DETAILED ACTION
Any References cited but not appearing in any current Form 892 may be found in previous Form 892’s or IDS’s.
Response to Amendment
The amendment to the claims filed on 09/09/2026 is acknowledged. In the amendment, claims 1, 6-7, 10, 17, 20 are amended. Claims 9, 11, 13-16, 22 and 24 are cancelled. Claims 25-29 are added. Claims 1-4, 6-8, 10, 12, 17-21, 23, and 25-29 are currently pending.
The cancellation of claim 11 renders the 112b rejection moot.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see page 7, filed 09/09/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1 and 17 under 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made, with regard to claim 1, in view of previously cited Cotton (US 2016/0067102) in view of previously cited Sherman (US 2022/0226161) in view of newly cited Von Pieterson (US 2009/0204100) and in further view of newly cited Rothenberg (US 2023/0001105) and with regard to claim 17, in view of previously cited Cotton (US 2016/0067102) in view of previously cited Hughen (US 5614333) in view of newly cited Von Pieterson (US 2009/0204100) and in further view of newly cited Rothenberg (US 2023/0001105).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 10 and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cotton (US 2016/0067102) in view of Sherman (US 2022/0226161), in view of Von Pieterson (US 2009/0204100) and in further view of Rothenberg (US 2023/0001105).
Regarding claim 1, Cotton discloses a medical dressing (2) ([0048]), comprising: a backing layer (24) ([0051]); Fig. 3); an adhesive (25) on the backing layer (Fig. 3, bottom of backing layer); and a thermochromic indicator ([0048] to [0058], pattern of dots that are thermochromic are applied to the upper surface of the backing layer) transitionable from: a first color at a first temperature indicative of normal skin temperature ([0012], [0014], thermochromic indicator indicates a change in temperature from a temperature that is characteristic of normal, healthy skin); to a second color at a second temperature ([0014], any suitable thermochromic indicator known in the art, e.g. where the temperature changes at a temperature between 33 and 39 degrees C).
Cotton does not disclose a support material secured to the backing layer, wherein the support material is less elastic than the backing layer, and a thermochromic indicator transitionable to a second color at a second temperature less than the first temperature and indicative of IV fluid infiltration.
Sherman teaches an analogous medical dressing (10’’) ([0073]) having an analogous backing layer (20”) and comprising a support material (42’’) (stiffening elements, [0073]) secured to the backing layer (Fig. 3B, [0073), wherein the support material is less elastic than the backing layer ([0007], the stiffening elements exhibit less elasticity than the backing layer).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to provide to the dressing of Cotton a support material secured to the backing layer, wherein the support material is less elastic than the backing layer, as taught by Sherman, in order to provide an improved medical dressing that facilitates supporting the backing layer such that the backing layer is less likely to bend, fold or droop (Sherman, [0008]).
Cotton in view of Sherman discloses the invention as described above.
The combination does not disclose a thermochromic indicator transitionable to a second color at a second temperature less than the first temperature and indicative of IV fluid infiltration.
Von Pieterson teaches an analogous dressing (1, 3) ([0016]) comprising an analogous thermochromic indicator (2) (temperature sensing element, [0017]; [0016], thermochromic) transitionable from: an analogous first color temperature indicative of a normal skin temperature ([0018], a color of the area B corresponds with the temperature of skin 4 in normal conditions); to a second color at a second temperature less than the first temperature ([0023], a rise or a fall in temperature over a relatively large body part may cause a temperature shift to occur which may be temporary or constant; NOTE: it is implied that a fall in temperature includes a fall in normal body temperature/first temperature; [0007] variations in the temperature of the part of the skin that is covered by the cover are sensed and variations are implied to include increases and decreases in temperature as evidenced by [0023] which indicates that a fall in temperature over a relatively large body part is noted which may causes a temperature shift that may be temporary or constant and the lower temperature is the second temperature).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to provide that the thermochromic indicator of the medical dressing of Cotton in view of Sherman that is transitionable from a first color at a first temperature indicative of normal skin temperature is transitionable to a second color at a second temperature that is less than the first temperature as taught by Von Pieterson in order to provide an improved medical dressing that facilitates determination of whether a temperature shift is relatively temporal or constant so that it can be determined whether an adjustment of treatment is necessary (Von Pieterson, [0023]).
Cotton in view of Sherman and in further view of Von Pieterson discloses the invention as described above. The combination does not disclose that a temperature less than the first temperature is indicative of IV fluid infiltration.
Rothenberg teaches an analogous medical dressing (12) comprising an analogous indicator (10) (images captured by the system 10; [0037], [0055], system for site assessments of a catheter site and/or dressing 12; [0039] images captured by the system over a period of time may be analyze to detect changes such as temperature) transitionable from: a first temperature indicative of normal skin temperature ([0047], a temperature profile that starts to demonstrate formation of a hot or cold spot, it might indicate that phlebitis or infiltration/extravasation, respectively are starting to occur) to a second temperature less than a first temperature and indicative of IV fluid infiltration ([0047] a cold spot is indicative of infiltration; [0059], The system 10 may determine changes in temperature across skin, which may indicate phlebitis/infection for increases in temperature at the site or infiltration/extravasation for decreases in temperature).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to provide that a second temperature of a second color of the medical dressing of Cotton in view of Sherman and in further view of Von Pieterson less than the first temperature is indicative of IV fluid infiltration as taught by Rothenberg in order to provide an improved dressing that detects infiltration/extravasations (Rothenberg, [0059]).
Regarding claim 2, Cotton in view of Sherman, in view of Von Pieterson and in further view of Rothenberg disclose the invention as described above with regard to claim 1.
Cotton further discloses wherein the thermochromic indicator is selected from the group consisting of a dye, a colorant, an ink, and a pigment ([0017], ink and dyes; NOTE: ink and dyes are a colorant and a pigment).
Regarding claim 3, Cotton in view of Sherman, in view of Von Pieterson and in further view of Rothenberg disclose the invention as described above with regard to claim 2.
Cotton further discloses wherein the thermochromic indicator is a dye ([0017]).
Regarding claim 10, Cotton in view of Sherman, in view of Von Pieterson and in further view of Rothenberg discloses the invention as described above with regard to claim 1.
Cotton further discloses wherein the thermochromic indicator is incorporated in or located on at least one of the backing layer, the adhesive , or the support material ([0048] to [0051], the patterns of dots that are printed in thermochromic ink may be applied to the upper surface of the backing layer).
Regarding claim 12, Cotton in view of Sherman, in view of Von Pieterson and in further view of Rothenberg discloses the invention as described above with regard to claim 10.
Cotton further discloses where the thermochromic indicator is printed on the medical dressing ([0023], the thermochromic ink is preferably applied by a printing process).
Claim(s) 4 and 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cotton (US 2016/0067102) in view of Sherman (US 2022/0226161), in view of Von Pieterson (US 2009/0204100) in view of Rothenberg (US 2023/0001105), as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Beran (US 2022/0323721).
Regarding claim 4, Cotton in view of Sherman, in view of Von Pieterson and in further view of Rothenberg discloses the invention as described above with regard to claim 1.
Cotton in view of Sherman, in view of Von Pieterson and in further view of Rothenberg does not explicitly disclose wherein the medical dressing is an IV site dressing.
Beran teaches an analogous medical dressing comprising an analogous backing layer (106); an analogous thermochromic indicator (106) ([0073], liquid crystal sheet) wherein the medical dressing is an IV site dressing ([0074], for placement at a catheter insertion site).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to provide that the medical dressing of Cotton in view of Sherman, in view of Von Pieterson and in further view of Rothenberg is an IV site dressing, as taught by Beran, by providing a sliding opening and a central opening in the dressing, in order to provide an improved dressing that facilitates detection of infection around an insertion site (Beran, [0005]).
Regarding claim 8, Cotton in view of Sherman, in view of Von Pieterson and in further view of Rothenberg discloses the invention as described above with regard to claim 1.
Beran teaches an analogous medical dressing ([0006]) having an analogous backing (1) ([0058]) and an analogous thermochromic indicator (2) ([0058], liquid crystal sensitive film) further comprising an antimicrobial agent ([0058]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to provide that the medical dressing of Cotton in view of Sherman, in view of Von Pieterson and in further view of Rothenberg is further comprising an antimicrobial agent as taught by Beran, in order to provide an improved medical dressing that facilitates treating detected infections ([0005]) and that has antimicrobial properties ([0058]).
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cotton (US 2016/0067102) in view of Sherman (US 2022/0226161), in view of Von Pieterson (US 2009/0204100) in view of Rothenberg (US 2023/0001105), as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Swaniker (US 2007/0179210).
Regarding claim 6, Cotton in view of Sherman, in view of Von Pieterson and in further view of Rothenberg discloses the invention as described above with regard to claim 1.
Cotton further discloses an island pad (21) (see annotated Fig. 3 below).
Cotton in view of Sherman, in view of Von Pieterson and in further view of Rothenberg does not disclose a hydrogel island pad.
Swaniker teaches an analogous medical dressing ([0063], [0097]) that is comprising an analogous island pad ([0063], island of foam on a backing layer), the island pad a hydrogel island pad ([0097], a coating is applied to a medical dressing including a foam pad, such coatings may be biocompatible hydrogels).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to provide that the island pad of the medical dressing of Cotton in view of Sherman, in view of Von Pieterson and in further view of Rothenberg is a hydrogel island pad, as taught by Swaniker, by applying a hydrogel coating to the island pad of Cotton, in order to provide an improved dressing that is biocompatible and that is a super soft pad (Swaniker, [0097]).
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cotton (US 2016/0067102) in view of Sherman (US 2022/0226161), in view of Von Pieterson (US 2009/0204100) in view of Rothenberg (US 2023/0001105), as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Hughen (US 5614333).
Regarding claim 7, Cotton in view of Sherman, in view of Von Pieterson and in further view of Rothenberg discloses the invention as described above with regard to claim 1.
Cotton in view of Sherman, in view of Von Pieterson and in further view of Rothenberg not disclose a carrier releasably attached to the backing layer.
Hughen teaches an analogous backing layer (10) (Fig. 8B) and an analogous thermochromic indicator (12, 15, 40) (Fi. 8A, Fig. 8B; col. 9, lines 1-32, thermochromic coating 12) and a carrier (18) releasably attached (col. 9, lines 1-22, releasable web) to the backing layer (10) (col. 3, lines 20-35, backing 10 may be a base film and an upper surface is the first major surface; col. 9, lines 14-22, thermochromic coating 12 is pressed onto coating 12 of substructure 9 [which includes backing 10] and the web [carrier] is then peeled away, thus it is releasably attached to the first major surface of the backing layer).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to provide that the medical dressing of Cotton in view of Sherman in view of Von Pieterson and in further view of Rothenberg is further comprising a carrier releasably attached to the backing layer, as taught by Hughen, in order to provide an improved medical dressing on which thermochromic indicator is disposed by a method that avoids the need to cure the backing thereby eliminating deformation (Hughen, col. 2, lines 36-44, col. 9, lines 58-67) and a feasible manufacturing method (col. 2, lines 4-7).
Claim(s) 17-18 and 23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cotton (US 2016/0067102) in view of Hughen (US 5614333), in view of Von Pieterson (US 2009/0204100) in view of Rothenberg (US 2023/0001105).
Regarding claim 17, Cotton discloses a medical dressing (2) ([0048]), comprising: a backing layer (24) ([0051]); Fig. 3); an adhesive (25) on the backing layer (Fig. 3, bottom of backing layer); and a thermochromic indicator ([0048] to [0058], pattern of dots that are thermochromic are applied to the upper surface of the backing layer) transitionable from: a first color at a first temperature indicative of normal skin temperature ([0012], [0014], thermochromic indicator indicates a change in temperature from a temperature that is characteristic of normal, healthy skin); to a second color at a second temperature ([0014], any suitable thermochromic indicator known in the art, e.g. where the temperature changes at a temperature between 33 and 39 degrees C)
Cotton does not disclose a carrier releasably attached to the backing layer, and a thermochromic indicator transitionable to a second color at a second temperature less than the first temperature and indicative of IV fluid infiltration.
Hughen teaches an analogous backing layer (10) (Fig, 8B) and an analogous thermochromic indicator (12, 15, 40) (col. 9, lines 1-32, thermochromic coating 12) and a carrier (18) releasably attached (col. 9, lines 1-22, releasable web) to the backing layer (36, 10) (col. 3, lines 20-35, backing 10 may be a base film and an upper surface is the first major surface; col. 9, lines 14-22, thermochromic coating 12 is pressed onto substructure 9 [which includes backing 10] and the web [carrier] is then peeled away, thus it is releasably attached to the first major surface of the backing layer).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to provide that the medical dressing of Cotton is comprising a carrier releasably attached to the backing layer, as taught by Hughen, in order to provide an improved medical dressing on which thermochromic indicator is disposed by a method that avoids the need to cure the backing thereby eliminating deformation (Hughen, col. 2, lines 36-44, col. 9, lines 58-67) and a feasible manufacturing method (col. 2, lines 4-7).
Cotton in view of Hughen discloses the inventio as described above.
The combination does not disclose a thermochromic indicator transitionable to a second color at a second temperature less than the first temperature and indicative of IV fluid infiltration.
Von Pieterson teaches an analogous dressing (1, 3) ([0016]) comprising an analogous thermochromic indicator (2) (temperature sensing element, [0017]; [0016], thermochromic) transitionable from: a first color temperature indicative of a normal skin temperature ([0018], a color of the area B corresponds with the temperature of skin 4 in normal conditions); to a second color at a second temperature less than the first temperature ([0023], a rise or a fall in temperature over a relatively large body part may cause a temperature shift to occur which may be temporary or constant; NOTE: it is implied that a fall in temperature includes a fall in normal body temperature; [0007] variations in the temperature of the part of the skin that is covered by the cover are sensed and variations are implied to include increases and decreases in temperature as evidenced by [0023] which indicates that a fall in temperature over a relatively large body part is noted which may causes a temperature shift that may be temporary or constant and the lower temperature is the second temperature).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to provide that the thermochromic indicator of the medical dressing of Cotton in view of Hughen that is transitionable from a first color at a first temperature indicative of normal skin temperature is transitionable to a second color at a second temperature that is less than the first temperature as taught by Von Pieterson in order to provide an improved medical dressing that facilitates determination of whether a temperature shift is relatively temporal or constant so that it can be determined whether an adjustment of treatment is necessary (Von Pieterson, [0023]).
Cotton in view of Hughen and in further view of Von Pieterson discloses the invention as described above. The combination does not disclose that a temperature less than the first temperature is indicative of IV fluid infiltration.
Rothenberg teaches an analogous medical dressing (12) comprising an analogous indicator (10) (images captured by the system 10; [0037], [0055], system for site assessments of a catheter site and/or dressing 12; [0039] images captured by the system over a period of time may be analyze to detect changes such as temperature) transitionable from: a first temperature indicative of normal skin temperature ([0047], a temperature profile that starts to demonstrate formation of a hot or cold spot, it might indicate that phlebitis or infiltration/extravastion, respectively are starting to occur) e.g. dressing status is described by infiltration) capture by the system may be color images initial images indicative of a first temperature indicative of a normal skin temperature) to second temperature less than a first temperature and indicative of IV fluid infiltration ([0047] a cold spot is indicative of infiltration; [0059], The system 10 may determine changes in temperature across skin, which may indicate phlebitis/infection for increases in temperature at the site or infiltration/extravasation for decreases in temperature).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to provide that a second temperature of a second color of the medical dressing of Cotton in view of Hughen and in further view of Von Pieterson less than the first temperature is indicative of IV fluid infiltration as taught by Rothenberg in order to provide an improved dressing that detects infiltration/extravasation (Rothenberg, [0059]).
Regarding claim 18, Cotton in view of Hughen, in view of Von Pieterson and in further view of Rothenberg discloses the invention as described above with regard to claim 17.
Cotton further discloses wherein the thermochromic indicator is selected from the group consisting of a dye, a colorant, an ink, and a pigment ([0017], ink and dyes; NOTE: ink and dyes are a colorant and a pigment).
Regarding claim 23, Cotton in view of Hughen, in view of Von Pieterson and in further view of Rothenberg discloses the invention as described above with regard to claim 17.
Cotton further discloses where the thermochromic indicator is printed on the medical dressing ([0023], the thermochromic ink is preferably applied by a printing process).
Claim(s) 19 and 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cotton (US 2016/0067102) in view of Hughen (US 5614333), in view of Von Pieterson (US 2009/0204100) and in view of Rothenberg (US 2023/0001105), as applied to claim 17 above, and further in view of Beran (US 2022/0323721).
Regarding claim 19, Cotton in view of Hughen, in view of Von Pieterson and in further view of Rothenberg discloses the invention as described above with regard to claim 17.
The combination does not explicitly disclose wherein the medical dressing is an IV site dressing.
Beran teaches an analogous medical dressing comprising an analogous backing layer (106); an analogous thermochromic indicator (106) ([0073], liquid crystal sheet) wherein the medical dressing is an IV site dressing ([0074], for placement at a catheter insertion site).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to provide that the medical dressing of Cotton in view of Hughen, in view of Von Pieterson and in further view of Rothenberg is an IV site dressing, as taught by Beran, by providing a sliding opening and a central opening in the dressing, in order to provide an improved dressing that facilitates detection of infection around an insertion site (Beran, [0005]).
Regarding claim 21, Cotton in view of Hughen, in view of Von Pieterson and in further view of Rothenberg discloses the invention as described above with regard to claim 17.
The combination does not disclose an antimicrobial agent.
Beran teaches an analogous medical dressing ([0006]) having an analogous backing (1) ([0058]) and an analogous thermochromic indicator (2) ([0058], liquid crystal sensitive film) further comprising an antimicrobial agent ([0058]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to provide that the medical dressing of Cotton in view of Hughen in view of Von Pieterson and in further view of Rothenberg is further comprising an antimicrobial agent as taught by Beran, in order to provide an improved medical dressing that facilitates treating detected infections ([0005]) and that has antimicrobial properties ([0058]).
Claim(s) 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cotton (US 2016/0067102) in view of Hughen (US 5614333), in view of Von Pieterson (US 2009/0204100) and in view of Rothenberg (US 2023/0001105), as applied to claim 17 above, and further in view of Swaniker (US 2007/0179210).
Regarding claim 20, Cotton in view of Hughen, in view of Von Pieterson and in further view of Rothenberg discloses the invention as described above with regard to claim 17.
Cotton further discloses an island pad (21) proximate the second major surface of the backing (see annotated Fig. 3 above with regard to the claim 6 rejection).
The combination does not disclose a hydrogel island pad.
Swaniker teaches an analogous medical dressing ([0063], [0097]) that is comprising an analogous island pad ([0063], island of foam on a backing layer), the island pad a hydrogel island pad ([0097], a coating is applied to a medical dressing including a foam pad, such coatings may be biocompatible hydrogels).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to provide that the island pad of the medical dressing of Cotton in view of Hughen, in view of Von Pieterson and in further view of Rothenberg is a hydrogel island pad, as taught by Swaniker, in order to provide an improved dressing that is biocompatible and that is a super soft pad (Swaniker, [0097]).
Claim(s) 25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cotton (US 2016/0067102) in view of Sherman (US 2022/0226161), in view of Von Pieterson (US 2009/0204100) in view of Rothenberg (US 2023/0001105), as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of MacDonald (US 2008/0279253).
Regarding claim 25, Cotton in view of Sherman, in view of Von Pieterson and in further view of Rothenberg discloses the invention as described above with regard to claim 1.
The combination does not explicitly disclose wherein the thermochromic indicator has a color-change sensitivity at a temperature in a range between 20 degrees C and 32 degrees C.
MacDonald teaches a protective article ([0027]) comprising an analogous thermochromic indicator that has a color-change sensitivity at a temperature ([0027], the method entails providing or using at least one of the following: a protective article or garment which change color when exposed to a source of heating or cooling; and applying the garment or protective article to a warm-blooded body to visually indicate relative body temperature or a rate of change in body temperature) in a range between 20 degrees C and 32 degrees C ([0030], the thermochromic polymer is sensitive in a temperature range from about 0 degree C to about 25 degree C or 27 degree C, or yet another from about 30 degree C to about 40 degree C NOTE: the analogous thermochromic indicator has for example a color change sensitivity at a temperature of 30 degrees C which falls within the claims range of between 20 degrees C and 30 degrees C).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to provide that the thermochromic indicator of the medical dressing of Cotton in view of Sherman, in view of Von Pieterson and in further view of Rothenberg, has a color-change sensitivity at a temperature in a range between 20 degrees C and 32 degrees C, as taught by MacDonald in order to provide an improved dressing that senses a wearer’s or user’s body temperature (MacDonald, [0030]).
Claim(s) 26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cotton (US 2016/0067102) in view of Hughen (US 5614333), in view of Von Pieterson (US 2009/0204100) and in view of Rothenberg (US 2023/0001105), as applied to claim 17 above, and further in view of MacDonald (US 2008/0279253).
Regarding claim 26, Cotton in view of Hughen, in view of Von Pieterson and in further view of Rothenberg discloses the invention as described above with regard to claim 17.
The combination does not explicitly disclose wherein the thermochromic indicator has a color-change sensitivity at a temperature in a range between 20 degrees C and 32 degrees C.
MacDonald teaches a protective article ([0027]) comprising an analogous thermochromic indicator that has a color-change sensitivity at a temperature ([0027], the method entails providing or using at least one of the following: a protective article or garment which change color when exposed to a source of heating or cooling; and applying the garment or protective article to a warm-blooded body to visually indicate relative body temperature or a rate of change in body temperature) in a range between 20 degrees C and 32 degrees C ([0030], the thermochromic polymer is sensitive in a temperature range from about 0 degree C. to about 25 degree C or 27 degree C, or yet another from about 30 degree C to about 40 degree C NOTE: the analogous thermochromic indicator has for example a color change sensitivity at a temperature of 30 degrees C which falls within the claims range of between 20 degrees C and 30 degrees C).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to provide that the thermochromic indicator of the medical dressing of Cotton in view of Hughen, in view of Von Pieterson and in further view of Rothenberg, has a color-change sensitivity at a temperature in a range between 20 degrees C and 32 degrees C, as taught by MacDonald in order to provide an improved dressing that senses a wearer’s or user’s body temperature (MacDonald, [0030])
Claim(s) 27 and 29 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cotton (US 2016/0067102), in view of Von Pieterson (US 2009/0204100) and in further view of Rothenberg (US 2023/0001105).
Regarding claim 27, Cotton discloses a medical dressing (2) ([0048]), comprising: a backing layer (24) ([0051]); an adhesive (25) on the backing layer (Fig. 3, bottom of backing layer); and a thermochromic indicator ([0048] to [0058], pattern of dots that are thermochromic are applied to the upper surface of the backing layer) transitionable from: a first color at a first temperature ([0012], [0014], thermochromic indicator indicates a change in temperature from a first temperature that is characteristic of normal, healthy skin); to a second color at a second temperature ([0014], any suitable thermochromic indicator known in the art, e.g. where the temperature changes at a temperature between 33 and 39 degrees C)
Cotton does not disclose a thermochromic indicator transitionable to a second color at a second temperature less than the first temperature and indicative of IV fluid infiltration.
Von Pieterson teaches an analogous dressing (1, 3) ([0016]) comprising an analogous thermochromic indicator (2) (temperature sensing element, [0017]; [0016]) transitionable from: a first color temperature ([0018] ,a color of the area B corresponds with the temperature of skin 4 in normal conditions) ; to a second color at a second temperature less than the first temperature ([0023], a rise or a fall in temperature over a relatively large body part may cause a temperature shift to occur which may be temporary or constant; NOTE: it is implied that a fall in temperature includes a fall in normal body temperature; [0007] variations in the temperature of the part of the skin that is covered by the cover are sensed and variations are implied to include increases and decreases in temperature as evidenced by [0023] which indicates that a fall in temperature over a relatively large body part is noted which may causes a temperature shift that may be temporary or constant and the lower temperature is the second temperature).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to provide that the thermochromic indicator of the medical dressing of Cotton in view of that is transitionable from a first color at a first temperature is transitionable to a second color at a second temperature that is less than the first temperature as taught by Von Pieterson in order to provide an improved medical dressing that facilitates determination of whether a temperature shift is relatively temporal or constant so that it can be determined whether an adjustment of treatment is necessary (Von Pieterson, [0023]).
Cotton in view of Von Pieterson discloses the invention as described above. The combination does not disclose that a temperature less than the first temperature is indicative of IV fluid infiltration.
Rothenberg teaches an analogous medical dressing (12) comprising an analogous indicator (10) (images captured by the system 10; [0037], [0055], system for site assessments of a catheter site and/or dressing 12; [0039] images captured by the system over a period of time may be analyze to detect changes such as temperature) transitionable from: a first temperature ([0047], a temperature profile that starts to demonstrate formation of a hot or cold spot, it might indicate that phlebitis or infiltration/extravastion, respectively are starting to occur; NOTE: first temperature of a temperature profile is a temperature that is not indicative of infiltration) to a second temperature less than a first temperature and indicative of IV fluid infiltration ([0047] a cold spot is indicative of infiltration; [0059], The system 10 may determine changes in temperature across skin, which may indicate phlebitis/infection for increases in temperature at the site or infiltration/extravasation for decreases in temperature; NOTE: a changed temperature that is a decreasing temperature is a second temperature indicative of IV infiltration and as the temperature decreases it is less than the first temperature).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to provide that a second temperature of a second color of the medical dressing of Cotton in view of Von Pieterson less than the first temperature is indicative of IV fluid infiltration as taught by Rothenberg in order to provide an improved dressing that detects infiltration/extravasation (Rothenberg, [0059]).
Regarding claim 29, Cotton in view of Von Pieterson and in further view of Rothenberg discloses the invention as described above with regard to claim 27.
Cotton further discloses where the thermochromic indicator is printed on the medical dressing (([0048] to [0051], the patterns of dots that are printed in thermochromic ink may be applied to the upper surface of the backing layer).
Claim(s) 28 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cotton (US 2016/0067102), in view of Von Pieterson (US 2009/0204100), in further view of Rothenberg (US 2023/0001105), as applied to claim 27 above, and further in view of MacDonald (US 2008/0279253).
Regarding claim 28, Cotton in view of Von Pieterson and in further view of Rothenberg discloses the invention as described above with regard to claim 27.
The combination does not explicitly disclose wherein the thermochromic indicator has a color-change sensitivity at a temperature in a range between 20 degrees C and 32 degrees C.
MacDonald teaches a protective article ([0027]) comprising an analogous thermochromic indicator that has a color-change sensitivity at a temperature ([0027], the method entails providing or using at least one of the following: a protective article or garment which change color when exposed to a source of heating or cooling; and applying the garment or protective article to a warm-blooded body to visually indicate relative body temperature or a rate of change in body temperature) in a range between 20 degrees C and 32 degrees C ([0030], the thermochromic polymer is sensitive in a temperature range from about 0 degree C. to about 25 degree C or 27 degree C, or yet another from about 30 degree C to about 40 degree C NOTE: the analogous thermochromic indicator has for example a color change sensitivity at a temperature of 30 degrees C which falls within the claims range of between 20 degrees C and 30 degrees C).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to provide that the thermochromic indicator of the medical dressing of Cotton in view of Von Pieterson and in further view of Rothenberg, has a color-change sensitivity at a temperature in a range between 20 degrees C and 32 degrees C, as taught by MacDonald in order to provide an improved dressing that senses a wearer’s or user’s body temperature (MacDonald, [0030])
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/G.M./Examiner, Art Unit 3786
/OPHELIA A HAWTHORNE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3786