DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because the abstract has figures and other text and is not on a separate sheet in proper U.S. format. A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
Claim Interpretation
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1, it is unclear what the limitation “at least one cellular energy-absorbing insert is not entirely distinguishable from outside the helmet through the vent” requires structurally of the helmet. What materials or constructions would be considered to be “not entirely distinguishable”, it is unclear what would or would not read on this structurally.
Regarding claim 4, the limitation “in correspondence of bottom/s of said recess/es” is unclear as to what the bottom/s are referring to structurally. Are the recess/es referring to “at least one recesses” previously recited or another structure. Further, there is a lack of antecedent basis for this limitation “bottom/s” in the claim.
Regarding claim 5, it is unclear where the protective layer is located, in claim 4 from which claim 5 depends, the protective layer is located in bottom of the recess and then in claim 5 the protective layer is location over the recess, is this the same location along the recesses, are these two different locations of the protective layer? It is unclear what is required of the protective layer.
Any remaining claims are rejected depending from a rejected base claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chilson (US 2015/0047110) in view of Pritz (US 2023/0069274).
In regard to claim 1, Chilson teaches a helmet (helmet: 100) comprising: at least a cellular energy-absorbing insert (second shock absorbing insert: 126); a foam liner comprising at least one recess shaped to accommodate the at least one cellular energy-absorbing insert (foam liner/shock absorbing liner: 130 and figures 4 and 5); the foam liner also comprises at least one vent (vents: 109, figures 1, 2, 4 and 5).
However, Chilson fails to teach a protective layer that crosses the at least one vent and being a continuous protective layer closes the vent/s such that the at least one cellular energy-absorbing insert is not entirely distinguishable from outside the helmet through the vent.
Pritz teaches a helmet (helmet: 10) with a protective layer that crosses the at least one vent and being a continuous protective layer closes the vent/s such that the at least one cellular energy-absorbing insert is not entirely distinguishable from outside the helmet through the vent (protective layer/42, 40 and 44, paragraphs 0045-0046).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date to one having ordinary skill in the art to have provided the helmet of Chilson with the vent cover/protective layer of Pritz, since the helmet vent of Chilson provided with a vent cover/protective layer would provide a vent that can be opened and closed based upon comfort and air flow desired.
In regard to claim 2, Chilson teaches wherein the cellular energy-absorbing insert comprises a plurality of interconnected open cells configured to absorb energy by plastic deformation in response to a longitudinal compressive load applied to said cells (cellular energy-absorbing insert: 126, paragraph 0014 detailing honeycomb structure of insert).
In regard to claim 3, Chilson teaches wherein each cell comprises a tube having sidewall/s and a longitudinal axis, and the cells are connected to each other through their sidewalls (cellular energy-absorbing insert: 126, paragraph 0014 detailing honeycomb structure of insert).
In regard to claim 4, the combined references teach wherein the protective layer is attached to the foam liner in correspondence of bottom/s of said recess/es (the protective layer: 40, 42, 44 is attached to the bottom surface of the upper layer of Pritz (see figure 7), the protective layer, 40, 42, 44 covering the vents of Chilson would be attached to the bottom outer layer, which would be foam layer 130).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date to one having ordinary skill in the art to have provided the helmet of Chilson with the vent cover/protective layer of Pritz, since the helmet vent of Chilson provided with a vent cover/protective layer would provide a vent that can be opened and closed based upon comfort and air flow desired.
In regard to claim 5, the combined references teach wherein protective layer is a sheet layered over the recess of the foam liner (Pritz teaches the protective layer: 40, 42, 44, the protective layer: 40, 42, 44 is attached to the bottom surface of the upper layer of Pritz (see figure 7), the protective layer, 40, 42, 44 covering the vents of Chilson would be attached to the bottom outer layer, which would be foam layer 130).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date to one having ordinary skill in the art to have provided the helmet of Chilson with the vent cover/protective layer of Pritz, since the helmet vent of Chilson provided with a vent cover/protective layer would provide a vent that can be opened and closed based upon comfort and air flow desired.
In regard to claim 6, Chilson teaches wherein cellular energy-absorbing insert has synclastic properties (see figures 4 and 5 the cellular insert: 126 is dome shaped, which makes it has synclastic properties).
In regard to claim 7, Chilson teaches wherein the cellular energy-absorbing insert is configured to provide an improved shock absorbing protection as compared with the foam liner (paragraph 0014 detailing honeycomb structure of insert is more shock absorbing than liner 130).
In regard to claim 8, Chilson teaches wherein the foam liner is made of a polymeric expanded foam (foam liner: 130, paragraph 0014 details EPS).
Double Patenting
Claims 1-8 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 14, 6-7, and 13-15 of copending Application No. 19/157,363 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they both claim a helmet with cellular insert, foam liner, vent and protective layer/insert.
Claim 1 of Current Application:
Subject matter of claim 1 of current application (above) is taught in claims 1 and 7 as provided below from 19/157,363:
Claim 2 of the instant application is the same as claim 2 of 19/157,363; Claim 3 of the instant application is the same as claim 3 of 19/157,363; Claim 3 of the instant application is the same as claim 3 of 19/157,363; Claim 4 of the instant application is the same as claim 4 of 19/157,363; Claim 5 of the instant application is the same as claim 6 of 19/157,363; Claim 6 of the instant application is the same as claim 13 of 19/157,363; Claim 7 of the instant application is the same as claim 14 of 19/157,363; Claim 8 of the instant application is the same as claim 15 of 19/157,363.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure and can be found cited on PTO-892 form submitted herewith. The cited prior art to Muskovitz (US 8,256,032) is of particular relevance to the claimed invention.
ALISSA L. HOEY
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3732
/ALISSA L HOEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3732