DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over McCulloch (US 9,183,676) in view of Wright (US 2016/0379408) .
Regarding claims 1 and 13, McCulloch teaches A presentation control device comprising: a presenter that causes a presentation device to present presentation information that contains the position information to a non-wearer who is not wearing the wearable member (Fig. 9A-9B and the respective description teach a second user enters an environment of a first user and both users can view virtual object information (displayed) on each user’s augmented device by sharing mode so both users can see the same content.. Based on this teaching it is understood that the position information of each object is presented for both devices and the original content seen by user 2 is presented to user 1 (whom is not wearing user 2 augmented device) and vice versa.). Although McCulloch teaches the limitations as discussed above, he does not explicitly teach an acquirer that acquires position information that indicates a corresponding position of a visual target object in a real space, the corresponding position corresponding to a position of the visual target object in content viewed by a wearer, the content being displayed on a display device provided in a wearable member worn by the wearer.
However in the field of presenting information to user through an augmented device, Wright teaches an acquirer that acquires position information that indicates a corresponding position of a visual target object in a real space (Fig. 9 end table 108B), the corresponding position corresponding to a position of the visual target object in content viewed by a wearer ([0049][0056-0058][0065][0073] teach that the system presents a mixed reality of presented virtual objects in alignment with the surrounding environment) , the content being displayed on a display device provided in a wearable member worn (HMD 104) by the wearer.
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the presentation method as taught by McCulloch with the presentation method as taught by Wright. This combination provides an improved immersive experience by properly aligning virtual objects in physical space environments.
Regarding claim 2, Wright teaches wherein the acquirer acquires the position information by determining, based on line-of- sight information (gaze vector that determines where a user is looking) that indicates a line of sight of the wearer, the visual target object in the content viewed by the wearer, and calculating the corresponding position of the visual target object determined in the real space ([0034-0035][0039][0073] teaches based on tracking a wearer’s eyes the system can identify if the user is gazing at a physical object and/or virtual object).
Regarding claim 3, Wright teaches wherein the acquirer makes, based on the line-of-sight information, a determination as to whether the visual target object viewed by the wearer is the visual target object in the content or the visual target object in the real space, and determines a presentation form for presenting the presentation information, based on a result of the determination ([0073] teaches based on tracking a wearer’s eyes the system can identify if the user is gazing at a physical object and/or virtual object)., and McCulloch teaches the method where a the presenter causes the presentation device to present the presentation information in a presentation form determined (Fig. 9A-9B and the respective description teach a second user enters an environment of a first user and both users can view virtual object information (displayed) on each user’s augmented device by sharing mode so both users can see the same content. Therefore it is obvious the system determines how to present the content of both augmented devices together).
Regarding claim 4, Wright teaches wherein the presentation information further contains target object information that corresponds to at least one of a size, a direction of movement, a color, or a shape of the visual target object in the content viewed by the wearer ([0033]).
Regarding claim 5, McCulloch teaches a method of gathering image information wherein the presentation information further contains meta-information (structural data) that is related to the content (Col. 16 lines 37-67 through Col. 17 lines 1-9).
Regarding claim 6, McCulloch teaches wherein the presentation device includes an electronic device used by the non-wearer, and the presenter causes the electronic device to present the presentation information by transmitting the presentation information to the electronic device (Fig. 9A-9B and the respective description teach a second user enters an environment of a first user and both users can view virtual object information (displayed) on each user’s augmented device by sharing mode so the both users can see the same content. Based on this teaching it is understood that the position information of each object is presented for both devices and the original content seen by user 2 is presented to user 1 (whom is not wearing user 2 augmented device) and vice versa.).
Regarding claim 7, McCulloch teaches wherein the presentation device includes (augmented display devices 2) an emission source that emits any one of light (micro display projector of image generation unit 120) , a liquid, a powder, or a gas, and
the presenter causes the emission source to present the presentation information by controlling, based on the presentation information, the emission source to emit any one of the light, the liquid, the powder, or the gas (Col. 9 lines 9-21).
Regarding claim 8, McCulloch teaches wherein the presentation device includes a projector, and the presenter causes the projector to present the presentation information by controlling, based on the presentation information, the projector to project a visual image of the object in the content viewed by the wearer (Col. 9 lines 9-21) and Wright teaches presenting a visual image of a visual target object ([0049][0056-0058][0065][0073] teach that the system presents a mixed reality of presented virtual objects in alignment with the surrounding environment).
Regarding claim 9, McCulloch teaches wherein the presentation device includes a mobile unit, and the presenter causes the mobile unit to present the presentation information by controlling, based on the presentation information, the mobile unit to move (Fig. 9A-9B show multiple users with their respective augmented device 2, which are mobile with the user).
Regarding claim 10, Wright teaches wherein the acquirer determines a presentation form for presenting the presentation information based on external environment information regarding an environment of a location, in the real space, where the wearer is present([0049][0056-0058][0065][0073] teach that the system presents a mixed reality of presented virtual objects in alignment with the surrounding environment), and McCulloch teaches the presenter causes the presentation device to present the presentation information in the presentation form determined (Fig. 9A-9B and the respective description teach a second user enters an environment of a first user and both users can view virtual object information (displayed) on each user’s augmented device by sharing mode so both users can see the same content. Therefore it is obvious the system determines how to present the content of both augmented devices together).
Regarding claim 11, McCulloch teaches wherein the external environment information contains information regarding the non- wearer who is at the location, in the real space, where the wearer is present. (Fig. 9A-9B and the respective description teach a second user enters an environment of a first user and both users can view virtual object information (displayed) on each user’s augmented device by sharing mode so both users can see the same content.. Based on this teaching it is understood that the position information of each object is presented for both devices and the original content seen by user 2 is presented to user 1 (whom is not wearing user 2 augmented device) and vice versa.).
Regarding claim 12, McCulloch teaches
A presentation system comprising: the presentation control device according to claim 1; the wearable member; the display device; and the presentation device (augmented display device 2).
Conclusion
/ANDRE L MATTHEWS/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2621