DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-6 are pending.
This Action is Non-Final.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 11 August 2025 and 05 October 2026 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: each “unit configured to” in claims 1-5. These limitations are considered to have the required structure in the Specification.
Based on the claims invoking 35 U.S.C. 112(f), the claims are considered to have a combination of hardware and software and as such properly fall into a statutory class of invention under 35 U.S.C. 101 rather than being software per se.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claim 2 recites that an identifier is “in the user”. It is unclear how an identifier could be “in the user”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Barrera et al. (US 20190190915) in view of Mohamad Abdule et al. (US 20200007530).
As per claims 1 and 6, Barrera et al. teaches a method and authorization apparatus comprising: a reception unit configured to receive a communication system use authorization request from a network node apparatus based on a registration request sent from a second terminal for which a first terminal acts as a parent (see paragraphs [0047] and [0063]-[0064);
a control unit configured to, based on an identifier of the second terminal contained in the communication system use authorization request, obtain from a data storing apparatus an identifier of the first terminal and, using the identifier of the first terminal, obtain from the first terminal information indicating that consent has been obtained for the second terminal to connect to the network (see paragraph [0065] where sending text message or email message based on account information must look up the phone number or the email address); and
a transmission unit configured to transmit information to use a communication system, based on the consent and on condition that the second terminal is authenticated (see paragraph [0067]).
The Barrera et al. system fails to explicitly disclose transmitting authorization information that authorizes the second terminal to use a communication system.
However, Muhamed Abdul et al. teaches the receiving of a registration request (see paragraph [0231]), receiving consent from a different device (see paragraph [0232]) and transmitting authorization information that authorizes the second terminal to use a communication system based on the consent and on a condition that the second terminal is authenticated (see paragraphs [0230] and [0235]-[0238]).
At a time before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, to include the authorization information of Muhamed Abdul et al. in the Barrera et al. system.
Motivation, as recognized by one of ordinary skill in the art, to do so would have been to automate the authorization on the second terminal.
As per claim 2, the modified Barrera et al. and Muhamed Abdul et al. system discloses the identifier of the second terminal includes an identifier representing a user, and wherein the control unit obtains the identifier of the first terminal from the data storing apparatus using the identifier representing the user (see Barrera et al. paragraph [0065]).
As per claim 3, the modified Barrera et al. and Muhamed Abdul et al. system discloses the identifier of the second terminal includes the identifier representing the user and an identifier, in the user, for identifying the second terminal (see Barrera et al. paragraph [0065] and Muhamed Abdul paragraph [0232]).
As per claim 4, the modified Barrera et al. and Muhamed Abdul et al. system discloses the authorization apparatus as claimed in A communication system comprising: the authorization apparatus as claimed in and an access and mobility management apparatus, the access and mobility management apparatus comprising a control unit configured to execute an authentication procedure for the second terminal based on an ID token generated based on the authorization information (see Muhamed Abdul et al. paragraphs [0232]-[0236]).
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the modified Barrera et al. and Muhamed Abdul et al. system as applied to claim 4 above, and further in view of Dao et al. (US 20170272121).
As per claim 5, the modified Barrera et al. and Muhamed Adbul et al. system fails to explicitly disclose the control unit of the access and mobility management apparatus generates information corresponding to subscriber information of the second terminal, using subscriber information of the first terminal and information pre-configured in a user information exposure apparatus.
However, Dao et al. teaches the control unit of the access and mobility management apparatus generates information corresponding to subscriber information of the second terminal, using subscriber information of the first terminal and information pre-configured in a user information exposure apparatus (see paragraphs [0059]-[0061]).
At a time before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include the subscriber information of Dao et al. in the modified Barrera et al. and Muhamed Abdul et al. system.
Motivation, as recognized by one of ordinary skill in the art, to do so would have been to control access to cellular connections in addition to other accesses.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: the remaining references put forth on the PTO-892 form are directed to controlling access to resources.
/Michael Pyzocha/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2409