DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1-11, 15-17, 20, 23, 28, 34 and 38-39 are currently pending and have been examined in this application. This Non-final communication is the first action on the merits.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 8/14/2025 and 10/03/2025 were filed in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claim 39 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
The claims are directed to a system or method, which is one of the statutory categories of invention. (Step 1: YES)
The examiner has identified system Claim 39 as the claim that represents the claimed invention for analysis. Claim 39 recites the limitations of (additional elements emphasized in bold are considered to be parsed from the remaining abstract idea):
A method for controlling a robot, including a hybrid dynamical simulation procedure, comprising:
a. receiving inputs defining a robot hybrid state at time t, robot physical parameters, an aggregate effect of generalized forces and external physical forces acting on the robot at time t, a stepsize (dt), and a map of an environment surrounding the robot, the robot hybrid state at time t comprising a discrete mode at time t and a continuous state at time t, the map comprising geometric structures and mechanical properties of the environment;
b. utilizing inputs to construct equations of motion at runtime for the robot hybrid dynamics;
c. numerically integrating the equations of motion ("flow") within the discrete robot mode at time t to obtain a continuous robot state at a subsequent timestep: t + dt; and
d. determining if a discrete mode transition ("jump") occurred between time t and t + dt by checking for guard conditions occurring between the continuous robot state at time t and the continuous robot state at time t + dt.
which under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation(s) as a mental process (concept performed in the human mind) to receiving inputs, utilizing inputs to construct equations, numerically integrating the equations of motion, and determining if a discrete mode transition ("jump") occurred. One of ordinary skill in the art could receive an input of robot data, use the input data to construct equations, perform numerical integration on the motion equations, and then determine through observation and the data information as to whether the robot has changed its orientation (“jump”). Similarly, if a claim limitation under its BRI, covers performance of the limitation in the human mind but for the recitation of generic computer components, then it falls within the “Mental Processes” grouping of abstract ideas. (Claims can recite a mental process even if they are claimed as being performed on a computer Gottschalk v. Benson, 409 U.S. 63; “Courts have examined claims that required the use of a computer and still found that the underlying, patent-ineligible invention could be performed via pen and paper or in a person’s mind.” Versata Dev. Group v. SAP Am., Inc., 793 F. 3d 1306, 1335, 115 USPQ2d 1681, 1702. (Fed. Cir. 2015.))
Accordingly, the claim recites an abstract idea (Step 2A- Prong 1: YES. The claims are abstract).
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. Limitations that are not indicative of integration into a practical application include: (1) Adding the words “apply it” (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea (MPEP 2106.05.f), (2) Adding insignificant extra-solution activity to the judicial exception (MPEP 2106.05.g), (3) Generally linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use (MPEP 2106.05.h).
In the present case, the additional limitations beyond the above-noted abstract idea are as follows (where the underlined portions are the “additional limitations” while the bolded portions continue to represent the “abstract idea”):
A method for controlling a robot, including a hybrid dynamical simulation procedure, comprising:
a. receiving inputs defining a robot hybrid state at time t, robot physical parameters, an aggregate effect of generalized forces and external physical forces acting on the robot at time t, a stepsize (dt), and a map of an environment surrounding the robot, the robot hybrid state at time t comprising a discrete mode at time t and a continuous state at time t, the map comprising geometric structures and mechanical properties of the environment;
b. utilizing inputs to construct equations of motion at runtime for the robot hybrid dynamics;
c. numerically integrating the equations of motion ("flow") within the discrete robot mode at time t to obtain a continuous robot state at a subsequent timestep: t + dt; and
d. determining if a discrete mode transition ("jump") occurred between time t and t + dt by checking for guard conditions occurring between the continuous robot state at time t and the continuous robot state at time t + dt.
The robot in Claim 39 is just using generic computer components. The computer hardware is recited at a high level of generality such that it amounts to no more than mere instructions to implement an abstract idea by adding the words “apply it” (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception. Accordingly, these additional elements, when considered separately and as an ordered combination, do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. Therefore claim 39 is directed to an abstract idea without a practical application. (Step 2A-Prong 2: NO. The additional claimed elements are not integrated into a practical application)
The claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because, when considered separately and as an ordered combination, they do not add significantly more (also known as an “inventive concept”) to the exception. As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional element of using computer hardware amounts to no more than mere instructions to implement an abstract idea by adding the words “apply it” (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception. Mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on or with the use of generic computer components, cannot provide an inventive concept - rendering the claim patent ineligible. Thus claim 39 is not patent eligible. (Step 2B: NO. The claims do not provide significantly more).
The dependent claims further define the abstract idea that is present in their respective independent claims and hence are abstract for at least the reasons presented above. The dependent claims do not include any additional elements that integrate the abstract idea into a practical application or are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception when considered both individually and as an ordered combination. Therefore, the dependent claims are directed to an abstract idea. Thus, the aforementioned claims are not patent-eligible.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 23, 28, and 34 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Couture (US 20090314554 A1) as modified by Watabe (US 20130178983 A1)
Claim 1:
Couture teaches the following limitations:
A mobile robotic device, comprising: a main body operably coupled to a plurality of contact elements, each contact element being a wheel, track, or foot; and (Couture - [0118] Referring to FIGS. 1-6, a robotic vehicle 10 includes a chassis 20 having front and rear ends 20A and 20B, respectively, that is supported on right and left drive track assemblies, 30 and 40 respectively, having driven tracks, 34 and 44 respectively. Each driven track 34, 44, is trained about a corresponding front wheel, 32 and 42 respectively, which rotates about front wheel axis 15. …) at least one processing unit configured to control positioning and/or rotation of each of the plurality of contact elements, (Couture - [0050] … The robot controller communicates drive commands to the signal processors of each drive control module based on the power source type and the available power level. In one example, the power management control logic monitors a power source temperature as well. Accordingly, the robot controller communicates to the signal processors of each drive control module …) the at least one processing unit configured to, collectively: process perception and odometry data; (Couture - {0138] .. the linkage 70 may place a sensor such as a camera, perception sensor (e.g., laser scanner) or payload sensors … ; [0172] … The magnetic field sensors sensor 5532 measures a motor rotor position or other position information associated with the motor 5530 and provides a feedback signal to the programmable logic circuit 5522. …)
simulate possible future hybrid robot trajectories; and control the robot to follow a planned trajectory. (Couture - [0132] … The robotic vehicle 10 stair climbing behaviors can be configured to control (tilt) the flippers 50, 60 and control the position of the center of gravity shifter 70 as the robot 10 negotiates stairs. A stair climbing assist behavior keeps the robotic vehicle 10 on a straight path upstairs and, in one example, may maintain a roll angle of about zero degrees. ; [0133] The robotic vehicle's 10 control software provides autonomous capabilities that include debris field mapping, obstacle avoidance, and GPS waypoint navigation. The robotic vehicle 10 can determine position via a global positioning system (GPS) receiver, housed in a separate sensor module 500.)
Couture does not explicitly teach the following limitations, however Watabe teaches:
encode hybrid dynamic modes with contact statuses for each of the plurality of contact elements; (Watabe - [0035] According to the third aspect of the invention, in the case where the ground-contactable surface of the local region where the desired landing position and the desired landing posture are set is a ground-contactable surface having an edge which is a boundary line of the ground-contactable surface within the local region (for example, a surface of the going of a stair or a step portion), the desired landing position and the desired landing posture are set so as to satisfy at least the ground contact state condition. …) construct a dynamical model for each discrete mode at runtime by constructing appropriate equations of motion and constraint equations and, (Watabe - [ [0088] Additionally, each leg 3 of the robot 1 in this embodiment has six degrees of freedom and therefore the desired displacement amount of each joint of each leg 3 is uniquely determined by the geometric calculation (kinematics calculation) based on a geometric model of the robot 1 from the desired foot position/posture of each foot 4 and the desired body position/posture.) when discrete mode transitions arise, updating discrete mode encodings and applying continuous state reset mappings; (Watabe - [0085] Therefore, the robot coordinate system in this embodiment is a global coordinate system in which the origin position thereof and the directions of the X axis and the Y axis (the directions about the Z axis) are set so as to be updated every time the supporting leg's foot 4sup changes from one to the other of the feet 4 and 4. Hereinafter, unless otherwise specified, it is assumed that the X axis, the Y axis, and the Z axis mean the coordinate axes of the robot coordinate system.)
Therefore, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been
obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Couture to control, track, and update contact elements as taught in Watabe. Having the ability to control, track, and update the status of contact elements as the robot or autonomous vehicle moves through an environment ensures that the robot or autonomous vehicle is moving with stability and efficiency as it encounters terrain changes in its environment.
Claim 23:
Couture teaches the following limitations:
The mobile robotic device of claim 1, further comprising a central actuator operably coupled to the main body, the central actuator comprising a combustion engine or an electric motor.
(Couture – [0011] … The main drive motor assembly includes a main drive motor and a main drive motor amplifier, and the load shifting motor assembly comprises the load shifting motor and a load shifting motor amplifier. … the main drive motor is disposed in the chassis volume, …)
Claim 28:
Couture teaches the following limitations:
A mobile robotic system, comprising: a plurality of mobile robotic devices of claim 1, mechanically coupled together.
( Couture – [0125] The payload deck assembly 80 accepts the mounting of one or more functional payload modules 500 that may include robotic arms, chemical, biological and radiation detectors, and a sample container. The robotic vehicle 10 automatically detects the presence and type of an installed functional payload 500 upon start-up.)
Claim 34:
Couture teaches the following limitations:
The mobile robotic system of claim 28, wherein each mobile robot device is linked to a common actuator via a mechanic interface on a common surface.
(Couture - [0032] In one example, the payload deck assembly includes connection points for both a functional payload power link and a functional payload communication link, which may comprise an Ethernet link. In one implementation, the functional payload communication link is a packet switched network connectable to a distribution switch or router.; [0033] The payload deck assembly includes an electronics bin (also "CG tub") which holds most of the electronics of the robot (as well as the upper motor(s) for tilting the paylaod deck assembly, but excepting motor control and drivers for the drive motors, which is housed in the chassis), and supports a dockable battery unit slid into the bottom of the electronics bin as well as a accepting a modular payload deck, which defines threaded holes to accept functional payloads and includes multiple functional payload connection pads positioned to accommodate selective connection of multiple functional payload units to the payload deck. …)
Claims 2-6, 8-11, 15, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Couture (US 20090314554 A1) as modified by Watabe (US 20130178983 A1) in view of Ma (CN 214189856 U)
Claim 2:
Couture in combination with Watabe does not explicitly teach the following limitations, however Ma teaches:
The mobile robotic device of claim 1, wherein: the main body has a left side and a right side, each side including: a body frame; a first wheel operably coupled to the body frame, each first wheel being one of the plurality of contact elements; and (Ma – [page 2, lines 26 – 29, English Translation PDF] … leg module, the leg module is set on the machine body, for driving the cooperative interactive robot to move; the leg module comprises a first leg module and a second leg module; the first leg module is a wheel foot type leg module; … ; [See also Figures 1, 2, and 3, Original Chinese Document] ) a first motor operably coupled to the first wheel; a plurality of upper legs, each upper leg removably coupled to the body frame of the left side or the right side, each upper leg including: an upper leg structural member having a first end and a second end, the upper leg structural member being rotatably coupled to the body frame at the first end; and a second motor and a third motor operably coupled to the upper leg structural member; a plurality of lower legs, each lower leg coupled to one of the plurality of upper legs, each lower leg including: a lower leg structural member having a first end and a second end, the first end of the lower leg structural member being rotatably coupled to the second end of the upper leg structural member to form a knee joint; (Ma – [page 2, lines 30 – 34, English Translation PDF] … the first leg module on the same side is arranged along the front and back direction of the machine body; each of the first leg module respectively a foot and a supporting wheel; the second leg module comprises a steering motor, a frame, a driving motor; a first driving wheel and a second driving wheel; … ; [See also Figures 1, 2, and 3, Original Chinese Document] ) a passive second wheel rotatably coupled to the first end of the lower leg structural member, each passive second wheel being one of the plurality of contact elements; and a foot or smaller passive wheel coupled to the second end of the lower leg structural member, each foot or smaller passive wheel being one of the plurality of contact elements; (Ma – [page 6, lines 19 – 20, English Translation PDF] … the supporting wheel 12 is sleeved on the hinge shaft 11, and located at the outer side of the leg 6 … ; [page 7, line 33] The support wheel 12 of the first leg module assists the support body 1. ; [See also Figures 1, 2, and 3, Original Chinese Document] ) wherein each first motor is configured to independently control the rotation of its first wheel around a same first axis; wherein each second motor is configured to independently control a rotational position of its upper leg structural member relative to the body frame; and wherein each third motor is configured to independently control a rotational position of its lower leg structural member relative to its corresponding upper leg. (Ma – [page 8, lines 3-7, English Translation PDF] … the first leg module is composed of thigh and leg, thigh, leg of different swing to form leg movement, realizing the power compensation of leg movement, effectively reducing the output torque of thigh driving motor and leg driving motor. 4) the leg driving motor drives the leg to swing through the belt transmission mechanism; the technology is mature; the weight is light. … ; [See also Figures 1, 2, and 3, Original Chinese Document] )
Therefore, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been
obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Couture and Watabe to have a robot structure and configuration which combines both wheeled and legged elements as taught in Ma. Combining both wheels and legs on the same main body provides a robot or autonomous vehicle that can traverse a variety of terrains and can easily transition between wheeled and legged modes as it encounters environmental changes.
Claim 3:
Couture teaches the following limitations:
The mobile robotic device of claim 2, wherein the first wheel and the passive second wheel are coplanar, and where a first track runs between the first wheel and the passive second wheel.
(Couture - [0020] In another aspect, a mobile robot includes a chassis, a first set of right and left driven flippers rotatably coupled to the chassis, a second set of right and left driven flippers rotatably coupled to the chassis, and a head rotatably coupled to the chassis. Each flipper is independently rotatable about a pivot axis with respect to the chassis, allowing the chassis to tilt about the pivot axis with respect to the first and second sets of flippers. ; [See also Figure 2])
Claim 4:
Couture teaches the following limitations:
The mobile robotic device of claim 3, wherein the foot or smaller passive wheel is a smaller passive wheel, and wherein the main body further comprises a second track attached between the smaller passive wheel and a wheel that is on a same rotational axis and parallel to the passive second wheel at the knee joint.
(Couture - [0021] … The flippers are rotatable about the pivot axis located near the first end of the chassis. Each flipper includes a driven track, where each track is trained about a corresponding drive wheel. In some implementations, the first and second sets of flippers are rotatable 360 degrees about a pivot axis near a forward end of the chassis. The first and second of flippers have a drive axis common with the pivot axis. … ; [See also Figure 2])
Claim 5:
Couture teaches the following limitations:
The mobile robotic device of claim 4, wherein parallel wheels at the knee joint are coupled such that the first track and second track can be driven simultaneously.
(Couture - [0038] In another aspect of the disclosure, a skid steered robot includes a chassis supporting a skid steered drive and a set of driven flippers, each flipper being pivotable about a first pivot axis common with a drive axis of the chassis. … ; [See also Figure 2])
Claim 6:
Couture teaches the following limitations:
The mobile robotic device of claim 2, wherein each upper leg further includes a first belt and pulley coupling the second motor to its upper leg structural member, and a second belt and pulley coupling the third motor to its lower leg structural member.
(Couture - [0199] … Outer tracks 110 are supported by arm side plates 112, drive pulley 114, and idler pulley 116. The idler pulley 116 on each outer track 110 of the robot can be coaxially coupled to inner tracks 108 through chassis 106, and therefore can move together. In this implementation, each inner track 108 and outer track 110 are similar to one another, having grooves and soft cleats 118 attached to the outside surface. Drive pulley 114 drives each inner track 108 and each outer track 110. Each drive pulley 114 is toothed and has a central V-shaped channel that loosely mates with the V-shaped rib on the inside of the corresponding track 108. In this implementation, drive pulley 114 on each side is coaxial with a drive pulley (not shown) on the inner flipper 104, and both drive pulleys on a particular side turn in unison on a common axle. …; [See also Figure 2])
Claim 8:
Couture teaches the following limitations:
The mobile robotic device of claim 2, wherein a drive shaft of each third motor extends through an opening at the first end of each upper leg structural member to a pulley that drives the rotation of the lower leg structural member.
(Couture - [0038] In another aspect of the disclosure, a skid steered robot includes a chassis supporting a skid steered drive and a set of driven flippers, each flipper being pivotable about a first pivot axis common with a drive axis of the chassis. … ; [See also Figure 2])
Claim 9:
Couture teaches the following limitations:
The mobile robotic device of claim 2, wherein the mobile robotic device includes circuitry coupled to the main body, the circuitry connecting at least one processing unit, a memory, and a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium.
(Couture - [0164] FIG. 36 provides a schematic view of the controller … The robotic vehicle 10 includes a main computer 5320 which runs control logic 5400 to control the robotic vehicle 10. … ; [0255] … DSP 1434 is electronically connected to an electronic memory 1436, which may be RAM, SDRAM, flash, etc., or may be connected to any combination of one or more of such types of memory. …)
Claim 10:
Couture teaches the following limitations:
The mobile robotic device of claim 2, wherein the mobile robotic device includes a battery removably coupled to the mobile robotic device.
(Couture - [0122] The robotic vehicle 10 is electrically powered (e.g. a bank of nine standard military BB-2590 replaceable and rechargeable lithium-ion batteries). Referring to FIGS. 2-3, the payload deck assembly 80, specifically the electronics tub 90, accommodates a slidable, removable battery unit 92. …)
Claim 11:
Couture in combination with Watabe does not explicitly teach the following limitations, however Ma teaches:
The mobile robotic device of claim 2, wherein the mobile robotic device is configured to operate in a variety of contact configurations, the variety of contact configurations consisting of any subset of its wheels and feet in contact with a ground surface, another robot surface, or an environment surface; or wherein the mobile robotic device is configured to operate in a variety of contact configurations, the variety of contact configurations consisting of any subset of its wheels, tracks, and/or feet in contact with a ground surface, another robot surface, and/or an environment surface.
(Ma – [page 2, lines 39-44, page 3, lines 1-3, English Translation PDF] … the leg module has two working modes: foot mode and wheel mode; when the leg module is in the wheel mode, the supporting wheel supports the machine body and the foot is suspended; the first driving wheel; the second driving wheel is driven by the driving motor to rotate, so as to drive the cooperative interactive robot to move; the machine frame can adjust the direction under the driving of the steering motor, so as to adjust the moving direction of the cooperative interactive robot; in the foot mode, the second leg module and the supporting wheel are suspended; the foot of each of the first leg module alternately touches ground to drive the driving cooperative interactive robot to move; …[See also Figures 1, 2, and 3, Original Chinese Document] )
Therefore, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been
obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Couture and Watabe to have a robot structure and configuration which combines both wheeled and legged elements as taught in Ma. Combining both wheels and legs on the same main body provides a robot or autonomous vehicle that can traverse a variety of terrains and can easily transition between wheeled and legged modes as it encounters environmental changes.
Claim 15:
Couture does not explicitly teach the following limitations, however Watabe teaches:
The mobile robotic device of claim 2, wherein the mobile robotic device is able to dynamically transition from a first contact configuration to a second contact configuration.
(Watabe - [0162] Specifically, the ground contact state condition includes, for example, a condition that the area of a ground contact surface (a contact surface with the ground-contactable surface) of the free leg's foot 4swg in the landing position/posture to be set is equal to or greater than a given value (hereinafter, referred to as "first ground contact state condition") and a condition that an angle (an angle about the Z axis) formed between the horizontal axis in the back-and-forth direction of the free leg's foot 4swg in the landing position/posture to be set and the boundary line Le of the ground-contactable surface of the focused landing candidate region ARa(i) is within a given range (hereinafter, referred to as "second ground contact state condition").)
Therefore, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been
obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Couture to provide the ability to change between contact modes dynamically as the robot travels as taught in Watabe. Having the ability to readily change contact modes allows a robot to traverse a variety of terrains by transitioning between contact methods as it encounters environmental changes.
Claim 20:
Couture teaches the following limitations:
The mobile robotic device of claim 2, wherein the main body defines an attachment point.
( Couture – [0125] The payload deck assembly 80 accepts the mounting of one or more functional payload modules 500 that may include robotic arms, chemical, biological and radiation detectors, and a sample container. The robotic vehicle 10 automatically detects the presence and type of an installed functional payload 500 upon start-up.)
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Couture (US 20090314554 A1) as modified by Watabe (US 20130178983 A1) in view of Ma (CN 214189856 U) and in further view of Lim (US 20150182403 A1)
Claim 7:
Couture in combination with Watabe and Ma does not explicitly teach the following limitations, however Lim teaches:
The mobile robotic device of claim 2, wherein a distance between the first wheel on the left side of the main body and the first wheel on the right side of the main body is adjustable.
(Lim - [0024] FIG. 7b illustrates detailed perspective view of an exemplary drive track that expands to provide a wide base for stability and access to wheelchair for the medical robotic system, in accordance with an embodiment of the present invention.)
Therefore, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been
obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Couture, Watabe, and Ma to provide a means for making the wheel base width adjustable as taught in Lim. Having a robot or vehicle with an adjustable wheelbase ensures that the vehicle remains stable during operation in a changing environment.
Claims 16 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Couture (US 20090314554 A1) as modified by Watabe (US 20130178983 A1) in view of Ma (CN 214189856 U) and in further view of Christensen (US 20210114203 A1)
Claim 16:
Couture teaches the following limitations:
one or more manipulators coupled to the main body; or a combination thereof.
( Couture – [0034] - … A manipulator arm may be removably mounted on the payload deck assembly. …)
Couture in combination with Watabe and Ma does not explicitly teach the following limitations, however Christensen teaches:
The mobile robotic device of claim 2, further comprising one or more inertial stabilizers coupled to the main body and independently actuated through an additional motor; (Christensen - [0059] In this regard, a balance controller may selectively operate one or more inertial reaction wheels 740 located on or in the robot's torso 722 to apply a balancing force, F.sub.Balancing1, on the robot 720 to correct an undesired tipping or movement during bipedal locomotion or standing on floor 704. The inertial reaction wheel 740 may take the form of a flywheel weights, a spinning disc, and/or a control movement gyroscope. …) one or more sensors coupled to the main body; (Christensen - [0009] … the robot may include a balance sensor detecting a current pose of the robot such as an offset angle of an axis extending through the center of mass (COM) of the robot's body/torso relative to vertical and, in some case, a rate and/or direction of movement of the robot from vertical (e.g., movement of the axis extending from the COM away from vertical). The output of the balance sensor is processed by a balance controller to determine when a force should be applied to the robot to retain balance and the direction and magnitude of this corrective or righting force.)
Therefore, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been
obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Couture, Watabe, and Ma to provide a means of coupling devices such as manipulators, sensors and stabilizers to the main body of the vehicle as taught in Christensen. Providing a means of connecting ancillary devices to the main body allows the vehicle to have a flexible physical configuration, therefore increasing the ability of the vehicle to efficiently complete tasks and traverse a variety of environments.
Claim 17:
Couture in combination with Watabe and Ma does not explicitly teach the following limitations, however Christensen teaches:
The mobile robotic device of claim 2, wherein at least one first wheel is configured to operate, while not in contact with a ground surface, as an inertial stabilizer.
(Christensen - [0059] In this regard, a balance controller may selectively operate one or more inertial reaction wheels 740 located on or in the robot's torso 722 to apply a balancing force, F.sub.Balancing1, on the robot 720 to correct an undesired tipping or movement during bipedal locomotion or standing on floor 704. The inertial reaction wheel 740 may take the form of a flywheel weights, a spinning disc, and/or a control movement gyroscope. …)
Therefore, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been
obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Couture, Watabe, and Ma to provide a rotational inertial stabilizer as taught in Christensen. Providing a non-contact, rotational inertial stabilizer allows the vehicle or robot to maintain balance and react quickly to sudden changes in equilibrium.
Claim 38 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Couture (US 20090314554 A1) as modified by Ben-Tzvi (US 20190091857 A1) and Zheng (US 20230055206 A1)
Claim 38:
Couture teaches the following limitations:
A system for controlling a mobile robot, comprising: at least one processing unit configured to (Couture - [0118] Referring to FIGS. 1-6, a robotic vehicle 10 includes a chassis 20 having front and rear ends 20A and 20B, respectively, that is supported on right and left drive track assemblies, 30 and 40 respectively, having driven tracks, 34 and 44 respectively. Each driven track 34, 44, is trained about a corresponding front wheel, 32 and 42 respectively, which rotates about front wheel axis 15. …) control positioning and/or rotation of each a plurality of contact elements, (Couture - [0050] … The robot controller communicates drive commands to the signal processors of each drive control module based on the power source type and the available power level. In one example, the power management control logic monitors a power source temperature as well. Accordingly, the robot controller communicates to the signal processors of each drive control module …) the plurality of contact elements including a first contact element and a second contact element, the at least one processing unit configured to, collectively: encode hybrid dynamic modes of contact statuses for each of the plurality of contact elements; (Couture - [0118] Referring to FIGS. 1-6, a robotic vehicle 10 includes a chassis 20 having front and rear ends 20A and 20B, respectively, that is supported on right and left drive track assemblies, 30 and 40 respectively, having driven tracks, 34 and 44 respectively. Each driven track 34, 44, is trained about a corresponding front wheel, 32 and 42 respectively, which rotates about front wheel axis 15. …)
Couture does not explicitly teach the following limitations, however Ben-Tzvi teaches:
determine at least one specific time at which guard conditions are met, resulting in transitions between discrete mode encodings; construct dynamical models for hybrid dynamic modes of the system at runtime (Ben-Tzvi - [0049] In other aspects, the present invention provides a hybrid dynamic model. … The stance domain is where the leg is in contact with the ground, and the flight domain is where the leg is in the aerial phase. … The continuous and discrete dynamics are tied together by Δ, a set of switching functions. Δ feeds appropriate initializations for the corresponding field, custom-character, of continuous dynamics. A visual representation tailored for embodiments of the present inventions during sagittal running is illustrated in FIG. 5. The mathematical description of each mode follows. ; [0068] Once the desired phase angle is reached, a predetermined set point for the angle between the foot and the body fixed frame at the hip as seen in FIG. 7, the transition to flight phase is triggered. The stance phase states are multiplied with the identity matrix encoded within the flight map in order to provide the initial conditions to map back into the flight phase. This cycle is repeated for each step.)
simulate possible future robot hybrid trajectories; plan a trajectory based on the hybrid dynamical models; and control the robot to follow a planned trajectory by causing at least the first contact element to spatially move relative to the second contact element based on the trajectory. (Ben-Tzvi - [0044] The optimization results in link lengths, and angle that generate a trajectory, which closely traces the desired trajectory as shown in FIG. 4B. The angles corresponding to the first loop are depicted in FIG. 3, due to their importance to the knee trajectory. ; [0067] The simulation is initialized from the flight phase and is fed with a 14-dimensional initial value vector. The initial conditions include the dependent velocities, abstracted as ż. However, the output of the SPF hybrid dynamic model then reduces the system to a 10-dimensional output through the decay of the SPF fast dynamics. … )
Couture in combination with Ben-Tzvi does not explicitly teach the following limitations, however Zheng teaches:
by procedurally integrating appropriate equations of motion and kinodynamic constraints into forward dynamics;
(Zheng - [0071] Further, the first three rows in the formula (1) are obtained according to Newton's law, and the last three rows are obtained according to the Euler equation. Newton's law and Euler's equation together describe the relationship between the motion of the robot and the external force received.)
Therefore, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been
obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Couture to provide a means of managing transitions to various contact modes and also estimate and simulate the required trajectories of the contact elements as taught in Ben-Tzvi and to further use integration based motion equations to guide transitional simulations, contact transitions and the trajectories of the contact elements as taught in Zheng . Carefully simulating and managing the transition between contact modes as well as estimating and determining the trajectories through the use of integrated motion equations, ensures that the vehicle or robot can navigate through changes in terrain with maximum efficiency.
Claim 39 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ben-Tzvi (US 20190091857 A1) as modified by Zheng (US 20230055206 A1)
Claim 39:
Ben-Tzvi teaches the following limitations:
A method for controlling a robot, including a hybrid dynamical simulation procedure, comprising: (Ben-Tzvi - [0049] In other aspects, the present invention provides a hybrid dynamic model. … The stance domain is where the leg is in contact with the ground, and the flight domain is where the leg is in the aerial phase. … The continuous and discrete dynamics are tied together by Δ, a set of switching functions. Δ feeds appropriate initializations for the corresponding field, custom-character, of continuous dynamics. A visual representation tailored for embodiments of the present inventions during sagittal running is illustrated in FIG. 5. The mathematical description of each mode follows.)
a.receiving inputs defining a robot hybrid state at time t, robot physical parameters, an aggregate effect of generalized forces and external physical forces acting on the robot at time t, a stepsize (dt), and (Ben-Tzvi -- [0063] Likewise, {dot over (q)}.sup.− is the velocity prior to impact. Here, the external force, Fext, at the foot end is derived through the principle of virtual work and is projected onto the joint space as: Fext = Jc (q,z)T F (16) ; [0065] is the Jacobian of the foot position with respect to {O} and F = [FT FN]T is the vector of tangential and normal forces at the foot end.)
d. determining if a discrete mode transition ("jump") occurred between time t and t + dt by checking for guard conditions occurring between the continuous robot state at time t and the continuous robot state at time t + dt.
(Ben-Tzvi - [0049] In other aspects, the present invention provides a hybrid dynamic model. … The stance domain is where the leg is in contact with the ground, and the flight domain is where the leg is in the aerial phase. … The continuous and discrete dynamics are tied together by Δ, a set of switching functions. Δ feeds appropriate initializations for the corresponding field, custom-character, of continuous dynamics. A visual representation tailored for embodiments of the present inventions during sagittal running is illustrated in FIG. 5. The mathematical description of each mode follows. ; [0068] Once the desired phase angle is reached, a predetermined set point for the angle between the foot and the body fixed frame at the hip as seen in FIG. 7, the transition to flight phase is triggered. The stance phase states are multiplied with the identity matrix encoded within the flight map in order to provide the initial conditions to map back into the flight phase. This cycle is repeated for each step.)
Ben-Tzvi does not explicitly teach the following limitations, however Zheng teaches:
a map of an environment surrounding the robot, the robot hybrid state at time t comprising a discrete mode at time t and a continuous state at time t, the map comprising geometric structures and mechanical properties of the environment;
(Zheng - [0166] Alternatively, the control device 120 collects a three-dimensional point cloud map of the environment by using the visual sensing unit 210, and determines the target landing point from the three-dimensional point cloud map according to the three-dimensional point cloud map of the environment. …)
b. utilizing inputs to construct equations of motion at runtime for the robot hybrid dynamics;
c. numerically integrating the equations of motion ("flow") within the discrete robot mode at time t to obtain a continuous robot state at a subsequent timestep: t + dt; and (Zheng - [0068] The first relational expression is a centroid dynamics equation of the legged robot 110, and is used for representing a relationship between a motion state of the legged robot 110 and an external force received. The first relational expression may have a plurality of expressions, such as the Newton-Euler equation. … ; [0071] Further, the first three rows in the formula (1) are obtained according to Newton's law, and the last three rows are obtained according to the Euler equation. Newton's law and Euler's equation together describe the relationship between the motion of the robot and the external force received.)
Therefore, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been
obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Ben-Tzvi to create a model of the surrounding environment and to further use integration based motion equations to guide transition simulations and determine the trajectories of the contact elements as taught in Zheng. Sensing the surrounding environment, simulating and managing the transition between contact modes, and estimating trajectories using integrated motion equations ensures that the vehicle or robot can navigate through changes in terrain with maximum efficiency.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure or directed to the state of the art is listed on the enclosed PTO-892.
The following is a brief description for relevant prior art that was cited but not applied:
Cho (US 20240336313 A1) describes a robot switchable in a leg mode and a wheel mode and thus capable of moving stably over various terrains by switching to a leg mode or a wheel mode as needed; and a hybrid robot having the moving part. More particularly, the hybrid robot switchable in a leg mode and a wheel mode includes a main body; and a moving part movable in a state of being rotated in at least one direction of roll, pitch, and yaw directions by a motor mounted on the main body.
Kenneally (US 20210299867 A1) describes a robot control system may be configured to control a robot having a plurality of limbs. The robot control system may control the robot to crawl, to open a door, to bound and or to climb stairs.
Nagasaka (US 20070021870 A1) describes an external force estimation system for estimating an external force acting upon a robot apparatus which includes a machine body which in turn includes a plurality of movable joints is disclosed which includes a distribution type contacting state detection section, an actuator current state measurement section, a motion state measurement section, a motion equation setting section, a known term calculation section, and an external force estimation section.
/ALAN LINDSAY OSTROW/ Examiner, Art Unit 3657
/ADAM R MOTT/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3657