusive. Thus, it is unclear whether this limitation should be interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claims as well as the specification do not disclose what constitutes these means. The boundaries of this claim limitation are ambiguous; therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
In response to this rejection, applicant must clarify whether this limitation should be interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. Mere assertion regarding applicant’s intent to invoke or not invoke 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph is insufficient. Applicant may:
(a) Amend the claim to clearly invoke 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, by reciting “means” or a generic placeholder for means, or by reciting “step.” The “means,” generic placeholder, or “step” must be modified by functional language, and must not be modified by sufficient structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function;
(b) Present a sufficient showing that 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, should apply because the claim limitation recites a function to be performed and does not recite sufficient structure, material, or acts to perform that function;
(c) Amend the claim to clearly avoid invoking 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, by deleting the function or by reciting sufficient structure, material or acts to perform the recited function; or
(d) Present a sufficient showing that 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, does not apply because the limitation does not recite a function or does recite a function along with sufficient structure, material or acts to perform that function.
Claim 3 recites “a means for folding away the mat is arranged”. It is unclear what the means for folding away the mat is and where it is arranged. The specification, as well as the drawings, do not disclose specifically what the means for folding away the mat is. Thereby rendering the claim vague and indefinite.
Claim 4 recites ” the bottom (21) of the fixed and continuous longitudinal trays (4)” there is a lack of antecedent basis.
Claim 4 recites “ a heat insulation plate(9)” however, it is unclear if this is the same heat insulation plate recited in claim 1 or not.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Baptistan et al. herein Baptistan (US 20220217957 A1) in view of Sabeg et al. herein Sabeg (US 20200323173 A1).
Regarding claim 1:
Baptistan discloses:
INSECT LARVAE FATTENING MODULE, (abstract and figs)
formed in a large space or room, (room of 2000, fig 6)
the interior of which has been equipped with the required means for rearing the insect larvae, (2020+2010+2030+1000, para0130-0132)
characterized in that the module is formed inside at least one container (1), (inside 1000, fig 1)
wherein two differentiated chambers are arranged within the same container (1) (1000 within 2000, fig 6, para0126)
and which are arranged to form a machinery chamber or container (2)(fig 6)
and another larvae rearing chamber or container (3), (1000, fig 1)
in which a set of fixed and continuous longitudinal trays (4) (1100,1200,1300,para0076-0078)
are arranged supported by shelves (5) at different levels, (see fig 1)
which have folds (6) at their edge to prevent larvae from escaping, (1101, para0104)
which in addition have a hot or cold water conditioning pipe (8) on their bottom (7) (1150,1250,1350, para0090)
and a heat insulation plate (9) extending on the outside of the bottom, (see plate surrounding 1150+1250+1350)
all of which is arranged such that the trays receive the feed substrate and the larvae to be reared, (para0068)
to which is added an air ventilation duct (10) for drying the substrate (2030,2010,2020,para0130-0133)
and a channel (11) for the cabling of temperature control sensors of the substrate arranged above each tray, (channel of 1100+1200+1300 fig 1 that receives temperature control sensors 1104,1204,1304 above trays 1100,1200,1300, para0089)
wherein the machinery chamber (2) is open to the outside by means of a micro-perforated plate (12) (aeration control device, para0131-0132)
for the air intake to permit adequate functioning of a heating and cooling aerothermal device (13) and accommodates the control elements for the automation systems, the valves and of the water and power connections as well as an electrical panel (14) (para0130-0134,0138).
Baptistan doesn’t disclose:
humidity control sensors of the substrate arranged above each tray
Sabeg discloses:
humidity control sensors of the substrate arranged in each tray (para0102)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the tops of the trays of Baptistan such that they comprised a humidity control sensor for each tray as disclosed by Sabeg to ensure proper humidity within the container to optimize rearing.
Regarding claim 2:
Baptistan as modified discloses claim 1 and further discloses:
characterized in that the adult larvae and fertilizer waste are evacuated from the trays by means of a movable pneumatic suction system (15), which discharges through a flexible nozzle (16) into a hopper (17) or tank outside the container. (para0115-0118)
Regarding claim 3:
Baptistan as modified discloses claim 1 and further discloses:
characterized in that the conditioning pipe (8) covered by a heat insulation (9) can be arranged on the bottom (7) of the fixed and continuous longitudinal trays (4) supported by the shelves (5) at different levels, (see trays 1100,1200,1300 supported by shelves at different levels fig 1)
so that the bottom of the tray is flat, enabling a movable strong fabric or canvas mat (18) to be arranged thereon, on which the feed substrate with the larvae can be received and which is able to move longitudinally over the tray by means of rails (19) arranged on the vertical sides (20) of the trays facilitating the evacuation of the adult larvae and fertilizer waste through an open end of the tray, where a means for folding away the mat is arranged. (para0119)
Regarding claim 4:
Baptistan as modified discloses claim 1 and further discloses:
characterized in that the bottom (21) of the fixed and continuous longitudinal trays (4) can be inclined towards a lateral of the tray, where a longitudinal cavity (22) is formed for accommodating a worm screw (23), the conditioning pipe (8) covered by a heat insulation plate (9) being arranged on the outside of the inclined bottom, all of which is arranged such that the worm screw conveys the adult larvae and fertilizer waste to a lower discharge pipe (24) of the trays. (para0115,0119)
Conclusion
The cited prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/SHADA MOHAMED ALGHAILANI/ Examiner, Art Unit 3643
/PETER M POON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3643