DETAILED ACTION
Joint Inventors
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55. As such, the effective filing date is March 10th, 2023 (the filing date of JP 2023-038091, which applicant requested foreign priority to).
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on August 18th, 2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claims 7-8 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 7 Line 2: “tool is a surgical” should be revised to “tool is a surgical tool”.
Claim 8 Lines 1-2: “according to claim 1, the interference avoidance region” should be revised to “according to claim 1, wherein the interference avoidance region”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5, 7, 10-11, 13, 17 and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Ogawa et al. (US Patent Pub. No. 2014/0114481 A1), herein “Ogawa”.
Regarding Claims 1 and 19-20, Ogawa discloses a master-slave system, control device, and control method (See 0009, “[…] a medical master slave manipulator system includes a master input device configured to send an operation command […]”) comprising:
a display unit that displays an image to a user who operates a master robot (See 0009, “[…] a display unit configured to display an image of an object […]” See also 0047, “[…] master input device 2 includes a plurality of master arms 21 operated by the operator Op, and a display unit 22 on which an image obtained by the imaging device is displayed […]”); and
a display control unit that causes the display unit to display an image for locating a distal end of a slave robot in an interference avoidance region that has been preset (See 0069-0070, “[…] distal end of the slave arm 31 for treatment in the image displayed on the second screen 26 based on the information received […] The “orientation” of the master arm and the slave arm means a direction of the distal end with respect to the predetermined area as a reference point.” See also 0131, “[…] to perform the manipulation at different viewpoints […] interference with another slave arm can be prevented by the driving of the imaging device, reliability of the manipulation is improved.”).
Regarding Claim 2, Ogawa further discloses the master-slave system according to claim 1, wherein the image is used for guiding the distal end of the slave robot into the interference avoidance region (See 0069-0070 and 0131 as referenced above. See also 0071, “[…] the master control unit 41 transformes the operation command such that an actuation direction of the grip portion 21A coincides with an actuation direction of the distal end of the slave arm 31 for treatment in the image selected by the operator Op.”).
Regarding Claim 3, Ogawa further discloses the master-slave system according to claim 1, wherein the image is used for generating a trigger for moving the distal end of the slave robot into the interference avoidance region (See 0069-0071 and 0131 as referenced above. Examiner notes the operator may select a treatment to actuate the distal end of the slave arm, thus being a trigger for moving the distal end).
Regarding Claim 4, Ogawa further discloses the master-slave system according to claim 1, wherein the image is a tool selection image including an icon representing a tool (See 0006, “[…] the control switch mechanism, a voice command, a switch which is physically disposed, a foot pedal, icons or a graphic user interface selection device played on a display […]”), and
the icon is arranged at a position corresponding to the interference avoidance region in the tool selection image (See 0009, 0047 and 0069-0070 as referenced above).
Regarding Claim 5, Ogawa further discloses the master-slave system according to claim 4, wherein the tool selection image includes a plurality of icons (See 0006 and 0047 as referenced above. See also 0010, “[…] a plurality of different images of the object may be displayed on the display unit, the image selection device may be configured such that an operator selects one image of the plurality of images […]” Examiner notes the graphical user interface including icons associated with an image necessarily includes a plurality of icons, given that there are a plurality of images displayed), and
the plurality of icons is arranged at positions corresponding to the interference avoidance region in the tool selection image (See 0006, 0009-0010, 0047 and 0069-0070 as referenced above).
Regarding Claim 7, Ogawa further discloses the master-slave system according to claim 4, wherein the tool is a surgical (See 0069-0071 as referenced above. See also Fig. 1 shown below. Examiner notes the system is a surgical robotic system, thus meaning the distal ends are surgical tools), and
the tool selection image is a surgical tool selection image (See 0009-0010 as referenced above. See also Fig. 1 shown below. Examiner notes the selection image shown in the figure clearly shows multiple slave arms with distal ends being surgical tools).
Regarding Claim 10, Ogawa further discloses the master-slave system according to claim 1, wherein the slave robot includes a plurality of distal ends (See Fig. 1 shown above and 0089, “[…] a plurality of slave manipulators are provided.”), and
the interference avoidance region is a region excluding a movable region common to the plurality of distal ends of the slave robot (See 0069-0070, 0131 and Fig. 1 as referenced above. Examiner notes a movable region common to the distal ends is the same as a mere overlapping in position of the distal ends).
Regarding Claim 11, Ogawa further discloses the master-slave system according to claim 10, wherein the interference avoidance region includes a movable region for each of the distal ends (See 0069-0070, 0131 and Fig. 1 as referenced above).
Regarding Claim 13, Ogawa further discloses the master-slave system according to claim 1, wherein the display control unit causes the display unit to display the image in accordance with an operation of the user on the master robot (See 0047 and Fig. 1 as referenced and shown above. See also 0009, “[…] master input device configured to send an operation command; a slave manipulator operated by the master input device […]”).
Regarding Claim 17, Ogawa further discloses the master-slave system according to claim 1, further comprising a drive control unit that controls the slave robot so that the distal end of the slave robot moves into the interference avoidance region (See 0069-0071 and 0131 as referenced above. See also 0045-0046, “Each of the slave arms includes a plurality of joints with multiple degrees of freedom, and is configured to realize multiaxial actuation. Each of the joints with multiple degrees of freedom is individually driven by a power unit […] configured to drive the mounted treatment instrument or the like.”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Ogawa et al. (US Patent Pub. No. 2014/0114481 A1) in view of Choi (US Patent Pub. No. 2015/0157411 A1).
Regarding Claim 6, Ogawa discloses the master-slave system according to claim 4, but does not explicitly disclose wherein the display control unit predicts a tool with which replacement is to be performed from a tool of the slave robot and a scene, and displays an icon representing the tool that has been predicted.
Choi, in a similar field of endeavor (surgical robot system involving a master console and slave robots), teaches the display control unit predicts a tool with which replacement is to be performed from a tool of the slave robot and a scene, and displays an icon representing the tool that has been predicted (See 0084, “[…] surgical tool 120 mounted on the slave robot 100 needs to be replaced with another surgical tool 120, the operator O may select a surgical tool replacement menu displayed on the auxiliary display 250 of the master console 200 and then select a surgical tool to be replaced by touching the surgical tool displayed on the auxiliary display 250. Then, a mark E2′ indicating the position of the surgical tool to be replaced is displayed.”).
In view of Choi’s teachings, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include, with the graphical surgical tool interface and display as disclosed by Ogawa, procedure-based surgical instrument selection functionality, with a reasonable expectation of success, since both references are directed towards a master-slave surgical robot system with an interactive display for manipulating surgical tools, and the combination allows for prediction of an appropriate replacement tool on the pre-existing display, which would reduce operator interactions and improve efficiency in the surgical workflow.
Regarding Claim 18, Ogawa discloses the master-slave system according to claim 17, but does not explicitly disclose wherein, when the distal end of the slave robot is located in the interference avoidance region, the drive control unit causes the slave robot to execute a tool replacement operation for replacing a tool of the slave robot with another tool.
Choi, in a similar field of endeavor (surgical robot system involving a master console and slave robots), teaches when the distal end of the slave robot is located in the interference avoidance region, the drive control unit causes the slave robot to execute a tool replacement operation for replacing a tool of the slave robot with another tool (See 0084 as referenced above. See also 0086, “[…] an instruction of the operator O to replace what surgical tool with what surgical tool and text information T3 that guides the procedure during replacement […]”).
In view of Choi’s teachings, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include, with the graphical surgical tool interface and display as disclosed by Ogawa, procedure-based surgical instrument selection and replacement functionality, with a reasonable expectation of success, since both references are directed towards a master-slave surgical robot system with an interactive display for manipulating surgical tools, and the combination allows for prediction of an appropriate replacement tool on the pre-existing display and actual replacement of the tool, which would reduce operator interactions and improve efficiency in the surgical workflow.
Claims 8-9, 12 and 14-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Ogawa et al. (US Patent Pub. No. 2014/0114481 A1) in view of Itotani et al. (WO Patent Pub. No. 2021/199979 A1), herein “Itotani).
Regarding Claim 8, Ogawa discloses the master-slave system according to claim 1, but does not explicitly disclose the interference avoidance region is a region where a height position of the distal end of the slave robot is equal to or higher than a predetermined threshold.
Itotani, in a similar field of endeavor (determination of supportive placement for surgical robots), teaches the interference avoidance region is a region where a height position of the distal end of the slave robot is equal to or higher than a predetermined threshold (See 0033, “[…] height of the arm 121 is adjustable with respect to the based 131, information regarding the range of motion of the tip portion 111 may be stored […] for each height. Alternatively, the range of motion may be specified by adding an offset according to the height.” See also 0038, “[…] an image of an area of an arbitrary height in the range of motion is displayed. It may be determined which height of the range of motion is to be displayed, and a projection image for projecting the range of motion at the determined height may be generated.”).
In view of Itotani’s teachings, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include, with the graphical surgical tool interface and display as disclosed by Ogawa, displaying a distal-end movable region according to height and identifying regions in which interference is likely, with a reasonable expectation of success, since the graphical interface already includes the necessary components, and designating a height-based portion of a movable region while using avoidance control to keep the distal ends away based on the height is an obvious functionality found in traditional obstacle avoidance methods; and doing so improves the overall safety and efficiency of the surgical workflow.
Regarding Claim 9, Ogawa does not explicitly disclose the master-slave system according to claim 8, wherein the predetermined threshold is set based on a predetermined separation distance between the distal end of the slave robot and a patient.
Itotani, in a similar field of endeavor (determination of supportive placement for surgical robots), teaches the predetermined threshold is set based on a predetermined separation distance between the distal end of the slave robot and a patient (See 0059, “[…] calculated the range of motion on the surface of the observation target, but the range of motion at a height below or above the surface of the observation target by a certain distance (the range of motion parallel to the shape of the surface of the observation target). ) May be calculated. For example, by displaying the range of motion at a height below a certain distance from the surface, the user (operator) can predict the range of motion below a certain distance from the surface in advance, so that surgery can be performed more appropriately. Further, by displaying the range of motion at a height above a certain distance, for example, it is possible to appropriately grasp the region where the tip portion 111 can be moved without touching the observation target.”).
In view of Itotani’s teachings, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include, with the graphical surgical tool interface and display as disclosed by Ogawa, displaying a distal-end movable region according to height based on a distance to a patient, with a reasonable expectation of success, since the graphical interface already includes the necessary components, and designating a height-based portion of a movable region while using avoidance control to keep the distal ends away based on the distance to a patient is an obvious safety refinement, and improves the overall safety and efficiency of the surgical workflow.
Regarding Claim 12, Ogawa discloses the master-slave system according to claim 1, but does not explicitly disclose wherein, when the height position of the distal end of the slave robot is equal to or higher than a predetermined threshold, the display control unit causes the display unit to display the image.
Itotani, in a similar field of endeavor (determination of supportive placement for surgical robots), teaches when the height position of the distal end of the slave robot is equal to or higher than a predetermined threshold, the display control unit causes the display unit to display the image (See 0033 and 0038 as referenced above.).
In view of Itotani’s teachings, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include, with the graphical surgical tool interface and display as disclosed by Ogawa, displaying a distal-end movable region according to height and identifying regions in which interference is likely, with a reasonable expectation of success, since the graphical interface already includes the necessary components, and designating a height-based portion of a movable region while using avoidance control to keep the distal ends away based on the height is an obvious functionality found in traditional obstacle avoidance methods; and doing so improves the overall safety and efficiency of the surgical workflow.
Regarding Claim 14, Ogawa discloses the master-slave system according to claim 1, but does not explicitly disclose wherein a moving speed of the distal end of the slave robot in a case where the height position of the distal end of the slave robot is equal to or higher than a predetermined height position is set to be higher than a moving speed of the distal end of the slave robot in a case where the height position of the distal end of the slave robot is lower than the predetermined height position.
Itotani, in a similar field of endeavor (determination of supportive placement for surgical robots), teaches a moving speed of the distal end of the slave robot in a case where the height position of the distal end of the slave robot is equal to or higher than a predetermined height position is set to be higher than a moving speed of the distal end of the slave robot in a case where the height position of the distal end of the slave robot is lower than the predetermined height position (See 0033 and 0038 as referenced above. See also 0039, “[…] at high speed to perceive the range of motion in three dimensions […]”).
In view of Itotani’s teachings, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include, with the graphical surgical tool interface and display as disclosed by Ogawa, displaying a distal-end movable region according to height and identifying regions in which interference is likely, with a reasonable expectation of success, since the graphical interface already includes the necessary components, and where the general conditions of a claim are taught, discovering the optimum value or working ranges involves only routine skill in the art.
Regarding Claim 15, Ogawa discloses the master-slave system according to claim 1, but does not explicitly disclose further comprising a region setting unit that sets the interference avoidance region.
Itotani, in a similar field of endeavor (determination of supportive placement for surgical robots), teaches a region setting unit that sets the interference avoidance region (See 007, “[…] specifies the movable range based on the first information regarding the movable range of the target portion of the medical arm and the second information regarding the position and posture of the projection device that projects an image […]”).
In view of Itotani’s teachings, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include, with the graphical surgical tool interface and display as disclosed by Ogawa, a region setting unit, with a reasonable expectation of success, since the graphical interface already includes the necessary components, and setting the region is both an obvious and necessary functionality in collision avoidance involving a display; and doing so improves the overall safety and efficiency of the surgical workflow.
Regarding Claim 16, Ogawa does not explicitly disclose the master-slave system according to claim 15, wherein the region setting unit sets the interference avoidance region so that the interference avoidance region is a region where the height position of the distal end of the slave robot is equal to or higher than a predetermined threshold.
Itotani, in a similar field of endeavor (determination of supportive placement for surgical robots), teaches the region setting unit sets the interference avoidance region so that the interference avoidance region is a region where the height position of the distal end of the slave robot is equal to or higher than a predetermined threshold (See 007, 0033 and 0038 as referenced above).
In view of Itotani’s teachings, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include, with the graphical surgical tool interface and display as disclosed by Ogawa, setting a distal-end movable region according to height and identifying regions in which interference is likely, with a reasonable expectation of success, since the graphical interface already includes the necessary components, and designating a height-based portion of a movable region while using avoidance control to keep the distal ends away based on the height is an obvious functionality found in traditional obstacle avoidance methods; and doing so improves the overall safety and efficiency of the surgical workflow.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: Chen et al. (JP Patent Pub. No. 2019-202354A), which is directed towards collision avoidance between a robot and an object based on a master-slave relationship for determination of detected collision section(s).
/BRYANT TANG/Examiner, Art Unit 3658
/THOMAS E WORDEN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3658