DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because Figs. 1-10 have dark shading and are generally unclear. The use of shading in views is encouraged if it aids in understanding the invention and if it does not reduce legibility. 37 C.F.R. 1.84(m)
Claim Objections
Claims 1-5, 7-8, 13, and 18-19 are objected to because of the following informalities:
The form of claims 1-8, 13, and 18-19 are objected to because they include words in parentheses. See MPEP 608.01(m)
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“means for measuring or calculating force” in claim 4 which is not described in the specification
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2, 4, 7-8, 13 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claims 2, 7-8, and 18, the phrase "such as" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitations following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Claim 4 recites “means for measuring or calculating force” which is not described in the specification as to what the “means” are or their equivalents thereof.
Regarding claim 13, the phrase "for example" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitations following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-7, and 10-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Tsai (US Pat. No. 9,561,420, Feb. 7, 2017).
Regarding claim 1, Tsai teaches a force measuring device 200 comprising a target or impact area 214 (see col. 4, lines 1-17, and Fig. 2 below), the device having one or more sensor(s) 206 capable of measuring force and/or impact and the location (or accuracy) of an impact (or hit, or strike) (see col. 3, lines 36-45).
Regarding claim 2, Tsai teaches a device according to claim 1 which is: (a) a high-striker, or a strength tester device or apparatus, such as an (electronic) test-of -strength or high striker (game) machine or apparatus, a fitness evaluation or capability device (i.e., punching/kickboxing apparatus, see Abstract, and Fig. 2 above), and/or a strike assessment apparatus (suitably there is no bell), (moving or sliding) puck and/or vertical tower or slide);(b) portable and/or can be (easily) moved or carried/lifted by a human; and/or (c) is capable of being located horizontally (such as on the ground or floor) and/or vertically (such as mounted or located e.g. on a wall).
Regarding claim 3, Tsai teaches a device according to claim 1 which can measure the force or concentration (see col. 3, lines 36-45) and/or location (of a strike or impact) or location or accuracy of impact; and/or comprises one or more sensor(s) 206 (see Fig. 2 above, and col. 6, lines 24-) able to measure said parameter electrically, electronically or digitally (but not mechanically).
Regarding claim 4, Tsai teaches a device according to claim 1 which has one or more force or impact sensor(s) 206 (see Fig. 2 above and col. ) and/or means for measuring or calculating force (of a strike or impact).
Regarding claim 5, Tsai teaches a device according to claim 1 which comprises one or more location or (accuracy) sensor(s), and/or one or more sensor arrays 206 (see Fig. 2 above, the sensors 206 being configured to detect location of impact, see col. ) for detecting location of impact.
Regarding claim 6, Tsai teaches a device according to claim 1 which is substantially circular or cylindrical in shape (see Fig. 2 above) and/or resembles a "stump".
Regarding claim 7, Tsai teaches a device according to claim 1, wherein the target area 214 is designed or capable of being impacted, hit or struck, such as by a (sledge)hammer, mace or slam ball on multiple occasions (i.e., the targets 214 are inherently capable of being struck by hands/feet and objects).
Regarding claim 10, Tsai teaches a device according to claim 1 which comprises multiple layers (i.e., sensors 206, having housing which is layered or layers 602, 604,606, see Fig. 5 and 6) and/or plates, suitably each being substantially circular and of a similar or same size or diameter (see Fig. 5).
Regarding claim 11, Tsai teaches a device according to claim 1 which comprises an integral display 204 (i.e., electronic device 204 can include a display, see col. 8, line 58 - col. 9, line 13) and/or is capable of displaying one or more impact parameters.
Regarding claim 12, Tsai teaches a device according to claim 1 which comprises a performance monitor (i.e., electronic device 204 can include a display which may include statistical information, see col. 8, line 58 - col. 9, line 13).
Regarding claim 13, Tsai teaches a device according to claim 11 where the display 204 is integral to the device (see col. 8, line 58 - col. 9, line 13 and Fig 2 above), for example located on the side of the device (and is not separate or detached).
Regarding claim 14, Tsai teaches a device according to claim 1 which can provide an indication of accuracy and/or location of the strike or impact (see col. 9, lines 3-14).
Regarding claim 15, Tsai teaches a device according to claim 1 which can measure and/or display the number of impacts, the time of impacts, and the location of impacts (see col. 9, lines 3-14).
Regarding claim 16, Tsai teaches a device according to claim 1 which is not adapted to be impacted or hit by any part of the human body (i.e., the device of Tsai can inherently be hit by an object which is not part of the human body).
Regarding claim 17, Tsai teaches a device according to claim 1 wherein the target area 214 comprises a hard material (i.e., where a body 202 portion defining the target area 213 can be made from hard plastic, see col. 3, lines 46-61) or hard surface that is suitably non-deformable.
Regarding claim 18, Tsai teaches a method of measuring and/or detecting force of an impact, the method measuring the force (or power or concentration) of an impact and as well as measuring location (such as accuracy) of said impact (see col. 3, lines 36-45).
Regarding claim 19, Tsai teaches a method according to claim 18 wherein the device measures the force of an impact in a target area 214 and measures the location (or accuracy) of the impact (or strike or hit) in a target area (see col. 3, lines 36-45, i.e., which of a sensor 206 was contacted).
Regarding claim 20, Tsai teaches a method according to claim 18 wherein one or more sensor(s) 206 capable of measuring force and/or impact and the location (or accuracy) of an impact (or hit, or strike) or wherein the or each sensor(s) 206 measure the or each parameter electrically, electronically or digitally (and not mechanically) (see col. col. 4, lines 30-61).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 8-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tsai, as applied to claim 1, in view of Oberleitner (US PG Pub. No. No. 2010/0307222, Jan. 17, 2012).
Tsai teaches the invention as substantially claimed.
Regarding claim 8, Tsai teaches that the target area 214 is colored (i.e., such as the sensors 206 having one or more light emitters, see col. 8, lines 12-18), but is silent in explicitly teaching device according to claim 1 wherein the target area has one or more (such as a series of) concentric rings, suitably where the rings are coloured (and/or differently coloured).
Oberleitner, however, in an analogous art teaches a striking/hitting/punching/impact device having a target with concentric rings 6 (see paras. [0041],[0047]-[0061) and Fig. 4 below)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Tsai such that the target 214 has one or more (such as a series of) concentric rings, suitably where the rings are coloured (and/or differently coloured) as taught by Oberleitner in order to judge aim-and hit accuracy (see para. [0061])
Regarding claim 9, Tsai as modified by Oberleitner teaches a device according to claim 8 which comprises one or more sensors 206 (see Fig. 4 above and see paras. [0041],[0047]) for each ring 6.
Conclusion
/ANDREW S LO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3784