DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 1, 15, and 16 recite “when a tracking error…occurs, resets the measurement region, based on the Depth imaging”. It is not clear from the claim language, what is attributed to the tracking error and the steps involved in resetting the measurement region based on the Depth imaging (in terms of when a tracking error of the ROI due to movement of the patient, automatic search for an ROI is performed based on the Depth image and the ROI can be automatically reset to continue respiratory monitoring [Specification, 0033-0038]). Therefore, it is suggested claims 1, 15, and 16 further define tracking error in terms of patient movement, etc., followed by automatic search for the ROI based on the depth image and resetting the ROI automatically to continue respiratory monitoring.
It is also not clear how the error is tracked with respect to the requirement for the display indicating the error with a message indicating the error and after display of the tracking error of the ROI is started, automatic ROI search is performed to automatically reset the ROI.
“If it is determined in step S5 that a tracking error has occurred, then in step S6, the respiration region detection unit 32 outputs to the display control unit 24 information indicating that a tracking error of the ROI has occurred. The display control unit 24 displays on the monitoring screen the information indicating that a tracking error has occurred, thereby displaying the error. On the monitoring screen, a message or icon indicating that a tracking error of the ROI has occurred is displayed” [0073].
“After the display of the tracking error of the ROI is started, automatic ROI search processing is performed in step S7. After an ROI is automatically reset by the automatic ROI search processing, the processing of step S1 and subsequent steps is repeated. The automatic ROI search processing performed in step S7 will be described later with reference to a flowchart of Fig. 11” [0074].
It is therefore suggested claims provide clarifying language (as explained above) with respect to the “tracking error” and resetting the ROI automatically with respect to the display indicating the error. The dependent claims do not provide additional clarity and therefor stand rejected under 112(b).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception in the form of an abstract idea, specifically a mental process, without significantly more. The claim(s) recite(s) “resetting…the measurement region, based on the Depth image”. The limitations, under broadest reasonable interpretation, cover performance of the limitation in the mind, but for the recitation of generic computer components, and/or read on analyzing an image by visual inspection by a user. In this case, “resetting…the measurement region, based on the Depth image” can be practically performed in the mind by a user/physician viewing the RGB image and Depth image, through visual inspection. If a claim limitation under its broadest reasonable interpretation covers performance of the limitation in the mind but for the recitation of generic computer components (i.e. a processor), then it falls within the “mental processes” grouping of abstract ideas.
Following step 2A of the two-prong analysis, these judicial exceptions are not integrated into a practical application because the claim merely provides instructions to implement an abstract idea and makes no mention of whether a generic computer (i.e. “using a computer processor”) is used to do so (See MPEP 2106.05(f)). Furthermore, the claims as written do not include elements to 1) improve the functioning of a computer (See MPEP 2105.05(a)); 2) effect a particular treatment or prophylaxis (See MPEP 2106.04(d)(2)); 3) use a particular machine (See MPEP 2106.05(b)); or 4) use the judicial exceptions in a meaningful way beyond generally linking the use to a particular technological environment (See MPEP 2106.05(h)).
Following step 2B of the two-prong analysis, the additional element(s) (i.e. acquiring RGB image, tracking based on the RGB image) do not amount to significantly more than the judicial exception the computer is simply the tool used to perform the abstract idea of resetting the measurement region based on the Depth image(See MPEP 2106.05(f)).
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claim is directed to a program causing a computer to execute a set of instructions. Signals, being transitory are also capable of executing instructions. Therefore, it is suggested that the claim language include the term “non-transitory computer-readable media”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 15, and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choi et al. (2020/0138292).
With respect to claims 1, 15, and 16, Choi et al. teach of a monitoring system, method, and computer program with image processing unit to acquire an RGB image and a Depth image of a patient [0068]. Choi et al. teach of the use of the RGB measurement and the Depth measurement to track measurement region set in a respiration region of the patient and interchangeably using Depth imaging or RGB camera based on respiratory analysis and metric extraction [0076]. Choi et al. teach of Depth image indicating Depth values relative a certain locations on the patient (such as face or body) and can be correlated between thermal CO2 and depth images to provide depth estimates for the pixels identified as belonging to the exhale flow and provides a spatial measurement of the exhale pixels and the distance measurement between adjacent pixels [0014, 0148]. Choi et al. teach of the measurement region based on Depth image in case of errors in measurement region [0135-0137].
With respect to claim 2, Choi et al. teach of the image processing unit acquiring the RGB image and the Depth image that are captured by an RGB camera 2590 and depth camera 2580 [0139].
With respect to claim 3, Choi et al. teach of tracking the measurement region by using Depth image together with RGB image [0076, 0079].
With respect to claim 4, Choi et al. teach of tracking the measurement region based on an image feature amount of the measurement region in the RGB image and Depth image such as breathing rate, tidal volume, CO2 density estimation are used to represent the unique features of a subject’s pulmonological profile [0149, 0150].
Choi et al. do not explicitly teach of the measurement region based on Depth image in case of errors in measurement region [0135-0137] but do not explicitly teach of resetting the measurement region. Under broadest reasonable interpretation, Choi et al. teach of obtaining measurement by employing depth imaging to provide important information about the exhale behavior in view of errors that may be present to measure exhale behavior without depth imaging such as thermal cameras to detect CO2 [0135]. It would have therefore been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the various embodiments to use a RGB camera as an alternate to the thermal camera and combining the RGB camera imaging and with Depth imaging [0068, 0076] and in case of errors, proceed with Depth imaging to effectively measure exhale behavior.
Claim(s) 5 and 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choi et al. in view of Benaron (2015/0148625). Choi et al. do not explicitly teach of determining the respiratory condition based on the frequency feature amount. In a related field of endeavor Benaron teaches of a sensor and method for monitoring respiratory states based on the frequency feature amount and produce frequency-space data set where suppression or removal of certain frequency ranges and back conversion to spectral data would effectively separate the heartbeat and respiratory compartment [0211, 0213]. Benaron also teaches of calculating frequency feature amount of the measurement region by analyzing waveform data indicating changes in depth values [0195-0197, 0214]. With respect to claim 7, Choi et al. teach of performing selection of regions that are to be candidates for the measurement region based on respective Depth values [0143, 0145]. It would have therefore been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use the teaching by Benaron to modify Choi et al. to provide for real-time sensing of various respiration measurements including respiratory rate with improved sensing and reliability [Benaron, 0023, 0026].
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choi et al. in view of Prasad et al. (2021/02101476). Choi et al. teach of computing the respiratory rate as a function of exhale flow model and provide rate as a measure of the time between the transition between inspiratory and expiratory states to form a continuous waveform and scalar unit of the breathing rate [0062]. But do not teach of waveform data indicating changes in luminance values and waveform data indicating changes in the amount of movement of a subject in a planar direction. In a similar field of endeavor Prasad et al. teach of determining 3D depth estimation of a patient structure [0015] using depth cameras [0017-0019] with movement, poste, position change tracking of the subject [0044]. Prasad et al. teach of capturing RGB images of the patient position along with the depth images including waveform data indicating changes in luminance values [0062, 0073, 0074]. Prasad et al. also teach of correcting depth images and/or adjusting the depth camera settings with increased accuracy of patient imaging [0109]. It would have therefore been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use the teaching by Prasad et al. to modify Choi et al. to provide an accurate estimation of patient structure and orientation and eliminate loss of depth information due to uneven exposure [Prasad, 0003].
Claim(s) 12-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choi et al. in view of Prasad et al. and further in view of Benaron (2015/0148625). The previous references do not explicitly teach of determining the respiratory condition based on the frequency feature amount. In a related field of endeavor Benaron teaches of a sensor and method for monitoring respiratory states based on the frequency feature amount and produce frequency-space data set where suppression or removal of certain frequency ranges and back conversion to spectral data would effectively separate the heartbeat and respiratory compartment [0211, 0213]. Benaron teaches of display providing results, feedback, warning to the user with respect to the respiratory data [0108, 0123, 0183]. Benaron also teaches of calculating a respiration rate from peak frequency in frequency feature amount [0195-0197]. It would have therefore been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use the teaching by Benaron to modify the previous teachings to provide for real-time sensing of various respiration measurements including respiratory rate with improved sensing and reliability [Benaron, 0023, 0026].
Conclusion
BR
/BAISAKHI ROY/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3797