DETAILED ACTION
This is the initial Office action for non-provisional application 19/157,165 filed August 15, 2025, which is a national stage entry of PCT/EP2024/053989 filed February 16, 2024 and claims foreign priority from GB2302195.9 filed February 16, 2023. Claims 1-18, as presented in the preliminary amendments filed August 15, 2025, are currently pending.
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA ) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group II in the reply filed on October 5, 2026 is acknowledged. Claims 1-10 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to nonelected Group I, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of Applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d) and receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 11 and 15-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Min et al. (US 2023/0285184).
Regarding claim 11, Min discloses a pessary fitting device (probe unit 10) comprising an inflatable element (ballon part 11) operable between a deflated state and an inflated state, wherein in the inflated state the inflatable element (11) comprises an unobstructed external shape substantially similar to an anatomical shape of a human vagina, wherein the pessary fitting device (10) comprises at least one sensor (pressure sensor 12) configured to monitor inflation of the inflatable element as the inflatable element is inflated (Fig. 3; ¶ 0044-0046, 0051, & 0053-0055).
Regarding claim 15, Min discloses that the at least one sensor (12) comprises a pressure sensor (¶ 0044 & 0046).
Regarding claim 16, Min discloses that the at least one sensor (12) is disposed in or on the inflatable element (11) (Fig. 3; ¶ 0046).
Regarding claim 17, Min discloses that in use, the at least one sensor (12) is located at or adjacent at least one of an anterior fornix and a posterior fornix (Fig. 3).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 12 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Min as applied to claim 11 above, in view of LaFarge (US 2014/0121534).
Min discloses the pessary fitting device substantially as claimed, as described above, but fails to teach that the at least one sensor is configured to provide data indicating of overinflation of the inflatable element as the inflatable element is inflated, wherein the at least one sensor is configured to indicate overinflation if an output of the at least one sensor exceeds a threshold value or an output of the at least one sensor drops below a threshold value.
LaFarge discloses an analogous device (measurement assembly 104) configured to measure a size of an internal organ, the device (104) comprising an inflatable element (closed volume 116) operable between a deflated state and an inflated state, and at least one sensor (pressure sensor) configured to provide data indicative of overinflation of the inflatable element (116) as the inflatable element (116) is inflated, wherein the at least one sensor is configured to indicate overinflation if an output of the at least one sensor exceeds a threshold value (Fig. 2; ¶ 0075-0076 & 0114).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the pessary fitting device taught by Min such that the at least one sensor is configured to provide data indicating of overinflation of the inflatable element as the inflatable element is inflated if an output of the at least one sensor exceeds a threshold value as taught by LaFarge for the purpose of preventing overinflation of the inflatable element.
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Min as applied to claim 11 above, in view of Sham (US 2022/0387158).
Min discloses the pessary fitting device substantially as claimed, as described above, but fails to teach that the at least one sensor comprises a sensor configured to determine blood flow in a vaginal wall of a user.
Sham discloses an analogous pessary fitting device (configurations 1200A / 1200B) comprising an inflatable element (ballon 1290) and at least one sensor (attached through tubing 1280 or deployed within ultrasonic probe 1230/1240), wherein the at least one sensor comprises a sensor (optical sensor such as a photoplethysmography sensor) configured to determine blood flow in a vaginal wall of a user (Figs. 12A-12B; ¶ 0091, 0184, 0298-0300, 0303, & 0314).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the pessary fitting device taught by Min such that the at least one sensor includes a sensor configured to determine blood flow in a vaginal wall of a user as taught tb Sham for the purpose of using biometric data to provide an enhanced fit for a pessary designed from the data obtained by the pessary fitting device.
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Min as applied to claim 11 above, in view of Hardart et al. (US 2021/0315730).
Min discloses the pessary fitting device substantially as claimed, as described above, but fails to teach a processor configured to determine an optimal volume of the inflatable element for a user from data obtained by the at least one sensor.
Hardart discloses an analogous pessary fitting device (device that models the interior of the vagina) comprising an inflatable element (expandable balloons 20), at least one sensor (volumetric flowmeter 83, pressure gauge 84), and a processor (microcontroller 91) configured to determine an optimal volume of the inflatable element (20) for a user from data obtained by the at least one sensor (Figs. 1A-3; ¶ 0017, 0023, & 0025-0029).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the pessary fitting device taught by Min to include a processor configured to determine an optimal volume of the inflatable element for a user from data obtained by the at least one sensor as taught by Hardart for the purpose of ascertaining what pressure exerted by the balloon volumes adequately support the vaginal walls without causing discomfort for the user.
With respect to the limitation “optionally configured to determine an optimal inflation volume of the inflatable element that does not cause devascularization”, it is noted that the use of the term “optionally” indicates that the following limitations are not required by the claim and therefore do not need to be taught by the prior art in order for the claim to be rejected. However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to configure to processor of the pessary fitting device taught by the combination of Min and Hardart to determine an optimal inflation volume of the inflatable element that does not cause devascularization for the purpose of ensuring safety to the user of the pessary.
Conclusion
/KERI J NELSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3786 10/27/2026