DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 4, 5, 7, 10, and 12-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and (a)(2) as being anticipated by Kraayenbrink et al. (US 11439126; as cited on IDS 8/12/25).
For claims 1 and 14, Kraayenbrink et al. teach a lighting device (10) for illuminating an animal stable, wherein the lighting device (10) comprises a projection unit (20, 22) and a control unit (24);
wherein the projection unit (20, 22) is configured to project a dynamic light
spot within the animal stable for a period of time (col.7 line15-18), wherein the period of time comprises a first subperiod followed by a second subperiod;
wherein the control unit (24) is configured to control the projection unit (20, 22), during the first subperiod of time (corresponding to a first portion of the randomized trajectory), to project the dynamic light spot moving with a pseudorandom or random movement that is confined within a contour of a first surface area (a small continuous portion of the random trajectory, herein the first trajectory portion, is comprised in a so-called "first surface area" which is smaller than the total animal stable, e.g. 1 cm²) within the animal stable (col.7 1.34-39); and
wherein the control unit (24) is configured to control the projection unit (20, 22), during the second subperiod of time (a portion of the randomized trajectory run through after the first portion, herein the second trajectory portion), to project the dynamic light spot moving with a curvilinear or linear movement (at least a part of the second portion will necessarily have at least one of these characteristics) out the contour of the first surface area and in a direction away from the center of the first surface area and to another area within the animal stable (this is easily verified as soon as the second surface area is e.g. another 1 cm² following the first surface area).
For claim 2, Kraayenbrink et al. teach wherein the projection unit is a laser lighting unit, wherein the dynamic light spot is a dynamic laser light spot (col. 1 line 27).
For claim 4, Kraayenbrink et al. teach wherein the period of time is at most thirty seconds (inherently occurred within the light device teaching of Kraayenbrink et al.).
For claim 5, Kraayenbrink et al. teach wherein a time duration of the first subperiod is at least a factor two longer than a time duration of the second subperiod (inherently occurred within the light device teaching of Kraayenbrink et al.).
For claim 7, Kraayenbrink et al. teach wherein the control unit (24) is configured to control the projection unit (20, 22), during the first subperiod of time, to project the dynamic light spot moving with the pseudorandom or random movement at a first movement speed; wherein the control unit (24) is configured to control the projection unit (20, 22), during the second subperiod of time, to project the dynamic light spot
moving with the curvilinear or linear movement out from the first surface
area at a second movement speed; wherein the first movement speed is different from the second movement speed (col.9 line19).
For claim 10, Kraayenbrink et al. teach wherein the animal stable is a poultry coop (col. 1 lines 27-28).
For claim 12, Kraayenbrink et al. teach wherein the period of time may comprise a third subperiod following the second subperiod (the same reasoning applies as for second subperiod in claim 1); wherein the control unit is configured to control the projection unit, during the third subperiod of time, to project the dynamic light spot moving with a pseudorandom or random movement that is confined to a third surface area within the animal stable; wherein the third surface area is outside the first surface area; wherein the third surface area is at a distance from the first surface area.
For claim 13, Kraayenbrink et al. teach wherein the control unit (24) is configured to obtain a (equivalent of a sensor input) signal (at least from the clock) indicative of an activity level of animals within the animal stable (correlated to a certain duration) and determine said activity level (i.e. after a certain time, the level is considered to be to low); wherein the control unit (24) is configured to control the projection unit (20, 22) to project the dynamic light spot within the animal stable for said period of time if the determined activity level is below a predefined threshold value (which is considered to be the case after a certain duration).
For claim 15, Kraayenbrink et al. teach an animal stable comprising at least one lighting device according to the above (col. 1 line 27-28).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3, 6, 8, 9, and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kraayenbrink et al. (US 11439126; as cited on IDS 8/12/25).
For claim 3, as described above, Kraayenbrink et al. disclose most of the claimed invention except for mentioning wherein the projection unit is a high-etendue spotlight, wherein the dynamic light spot is a high-etendue dynamic light spot.
However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the lighting device of Kraayenbrink et al. so as to include the use of a high-etendue dynamic light spot, since using another type of light is considered as a matter of design choice depended on the intended use of the user, wherein no stated problem is solved, or any new or unexpected result achieved, since it appears that the invention would perform equally well with the type of light used in Kraayenbrink et al..
For claim 6, as described above, Kraayenbrink et al. disclose most of the claimed invention except for mentioning wherein the curvilinear or linear movement comprises a path length, wherein the path length is at least one meter.
However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the lighting device of Kraayenbrink et al. so as to include the path length is at least one meter, since to do so would be considered as a matter of design choice depended on the intended use of the user, wherein no stated problem is solved, or any new or unexpected result achieved, and it appears that the invention would perform equally well with the length in Kraayenbrink et al..
For claim 8, as described above, Kraayenbrink et al. disclose most of the claimed invention except for mentioning wherein the second movement speed is larger than the first movement speed.
However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the lighting device of Kraayenbrink et al. so as to include the second movement speed is larger than the first movement speed, since to do so would be considered as a matter of design choice depended on the intended use of the user, wherein no stated problem is solved, or any new or unexpected result achieved, and it appears that the invention would perform equally well with the speed in Kraayenbrink et al..
For claim 9, as described above, Kraayenbrink et al. disclose most of the claimed invention except for mentioning wherein the first movement speed is selected from the range between five and ten centimeter per second.
However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the lighting device of Kraayenbrink et al. so as to include the first movement speed is selected from the range between five and ten centimeter per second, since it has been held that where routine testing and general experimental conditions are present, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
For claim 11, as described above, Kraayenbrink et al. disclose most of the claimed invention except for mentioning wherein the first surface area is at most 0.1 square meter.
However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the lighting device of Kraayenbrink et al. so as to include the first surface area is at most 0.1 square meter, since it has been held that where routine testing and general experimental conditions are present, discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980).
Conclusion
Note, although the examiner recites certain excerpts for the prior art, MPEP 2141.02 VI states “PRIOR ART MUST BE CONSIDERED IN ITS ENTIRETY, INCLUDING DISCLOSURES THAT TEACH AWAY FROM THE CLAIMS”.
The prior art De Samber et al. (US 2025/0243997) teaches a
lighting system for illuminating a target surface in an agricultural environment for a flock of birds, wherein the lighting system comprises a plurality of lighting devices spaced apart on an elongated axis.
The prior art Stephan et al. (US 2024/0381850) teaches an illumination system arranged to illuminate a space for rearing a flock of birds, wherein the illumination system comprises a visible light source configured to emit visible light, an ultraviolet light source configured to emit ultraviolet light, and a controller.
The prior art Tieberg et al. (US 2026/0258919) teaches an illumination system arranged to illuminate a space for rearing a flock of birds, wherein the illumination system comprises a visible light source configured to emit visible light, an ultraviolet light source configured to emit ultraviolet light, and a controller.
If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Timothy Collins can be reached on 571-272-6886. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/TRINH T NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3644