DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Wang et al. (US 12063348 B2).
Claim 16 recites a bitstream generated by a method for encoding an image, the method comprising: “determining a first prediction block of a current block according to intra template matching mode; determining a second prediction block of the current block according to intra block copy mode; and determining a final prediction block of the current block based on a weighted sum of the first prediction block and the second prediction block” is a product by process claim limitation where the product is the bitstream and the process is the method steps to generate the bitstream. MPEP §2113 recites “Product-by-Process claims are not limited to the manipulations of the recited steps, only the structure implied by the steps”. Thus, the scope of the claim is the recording medium for storing the bitstream (with the structure implied by the method steps). The structure includes determining a first prediction block; determining a second prediction block; and determining a final prediction block of the current block based on a weighted sum of the first prediction block and the second prediction block and other information manipulated by the steps.
To be given patentable weight, the recording medium and the bitstream (i.e. descriptive material) must be in a functional relationship. A functional relationship can be found where the descriptive material performs some function with respect to the recording medium to which it is associated. See MPEP §2111.05(I)(A). When a claimed “computer-readable medium merely serves as a support for information or data, no functional relationship exists”. MPEP §2111.05(III).
The recording medium storing the claimed bitstream in claim 16 merely serves as a support for the recording medium of the bitstream and provides no functional relationship between the stored bitstream and recording medium.
Therefore, the structure bitstream, which scope is implied by the method steps, is non-functional descriptive material and given no patentable weight. MPEP §2111.05(III).
Thus, the claim scope is just a storage medium storing data and is anticipated by Wang (Col. 34, lines 43-45, a computer readable medium that stores a coded representation or a bitstream representation generated according to any of the described methods).
Claim(s) 1-12 and 15-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by JHU et al. (US 20250358443 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Jhu teaches a method for decoding an image (fig. 3), the method comprising:
determining a first prediction block of a current block according to intra template matching mode (84 of fig. 3, the intra prediction unit performs intra template matching prediction (Intra TMP); [0221], [0222], [0231], and [0232] for template matching; [0384] The IBC tool is combined with GPM tool, the combined form can be GPM with IBC and IBC prediction, GPM with IBC and Intra prediction or GPM with IBC and inter prediction; [0385] As a simplified version of IBC tool combined with GPM tool, for a predefined direction (such as 45 degree), the upper left part is predicted with intra mode, the bottom right part is predicted with IBC mode, then they are average weighted to obtain the final prediction signal);
determining a second prediction block of the current block according to intra block copy mode (85 of fig. 3, the intra block copy unit, [0142] IBC mode; [0384] The IBC tool is combined with GPM tool, the combined form can be GPM with IBC and IBC prediction, GPM with IBC and Intra prediction or GPM with IBC and inter prediction; [0385] As a simplified version of IBC tool combined with GPM tool, for a predefined direction (such as 45 degree), the upper left part is predicted with intra mode, the bottom right part is predicted with IBC mode, then they are average weighted to obtain the final prediction signal) ; and
determining a final prediction block of the current block based on a weighted sum of the first prediction block and the second prediction block ([0385] As a simplified version of IBC tool combined with GPM tool, for a predefined direction (such as 45 degree), the upper left part is predicted with intra mode, the bottom right part is predicted with IBC mode, then they are average weighted to obtain the final prediction signal.
Regarding claim 2, Jhu teaches the method of claim 1, Jhu further teaches wherein a first weight of the first prediction block and a second weight of the second prediction block, which are used to calculate the weighted sum of the first prediction block and the second prediction block, are selected among a plurality of weight candidates based on weight information obtained from a bitstream ([0410] and [0411] the weights for IBC coded block and intra coded block; [0411] The weights for IBC coded block (wIBC) and intra coded block (wIntra) for different sub-blocks are shown in Table 7. The sub-block index (wIntra, wIBC) 0 (6, 2) 1 (5, 3) 2 (3, 5) 3 (2, 6) ).
Regarding claim 3, Jhu teaches the method of claim 1, Jhu further teaches wherein the first weight of the first prediction block and the second weight of the second prediction block, which are used to calculate the weighted sum of the first prediction block and the second prediction block, are determined according to a prediction mode that is applied to a predetermined reference block adjacent to the current block (([0410] and [0411] the weights for IBC coded block and intra coded block; [0411] The weights for IBC coded block (wIBC) and intra coded block (wIntra) for different sub-blocks are shown in Table 7. The sub-block index (wIntra, wIBC) 0 (6, 2) 1 (5, 3) 2 (3, 5) 3 (2, 6)).
Regarding claim 4, Jhu teaches the method of claim 3, Jhu further teaches wherein when the predetermined reference block is predicted using a prediction mode other than the intra block copy mode or the intra template matching mode, the predetermined reference block is excluded from determination of the first weight and the second weight ([0130] and [0134] inter prediction).
Regarding claim 5, Jhu teaches the method of claim 3, Jhu further teaches wherein when the predetermined reference block is predicted using a prediction mode other than the intra block copy mode or the intra template matching mode, during the determination of the first weight and the second weight, the predetermined reference block is considered as being predicted by one of the intra block copy mode and the intra template matching mode ([0411] the intra mode of the current block, wIBC and wIntra are first weight and second weight).
Regarding claim 6, Jhu teaches the method of claim 3, Jhu further teaches wherein the predetermined reference block includes a top block at a predetermined top position of the current block and a left block at a predetermined left position of the current block, and wherein the first weight and the second weight are determined according to a prediction mode applied to the top block and a prediction mode applied to the left block ([0409] to [0411] weights for IBC coded block and intra coded block for up and left neighboring blocks of current block).
Regarding claim 7, Jhu teaches the method of claim 3, Jhu further teaches wherein when both the top block and the left block are predicted according to the intra template matching mode, the first weight has a greater value than the second weight, wherein when both the top block and the left block are predicted according to the intra block copy mode, the second weight has a greater value than the first weight, and wherein when one of the top block and the left block is predicted according to the intra template matching mode and the other of the top block and the left block is predicted according to the intra block copy mode, the first weight and the second weight are set to have a same value ([0410] For example, the weights for IBC coded block and intra coded block may be decided as follows: When the up and left neighboring blocks of current block are both intra coded and the intra mode of current block is planar mode, the weights for IBC coded block and intra coded block are ¼ and ¾ in the whole current block. When the up and left neighboring blocks of current block are both IBC coded and the intra mode of current block is planar mode, the weights for IBC coded block and intra coded block are ¾ and ¼ in the whole current block. When one up or left neighboring block is IBC coded, the other neighboring block is intra coded, and the intra mode of current block is planar mode, the weights for IBC coded block and intra coded block are ½ and ½ in the whole current block).
Regarding claim 8, Jhu teaches the method of claim 3, Jhu further teaches wherein the predetermined reference block includes one or more top blocks adjacent to the top of the current block and one or more left blocks adjacent to the left of the current block, and wherein the first weight and the second weight are determined according to a prediction mode applied to the one or more top blocks and to the one or more left blocks ([0409]-[0411]).
Regarding claim 9, Jhu teaches the method of claim 8, Jhu further teaches wherein the first weight and the second weight are determined to be proportional, respectively, to the number of intra template matching mode blocks and the number of intra block copy mode blocks applied to the one or more top blocks and the one or more left blocks ([0221] and [0222] a predefined search area in FIG. 19 consisting of: [0223] R1: current CTU [0224] R2: top-left CTU [0225] R3: above CTU [0226] R4: left CTU; [0410]-0411] wIBC and wIntra).
Regarding claim 10, Jhu teaches the method of claim 1, Jhu further teaches wherein the first weight of the first prediction block and the second weight of the second prediction block, which are used to calculate the weighted sum of the first prediction block and the second prediction block, are determined according to a first distortion value of the first prediction block and a second distortion value of the second prediction block ([0512] and [0513] the BV matching costs may be measured with one of sum of absolute difference (SAD) or sum of square error (SSE). In some examples, the BV matching cost may be computed based on comparison of distortion of the corresponding reference with neighboring blocks, such as a top neighboring block or a left neighboring block).
Regarding claim 11, Jhu teaches the method of claim 10, Jhu further teaches wherein the first distortion value of the first prediction block is derived based on a difference between the current block and the first prediction block or a difference between a current template of the current block and a reference template that is used to derive the first prediction block ([0513] the block vector (BV) matching costs may be measured with one of sum of absolute difference (SAD) or sum of square error (SSE). In some examples, the BV matching cost may be computed based on comparison of distortion of the corresponding reference with neighboring blocks, such as a top neighboring block or a left neighboring block. This disclosure applicable for the first distortion), and
wherein the second distortion value of the second prediction block is derived based on a difference between the current block and the second prediction block or a difference between the current template of the current block and a template of the second prediction block ([0513] the block vector (BV) matching costs may be measured with one of sum of absolute difference (SAD) or sum of square error (SSE). In some examples, the BV matching cost may be computed based on comparison of distortion of the corresponding reference with neighboring blocks, such as a top neighboring block or a left neighboring block. This disclosure is applicable for the second distortion).
Regarding claim 12, Jhu teaches the method of claim 10, Jhu further teaches wherein the first weight and the second weight are determined to be proportional to a reciprocal of the first distortion value and a reciprocal of the second distortion value, respectively ([0495] to obtain the plurality of weights corresponding to the plurality of prediction block candidates, the processor 2920 may set each of the plurality of weights to be a reciprocal of an integer N, where N is a number of the plurality of prediction block candidates).
Regarding claim 15, Jhu further teaches a method for encoding an image (fig. 2), the method comprising: determining a first prediction block of a current block according to intra template matching mode ( [0221], [0222], [0231], and [0232] for template matching; [0385] As a simplified version of IBC tool combined with GPM tool, for a predefined direction (such as 45 degree), the upper left part is predicted with intra mode, the bottom right part is predicted with IBC mode, then they are average weighted to obtain the final prediction signal);
determining a second prediction block of the current block according to intra block copy mode ( [0142] IBC mode; [0384] The IBC tool is combined with GPM tool, the combined form can be GPM with IBC and IBC prediction, GPM with IBC and Intra prediction or GPM with IBC and inter prediction; [0385] As a simplified version of IBC tool combined with GPM tool, for a predefined direction (such as 45 degree), the upper left part is predicted with intra mode, the bottom right part is predicted with IBC mode, then they are average weighted to obtain the final prediction signal) ; and
determining a final prediction block of the current block based on a weighted sum of the first prediction block and the second prediction block ([0385] As a simplified version of IBC tool combined with GPM tool, for a predefined direction (such as 45 degree), the upper left part is predicted with intra mode, the bottom right part is predicted with IBC mode, then they are average weighted to obtain the final prediction signal).
Regarding claim 16, Jhu further teaches a computer-readable recording medium for storing a bitstream generated by a method for encoding an image ([0011]),
wherein the method for encoding an image (fig. 2) comprises:
determining a first prediction block of a current block according to intra template matching mode ([0221], [0222], [0231], and [0232] for template matching; [0385] As a simplified version of IBC tool combined with GPM tool, for a predefined direction (such as 45 degree), the upper left part is predicted with intra mode, the bottom right part is predicted with IBC mode, then they are average weighted to obtain the final prediction signal);
determining a second prediction block of the current block according to intra block copy mode ( [0142] IBC mode; [0384] The IBC tool is combined with GPM tool, the combined form can be GPM with IBC and IBC prediction, GPM with IBC and Intra prediction or GPM with IBC and inter prediction; [0385] As a simplified version of IBC tool combined with GPM tool, for a predefined direction (such as 45 degree), the upper left part is predicted with intra mode, the bottom right part is predicted with IBC mode, then they are average weighted to obtain the final prediction signal) ; and
determining a final prediction block of the current block based on a weighted sum of the first prediction block and the second prediction block ([0385] As a simplified version of IBC tool combined with GPM tool, for a predefined direction (such as 45 degree), the upper left part is predicted with intra mode, the bottom right part is predicted with IBC mode, then they are average weighted to obtain the final prediction signal).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JHU et al. (US 20250358443 A1) in view of Xie (US 20240357092 A1).
Regarding claim 14, Jhu teaches the method of claim 1, but Jhu does not teach determining the third prediction block of the current block according to a regular intra prediction mode, wherein the final prediction block of the current block is determined based on a weighted sum of the first prediction block, the second prediction block and the third prediction block.
Xie discloses determining the third prediction block of the current block according to a regular intra prediction mode, wherein the final prediction block of the current block is be determined based on a weighted sum of the first prediction block, the second prediction block and the third prediction block (fig. 7C, [0105] Optionally, in addition to determining the first prediction value and second prediction value, a third prediction value may further be determined. For example, a third intra prediction mode is used to predict the current block to obtain the third prediction value of the current block, and then weighted blending is performed on the first prediction value, the second prediction value, and the third prediction value to obtain the target prediction value of the current block. Optionally, the third intra prediction mode may be a preset intra prediction mode, or may be determined in other manners, which are not limited in the present disclosure).
Taking the teachings of Jhu and Xie together as a whole, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the third prediction block of Xie into the weight sum prediction blocks of Jhu to improve coding efficiency and coding performance.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 13 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Wang (US 20250039364 A1) discloses a video decoding method, including: obtaining a first index by decoding a bitstream, where the first index is used to indicate a first combination, the first combination includes a weight derivation mode and K prediction modes, and K is a positive integer greater than 1; determining a first weight derivation mode and K first prediction modes included in the first combination according to the first index; and obtaining a prediction value of a current block by predicting the current block according to the first weight derivation mode and the K first prediction modes.
Zhang et al. (US 20250039429 A1) discloses template matching prediction (TMP) is a special intra prediction mode that copies the best prediction block from the reconstructed part of the current frame, whose L-shaped templated matches the current template.
Contact Information
TUNG T. VO
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2425
/TUNG T VO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2425