DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 14-26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 14, it is unclear where the digital output signal of the second voltage domain is located with respect to the claim. This signal is only mentioned once throughout the claims when it is introduced. Examiner recommends clarifying in the claims where the digital output signal is.
Regarding claims 15-26, these claims are rejected since they depend on claim 14 above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 14, 15, 25, and 26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Chatterjee (US 2023/0231559).
Regarding claim 14, fig. 1-3 of Chatterjee discloses an electric switching arrangement for level conversion of a digital input signal [e.g. A’] of a first voltage domain [Vdd1] into a digital output signal [Z] of a second voltage domain [Vdd2] with respect to the first voltage domain, the electric switching arrangement comprising a first transistor [144] controlled by the digital input signal, the first transistor comprising a first source-drain section connected between a ground potential and an input of a first current mirror [148, 150] which has an output that is connected to an intermediate store [120a] via a first contact point, the intermediate store having a second contact point connected to a gate terminal of a second transistor [146], the second transistor comprising a second source-drain section arranged in series with the first source-drain section of the first transistor between the input of the first current mirror and the first transistor.
Regarding claim 15, fig. 1-3 of Chatterjee discloses wherein the first current mirror and the intermediate store are connected to a supply potential [Vdd2] that is equivalent to an upper limit of the second voltage domain.
Regarding claim 25, fig. 1-3 of Chatterjee discloses wherein the second contact point is opposite the first contact point on the intermediate store.
Regarding claim 26, fig. 1-3 of Chatterjee discloses wherein the first current mirror comprises two transistors [148, 150] that are connected to each other via their gate contacts and each have a common doping type [p-type].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chatterjee in view of Sriraj (US 2024/0113517).
Regarding claim 20, Chatterjee discloses the device as indicated above except wherein the input of the first current mirror is connected to the supply potential by a first switch. However, fig. 2 and 4A of Sriraj describes a current mirror [402] coupled to a supply [202] via a switch [M16]. In view of such teaching, it would have been obvious to the ordinary artisan before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention as indicated above by incorporating the power switching as taught in Sriraj for the purpose of utilizing a suitable and well-known type of power supply control.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Tsuchi describes a level shift circuit. Rajalakshmi describes a level shifter circuit with current mirrors. Park describes a level converting flip-flop.
/SIBIN CHEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2836