DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 10/31/2025 and 09/02/2026 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 6-10, 12, 15-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sikri (Pub. No.: WO 2021/080944, Applicant’s IDS filed 10/31/2025) in view of Ouyang et al. (Pub. No.: US 2022/0296090) and further in view of McGrath (Pub. No.: 2021/0228186).
Consider claim 1, Sikri discloses a surgical system for performing a surgical procedure on a patient using a surgical tool (paragraph [0038], cannula assembly 100 to include surgical tools or other electronic components used during the operation or surgical procedure (see paragraph [0042]) for manipulation by the surgeon or the clinician), comprising:
a cannula assembly including a cannula tube having a longitudinal axis, a proximal end portion and a distal end portion configured for insertion into a patient (paragraph [0037], Fig. 1, cannula assembly 100 includes a tube 110 forming an internal lumen 202 (see Fig. 3) with proximal end portion 114 and a distal end portion 116 adapted for insertion into a body cavity of a patient), the cannula tube having an internal lumen extending from the proximal end portion to the distal end portion (paragraph [0037], Fig. 1, cannula assembly 100 includes a tube 110 forming an internal lumen 202 (see Fig. 3) with proximal end portion 114 and a distal end portion 116), the cannula tube having a housing coupled to the cannula tube between the proximal and distal ends of the cannula tube so as to be positioned within the patient when the distal end of the cannula tube is inserted into the patient (paragraph [0039], Fig. 2 housing 204 is disposed on, or coupled to, tube 110 at a position proximal to distal end 116 and distal to proximal end 114. In the preferred embodiment, housing 204 resides far enough along tube 110 in the distal direction such that it is positioned within the body cavity of the patient during use), the housing movable relative to the cannula tube between a closed position and an open position (paragraph [0039], Fig. 3, movable or deployable housing 204 coupled to tube 110 and designed to open and close relative to the remaining portions of tube 110), the housing including a light source and an image sensor configured to provide a first image data stream of the a patient's anatomy and the surgical tool when the housing is in the open position within the patient (paragraph [0042], Housing 204 houses an electronic component to include one or more image transmission components 254, in combination with one or more illumination components 255, wherein lens 355 can provide light from the light source 341 to exit the housing 339 and illuminate an internal body cavity. The lens 355 can also permit reflections of such light to reenter the housing for recording by the image sensor 345 to generate images of the area, see paragraph [0059]);
a display device (paragraph [0032], display device);
an image processor (paragraph [0046], image processor (not shown));
Sikri does not specifically disclose a second imaging device configured for insertion into a patient and to provide a second image data stream of the patient's anatomy and the surgical tool;
an image processor configured to receive the first and second image data streams and to process the first and second image data streams into a combined image data stream of the patient's anatomy and the surgical tool;
a display device to display the combined image data stream to a user;
a spatial processor configured to determine, based upon the combined image data stream of the patient's anatomy and the surgical tool, real-time positional data relative to the patient's anatomy and the surgical tool.
Ouyang discloses a second imaging device configured for insertion into a patient and to provide a second image data stream of the patient's anatomy and the surgical tool (paragraphs [0119], [0122], Figs. 1A, Fig. 5, cannula distal tip 110 includes the camera and lighting modules, namely CamF, LightC, CamW and LightW, wherein a cannula configured for insertion in the patient, see paragraph [0070]);
an image processor configured to receive the first and second image data streams and to process the first and second image data streams into a combined image data stream of the patient's anatomy and the surgical tool (paragraph [0107], system processor can coordinate the cameras, the light sources and combine the resulting images to display to an operator an enhanced combined image of the object);
a display device (Fig. 1C, display 150) to display the combined image data stream to a user (paragraph [0107], system processor can coordinate the cameras, the light sources and combine the resulting images to display to an operator an enhanced combined image of the object);
a spatial processor configured to determine, based upon the combined image data stream of the patient's anatomy and the surgical tool, real-time positional data relative to the patient's anatomy and the surgical tool (paragraph [0123], the two cameras are in sync and also spatially registered relative to each other to provide looks at the same target but seeing different aspects of the target at the same time).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to replace the surgical system as disclosed by Sikri with the surgical system as taught by Ouyang to provide a distal tip including multiple camera and lighting modules used with a portable and ergonomic endoscope (Ouyang, paragraph [0119]).
The combination of Sikri and Ouyang does not specifically disclose a navigation processor configured to generate and provide, based upon the real-time positional relationship data between the patient's anatomy and the surgical tool, navigation data to the user on the display device.
McGrath discloses a navigation processor configured to generate and provide, based upon the real-time positional relationship data between the patient's anatomy and the surgical tool, navigation data to the user on the display device (paragraph [0257], transillumination sensor may act as a first visualization tool to quickly provide preliminary visual data on general vein location, which will in turn allow an operator to place the device over the general vein location and use a secondary sensor to zone in and pin point the puncture site).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to replace the surgical system as disclosed by the combination of Sikri and Ouyang with the surgical system as taught by McGrath to optimize navigation performance by balancing speed and precision (McGrath, paragraph [0257]).
Consider claim 2, the combination of Sikri, Ouyang, and McGrath discloses wherein the real-time spatial relationship data between the patient's anatomy and the surgical tool includes current positional data of the surgical tool relative to the patient's anatomy (Ouyang. paragraph [0123], the two cameras are in sync and also spatially registered relative to each other to provide looks at the same target but seeing different aspects of the target at the same time).
Consider claims 3, 4, 16, 17, the combination of Sikri, Ouyang, and McGrath discloses wherein the navigation data that the navigation processor is configured to generate is based upon a desired engagement position of the surgical tool relative to the patient's anatomy (paragraph [0257], transillumination sensor may act as a first visualization tool to quickly provide preliminary visual data on general vein location, which will in turn allow an operator to place the device over the general vein location and use a secondary sensor to zone in and pin point the puncture site).
Consider claim 6, the combination of Sikri, Ouyang, and McGrath discloses wherein the image processor is incorporated into one or more of the cannula assemblies (paragraph [0046], Cannula assembly 100 includes image processor (not shown)).
Consider claim 7, the combination of Sikri, Ouyang, and McGrath discloses wherein the spatial processor is incorporated into one or more of the cannula assemblies (Ouyang, paragraph [0125], In electronics modules 143, front end processing and main system processing is performed, wherein a system processor can coordinate the cameras, the light sources, see paragraph [0107]).
Consider claim 8, the combination of Sikri, Ouyang, and McGrath discloses wherein the navigation processor is incorporated into one or more of the cannula assemblies (McGrath, Fig. 127, paragraph [0329], processor of visualization device 47002).
Consider claim 9, the combination of Sikri, Ouyang, and McGrath discloses wherein at least one of the image processor, the spatial processor and the navigation processor is incorporated into a control device that is external to the cannula assemblies (paragraph [0046], controller may be disposed externally to cannula assembly 100).
Consider claim 10, the combination of Sikri, Ouyang, and McGrath discloses wherein the control device that is external to the cannula assemblies is configured to transmit and/or receive one or more of wired or wireless data signals from and/or to the cannula assemblies (paragraph [0046], the controller may be disposed within housing 204, in another location of shaft 110, within handle 104 or it may be disposed externally to cannula assembly 100 and coupled thereto with wired connectors or wirelessly through device).
Consider claim 12, the combination of Sikri and McGrath does not specifically disclose wherein the processor is configured to receive a second image data stream from a second imaging device that provides the second image data stream of the patient's anatomy and the surgical tool, the processor configured to process the first and second image data streams into a combined image data stream of the patient's anatomy and the surgical tool.
Ouyang discloses wherein the processor is configured to receive a second image data stream from a second imaging device that provides the second image data stream of the patient's anatomy and the surgical tool (paragraphs [0119], [0122], Figs. 1A, Fig. 5, cannula distal tip 110 includes the camera and lighting modules, namely CamF, LightC, CamW and LightW), the processor configured to process the first and second image data streams into a combined image data stream of the patient's anatomy and the surgical tool (paragraph [0107], system processor can coordinate the cameras, the light sources and combine the resulting images to display to an operator an enhanced combined image of the object).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to replace the surgical system as disclosed by the combination of Sikri and McGrath with the surgical system as taught by Ouyang to provide a distal tip including multiple camera and lighting modules used with a portable and ergonomic endoscope (Ouyang, paragraph [0119]).
Consider claims 14, 15, the combination of Sikri, Ouyang, and McGrath discloses wherein the processor is configured to generate, based upon the combined image data stream of the patient's anatomy and the surgical tool, real-time positional data relative to the patient's anatomy and the surgical tool Ouyang, (paragraph [0123], the two cameras are in sync and also spatially registered relative to each other to provide looks at the same target but seeing different aspects of the target at the same time).
Claims 11 and 19-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sikri in view of McGrath.
Consider claim 11, Sikri discloses a cannula assembly for performing a surgical procedure on a patient (paragraph [0038], cannula assembly 100 to include surgical tools or other electronic components used during the operation or surgical procedure (see paragraph [0042]) for manipulation by the surgeon or the clinician), comprising:
a cannula tube having a longitudinal axis, a proximal end portion and a distal end portion configured for insertion into a patient (paragraph [0037], Fig. 1, cannula assembly 100 includes a tube 110 forming an internal lumen 202 (see Fig. 3) with proximal end portion 114 and a distal end portion 116 adapted for insertion into a body cavity of a patient),
the cannula tube having a housing coupled to the cannula tube between the proximal and distal ends of the cannula tube so as to be positioned within the patient when the distal end of the cannula tube is inserted into the patient (paragraph [0039], Fig. 2 housing 204 is disposed on, or coupled to, tube 110 at a position proximal to distal end 116 and distal to proximal end 114. In the preferred embodiment, housing 204 resides far enough along tube 110 in the distal direction such that it is positioned within the body cavity of the patient during use),
the housing movable relative to the cannula tube between a closed position and an open position (paragraph [0039], Fig. 3, movable or deployable housing 204 coupled to tube 110 and designed to open and close relative to the remaining portions of tube 110), the housing including a light source and an image sensor configured to provide a first image data stream of the a patient's anatomy and a surgical tool when the housing is in the open position within the patient (paragraph [0042], Housing 204 houses an electronic component to include one or more image transmission components 254, in combination with one or more illumination components 255, wherein lens 355 can provide light from the light source 341 to exit the housing 339 and illuminate an internal body cavity. The lens 355 can also permit reflections of such light to reenter the housing for recording by the image sensor 345 to generate images of the area, see paragraph [0059]); and
Sikri does not specifically disclose a processor configured to the process the first data image stream and to generate navigation data based on the image data stream.
McGrath discloses a processor configured to the process the first data image stream and to generate navigation data based on the image data stream (paragraph [0257], the device may include navigation capability to assist in internal visualization to locate a puncture site).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to replace the surgical system as disclosed by the combination of Sikri and Ouyang with the surgical system as taught by McGrath to optimize navigation performance by balancing speed and precision (McGrath, paragraph [0257]).
Consider claim 19, the combination of Sikri and McGath discloses wherein the processor is incorporated into the cannula assembly (paragraph [0046], controller may be disposed within housing 204).
Consider claim 20, the combination of Sikri and McGath discloses wherein the processor is external to the cannula assembly (paragraph [0046], controller may be disposed externally to cannula assembly 100).
Consider claim 21, the combination of Sikri and McGath discloses wherein the processor comprises various controller devices that are both internal and external relative to the cannula assembly (paragraph [0046], controller may be disposed within housing 204, in another location of shaft 110, within handle 104 or it may be disposed externally to cannula assembly 100).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5 and 18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
While the prior art discloses a display system, the prior art fails to disclose a label that conveys to the user that it is safe for the surgical tool to be moved.
Double Patenting
Claim 1 provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of copending Application No. 19/157,424 in view of Ouyang et al. (Pub. No.: US 2022/0296090) and further in view of McGrath (Pub. No.: 2021/0228186).
Current Application
Copending Application No. 19/157,424
1. (currently amended) A surgical system for performing a surgical procedure on a patient using a surgical tool, comprising: a cannula assembly including a cannula tube having a longitudinal axis, a proximal end portion and a distal end portion configured for insertion into a patient, the cannula tube having an internal lumen extending from the proximal end portion to the distal end portion, the cannula tube having a housing coupled to the cannula tube between the proximal and distal ends of the cannula tube so as to be positioned within the patient when the distal end of the cannula tube is inserted into the patient, the housing movable relative to the cannula tube between a closed position and an open position, the housing including a light source and an image sensor configured to provide a first image data stream of the a patient's anatomy and the surgical tool when the housing is in the open position within the patient; a second imaging device configured for insertion into a patient and to provide a second image data stream of the patient's anatomy and the surgical tool; an image processor configured to receive the first and second image data streams and to process the first and second image data streams into a combined image data stream of the patient's anatomy and the surgical tool; a display device to display the combined image data stream to a user; a spatial processor configured to determine, based upon the combined image data stream of the patient's anatomy and the surgical tool, real-time positional data relative to the patient's anatomy and the surgical tool; and a navigation processor configured to generate and provide, based upon the real-time positional relationship data between the patient's anatomy and the surgical tool, navigation data to the user on the display device.
1. A surgical system for performing a surgical procedure on a patient, comprising: a cannula assembly including a cannula tube having a longitudinal axis, a proximal end portion and a distal end portion configured for insertion into a patient, the cannula tube having a housing coupled to the cannula tube between the proximal and distal ends of the cannula tube so as to be positioned within the patient when the distal end of the cannula tube is inserted into the patient, the housing movable relative to the cannula tube between a closed position and an open position, the housing including an image sensor configured to provide image data of the patient's anatomy when the housing is in the open position within the patient; and an augmented reality display device configured to receive the image data and to display the image data to a user.
The copending application fails to disclose the highlighted portion above.
Ouyang discloses a second imaging device configured for insertion into a patient and to provide a second image data stream of the patient's anatomy and the surgical tool (paragraphs [0119], [0122], Figs. 1A, Fig. 5, cannula distal tip 110 includes the camera and lighting modules, namely CamF, LightC, CamW and LightW, wherein a cannula configured for insertion in the patient, see paragraph [0070]);
an image processor configured to receive the first and second image data streams and to process the first and second image data streams into a combined image data stream of the patient's anatomy and the surgical tool (paragraph [0107], system processor can coordinate the cameras, the light sources and combine the resulting images to display to an operator an enhanced combined image of the object);
a display device (Fig. 1C, display 150) to display the combined image data stream to a user (paragraph [0107], system processor can coordinate the cameras, the light sources and combine the resulting images to display to an operator an enhanced combined image of the object);
a spatial processor configured to determine, based upon the combined image data stream of the patient's anatomy and the surgical tool, real-time positional data relative to the patient's anatomy and the surgical tool (paragraph [0123], the two cameras are in sync and also spatially registered relative to each other to provide looks at the same target but seeing different aspects of the target at the same time).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to replace the surgical system as disclosed by Sikri with the surgical system as taught by Ouyang to provide a distal tip including multiple camera and lighting modules used with a portable and ergonomic endoscope (Ouyang, paragraph [0119]).
The combination of Sikri and Ouyang does not specifically disclose a navigation processor configured to generate and provide, based upon the real-time positional relationship data between the patient's anatomy and the surgical tool, navigation data to the user on the display device.
McGrath discloses a navigation processor configured to generate and provide, based upon the real-time positional relationship data between the patient's anatomy and the surgical tool, navigation data to the user on the display device (paragraph [0257], transillumination sensor may act as a first visualization tool to quickly provide preliminary visual data on general vein location, which will in turn allow an operator to place the device over the general vein location and use a secondary sensor to zone in and pin point the puncture site).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to replace the surgical system as disclosed by the combination of Sikri and Ouyang with the surgical system as taught by McGrath to optimize navigation performance by balancing speed and precision (McGrath, paragraph [0257]).
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Conclusion
/Gerald Johnson/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3797