DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This is in response to amendment received on 04/20/26. Claims 1 and 4-5 have been amended. Claims 1-8 are examined herein.
Specification
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because the abstract has figures and other text and is not on a separate sheet in proper U.S. format. A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1, it is unclear what the limitation “at least one vent is configured so as to render that least one cellular energy-absorbing insert only partially distinguishable through the at least one vent when the helmet is observed” requires structurally of the helmet. What materials or constructions would be considered to be “only partially distinguishable”, it is unclear what would or would not read on this structurally. Further, it is unclear how the protective layer “crosses and closes” the vent, but allows for partially distinguishability of the energy insert through the vent, how can a insert be viewed if the protective layer crosses and closes the vent? It is unclear what structure is being claimed of the protective layer based upon the limitations as claimed. Finally, it is unclear what “the outside” is referring to and there is a lack of antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 4 recites the limitation "bottom of the at least one recess”" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Any remaining claims are rejected depending from a rejected base claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chilson (US 2015/0047110) in view of Pritz (US 2023/0069274).
In regard to claim 1, Chilson teaches a helmet (helmet: 100) comprising: at least a cellular energy-absorbing insert (second shock absorbing insert: 126); a foam liner comprising at least one recess shaped to accommodate the at least one cellular energy-absorbing insert (foam liner/shock absorbing liner: 130 and figures 4 and 5); the foam liner also comprises at least one vent (vents: 109, figures 1, 2, 4 and 5).
However, Chilson fails to teach a protective layer that is a continuous layer that crosses and closes the at least one vent and is configured so as to render the at least one cellular energy-absorbing insert only partially distinguishable through the at least one vent when the helmet is observed form the outside.
Pritz teaches a helmet (helmet: 10) with a protective layer that is a continuous layer that crosses and closes the at least one vent and is configured so as to render the at least one cellular energy-absorbing insert only partially distinguishable through the at least one vent when the helmet is observed form the outside (protective layer one or 40, 42 or 44: paragraphs 0045-0046 is attached to the bottom surface of the upper layer: figure 7).
The protective layer 40, 42 or 44 of Pritz covering the vent of Chilson would be attached to the bottom outer layer, which would be foam layer 130 (see figure 4 of Chilson).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date to one having ordinary skill in the art to have provided the helmet of Chilson with the attached vent cover/protective layer of Pritz, since the helmet vent of Chilson provided with a vent cover/protective layer attached to the bottom of the vent opening along foam liner (130) would provide a vent that can be opened and closed based upon comfort and air flow desired.
In regard to claim 2, Chilson teaches wherein the cellular energy-absorbing insert comprises a plurality of interconnected open cells configured to absorb energy by plastic deformation in response to a longitudinal compressive load applied to said cells (cellular energy-absorbing insert: 126, paragraph 0014 detailing honeycomb structure of insert).
In regard to claim 3, Chilson teaches wherein each cell comprises a tube having sidewall/s and a longitudinal axis, and the cells are connected to each other through their sidewalls (cellular energy-absorbing insert: 126, paragraph 0014 detailing honeycomb structure of insert).
In regard to claim 4, the combined references teach wherein the protective layer is attached to the foam liner in correspondence of bottom of the at least one recess (the protective layer: 40, 42 or 44 attached to the bottom surface of the upper layer of Pritz (figure 7), the protective layer 40, 42 or 44 covering the vents of Chilson would be attached to the bottom outer layer, which would be the foam layer 130 of Chilson).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date to one having ordinary skill in the art to have provided the helmet of Chilson with the vent cover/protective layer of Pritz, since the helmet vent of Chilson provided with a vent cover/protective layer would provide a vent that can be opened and closed based upon comfort and air flow desired.
In regard to claim 5, the combined references teach wherein protective layer is a sheet (Pritz teaches the protective layer: 40, 42 or 44 are panels/sheets, paragraph 0040).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date to one having ordinary skill in the art to have provided the helmet of Chilson with the vent cover/protective sheet layer of Pritz, since the helmet vent of Chilson provided with a vent cover/protective sheet layer would provide a vent that can be opened and closed based upon comfort and air flow desired.
In regard to claim 6, Chilson teaches wherein cellular energy-absorbing insert has synclastic properties (see figures 4 and 5 the cellular insert: 126 is dome shaped, which makes it has synclastic properties).
In regard to claim 7, Chilson teaches wherein the cellular energy-absorbing insert is configured to provide an improved shock absorbing protection as compared with the foam liner (paragraph 0014 detailing honeycomb structure of insert is more shock absorbing than liner 130).
In regard to claim 8, Chilson teaches wherein the foam liner is made of a polymeric expanded foam (foam liner: 130, paragraph 0014 details EPS).
Double Patenting
Claims 1-8 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 14, 6-7, and 13-15 of copending Application No. 19/157,363 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they both claim a helmet with cellular insert, foam liner, vent and protective layer/insert.
Claim 1 of Current Application:
A helmet comprising: at least a cellular energy-absorbing insert (see line 2 of claim 1 of 19/157,363); a foam liner comprising at least one recess shaped to accommodate the at least one cellular energy-absorbing insert (see lines 3-4 of claim 1 of 19/157,363); the foam liner also comprises at least one vent see lines 3-4 of claim 1 of 19/157,363); a protective layer attached to the foam liner (see claim 4 of 19/157,363), wherein the protective layer is a continuous layer that crosses and closes the at least one vent (see claims 6 and 7 of 19/157,363); and is configured so as to render the at least one cellular energy-absorbing insert is only partially distinguishable through the at least one vent when the helmet is observed from the outside (see claim 1 lines 7-8 detailing that the vent is partially closed and claim 8 detailing micro-holes that would allow for partial visibility).
Claim 2 of the instant application is the same as claim 2 of 19/157,363; Claim 3 of the instant application is the same as claim 3 of 19/157,363; Claim 3 of the instant application is the same as claim 3 of 19/157,363; Claim 4 of the instant application is the same as claim 4 of 19/157,363, except for the different wording “bottom/s of said recess/es” is “bottom of the at least one recess” in the instant application; Claim 5 of the instant application is the same as claim 6 of 19/157,363, except the instant application claim has amended out “layered over the recess of the foam liner; Claim 6 of the instant application is the same as claim 13 of 19/157,363; Claim 7 of the instant application is the same as claim 14 of 19/157,363; Claim 8 of the instant application is the same as claim 15 of 19/157,363.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 04/20/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that Chilson in view of Pritz fail to teach the limitations as amended into claim 1.
Chilson and Pritz teach the limitations as detailed above.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
ALISSA L. HOEY
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3732
/ALISSA L HOEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3732