DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims1-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bentley et al US 2015/0154452(hereinafter Bentley) in view of Mizosoe et al US 2013/0287122(hereinafter Mizosoe).
Regarding claim1,Bentley teaches a system for synchronising exercise or training measurement equipment, the system comprising: an electronic device having a processor(fig. 1); exercise equipment(fig. 1equipment 110); and a camera(fig. 1 camera 103); wherein the processor is configured to: receive measurement data from the exercise equipment; issue a request to the camera to start recording([0031], [0076],fig. 22 start recording 2211); and synchronise the received measurement data from the exercise equipment with video data from the camera using the calculated latency synchronisation modifier([0189], FIG. 1E, the computer generates a synchronized event video 2920, which will include at least some of the motion data, event data, or motion analysis data obtained or calculated between the event start time and the event end time, and some of the video or images obtained from the camera within this start time and end time. This synchronized event video provides an augmented, integrated record of the event that incorporates both motion data and image data) but does not tach and Mizosoe teaches determining a camera latency and calculating synchronization modifier using the determined camera latency and exercise equipment communication latency between the electronic device and exercise equipment([0141], combining network delay time and processing delay time to synchronize each of the devices(cameras)).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine different latency(delay) as in Mizosoe in order to synchronize the output of the plurality of devices/camera effectively
Regarding claim2, Bentley teaches the system of claim 1, wherein the electronic device comprises a display and the processor is further configured to simultaneously output the synchronised received measurement data and video data to that display (fig. 7, [0097], [0203], synchronized event video displayed on one or more displays).
Regarding claim3, Bentley teaches the system of claim 2, wherein the received measurement data is displayed in the form of a graph with a time axis and the video data may be navigated using an indicator that traverses the time axis of the graph ([0147], fig. 7 illustrates a timeline display 2601 of a user along with peak and minimum angular speeds along the timeline shown as events along the time line. In addition, a graph showing the lead and lag of the golf club 2602 along with the droop and drift of the golf club is shown in the bottom display wherein these values determine how much the golf club shaft is bending in two axes as plotted against time).
Regarding claim4, Bentley in view of Mizosoe teaches the system of any one of claim1, wherein the camera latency is at least initially determined by calculating the delay the camera took to action the request to start recording (Mizosoe:[0054], receiving processing delay time of each of the cameras).
The motivation for combining the prior arts discussed in claim1 above.
Regarding claim5, Bentley teaches the system of claim 1, wherein the exercise equipment communication latency is initially a predetermined amount that corresponds to an estimate of a latency for a communication protocol between the exercise equipment and electronic device ([0059], an embedded sensor may be synchronized with a mobile device including a video camera, but the time synchronization may be accurate only to within 100 milliseconds.)
Regarding claim6, Bentley teaches the system of claim 5, wherein the predetermined amount is between 5ms and 100ms([0059], the time synchronization may be accurate only to within 100 milliseconds, [0176]).
Regarding claim7, Bentley in view of Mizosoe teaches the system of claim 5, wherein the processor updates its exercise equipment communication latency to a calculated latency value if the device communication latency is determined to differ from the predetermined amount( Mizosoe:[0141], combining network delay time and processing delay time to synchronize each of the devices(cameras)).
The motivation for combining the prior arts discussed in claim1 above.
Regarding claim8, Bentley in view of Mizosoe do not teach the system of claim 1, wherein the measurement data from the exercise equipment is captured at over 500Hz.However, its old and well known in the art to capture measurement data at over 500Hz to capture fin detail of the measurement for accurate result. Therefore official notice is taken
Regarding claim9, Bentley teaches the system of claim 1, wherein the camera captures video data at over 100 frames per second ([0200], the camera generates video frames 2322 at a high rate. By using a higher frame rate during rapid motion, the user can slow the motion down during playback to observe high motion events in great detail).
Regarding claim10, Bentley teaches system of claim 1, wherein a recording frequency of the measurement data from the exercise equipment and a frame rate of the video data from the camera are not divisible (see fig. 1E, [0189], e computer generates a synchronized event video 2920, which will include at least some of the motion data, event data, or motion analysis data obtained or calculated between the event start time and the event end time, and some of the video or images obtained from the camera within this start time and end time. This synchronized event video provides an augmented, integrated record of the event that incorporates both motion data and image data, fig. 7)
Regarding claim11, Bentley teaches the system of claim 1, wherein the processor is further configured to analyse the measurement data from the exercise equipment to automatically determine a type of exercise being performed ([0126], analyze the data and recognize an event within the data to determine event data [0152]).
Regarding claim12, Bentley teaches the system of claim 1, wherein the processor is further configured to analyze the measurement data from the exercise equipment to automatically determine and one or more points of interest ([0038], The system can also integrate with standalone cameras, or cameras on multiple mobile devices. The system also enables the user to analyze and display the motion capture data in a variety of ways that provide immediate and easy to understand graphical information associated with the motion capture data).
Regarding claim13, Bentley teaches the system of claim 12, wherein a determined point of interest in the measurement data from the exercise equipment is matched to at least one frame in the video data (fig. 7, 8, 24, [0201], motion analysis data may indicate a strong physical shock (detected, for instance, using accelerometers) that comes for instance from the striking of a ball like a baseball or a golf ball, or from the landing of a skateboard after a jump. The computer may analyze the images from a video to locate the frame where this shock occurs. For example, a video that records a golf ball may use image analysis to detect in the video stream when the ball starts moving; the first frame with motion of the golf ball is the first frame after the impact with the club, and can then be synchronized with the shock in the corresponding motion analysis data).
Regarding claim14, Bentley teaches the system of claim 13 wherein the at least one frame in the video data that is matched to the point of interest in the measurement data is tagged and can be selectable by a user operating the electronic device (fig. 7, 8, [0201], motion analysis data may indicate a strong physical shock (detected, for instance, using accelerometers) that comes for instance from the striking of a ball like a baseball or a golf ball, or from the landing of a skateboard after a jump. The computer may analyze the images from a video to locate the frame where this shock occurs. For example, a video that records a golf ball may use image analysis to detect in the video stream when the ball starts moving; the first frame with motion of the golf ball is the first frame after the impact with the club, and can then be synchronized with the shock in the corresponding motion analysis data).
Regarding claim15, Bentley teaches the system of claim 14, wherein a video of frames from the video data around the point of interest in the measurement data is played upon selection by the user([0189], computer generates a synchronized event video 2920, which will include at least some of the motion data, event data, or motion analysis data obtained or calculated between the event start time and the event end time, and some of the video or images obtained from the camera within this start time and end time. This synchronized event video provides an augmented, integrated record of the event that incorporates both motion data and image data).
Regarding claim16, Bentley teaches the system of claim 1, wherein the electronic device is a tablet and the camera is integrated into the tablet ([0029], camera coupled with the computer, [0038],[0069], [0116], the computer can be tablet).
Regarding claim17, Bentley teaches the system of claim 1 wherein the exercise equipment comprises one or more of a force platform, strength testing equipment, or a speed gate ([0210], motion analysis data may indicate a strong physical shock (detected, for instance, using accelerometers) that comes for instance from the striking of a ball like a baseball or a golf ball, or from the landing of a skateboard after a jump).
GIRUMSEW WENDMAGEGN
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2484
/GIRUMSEW WENDMAGEGN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2484