DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3 and 5-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chilson (US 2015/0047110) in view of Muskovitz (US 8,256,032).
In regard to claim 1, Chilson teaches a helmet (helmet: 100) comprising: at least a cellular energy-absorbing insert (second shock absorbing insert: 126); a foam liner comprising at least one recess shaped to accommodate the at least one cellular energy-absorbing insert (foam liner/shock absorbing liner: 130 and figures 4 and 5 and recessed portions of 103 in figures 4 and 5); the foam liner also comprises at least one vent (vents: 109, figures 1, 2, 4 and 5).
However, Chilson fails to teach a protective layer attached to the foam liner in correspondence of a bottom of said at least one recess, wherein the protective layer is configured such that no cell of the at least one cellular energy-absorbing insert is completely visible through the at least one vent when viewed from outside of the helmet.
Muskovitz teaches a protective layer (shield: 20) attached to a foam liner (liner: 18) in correspondence of a bottom of a recess (see recess in liner 18: figure 10), wherein the protective layer (20) is configured such that no portion of the at least one cellular energy-absorbing insert (insert: 26) is completely visible through the at least one vent when viewed from outside of the helmet (see figure 10 and column 11, lines 63-65).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date to one having ordinary skill in the art to have provided the helmet of Chilson with the attached vent cover/protective layer of Muskovitz, since the helmet vent of Chilson provided with a vent cover/protective layer attached to the bottom of the vent opening attached to the foam liner (130) would provide a vent that can be opened and closed based upon comfort and air flow desired covering and uncovering the cells of the cellular layer as desired.
In regard to claim 2, Chilson teaches wherein the cellular energy-absorbing insert comprises a plurality of interconnected open cells configured to absorb energy by plastic deformation in response to a longitudinal compressive load applied to said cells (cellular energy-absorbing insert: 126, paragraph 0014 detailing honeycomb structure of insert).
In regard to claim 3, Chilson teaches wherein each cell comprises a tube having sidewall/s and a longitudinal axis, and the cells are connected to each other through their sidewalls (cellular energy-absorbing insert: 126, paragraph 0014 detailing honeycomb structure of insert).
In regard to claim 5, the combined references teach wherein protective layer is a sheet (Muskovitz teaches the protective layer/shield: 20, column 11, lines 32-41).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date to one having ordinary skill in the art to have provided the helmet of Chilson with the vent cover/protective sheet layer of Muskovitz, since the helmet vent of Chilson provided with a vent cover/protective sheet layer would provide a vent that can be opened and closed based upon comfort and air flow desired.
In regard to claim 6, Chilson teaches wherein cellular energy-absorbing insert has synclastic properties (see figures 4 and 5 the cellular insert: 126 is dome shaped, which makes it has synclastic properties).
In regard to claim 7, Chilson teaches wherein the cellular energy-absorbing insert is configured to provide an improved shock absorbing protection as compared with the foam liner (paragraph 0014 detailing honeycomb structure of insert is more shock absorbing than liner 130).
In regard to claim 8, Chilson teaches wherein the foam liner is made of a polymeric expanded foam (foam liner: 130, paragraph 0014 details EPS).
Double Patenting
Claims 1-3 and 5-8 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 6, and 13-15 of copending Application No. 19/157,363 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they both claim a helmet with cellular insert, foam liner, vent and protective layer/insert.
Claim 1 of Current Application:
A helmet comprising: at least a cellular energy-absorbing insert (see line 2 of claim 1 of 19/157,363); a foam liner comprising at least one recess shaped to accommodate the at least one cellular energy-absorbing insert (see lines 3-4 of claim 1 of 19/157,363); the foam liner also comprises at least one vent see lines 3-4 of claim 1 of 19/157,363); a protective layer attached to the foam liner in correspondence of a bottom of said at least one recess (see claim 4 of 19/157,363), wherein the protective layer is a continuous layer that crosses and closes the at least one vent (see claim 6 of 19/157,363) and the protective layer is configured such that no cell of the at least one cellular energy-absorbing insert is completely visible through the at least one vent when viewed from outside the outside (see claims 1, lines 7-8 detailing that the vent is partially closed and claim 1, lines 5-7 detailing micro-holes that would allow for partial visibility of the cells).
Claim 2 of the instant application is the same as claim 2 of 19/157,363; Claim 3 of the instant application is the same as claim 3 of 19/157,363; Claim 3 of the instant application is the same as claim 3 of 19/157,363; Claim 5 of the instant application is the same as claim 6 of 19/157,363, except the instant application claim has amended out “layered over the recess of the foam liner; Claim 6 of the instant application is the same as claim 13 of 19/157,363; Claim 7 of the instant application is the same as claim 14 of 19/157,363; Claim 8 of the instant application is the same as claim 15 of 19/157,363.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 06/21/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant remarks that Chilson in view of Pritz fails to teach the protective layer attached to the foam liner in correspondence of a bottom of said at least one recess, such that no cell of the insert is completely visible.
The reference to Muskovitz (US 8,256,032) has been used in the rejection in place of Pritz to teach the protective layer attachment as detailed above in the rejection.
Conclusion
ALISSA L. HOEY
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3732
/ALISSA L HOEY/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3732