DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) was submitted on 08/11/2025. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the IDS is being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they include the following reference character(s) not mentioned in the description: “(a)” and “(b)” in Fig. 4; and “S810” in Fig. 8. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d), or amendment to the specification to add the reference character(s) in the description in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(b) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Specification
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Objections
Claims 1-2, 4-9, and 11-15 are objected to because of the following informalities (in order to maintain consistent terminology throughout the claims and in order to maintain clarity):
Claim 1, lines 3-4, the limitation “receives a user input through a touch screen” should be changed to “receives a user input through a touch screen of the display”;
Claim 1, lines 8-10, the limitation “wherein the controller adjusts touch sensitivity on the area of the display where the ultrasound image is displayed when it is determined that a foreign substance has come into contact with the area of the display” should be changed to “wherein the controller adjusts touch sensitivity of the touch screen on the area of the display where the ultrasound image is displayed when it is determined that the foreign substance has come into the contact with the area of the display”;
Claim 2, lines 2-3, the limitation “while a user input is received in an area with which the foreign substance has come into contact” should be changed to “while the user input is received in an area of the touch screen with which the foreign substance has come into the contact”;
Claim 2, lines 6-7, the limitation “adjusts the touch sensitivity of an area that is in contact with the foreign substance” should be changed to “adjusts the touch sensitivity of the area of the touch screen that is in contact with the foreign substance”;
Claim 4, line 2, the limitation “the recognition criterion for a valid input comprises” should be changed to “the recognition criterion for the valid input comprises”;
Claim 5, lines 3-5, the limitation “lowers the recognition criterion for a valid input and processes, as a valid input, a user input having a lower intensity than the recognition criterion for a valid input before the lowering on the ultrasound image” should be changed to “lowers the recognition criterion for the valid input and processes, as the valid input, the user input having a lower intensity than the recognition criterion for the valid input before the lowering of the recognition criterion on the ultrasound image”;
Claim 6, lines 4-5, the limitation “wherein, when it is determined that a foreign substance has come into contact with the setting button, the controller freezes the ultrasound image” should be changed to “wherein, when it is determined that the foreign substance has come into the contact with the setting button, the controller freezes the ultrasound image”;
Claim 7, lines 2-6, the limitation “when it is determined that a foreign substance has come into contact with the setting button, the controller raises the recognition criterion for a valid input, and processes a user input on the setting button with an intensity greater than the recognition criterion for a valid input before the raising, as an invalid input” should be changed to “when it is determined that the foreign substance has come into the contact with the setting button, the controller raises the recognition criterion for the valid input, and processes the user input on the setting button with an intensity greater than the recognition criterion for the valid input before the raising of the recognition criterion, as an invalid input”;
Claim 8, lines 3-5, the limitation “displaying an ultrasound image generated based on an ultrasound signal generated from a transducer of a probe and receiving a user input through a touch screen” should be changed to “displaying, on a display, an ultrasound image generated based on an ultrasound signal generated from a transducer of a probe and receiving a user input through a touch screen of the display”;
Claim 8, line 7, the limitation “a display” should be changed to “the display”;
Claim 8, lines 8-10, the limitation “wherein, when it is determined that a foreign substance has come into contact with the area of the display where the ultrasound image is displayed, touch sensitivity on the area of the display is adjusted” should be changed to “wherein, when it is determined that the foreign substance has come into the contact with the area of the display where the ultrasound image is displayed, touch sensitivity of the touch screen on the area of the display where the ultrasound image is displayed is adjusted”;
Claim 9, lines 2-3, the limitation “while a user input is received in an area with which the foreign substance has come into contact” should be changed to “while the user input is received in an area of the touch screen with which the foreign substance has come into the contact”;
Claim 9, lines 6-7, the limitation “the touch sensitivity of an area that is in contact with the foreign substance is adjusted” should be changed to “the touch sensitivity of the area of the touch screen that is in contact with the foreign substance is adjusted”;
Claim 11, line 2, the limitation “the recognition criterion for a valid input comprises” should be changed to “the recognition criterion for the valid input comprises”;
Claim 12, lines 2-4, the limitation “the recognition criterion for a valid input is lowered and a user input having a lower intensity than the recognition criterion for a valid input before the lowering on the ultrasound image is processed as a valid input” should be changed to “the recognition criterion for the valid input is lowered and the user input having a lower intensity than the recognition criterion for the valid input before the lowering of the recognition criterion on the ultrasound image is processed as the valid input”;
Claim 13, lines 4-5, the limitation “when it is determined that a foreign substance has come into contact with the setting button, the ultrasound image is frozen” should be changed to “when it is determined that the foreign substance has come into the contact with the setting button, the ultrasound image is frozen”;
Claim 14, lines 2-6, the limitation “when it is determined that a foreign substance has come into contact with the setting button, the recognition criterion for a valid input is raised, and a user input on the setting button with an intensity greater than the recognition criterion for a valid input before the raising is processed as an invalid input” should be changed to “when it is determined that the foreign substance has come into the contact with the setting button, the recognition criterion for the valid input is raised, and the user input on the setting button with an intensity greater than the recognition criterion for the valid input before the raising of the recognition criterion is processed as an invalid input”;
Claim 15, lines 1-3, the limitation “A computer-readable recording medium including a program for executing an operating method of an ultrasound imaging device, wherein the recording medium comprises the program for executing” should be changed to “A non-transitory computer-readable recording medium including a program for executing an operating method of an ultrasound imaging device, wherein the non-transitory computer-readable recording medium comprises the program for executing”;
Claim 15, lines 5-7, the limitation “displaying an ultrasound image generated based on an ultrasound signal generated from a transducer of a probe and receiving a user input through a touch screen” should be changed to “displaying, on a display, an ultrasound image generated based on an ultrasound signal generated from a transducer of a probe and receiving a user input through a touch screen of the display”; and
Claim 15, lines 10-12, the limitation “wherein, when it is determined that a foreign substance has come into contact with the area of the display where the ultrasound image is displayed, touch sensitivity on the area of the display is adjusted” should be changed to “wherein, when it is determined that the foreign substance has come into the contact with the area of the display where the ultrasound image is displayed, touch sensitivity of the touch screen on the area of the display where the ultrasound image is displayed is adjusted”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. (US Patent No. 9,904,409 B2, of record, hereinafter Lee) in view of Grunwald et al. (US Patent No. 7,022,075 B2, of record, hereinafter Grunwald).
Regarding independent claims 1, 8, and 15, Grunwald discloses an ultrasound imaging device (Fig. 1: ultrasound system 100) (and a corresponding operating method of an ultrasound imaging device and a corresponding computer-readable recording medium including a program for executing an operating method of an ultrasound imaging device, wherein the recording medium comprises the program for executing the operating method) (see, e.g., Abstract, and Col. 7, lines 15-24, “The following description focuses on the presently preferred embodiment of this invention, which is typically operative in end-user ultrasound medical imaging. The present invention, however, is not limited to any particular application or any particular environment. Instead, those skilled in the art will find that the system and methods of the present invention may be advantageously applied to a variety of systems such as portable systems that may include a mobile telephone, a Personal Digital Assistant (PDA), and/or a portable computer”), the ultrasound imaging device (100) comprising:
a display (Fig. 1: output system 102, input/output device 114) that displays an ultrasound image generated based on an ultrasound signal generated from a transducer of a probe and receives a user input through a touch screen (see, e.g., Col. 7, lines 39-46, “Output system 102 may include any one of, some of, any combination of, or all of a monitor system, a handheld display system, a printer system, a speaker system, a connection or interface system to a sound system, an interface system to peripheral devices (e.g., Infrared Data Association (IrDA) or Universal Serial Bus (USB)) and/or a connection and/or interface system to a computer system, intranet, and/or internet, or the like”, and Col. 7, line 67 to Col. 8, lines 1-16, “Transducer system 110 may include any one of, some of, any combination of, or all of one or more transducers, linear arrays of transducers, and/or two-dimensional arrays of transducers, for example. The elements of the transducer arrays may be referred to as pixels, and in this specification will be referred to as transducer pixels. The term display pixel will be used to refer to pixels on a display screen. A different group of transducer pixels may be chosen from the same array to obtain an image of a different aperture and/or different perspective. Transducer system 110 may also include acoustical systems for guiding and/or focusing the ultrasound beam, for example. Transducer system 110 may include antireflection layers and/or filters for filtering out noise, for example. Processor system 108 may include one or more specialized processors for controlling transducer system 110 and/or processing signals and/or data received by transducer system 110”, and Col. 8, lines 32-38, “Input/output system 114 may include devices that have the dual function as input and output devices. For example, input/output system 114 may include one or more touch sensitive screens, which display an image and therefore are an output device and accept input when the screens are pressed by a finger or stylus, for example. The touch sensitive screens may be sensitive to heat and/or pressure”); and
a controller (Fig. 1: processor system 108) (see, e.g., Col. 7, lines 58-67, “Processor system 108 may include any one of, some of, any combination of, or all of multiple parallel processors, a single processor, a system of processors having one or more central processors and/or one or more specialized processors dedicated to specific tasks. Also, processor system 108 may include one or more Digital Signal Processors (DSPs) in addition to or in place of one or more Central Processing Units (CPUs) and/or may have one or more digital signal processing programs that run on one or more CPU”),
wherein the controller adjusts touch sensitivity on the area of the display where the ultrasound image is displayed (see, e.g., Col. 11, lines 44-52, “Touchscreen calibration may allow the user to establish positioning or reference coordinates, which may be established with the use of a stylus or by entering the coordinates into a dialogue box, for example. Touchscreen calibration mode 410 may additionally or alternatively allow the user to change the sensitivity of the touchscreen and/or which parts of the touchscreen respond to touch. The user may be able to change the sensitivity so that different parts of the screen have different sensitivities”).
Grunwald does not specifically disclose wherein the controller determines whether a foreign substance has come into contact with an area of the display where the ultrasound image is displayed, and wherein the controller adjusts touch sensitivity on the area of the display when it is determined that a foreign substance has come into contact with the area of the display.
However, in the same field of endeavor of touch input processing, Lee discloses wherein the controller determines whether a foreign substance has come into contact with an area of the display, and wherein the controller adjusts touch sensitivity on the area of the display when it is determined that a foreign substance has come into contact with the area of the display (see, e.g., Abstract, “The electronic device includes a first touch sensor and a processor. The processor implements the method, which includes detecting, via a first touch sensor of the electronic device, sensor information from a touch object, determining, via a processor of the electronic device, a state of the touch object based on analysis of the detected sensor information, and adjusting a touch sensitivity for the electronic device according to the determined state of the object”, and Col. 6, line 4 to Col. 7, line 5, “The processor 130 may determine a state of a touch object by analyzing the collected sensor information. According to an embodiment of the present disclosure, the processor 130 may determine a state of a touch object by comparing normal state information of the touch object and the sensor information. […] The normal state information may include sensor information collected from a state (for example, a normal state) in which a foreign material (for example, water, sweat, dust, sand, dirt, or gloves, etc.) is not detected between the first touch sensor 110 and a touch object based on the first touch sensor 110. […] When a state of a touch object is an abnormal state, the processor 130 may classify the state of the touch object in more detail. For example, the processor 130 may classify a state of a touch object into at least one of a water film state, a pollution film state, or a “gloves worn” state. The water film state may represent a state in which a touch object is stained with a foreign material including moisture such as water or sweat and the pollution film state may represent a state in which a touch object is stained with a foreign material not including moisture such as dust, sand, or dirt. […] According to various embodiments of the present disclosure, the processor 130 may classify a state of a touch object in more detail by using pattern information of the foreign material. According to an embodiment of the present disclosure, the processor 130 may compare the sensor information with the pattern information of the foreign material and when a similarity between information is greater than a predetermined ratio, classify the state of the touch object according to a type of the foreign material. For example, when the foreign material includes a material including moisture such as water or sweat, the processor 130 may determine the state of the object as a water film state. […] In relation to this, the pattern information of the foreign material may be information obtained by sensing the foreign material through one or more sensors included in the first touch sensor 110. For example, the pattern information of the foreign material may be sensor information of the foreign material collected while a fingerprint recognition sensor performs a fingerprint function. Additionally, the pattern information of the foreign material may include information such as pH concentration information, surface state information, or electrical conductivity of the foreign material”, and Col. 7, lines 45-53, “The processor 130 may adjust a touch input processing method according to the classified state of the touch object. According to an embodiment of the present disclosure, the processor 130 may adjust a touch sensitivity according to a state of a touch object. For example, when a touch object is determined as a water film state, the processor 130 may prevent a phenomenon that a material including moisture such as water or sweat is recognized as a touch input, by reducing the touch sensitivity”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the ultrasound imaging device, the operating method, and the computer-readable recording medium of Grunwald by including wherein the controller determines whether a foreign substance has come into contact with an area of the display, and wherein the controller adjusts touch sensitivity on the area of the display when it is determined that a foreign substance has come into contact with the area of the display, as disclosed by Lee. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to prevent a phenomenon that a material including moisture such as water or sweat is recognized as a touch input by reducing the touch sensitivity, as recognized by Lee (see, e.g., Col. 7, lines 45-53).
Regarding claims 2 and 9, Grunwald modified by Lee discloses the ultrasound imaging device of claim 1 and the operating method of claim 8, respectively, as set forth above. Grunwald does not specifically disclose wherein, while a user input is received in an area with which the foreign substance has come into contact, the controller adjusts the touch sensitivity on the area of the display where the ultrasound image is displayed, or adjusts the touch sensitivity of an area that is in contact with the foreign substance.
However, in the same field of endeavor of touch input processing, Lee discloses wherein, while a user input is received in an area with which the foreign substance has come into contact, the controller adjusts the touch sensitivity on the area of the display where the ultrasound image is displayed, or adjusts the touch sensitivity of an area that is in contact with the foreign substance (see, e.g., Abstract, “The electronic device includes a first touch sensor and a processor. The processor implements the method, which includes detecting, via a first touch sensor of the electronic device, sensor information from a touch object, determining, via a processor of the electronic device, a state of the touch object based on analysis of the detected sensor information, and adjusting a touch sensitivity for the electronic device according to the determined state of the object”, and Col. 7, lines 45-53, “The processor 130 may adjust a touch input processing method according to the classified state of the touch object. According to an embodiment of the present disclosure, the processor 130 may adjust a touch sensitivity according to a state of a touch object. For example, when a touch object is determined as a water film state, the processor 130 may prevent a phenomenon that a material including moisture such as water or sweat is recognized as a touch input, by reducing the touch sensitivity”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified the ultrasound imaging device and the operating method of Grunwald modified by Lee by including wherein, while a user input is received in an area with which the foreign substance has come into contact, the controller adjusts the touch sensitivity on the area of the display where the ultrasound image is displayed, or adjusts the touch sensitivity of an area that is in contact with the foreign substance, as disclosed by Lee. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to prevent a phenomenon that a material including moisture such as water or sweat is recognized as a touch input by reducing the touch sensitivity, as recognized by Lee (see, e.g., Col. 7, lines 45-53).
Regarding claims 3 and 10, Grunwald modified by Lee discloses the ultrasound imaging device of claim 1 and the operating method of claim 8, respectively, as set forth above. Grunwald does not specifically disclose wherein the controller compares the user input received from the display with a recognition criterion for a valid touch to determine whether the user input is a valid input.
However, in the same field of endeavor of touch input processing, Lee discloses wherein the controller compares the user input received from the display with a recognition criterion for a valid touch to determine whether the user input is a valid input (see, e.g., Col. 6, line 4 to Col. 7, line 5, “The processor 130 may determine a state of a touch object by analyzing the collected sensor information. According to an embodiment of the present disclosure, the processor 130 may determine a state of a touch object by comparing normal state information of the touch object and the sensor information. […] The normal state information may include sensor information collected from a state (for example, a normal state) in which a foreign material (for example, water, sweat, dust, sand, dirt, or gloves, etc.) is not detected between the first touch sensor 110 and a touch object based on the first touch sensor 110. […] When a state of a touch object is an abnormal state, the processor 130 may classify the state of the touch object in more detail. For example, the processor 130 may classify a state of a touch object into at least one of a water film state, a pollution film state, or a “gloves worn” state. The water film state may represent a state in which a touch object is stained with a foreign material including moisture such as water or sweat and the pollution film state may represent a state in which a touch object is stained with a foreign material not including moisture such as dust, sand, or dirt. […] According to various embodiments of the present disclosure, the processor 130 may classify a state of a touch object in more detail by using pattern information of the foreign material. According to an embodiment of the present disclosure, the processor 130 may compare the sensor information with the pattern information of the foreign material and when a similarity between information is greater than a predetermined ratio, classify the state of the touch object according to a type of the foreign material. For example, when the foreign material includes a material including moisture such as water or sweat, the processor 130 may determine the state of the object as a water film state. […] In relation to this, the pattern information of the foreign material may be information obtained by sensing the foreign material through one or more sensors included in the first touch sensor 110. For example, the pattern information of the foreign material may be sensor information of the foreign material collected while a fingerprint recognition sensor performs a fingerprint function. Additionally, the pattern information of the foreign material may include information such as pH concentration information, surface state information, or electrical conductivity of the foreign material”, and Col. 10, lines 38-50, “According to various embodiments of the present disclosure, the touch control device 240 may receive touch information (for example, touch coordinates, touch time, or touch intensity) from the touch panel 250. Additionally, the touch control device 240 may determine whether a touch input corresponding to the received touch information is a valid touch input. For example, the touch control device 240 may determine whether there is a valid touch input by comparing a touch intensity (for example, a capacitance change size) with a range of a touch intensity corresponding to the touch sensitivity. Additionally, the touch control device 240 may deliver, to the processor 220, touch information corresponding to a touch input determined as a valid touch input”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified the ultrasound imaging device and the operating method of Grunwald modified by Lee by including wherein the controller compares the user input received from the display with a recognition criterion for a valid touch to determine whether the user input is a valid input, as disclosed by Lee. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to prevent a phenomenon that a material including moisture such as water or sweat is recognized as a touch input by reducing the touch sensitivity, as recognized by Lee (see, e.g., Col. 7, lines 45-53).
Regarding claims 4 and 11, Grunwald modified by Lee discloses the ultrasound imaging device of claim 3 and the operating method of claim 10, respectively, as set forth above. Grunwald does not specifically disclose wherein the recognition criterion for a valid input comprises a magnitude of a change in electrostatic capacitance.
However, in the same field of endeavor of touch input processing, Lee discloses wherein the recognition criterion for a valid input comprises a magnitude of a change in electrostatic capacitance (see, e.g., Col. 10, lines 38-50, “According to various embodiments of the present disclosure, the touch control device 240 may receive touch information (for example, touch coordinates, touch time, or touch intensity) from the touch panel 250. Additionally, the touch control device 240 may determine whether a touch input corresponding to the received touch information is a valid touch input. For example, the touch control device 240 may determine whether there is a valid touch input by comparing a touch intensity (for example, a capacitance change size) with a range of a touch intensity corresponding to the touch sensitivity. Additionally, the touch control device 240 may deliver, to the processor 220, touch information corresponding to a touch input determined as a valid touch input”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified the ultrasound imaging device and the operating method of Grunwald modified by Lee by including wherein the recognition criterion for a valid input comprises a magnitude of a change in electrostatic capacitance, as disclosed by Lee. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to prevent a phenomenon that a material including moisture such as water or sweat is recognized as a touch input by reducing the touch sensitivity, as recognized by Lee (see, e.g., Col. 7, lines 45-53).
Regarding claims 5 and 12, Grunwald modified by Lee discloses the ultrasound imaging device of claim 4 and the operating method of claim 11, respectively, as set forth above. Grunwald does not specifically disclose wherein the controller lowers the recognition criterion for a valid input and processes, as a valid input, a user input having a lower intensity than the recognition criterion for a valid input before the lowering on the ultrasound image.
However, in the same field of endeavor of touch input processing, Lee discloses wherein the controller lowers the recognition criterion for a valid input and processes, as a valid input, a user input having a lower intensity than the recognition criterion for a valid input before the lowering on the image/display (see, e.g., Col. 10, lines 38-50, “According to various embodiments of the present disclosure, the touch control device 240 may receive touch information (for example, touch coordinates, touch time, or touch intensity) from the touch panel 250. Additionally, the touch control device 240 may determine whether a touch input corresponding to the received touch information is a valid touch input. For example, the touch control device 240 may determine whether there is a valid touch input by comparing a touch intensity (for example, a capacitance change size) with a range of a touch intensity corresponding to the touch sensitivity. Additionally, the touch control device 240 may deliver, to the processor 220, touch information corresponding to a touch input determined as a valid touch input”, and Col. 16, line 62 to Col. 17, line 35, “When the state of the touch object is classified, in operation 450, the electronic device may specify a touch function according to the state of the touch object. For example, when the state of the touch object is a normal state, the electronic device may specify it with a normal function, and when the state of the touch object is a water film state, the electronic device may specify it with a water film function. […] When the touch function is specified, in operation 470, the electronic device may adjust a touch input processing method according to the specified touch function. For example, the electronic device may change a touch setting. According to an embodiment of the present disclosure, the electronic device may adjust a touch sensitivity of a touch input device (for example, the touch input device 280 of FIG. 2) according to the touch function. For example, when the touch function is specified as a water film function, the electronic device may invalidate a touch input occurring due to water or sweat or noise-process it by adjusting the touch sensitivity of the touch input device to be low. Additionally, when the touch function is specified as a pollution film function or a gloves function, the electronic device may prevent a phenomenon that a touch input is not recognized as a touch intensity corresponding to an approach or contact of a touch object is measured low due to dust, sand, dirt, or gloves, by adjusting the touch sensitivity of the touch input device to be high. According to various embodiments of the present disclosure, the electronic device may deliver information relating to the touch function (for example in an instruction form) to the touch input device and the touch input device may perform a calibration task relating to the function performance of the touch input device according to the delivered information. According to an embodiment of the present disclosure, the touch input device may change an algorithm and a threshold value for a ghost touch recognition that operates internally according to the delivered information”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified the ultrasound imaging device and the operating method of Grunwald modified by Lee by including wherein the controller lowers the recognition criterion for a valid input and processes, as a valid input, a user input having a lower intensity than the recognition criterion for a valid input before the lowering on the image/display, as disclosed by Lee. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to prevent a phenomenon that a material including moisture such as water or sweat is recognized as a touch input by reducing the touch sensitivity, as recognized by Lee (see, e.g., Col. 7, lines 45-53).
Regarding claims 6 and 13, Grunwald modified by Lee discloses the ultrasound imaging device of claim 3 and the operating method of claim 10, respectively, as set forth above. Grunwald does not specifically disclose wherein the display further displays a setting button to adjust the ultrasound image, wherein, when it is determined that a foreign substance has come into contact with the setting button, the controller freezes the ultrasound image or causes a warning alarm window to pop up on the display.
However, in the same field of endeavor of touch input processing, Lee discloses wherein the display further displays a setting button to adjust the ultrasound image, wherein, when it is determined that a foreign substance has come into contact with the setting button, the controller freezes the ultrasound image or causes a warning alarm window to pop up on the display (see, e.g., Col. 20, lines 43-67, “According to various embodiment of the present disclosure, the electronic device 600 may output information corresponding to the specified touch function according to the determined state of the touch object. For example, the electronic device 600 may output, to a screen, a notification object 670 including texts, images, or icons for notifying that it is set to a specified touch function. Additionally, the electronic device 600 may output voice information for notifying that it is set to a specified touch function through a voice output device. According to various embodiments of the present disclosure, the electronic device 600 may display the notification object 670 through a method such as pop-up displays, or screen switching. Referring to the shown drawing, the notification object 670 is shown in a pop-up format. When the notification object 670 is maintained in a displayed state for more than a predetermined time or a user input occurs, the electronic device 600 may perform a control to terminate the screen output of the notification object 670 and output a previous screen. According to an embodiment of the present disclosure, when the notification object 670 is displayed as a pop-up, the electronic device 600 may vary the display via a change in color, transparency, size, or position of the notification object 670, and the changes may further be altered according to a predetermined time interval or a predetermined time”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified the ultrasound imaging device and the operating method of Grunwald modified by Lee by including wherein the display further displays a setting button to adjust the ultrasound image, wherein, when it is determined that a foreign substance has come into contact with the setting button, the controller freezes the ultrasound image or causes a warning alarm window to pop up on the display, as disclosed by Lee. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to prevent a phenomenon that a material including moisture such as water or sweat is recognized as a touch input by reducing the touch sensitivity, as recognized by Lee (see, e.g., Col. 7, lines 45-53).
Regarding claims 7 and 14, Grunwald modified by Lee discloses the ultrasound imaging device of claim 6 and the operating method of claim 13, respectively, as set forth above. Grunwald does not specifically disclose wherein, when it is determined that a foreign substance has come into contact with the setting button, the controller raises the recognition criterion for a valid input, and processes a user input on the setting button with an intensity greater than the recognition criterion for a valid input before the raising, as an invalid input.
However, in the same field of endeavor of touch input processing, Lee discloses wherein, when it is determined that a foreign substance has come into contact with the setting button, the controller raises the recognition criterion for a valid input, and processes a user input on the setting button with an intensity greater than the recognition criterion for a valid input before the raising, as an invalid input (see, e.g., Col. 10, lines 38-50, “According to various embodiments of the present disclosure, the touch control device 240 may receive touch information (for example, touch coordinates, touch time, or touch intensity) from the touch panel 250. Additionally, the touch control device 240 may determine whether a touch input corresponding to the received touch information is a valid touch input. For example, the touch control device 240 may determine whether there is a valid touch input by comparing a touch intensity (for example, a capacitance change size) with a range of a touch intensity corresponding to the touch sensitivity. Additionally, the touch control device 240 may deliver, to the processor 220, touch information corresponding to a touch input determined as a valid touch input”, and Col. 16, line 62 to Col. 17, line 35, “When the state of the touch object is classified, in operation 450, the electronic device may specify a touch function according to the state of the touch object. For example, when the state of the touch object is a normal state, the electronic device may specify it with a normal function, and when the state of the touch object is a water film state, the electronic device may specify it with a water film function. […] When the touch function is specified, in operation 470, the electronic device may adjust a touch input processing method according to the specified touch function. For example, the electronic device may change a touch setting. According to an embodiment of the present disclosure, the electronic device may adjust a touch sensitivity of a touch input device (for example, the touch input device 280 of FIG. 2) according to the touch function. For example, when the touch function is specified as a water film function, the electronic device may invalidate a touch input occurring due to water or sweat or noise-process it by adjusting the touch sensitivity of the touch input device to be low. Additionally, when the touch function is specified as a pollution film function or a gloves function, the electronic device may prevent a phenomenon that a touch input is not recognized as a touch intensity corresponding to an approach or contact of a touch object is measured low due to dust, sand, dirt, or gloves, by adjusting the touch sensitivity of the touch input device to be high. According to various embodiments of the present disclosure, the electronic device may deliver information relating to the touch function (for example in an instruction form) to the touch input device and the touch input device may perform a calibration task relating to the function performance of the touch input device according to the delivered information. According to an embodiment of the present disclosure, the touch input device may change an algorithm and a threshold value for a ghost touch recognition that operates internally according to the delivered information”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified the ultrasound imaging device and the operating method of Grunwald modified by Lee by including wherein, when it is determined that a foreign substance has come into contact with the setting button, the controller raises the recognition criterion for a valid input, and processes a user input on the setting button with an intensity greater than the recognition criterion for a valid input before the raising, as an invalid input, as disclosed by Lee. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to prevent a phenomenon that a material including moisture such as water or sweat is recognized as a touch input by reducing the touch sensitivity, as recognized by Lee (see, e.g., Col. 7, lines 45-53).
Conclusion
/T.D./Examiner, Art Unit 3798
/PASCAL M BUI PHO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3798