DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, and 8-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by SWINGER (US 11,231,098).
Regarding claim 1, SWINGER discloses a differential device (11), comprising a cage (14), a carrier (24) and a disconnect coupling having radially protruding splines (42) configured to selectively connect the carrier (24) to the cage (14).
Regarding claim 2, SWINGER discloses the radially protruding splines (42) are arranged on an axially moveable dog member (26).
Regarding claim 8, SWINGER discloses a differential device (11), comprising a cage (14), a carrier (24), and a disconnect coupling having a dog member (26) arranged radially between the carrier (24) and the cage (14).
Regarding claim 9, SWINGER discloses the dog member (26) is provided with radially protruding splines (42) configured to selectively connect the carrier (24) to the cage (14).
Regarding claim 10, SWINGER discloses a vehicle, comprising the differential device (11) according to claim 1.
Regarding claim 11, SWINGER discloses the radially protruding splines are arranged on a first side of the dog member, and wherein the dog member further comprises a second set of splines on a second side.
Regarding claim 12, SWINGER discloses the radially protruding splines are facing the carrier and configured to selectively engage with mating splines of the carrier.
Regarding claim 13, SWINGER discloses the second set of splines of the dog member are in constant engagement with mating splines of the cage.
Regarding claim 14, SWINGER discloses the dog member is rigidly attached to a controllable sleeve (46).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over SWINGER (US 11,231,098) as applied to claims 1, 2, and 8-14 above, and further in view of KARAMBELAS et al. (US 2002/0112934 A1).
Regarding claim 3, SWINGER discloses the radially protruding splines (42), but does not disclose the being arranged in at least two parallel rows.
KARAMBELAS teaches a disconnect for a vehicle transmission apparatus that uses splines (46, 34) with two parallel rows.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the invention of SWINGER, such that the splines would be arranged in at least two parallel rows, as taught by KARAMBELAS. KARAMBELAS references US 5394967 in regards to the double row splines. US 5394967 teaches “the tandem arrangement doubles the contact area as between the engaging splines for the same degree of overlap as opposed to previous arrangements wherein there was a singular engagement of one spline with another,” col. 4, lines 19-23.
Regarding claim 4, the combination of SWINGER-KARAMBELAS discloses the radially protruding splines (42) are arranged on a first side of the dog member (26), and wherein the dog member (26) further comprises a second set of splines (41) on a second side.
Regarding claim 5, the combination of SWINGER-KARAMBELAS discloses the radially protruding splines (42) are facing the carrier (24) and configured to selectively engage with mating splines (43) of the carrier (24).
Regarding claim 6, the combination of SWINGER-KARAMBELAS discloses the second set of splines (41) of the dog member (26) are in constant engagement with mating splines (31) of the cage (14).
Regarding claim 7, the combination of SWINGER-KARAMBELAS discloses the dog member (26) is rigidly attached to a controllable sleeve (46).
Conclusion
/DEREK D KNIGHT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3655