DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to Application filed on 08/13/2025
Application is a 371 of PCT/JP2024/004502 02/09/2024
Application claims a FP date of 03/13/2023
Claims 1, 14 and 18 are independent
Claims 1-18 are pending
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in the instant Application.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement filed 08/13/2025 fails to comply with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.98(a)(4) because it lacks the appropriate size fee assertion. It has been placed in the application file, but the information referred to therein has not been considered as to the merits.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “light emitting unit”, “communication unit”, “control unit”, “storage unit” and “display unit” in claims 1-18.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 9, 11, 14 and 16-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sugawara et al. (WO2021124885 A1 Published on June 24,2021. U.S. Patent Publication Number 2022/0417412 A1 has been used for citing purposes) in view of Suzuki (U. S. Patent Publication Number 2019/0124252 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Sugawara discloses a flash device (fig 1- Flash device 13 – 13A, 13B1 and 13B2) comprising:
a light emitting unit (Fig 2- light emitting unit 65A);
a communication unit (Fig 2- communication unit 67A) that receives a required light output and exposure time information specified by an imaging device (Fig 1 – imaging system 11), and
a synchronization signal to synchronize exposure timing of the imaging device and light emission timing (In ¶0057, Sugawara discloses that the control unit 69A performs control necessary for the commander 13A to emit light in synchronization with imaging by the camera body 12; In ¶0073, Sugawara also discloses that in the synchronous mode a synchronous communication command is bidirectionally transmitted between the camera body 12 and the commander 13A.); and
a control unit (Fig 2- light emission control unit 64A controls light emission of the light emitting unit 65A) that determines, on a basis of the required light output and the exposure time information, light emission start timing of the light emitting unit based on the synchronization signal (In ¶0052, Sugawara discloses that the light emitting control unit 64A controls the light emitting unit in accordance with a light emission trigger output from the camera body in response to operation of the shutter button), and
causes the light emitting unit (Fig 2- light emitting unit 65A) to perform flash emission at the light emission start timing that has been determined (Throughout his disclosure, Sugawara discloses that imaging is performed such that the light is emitted from the external flash device in synchronization with imaging by the camera. Fig 7 further illustrates an example of synchronization main light emission sequence from emitting light).
However, Sugawara fails to clearly disclose a control unit that determines, on a basis of the required light output and the exposure time information.
Instead in a similar endeavor, Suzuki discloses a control unit (Fig 2B -light emission control unit 304) that determines, on a basis of the required light output and the exposure time information (In ¶0006 and throughout, Suzuki teaches that the deciding unit is configured to cause the light emitting apparatus to emit light based on the time to exposure; In ¶0066, Suzuki teaches that the light emission control unit 304 controls the start and end of light emission performed by the light emitting device unit 302 in conjunction with the trigger circuit 303; In ¶0077 Suzuki teaches that the light emission information contains the amount of light to be emitted)
Sugawara and Suzuki are combinable because both are related to imaging devices using light emitting device.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the deciding unit and emission control unit as taught by Suzuki in the imaging module disclosed by Sugawara.
The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been to “establish synchronization between the timing of exposure performed by the image capturing apparatus and timing of light emission performed by the light emitting apparatus” as disclosed by Suzuki in ¶0005.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Sugawara and Suzuki to obtain the invention as specified in claim 1.
Regarding Claim 9, Sugawara in view of Suzuki discloses wherein the communication unit (Sugawara: Fig 2- communication unit 67A) receives the required light output and the exposure time information specified by the imaging device (Suzuki: In ¶0006 and throughout, Suzuki teaches that the deciding unit is configured to cause the light emitting apparatus to emit light based on the time to exposure; In ¶0066, Suzuki teaches that the light emission control unit 304 controls the start and end of light emission performed by the light emitting device unit 302 in conjunction with the trigger circuit 303;), and the synchronization signal from another flash device acting as a commander (Sugawara: In ¶0032 and throughout, Suzuki teaches that the imaging system 11, the external flashes 13B-1 and 13B2 can communicate with the external 13A via wireless communication using radio waves. He also teaches that the external flash 13A will be referred to as a “commander 13A”).
Regarding Claim 11, Sugawara in view of Suzuki discloses wherein the control unit (Sugawara: Fig 2- light emission control unit 64A controls light emission of the light emitting unit 65A) performs processing of notifying the imaging device of information regarding whether or not light emission corresponding to the required light output is achieved (Sugawara: In ¶0045 discloses that the processing unit 51 recognizes a light emission preparation time issued as a notification from the commander 13A; also see ¶0101 where he discloses the notification indicating an amount of light emitted and light emission information) or information regarding maximum coverage of light emission corresponding to the required light output, or processing of displaying the information on a display unit (Sugawara: In ¶0031 and in Fig 1 discloses that the external flash has a display unit 31).
Regarding Claim 14, this claim is an imaging device claim that has limitation similar to claim 1. Sugawara in view of Suzuki discloses the use of imaging device in conjunction with the light emitting device, Sugawara in view of Suzuki discloses all the limitations of Claim 14 and therefore this claim is rejected on the same grounds as Claim 1.
Regarding Claim 16, Sugawara in view of Suzuki discloses further comprising: a configuration function (Sugawara: Fig 2 – operational signal acquisition unit 41) that allows a user to manually adjust the light emission timing (In ¶0037, Sugawara discloses that when the operation unit 22 of Fig 1 is operated, the operation signal acquisition unit 41 acquires an operation signals corresponding to the operation – for example – pressing the shutter button, or pressing the setting button. Since the camera body 12 is operated by a user, it is reasonable to interpret that the “operation signal” is acquired when camera is operated “manually” since he discloses that when the shutter button is pressed, unit 41 acquires operation signal indicating the operation performed);
a function of adjusting output timing for exposure of a signal instructing start of light emission on a basis of configuration made by the configuration function (Sugawara: In ¶0041 discloses that the shutter drive unit 45 is used for adjusting the exposure timing of the imaging element under the control of the shutter control unit 44 and in ¶0045 he further discloses that the external flash 13 is instructed to emit light); and
a function of instructing the flash device to perform flash emission at timing synchronized with the signal (Sugawara: In ¶0057 discloses that the control unit 69A performs control necessary for the commander 13A to emit light in synchronization with imaging by the camera body 12; see ¶0062).
Regarding Claim 17, Sugawara in view of Suzuki discloses wherein the imaging device (Sugawara: Fig 1 – imaging system 11) includes: a configuration function (Sugawara: Fig 2 – operational signal acquisition unit 41) that allows a user to manually adjust the light emission timing (In ¶0037, Sugawara discloses that when the operation unit 22 of Fig 1 is operated, the operation signal acquisition unit 41 acquires an operation signals corresponding to the operation – for example – pressing the shutter button, or pressing the setting button. Since the camera body 12 is operated by a user, it is reasonable to interpret that the “operation signal” is acquired when camera is operated “manually” since he discloses that when the shutter button is pressed, unit 41 acquires operation signal indicating the operation performed);
a function of adjusting output timing for exposure of a signal instructing start of light emission on a basis of configuration made by the configuration function (Sugawara: In ¶0041 discloses that the shutter drive unit 45 is used for adjusting the exposure timing of the imaging element under the control of the shutter control unit 44 and in ¶0045 he further discloses that the external flash 13 is instructed to emit light); and
a function of instructing the flash device to perform flash emission at timing synchronized with the signal (Sugawara: In ¶0057 discloses that the control unit 69A performs control necessary for the commander 13A to emit light in synchronization with imaging by the camera body 12; see ¶0062), and
in response to the instruction from the imaging device, processing of actively determining the light emission start timing is disabled, and flash emission is performed at the timing synchronized with the signal (Sugawara: See ¶0072-¶0078).
Regarding Claim 18, this claim is a methods claim that has limitation similar to claim 1. Claim 18 is rejected on the same grounds as Claim 1.
Claims 10 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sugawara et al. (WO2021124885 A1 Published on June 24,2021. U.S. Patent Publication Number 2022/0417412 A1 has been used for citing purposes) in view of Suzuki (U. S. Patent Publication Number 2019/0124252 A1) as applied to Claim 1 above and further in view of Murakita (U. S. Patent Publication Number 2013/0335583 A1)
Regarding Claim 10, Sugawara in view of Suzuki discloses wherein the control unit performs notifying the imaging device of a result of the determination (Fig 1- communication unit 47 that communicates with the commander 13A and 67A causes communication with the communication unit 47).
However, Sugawara in view of Suzuki fails to clearly disclose determining whether or not an exposure time specified by the imaging device exceeds a corresponding exposure time limit.
Instead in a similar endeavor, Murakita discloses determining whether or not an exposure time specified by the imaging device exceeds a corresponding exposure time limit (Murakita teaches about shutter speed – which is equivalent to exposure time (as disclosed by the Applicant in the instant Specification – page 76). In ¶0020-¶0025 Murakita teaches the effect of light emission when imaging is performed at equal or higher than a predetermined shutter speed. Also see ¶0038-¶0048 where he teaches that the main body portion of the imaging device adjust the timing of exposure start and proper light control can be achieved even at high shutter speed).
Sugawara, Suzuki and Murakita are combinable because all are related to imaging devices using light emitting device.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to adjust the timing of light emission trigger and exposure start time as taught by Murakita in the imaging module disclosed by Sugawara in view of Suzuki.
The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been to “achieve proper light control even at high shutter speed” as disclosed by Murakita in ¶0048.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Sugawara, Suzuki and Murakita to obtain the invention as specified in claim 10.
Regarding Claim 15, this claim is an imaging device claim that has limitation similar to claim 10. Sugawara in view of Suzuki discloses the use display device (Sugawara: In ¶0031 and in Fig 1, Sugawara discloses that the external flash 13 includes a display unit 31 and an operation unit 32) Sugawara in view of Suzuki discloses all the limitations of Claim 15 and therefore this claim is rejected on the same grounds as Claim 10.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-8 and 12-13 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Reference Cited
The following prior art made of record but not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Tsuchiya (U. S. Patent Publication Number 2019/0349505 A1) discloses a flash control device repeatedly informs a firing timing during an exposure period of the image capture apparatus. The device stops informing the firing timing if a condition for ending the exposure period of an image capture apparatus is satisfied. The disclosed flash control device can control the firing timing even in a case where a shooting mode of the image capture apparatus is a shooting mode with an indefinite exposure period.
Yamaguchi et al. (U.S. Patent Publication Number 2020/0288054 A1) discloses an information processing apparatus includes a control unit configured to determine a setting of a light emitting unit according to concept data indicating a characteristic of a desired image and a light emission result of the light emitting unit, and the control unit controls the determined setting to maintain the concept data in a case where change in an object has occurred.
Conclusion
/PADMA HALIYUR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2639 November 10, 2026