DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 13-32 of U.S. Application No. 19/157195 filed on 08/15/2025 have been examined.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 13-32 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Lu et al. [US 2022/0126851 A1], hereinafter referred to as Lu.
As to Claim 13 and 24, Lu discloses a device for operating a driving function for automated longitudinal and/or lateral guidance of a vehicle, wherein the device is configured to: ascertain a setpoint state trajectory for operation of the driving function ([see at least 0022]), wherein the setpoint state trajectory specifies a sequence of setpoint states of the vehicle for a corresponding sequence of upcoming driving progressions ([see at least 0029-0030]); ascertain a control input of a driver of the vehicle for the longitudinal and/or lateral guidance of the vehicle ([see at least 0026]); ascertain a deviation from the setpoint state trajectory caused by the control input ([see at least 0029]); and operate the driving function depending on the ascertained deviation ([see at least 0026]).
As to Claim 14 and 25, Lu discloses a device, wherein the device is configured to: depending on the ascertained deviation ([see at least 0026]): cause a termination of the driving function ([see at least 0026]); or continue the operation of the driving function taking into account the deviation from the setpoint state trajectory caused by the control input ([see at least 0026]).
As to Claim 15 and 26, Lu discloses a device, wherein the device is configured to: ascertain an adapted state trajectory adapted in relation to the setpoint state trajectory based on the control input, wherein the adapted state trajectory specifies a sequence of adapted states of the vehicle for the corresponding sequence of upcoming driving progressions; and ascertain a deviation of the adapted state trajectory from the setpoint state trajectory ([see at least 0029-0030]).
As to Claim 16 and 27, Lu discloses a device, wherein the device is configured to: in response to determining, based on the deviation, that the operation of the driving function is to be continued: continue the operation of the driving function using the adapted state trajectory instead of the setpoint state trajectory ([see at least 0022]).
As to Claim 17 and 28, Lu discloses a device, wherein the device is configured to: ascertain a deviation value of a distance measure for the deviation of the adapted state trajectory from the setpoint state trajectory; and operate the driving function depending on the deviation value, such that: the driving function is continued in response to the deviation value being less than a deviation threshold value, or the driving function is terminated in response to the deviation value being greater than the deviation threshold value ([see at least 0026 and 0032]).
As to Claim 18 and 29, Lu discloses a device, wherein the device is configured to: predict a predicted course of control inputs for the sequence of upcoming driving progressions based on the control input; and ascertain the adapted state trajectory based on the predicted course of control inputs ([see at least 0026 and 0029-0030]).
As to Claim 19 and 30, Lu discloses a device,, wherein the device is configured to: ascertain the setpoint state trajectory such that the vehicle has a target state at an end of the sequence of upcoming driving progressions; and ascertain the adapted state trajectory such that the vehicle has the target state at the end of the sequence of upcoming driving progressions ([see at least 0029-0030]).
As to Claim 20 and 31, Lu discloses a device,, wherein the device is configured to: determine that, taking into account one or more boundary conditions for the automated longitudinal and/or lateral guidance of the vehicle, no adapted state trajectory can be ascertained, in which the vehicle has the target state at the end of the sequence of upcoming driving progressions; and cause a termination of the driving function responsive to determining that no adapted stated trajectory can be ascertained ([see at least 0032]).
As to Claim 21, Lu discloses a device, according to wherein a state of the vehicle comprises: a position of the vehicle; and/or a driving speed of the vehicle; and/or wherein a driving progression specifies a time and/or a position during a journey of the vehicle; and/or wherein the sequence of upcoming driving progressions extends over a predefined planning horizon ([see at least 0029-0030]).
As to Claim 22, Lu discloses a device according to wherein the control input comprises: a requested drive torque; a requested deceleration torque; and/or a requested steering torque; and/or wherein the control input is effectuated by actuation of a control operating element of the vehicle by the driver, wherein the control operating element comprises: an accelerator pedal or a twist grip accelerator for requesting a drive torque to accelerate the vehicle; a brake pedal or a brake lever for requesting a deceleration torque to decelerate the vehicle; and/or a steering wheel or handlebars to request a steering torque to steer the vehicle ([see at least claim1 and 0022]).
As to Claim 23 and 32, Lu discloses a device, wherein the device is configured to: check repeatedly whether a control input of the driver is present at a respective driving progression; and in response to the control input being present, operate the driving function depending on the deviation from the respective setpoint state trajectory caused by the control input([see at least 0026 and 0029-0030]).
Conclusion
/YAZAN A SOOFI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3668