DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 2 is objected to because of the following informalities:
In regards to claim 2, lines 5-6, “a first coil, connected between the power supply circuit and one end or an other end of the transmission coil and the power supply circuit” should be read as “a first coil, connected between the power supply circuit and the one end or another end of the transmission coil and the power supply circuit;”
In regards to claim 2, lines 7-8, the recitation “a second capacitor, having one end connected to the first capacitor and an other end connected to an other end of the transmission coil” should be read as “a second capacitor, having one end connected to the first capacitor and another end connected to the other end of the transmission coil;”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2 and 6-7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In regards to claim 2, lines 9-11, the recitation, “a frequency of AC power supplied from the power supply circuit to the transmission coil is set to be included in a predetermined frequency range that includes a resonant frequency of the resonant circuit of the power receiving device” is unclear to the examiner because the claim limitation reads narratively as it is not tied to a structure. Thus, the metes and bounds cannot be determined, which renders the claim indefinite.
Claims 6-7 are indefinite due to its dependency.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lecias et al. (US 2017/0005525 A1) in view of Alves et al. (US 2016/0094074 A1).
In regards to claim 1, Lecias discloses, in figure 1, a non-contact power feeding device (1) (Par 0036), comprising a power transmission device (2) and a power receiving device (3) to which power is transmitted from the power transmission device (2) in a non-contact manner (Par 0036-0037), wherein the power transmission device (2) comprises: a transmission coil (7), supplying power to the power receiving device (3) (Par 0041); a power supply circuit (4, 5, 9, 10), supplying AC power to the transmission coil (7) (Par 0062); a first communication unit (10), capable of communicating with the power receiving device (3) (Par 0043; “the transmitter coupled circuit may be used to adjust the frequency, which may be used, for example, for communication purposes”); and a control circuit (9), controlling a voltage of AC power supplied from the power supply circuit to the transmission coil (7) (Par 0043, 0058); the power receiving device (3) comprises: a resonant circuit (15), comprising a receiving coil (16) and a resonant capacitor (17) connected to the receiving coil (16) (Par 0047), the resonant circuit (15) receiving power from the transmission coil (7) by resonating with current flowing through the transmission coil (7) of the power transmission device (2) (Par 0047); a rectifier circuit (Fig. 2; 24), rectifying power received via the resonant circuit (15) (Par 0069); a voltage detection circuit (Par 0078), measuring an output voltage of power output from the rectifier circuit (24) (Par 0078; “the receiver controller may sense the voltage supplied to the load (V.sub.LOAD)”); a resonance suppression coil (21), arranged to be able to be electromagnetically coupled with the receiving coil (16) (Par 0070; “The coupling coil is magnetically coupled to the receiving coil 16.”); a switch circuit (22), connected to the resonance suppression coil (21) and capable of switching between short-circuiting and opening of the resonance suppression coil (21) (Par 0071-0072, 0078; The variable impedance 22 is a bidirectional pair of n-channel MOSFETs switches that switches on/off which switches between short-circuiting and opening switch 22); a second communication unit (20), capable of communicating with the power transmission device (2) (Par 0091); and a switch control circuit (19), controlling the switch circuit (22) to short-circuit the resonance suppression coil (21) (Par 0078; “if less power is needed by the load, the variable impedance may be switched on” thus creating a short-circuit) in response to a measured value of the output voltage (Fig. 2; VLoad) becoming equal to or greater than a predetermined upper limit threshold (Par 0078; “the receiver controller 19 may determine the power demands of the load and to control the variable impedance accordingly. In one embodiment, the receiver controller may sense the voltage supplied to the load (V.sub.LOAD), which may then be compared to a reference voltage (V.sub.REF) to determine whether more or less power needs to be provided” thus a short-circuit is formed when the receiver controller detects less power is needed by the load in response to the voltage supplied to the load becoming equal to or greater than a predetermined upper limit threshold), controlling the switch circuit (22) to open the resonance suppression coil (21) in response to the measured value of the output voltage becoming equal to or less than a predetermined lower limit threshold that is lower than the predetermined upper limit threshold (Par 0078; “if more power is needed by the load 14, the variable impedance 22 may be switched off…the receiver controller may sense the voltage supplied to the load (V.sub.LOAD), which may then be compared to a reference voltage (V.sub.REF) to determine whether more or less power needs to be provided” thus switch circuit is open when the receiver controller detects more power is needed by the load in response to the voltage supplied to the load becoming equal to or less than a predetermined lower limit threshold that is lower than the predetermined upper limit threshold) obtaining a duty ratio related to a period during which the resonance suppression coil (21) is short-circuited (Par 0078, 0060; “The duty cycle of the PWM control signal provided to the variable impedance may be adjusted depending on the load's power demands.”),
Lecias does not disclose causing the second communication unit to transmit the duty ratio; the control circuit of the power transmission device controls the voltage of AC power supplied from the power supply circuit to the transmission coil so that the duty ratio received via the first communication unit falls within a predetermined allowable range.
However, Alves discloses, in figure 1, causing the second communication unit to transmit the duty ratio (Par 0013); the control circuit (104) of the power transmission device (Par 0027; power transmitter) controls the voltage of AC power supplied from the power supply circuit (106) to the transmission coil (110) so that the duty ratio received via the first communication unit (Par 0027) falls within a predetermined allowable range (Par 0056; “the controller 104 may modify other characteristics of the waveforms applied to the primary coil 110. For example, if the receiver circuitry requires additional power, the controller 104 may increase the duty cycle of the waveform applied to the primary coil 110. In a related example, if the receiver circuitry requires less power, the controller 104 may decrease the duty cycle of the waveform applied to the primary coil 110. In each of these examples, the time average power applied to the primary coil 110 may be modified” thus controller 104 adjusts the duty cycle of the waveform applied to the transmission coil 110 so that the duty ratio received falls within a predetermined allowable range).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Lecias’s inductive power transfer (IPT) system by including causing the second communication unit to transmit the duty ratio; the control circuit of the power transmission device controls the voltage of AC power supplied from the power supply circuit to the transmission coil so that the duty ratio received via the first communication unit falls within a predetermined allowable range as taught by Alves in order to improve and increase the efficiency of the operation of the power transmitting circuitry (Alves; Par 0012, 0053).
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lecias et al. (US 2017/0005525 A1) in view of Alves et al. (US 2016/0094074 A1) in further view of Mi et al. (US 2015/0015197 A1).
In regards to claim 2, Lecias and Alves disclose the non-contact power feeding device according to claim 1, but does not disclose wherein the power transmission device further comprises: a first capacitor, connected between the power supply circuit and one end of the transmission coil; a first coil, connected between the power supply circuit and one end or an other end of the transmission coil and the power supply circuit; and a second capacitor, having one end connected to the first capacitor and an other end connected to an other end of the transmission coil; a frequency of AC power supplied from the power supply circuit to the transmission coil is set to be included in a predetermined frequency range that includes a resonant frequency of the resonant circuit of the power receiving device.
However, Mi discloses, in figure 1, wherein the power transmission device (12) further comprises: a first capacitor (C1), connected between the power supply circuit (21, 22) and one end of the transmission coil (24) (Par 0043-0044); a first coil (Par 0044; Lf1), connected between the power supply circuit (21, 22) and one end or an other end of the transmission coil and the power supply circuit (Par 0043-0044); and a second capacitor (Cf1), having one end connected to the first capacitor (C1) and an other end connected to an other end of the transmission coil (24) (Par 0044); a frequency of AC power supplied from the power supply circuit (output of inverter 22) to the transmission coil (24) is set to be included in a predetermined frequency range that includes a resonant frequency of the resonant circuit of the power receiving device (14) (Par 0043; “The inverter 22 receives a DC input signal from the power source 21 and converts the DC input signal to an AC output signal at a desired resonant frequency... The controller 25 turns the switches on and off to generate the AC output signal at the desired resonant frequency”).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Lecias’s inductive power transmitter by including wherein the power transmission device further comprises: a first capacitor, connected between the power supply circuit and one end of the transmission coil; a first coil, connected between the power supply circuit and one end or an other end of the transmission coil and the power supply circuit; and a second capacitor, having one end connected to the first capacitor and an other end connected to an other end of the transmission coil; a frequency of AC power supplied from the power supply circuit to the transmission coil is set to be included in a predetermined frequency range that includes a resonant frequency of the resonant circuit of the power receiving device as taught by Mi in order to achieve high efficiency for the complete wireless power transfer system (Mi; Par 0005).
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lecias et al. (US 2017/0005525 A1) in view of Alves et al. (US 2016/0094074 A1) in further view of Yokoyama et al. (US 2023/0311674 A1).
In regards to claim 5, Lecias and Alves disclose the non-contact power feeding device according to claim 1, but does not disclose wherein the power receiving device is mounted on a moving body, and the transmission coil of the power transmission device is installed on a movement path of the moving body.
However, Yokoyama discloses, in figure 2, wherein the power receiving device (31) is mounted on a moving body (3) (Par 0091), and the transmission coil (221) of the power transmission device (22) is installed on a movement path (electrified road) of the moving body (Par 0091).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Lecias’s inductive power transmitter by including wherein the power receiving device is mounted on a moving body, and the transmission coil of the power transmission device is installed on a movement path of the moving body as taught by Yokoyama in order to suppress exposure of the human body to a leakage magnetic field when a vehicle becomes difficult to move on a road where a ground power feed device is installed (Yokoyama; Par 0005).
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lecias et al. (US 2017/0005525 A1) in view of Alves et al. (US 2016/0094074 A1) in further view of Mi et al. (US 2015/0015197 A1) in further view of Yokoyama et al. (US 2023/0311674 A1).
In regards to claim 5, Lecias, Alves, and Mi disclose the non-contact power feeding device according to claim 2, but does not disclose wherein the power receiving device is mounted on a moving body, and the transmission coil of the power transmission device is installed on a movement path of the moving body.
However, Yokoyama discloses, in figure 2, wherein the power receiving device (31) is mounted on a moving body (3) (Par 0091), and the transmission coil (221) of the power transmission device (22) is installed on a movement path (electrified road) of the moving body (Par 0091).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Lecias’s inductive power transmitter by including wherein the power receiving device is mounted on a moving body, and the transmission coil of the power transmission device is installed on a movement path of the moving body as taught by Yokoyama in order to suppress exposure of the human body to a leakage magnetic field when a vehicle becomes difficult to move on a road where a ground power feed device is installed (Yokoyama; Par 0005).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 6 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 3-4 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Ikemura et al. (US 2023/0327499 A1); discloses a control apparatus for a power transmitter which wirelessly transmits electric power to a power receiver, the power receiver being configured to perform restriction control that restricts received power through switching control under a predetermined condition. The control apparatus is configured to execute a determination process that determines whether or not the power receiver is performing the restriction control based on an output current and an output voltage of a power inverter included in the power transmitter, and a power control process that controls transmission power of the power transmitter based on a result of the determination process.
Tanabe et al. (US 2016/0036242 A1); discloses a wireless power supply device includes a resonance circuit including a coil and a capacitor, a power supply portion that supplies AC power to the resonance circuit based on a drive signal having a prescribed drive frequency, and a controller that substantially matches the phase of the drive signal and the phase of oscillation of the resonance circuit by switching the direction of a current that flows into the coil.
Onishi et al. (US 2009/0175060 A1); discloses a power transmission control device includes a power-transmitting-side control circuit that controls an operation of a power transmitting device, a driver control circuit that controls operations of a first power transmitting driver and a second power transmitting driver, and a waveform detection circuit that performs a waveform detection process based on a monitor signal from a waveform monitor circuit. The first power transmitting driver drives a first node of a primary coil directly, and the second power transmitting driver drives a second node of the primary coil through a capacitor. A switch circuit is provided in the waveform monitor circuit, the switch circuit being situated in a signal path between the primary coil and a low-level power supply potential. The power-transmitting-side control circuit causes the switch circuit to be turned ON/OFF using a switch control signal.
/ALEX W LAM/ Examiner, Art Unit 2836