DETAILED ACTION
Acknowledgements
The amendment filed on 8/17/2025 is acknowledged.
Claims 1-5, 16 and 18-26 are pending.
Claims 1-5, 16 and 18-26 have been examined.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC §101
Claims 1-5, 16 and 18-26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Analysis
In the instant case, claims 1-5 are directed to a method, claims 16 and 18-21 are directed to a CRM, and claims 22-26 are directed to a device. Therefore, these claims fall within the four statutory categories of invention.
The claim(s) recite(s) providing authentication service. Specifically, the claims recite “receiving a face authentication initialization request sent by an authentication requester, wherein the initialization request comprises a temporary identity credential; returning a session identifier to the authentication requester; and establishing a mapping relationship between the temporary identity credential and the session identifier; receiving a face authentication request initiated by the authentication requester based on the session identifier, and obtaining a face authentication result corresponding to the session identifier; receiving an authentication result query request sent by the authentication requester, wherein the query request comprises the session identifier and the temporary identity credential; and verifying, based on the mapping relationship, whether the session identifier matches the temporary identity credential, and returning the face authentication result corresponding to the session identifier when the session identifier matches the temporary identity credential.”, which is “fundamental economic principles or practices and managing personal behavior or relationships or interactions between people” within the “certain methods of organizing human activity” grouping of abstract ideas in prong one of step 2A of the Alice/Mayo test (See MPEP 2106) because the claims involve a series of steps for providing authentication service. Accordingly, the claims recite an abstract idea.
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because, when analyzed under prong two of step 2A of the Alice/Mayo test (See MPEP 2106), the additional element(s) of the claim(s) such as the use of electronic device, processor and memory merely use(s) a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea. The processor and memory are recited at a high-level of generality (i.e., as a generic processor performing a generic computer function of providing authentication service) such that it amounts no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer components. Accordingly, the additional elements do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea, and the claims are directed to an abstract idea.
The claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional element of using electronic device, processor and memory to provide authentication service steps amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer components. Mere instructions to apply an exception using a generic computer components cannot provide an inventive concept. The claim is not patent eligible.
Dependent claims 2, 18 and 23 describe receiving a face authentication request. Dependent claims 3, 19 and 24 describe the temporary identity credential. Dependent claims 4, 20 and 25 describe obtaining a face authentication result. Dependent claims 5, 21 and 26 describe receiving a face authentication request and authentication result query request. These claims further recite the abstract idea of certain methods of organizing human activity. This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because the additional element(s) of the claim(s) such as the use of an electronic device, processor and memory merely use(s) a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea. The claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. The claims are not patent eligible.
Viewed as a whole, the combination of elements recited in the claims simply recite the concept of providing authentication service. The claims do not, for example, purport to improve the functioning of the computer itself. Nor do they effect an improvement in any other technology or technical field.
The use of an electronic device, processor and memory as tools to implement the abstract idea does not render the claim patent eligible because it does not provide meaningful limitations beyond generally linking the use of an abstract idea to a particular technological environment and requires no more than a computer performing functions that correspond to acts required to carry out the abstract idea.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC §102
Claims 1, 3-5, 16, 19-22 and 24-26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 as being anticipated by China Grant Publication CN108768991B (“Zhao”).
Regarding claims 1, 16 and 22, Zhao discloses:
receiving a face authentication initialization request sent by an authentication requester, wherein the initialization request comprises a temporary identity credential; (Fig. 2 step 202; page 6 9th para; table 1)
returning a session identifier to the authentication requester; and (Fig. 2 step 204; page 7 2nd para)
establishing a mapping relationship between the temporary identity credential and the session identifier; (Fig. 2 step 206; page 7 last para)
receiving a face authentication request initiated by the authentication requester based on the session identifier, and obtaining a face authentication result corresponding to the session identifier;(Fig. 2 steps 210, 214 and 216; page 8 the 2nd to the last para – page 9 “In step 216,...”; table 3)
receiving an authentication result query request sent by the authentication requester, wherein the query request comprises the session identifier and the temporary identity credential; and (Fig. 2 step 222, page 9 the 3rd to the last para – page 10 3rd para)
verifying, based on the mapping relationship, whether the session identifier matches the temporary identity credential, and returning the face authentication result corresponding to the session identifier when the session identifier matches the temporary identity credential. (Fig. 2 steps 226 and 228, page 10)
Regarding claims 3, 19 and 24, Zhao discloses all limitations as described above. Zhao further discloses:
wherein the temporary identity credential is generated by the authentication requester based on trusted identity information of a to-be authenticated user. (page 6 para starts with “In step 202,...” and “In this step, when the user...”)
Regarding claims 4, 20 and 25, Zhao discloses all limitations as described above. Zhao further discloses:
wherein the step of obtaining a face authentication result corresponding to the session identifier comprises:
receiving the face authentication request initiated by the authentication requester based on the session identifier and the temporary identity credential corresponding to the session identifier; and (Fig. 2 steps 208, 210, 214 and 216; page 8 para “In step 210,...” – page 9 “In step 216,...”; table 3)
obtaining the trusted identity information of the to-be-authenticated user based on the temporary identity credential, and querying a face information database based on the trusted identity information, to obtain the face authentication result corresponding to the session identifier. (Fig. 2 steps 214 and 216; page 9 para “In step 214,...” – page 9 “In step 216,...”)
Regarding claims 5, 21 and 26, Zhao discloses all limitations as described above. Zhao further discloses:
wherein the step of receiving a face authentication request initiated by the authentication requester based on the session identifier, obtaining a face authentication result corresponding to the session identifier, and receiving an authentication result query request sent by the authentication requester comprises:
obtaining the face authentication result corresponding to the session identifier, and sending an authentication receipt to the authentication requester, wherein the authentication receipt comprises the session identifier, and the authentication receipt is used to indicate that face authentication corresponding to the session identifier is completed; and (Fig. 2 steps 226 and 228; page 10 paras “In step 226,...” – “In addition, the real person...”)
when the authentication requester verifies that the session identifier is in correspondence with the temporary identity credential, receiving the authentication result query request sent by the authentication requester. (Fig. 2 steps 226 and 228; page 10 paras “In step 226,...” – “In addition, the real person...”)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2, 18 and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over China Grant Publication CN108768991B (“Zhao”) in view of US Grant Publication US20130333022A1 (“Torkkel”).
Regarding claims 2, 18 and 23, Zhao discloses all limitations as described above. Zhao further discloses:
wherein the step of receiving a face authentication request initiated by the authentication requester based on the session identifier, and obtaining a face authentication result corresponding to the session identifier comprises:
performing face authentication based on the collected face image to obtain the face authentication result corresponding to the session identifier. (page 5 the last 2 paras – page 6 para 1; page 8 “In step 210, ...” – page 9 “In step 216,...”; page 11 para 8)
Zhao does not explicitly disclose:
receiving a face authentication link initiated by the authentication requester based on the session identifier, and collecting a face image by using the face authentication link; and
However, Torkkel discloses:
receiving a face authentication link initiated by the authentication requester based on the session identifier, and collecting a face image by using the face authentication link; and (¶0002 and ¶0058)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Real Person Authentication Method and System of Zhao by including accessing data via a web link in accordance with the teaching of Torkkel. This modification allows the combined system to access face authentication data via a face authentication link.
Conclusion
The following prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US20190149543A1 (“Chen”) discloses a face authentication method includes receiving, from a first user terminal, a user account and a face image, obtaining a reference image corresponding to the user account, the reference image being prestored, and determining a second user terminal for helping the first user terminal complete face authentication of the face image with the reference image, the second user terminal being in a state of waiting to receive a first authentication code for the second user terminal to complete identity authentication of the first user terminal. The method further includes generating the first authentication code, sending, to the second user terminal, the first authentication code, the face image, and the reference image, and receiving, from the second user terminal, a result of the face authentication of the face image with the reference image, the result indicating whether the face authentication succeeds.
US20210136058A1 (“Lopez et al.”) discloses methods and systems for authentication using multiple identity providers are described herein. A first identity provider may receive, e.g., from a second identity provider, an indication of an authentication request. The first identity provider may retrieve, from a storage device, session information associated with the request. The first identity provider may authenticate, using one or more first functions, based on the session information, and based on authentication credentials received from a user, the user. Based on the authentication, the first identity provider may modify the session information. The second identity provider may authenticate, based on the session information and using one or more second functions, the user. The one or more second functions may comprise providing the user a token based on the session information. The session information may be subsequently deleted.
/YINGYING ZHOU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3697