DETAILED ACTION
This is in response to the amendments filed on 4/22/2026 in which claims 1-15 are pending, of which Claims 1, 3-6, 13 have been amended.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's Argument:
Applicant's arguments with respect to the pending amended claims have been fully considered but they are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection as stated below.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: the specification does not have references to the priority claimed on the ADS form, the reference should be included on page 1. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-7 and 13-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Chilson (U.S. Pub. No. 2015/0047110 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Chilson discloses a helmet (See Figs. 4-5 identifier 100) comprising:
- at least a cellular energy-absorbing insert (122);
- a foam liner (130, para. 0017 describe foam) comprising at least one recess (between 420 and 440 where the insert 122 is inserted as shown in Fig. 4) shaped to accommodate the at least one cellular energy-absorbing insert (See Fig. 4 and para. 0022); the foam liner (130) also comprises at least one vent (109) (capable) for allowing an air transit from outside the helmet (100) to the cellular energy- absorbing insert (122) (as described in para. 0012); and
wherein the at least one vent (109) is partially closed (as shown in Fig. 1 the vent opening is partially closed because of the slanted walls surrounding the bottom of the opening) such that the at least one cellular energy-absorbing insert (122) is not visible or concealed from outside the helmet (100) through the vent (109) (when worn on the head of the wearer in an upright position).
Regarding claim 2, Chilson discloses a helmet wherein the cellular energy-absorbing insert (122) comprises a plurality of interconnected open cells (para. 0014) configured (capable) to absorb energy by plastic deformation in response to a longitudinal compressive load applied to said cells (para. 0016).
Regarding claim 3, Chilson discloses a helmet wherein each cell (para. 0014) comprises a tube having sidewalls (514) and a longitudinal axis (extending along the cell walls), and the cells (para. 0014) are connected to each other through their sidewalls (See Figs. 4-5).
Regarding claim 4, Chilson discloses a helmet further comprising a protective layer (which is the cell walls adjacent the recess walls of the foam liner) attached to the foam liner (See above and Fig. 4) in correspondence of a bottom of said at least one recess (See above and Fig. 4).
Regarding claim 5, Chilson discloses a helmet wherein the protective layer (See above) is also attached a sidewall of said at least one recess (414) of said recesses (See above and Fig. 4).
Regarding claim 6, Chilson discloses a helmet wherein the protective layer (See above) is a sheet layered over the at least one recess (414) of the foam liner (130) (because the layer as described above is the wall of the cell adjacent the recess).
Regarding claim 7, Chilson discloses a helmet wherein the protective layer (See above) crosses the at least one vent (109 as shown in Fig. 5).
Regarding claim 13, Chilson discloses a helmet wherein the cellular energy-absorbing insert (122) has synclastic properties (because it has the shape of a dome as shown in Fig. 4).
Regarding claim 14, Chilson discloses a helmet wherein the cellular energy-absorbing insert (122) is configured (capable) to provide an improved shock absorbing protection as compared with the foam liner (because it deforms as described above).
Regarding claim 15, Chilson discloses a helmet wherein the foam liner (130) is made of a polymeric expanded foam (paras. 0011, 0017).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 9-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chilson (U.S. Pub. No. 2015/0047110 A1) in view of Broersma (U.S. Patent No. 5,309,576).
Regarding claim 9, Chilson discloses the invention substantially as claimed above.
Chilson does not disclose at least one plug shaped to fill at least in part the at least one vent.
However, Broersma teaches yet another helmet (10) having at least one vent (109) and at least one plug (Fig. 5 identifier 20) shaped to fill at least in part the at least one vent (See Figs. 3, 5-6a).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have manufactured Chilson helmet with at least one plug shaped to fill at least in part the at least one vent as taught by Broersma in order to provide climate control allowing a user to adjust airflow based on weather conditions.
Regarding claim 10, Chilson as modified by Broersma discloses a helmet wherein the plug (109) comprises at least one air channel (Fig. 5 identifier 25) through which the air can transit from outside the helmet (100) to the cellular energy-absorbing insert (122) (when modified).
Regarding claim 11, Chilson as modified by Broersma discloses a helmet wherein the at least one air channel (25) is configured (capable) to laterally divert the air.
Regarding claim 12, Chilson as modified by Broersma discloses a helmet wherein the plug (20) is shaped so as to form air passages (See Figs. 3, 5-6a) with the foam liner (130 when modified) through which the air can transit from outside the helmet (100) to the cellular energy-absorbing insert (122) (when modified).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 8 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KHALED ANNIS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3732