DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. JP2023-044927, filed on 03/22/2023.
Preliminary Amendment
The preliminary amendment filed on 08/18/2025 is being acknowledged.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 08/18/2025 is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
Claim 18:
an acquisition unit that acquires,
a determination unit that searches and determines, and
a presentation unit that presents.
Claim 20:
a detection unit that detects,
a transmission unit that transmits,
an acquisition unit that acquires,
a determination unit that searches and determines, and
a presentation unit that presents.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 10-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 10, it is unclear how the obstacle, which is defined as the movable object in claim 1, is now the mobile body. Is the obstacle a second mobile body? For purposes of compact prosecution, the Examiner is interpreting the mobile body in claim 10 to be a second mobile body.
Regarding claim 11, it is unclear how the obstacle, which is defined as the movable object in claim 1, is now the mobile body. Is the obstacle a second mobile body? For purposes of compact prosecution, the Examiner is interpreting the mobile body in claim 11 to be a second mobile body.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 5, 10-11, and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang et al. (U.S. Publication No. 2023/0104367 A1) hereinafter Zhang in view of Takao et al (U.S. Publication No. 2026/0003360 A1) hereinafter Takao.
Regarding claim 1, Zhang discloses an information processing method comprising:
acquiring obstacle information indicating that a movable object arranged on a route of a mobile body is detected as an obstacle [see Paragraph 0059 - discusses that a mobile body (first delivery robot) detects whether an obstacle (second delivery robot) is on a moving path through a camera, the detection (obstacle information) is then reported to a server];
searching and determining an evacuation destination of the obstacle on a basis of productivity in a case where the obstacle is evacuated to a predetermined place [see Paragraphs 0063-0064 - discusses that the server determines the closest avoidance area for the second delivery robot (obstacle) (the first delivery robot is performing a delivery task), see Paragraphs 0062-0063 - discusses that the evacuation destination is determined based on whether the delivery robots (first and second) are performing tasks, if the second delivery robot is not performing a task then it is determined that it is causing congestion (affects productivity) and then the evacuation destination (closest avoidance area) is determined for the second delivery robot]
Takao discloses presenting a determined evacuation destination of an obstacle [see Paragraph 0077 - discusses that an image of moved to second position (see Paragraph 0059 - discusses the second position is an evacuation destination) of a second mobile body is displayed].
Takao suggests by presenting an evacuation destination (second position) of the obstacle (second mobile body) on a display of a remote control, that a movement of the first mobile body is assisted [see Paragraphs 0091-0092] by using the second position of the obstacle.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, with a reasonable expectation of success, to modify the information processing method as taught by Zhang to include presenting a determined evacuation destination of the obstacle via a remote control as taught by Takao in order to assist the movement of the first mobile body via a remote control by using the second position of the obstacle [Takao, see Paragraphs 0091-0092].
Regarding claim 5, Zhang and Takao disclose the invention with respect to claim 1. Zhang further discloses wherein the obstacle information includes position information of the obstacle [see Paragraph 0059 - discusses that the location of the obstacle detected is reported to the server].
Regarding claim 10, Zhang and Takao disclose the invention with respect to claim 1. Zhang further discloses wherein the obstacle includes the mobile body to which no task is assigned [see Paragraphs 0062-0063 - discusses that the second delivery robot is not performing a task].
Regarding claim 11, Zhang and Takao disclose the invention with respect to claim 10. Zhang further discloses searching and determining an evacuation destination of the mobile body to which the task is not assigned [see Paragraphs 0063-0064 - discusses that the server determines the closest avoidance area for the second delivery robot (obstacle) (the first delivery robot is performing a delivery task), see Paragraphs 0062-0063 - discusses that the evacuation destination is determined based on whether the delivery robots (first and second) are performing tasks, if the second delivery robot is not performing a task then it is determined that it is causing congestion (affects productivity) and then the evacuation destination (closest avoidance area) is determined for the second delivery robot]; and moving the mobile body to which the task is not assigned to the evacuation destination determined [see Paragraph 0064 - the second delivery robot is controlled to go to the closest avoidance area].
Claims 18-19 are analogous to claim 1 and are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 for unpatentable over Zhang in view of Takao.
Regarding claim 20, Zhang discloses an information processing system comprising:
an information processing apparatus [see Paragraphs 0063-0064 - discusses a server] and a mobile body [see Paragraph 0059 - a mobile body (first delivery robot)],
wherein the mobile body includes:
a detection unit that detects a movable object disposed on a route of the mobile body as an obstacle [see Paragraph 0059 - discusses that a mobile body (first delivery robot) detects whether an obstacle (second delivery robot) is on a moving path through a camera]; and
a transmission unit that transmits obstacle information indicating that the obstacle has been detected [see Paragraph 0059 - discusses that the detection (obstacle information) is then reported to a server], and
the information processing apparatus includes:
an acquisition unit that acquires the obstacle information [see Paragraph 0059 – discusses that the detection is received at the server];
a determination unit that searches and determines an evacuation destination of the obstacle on a basis of productivity in a case where the obstacle is evacuated to a predetermined place [see Paragraphs 0063-0064 - discusses that the server determines the closest avoidance area for the second delivery robot (obstacle) (the first delivery robot is performing a delivery task), see Paragraphs 0062-0063 - discusses that the evacuation destination is determined based on whether the delivery robots (first and second) are performing tasks, if the second delivery robot is not performing a task then it is determined that it is causing congestion (affects productivity) and then the evacuation destination (closest avoidance area) is determined for the second delivery robot]
Takao discloses a presentation unit that presents a determined evacuation destination of the obstacle [see Paragraph 0077 - discusses that an image of moved to second position (see Paragraph 0059 - discusses the second position is an evacuation destination) of a second mobile body is displayed].
Takao suggests by presenting an evacuation destination (second position) of the obstacle (second mobile body) on a display of a remote control, that a movement of the first mobile body is assisted [see Paragraphs 0091-0092] by using the second position of the obstacle.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, with a reasonable expectation of success, to modify the information processing apparatus as taught by Zhang to include a remote control presenting a determined evacuation destination of the obstacle as taught by Takao in order to assist the movement of the first mobile body via a remote control by using the second position of the obstacle [Takao, see Paragraphs 0091-0092].
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang in view of Takao in view of Sohn (U.S. Publication No. 2021/0373576 A1) hereinafter Sohn.
Regarding claim 13, Zhang and Takao disclose the invention with respect to claim 1. Zhang further discloses wherein the obstacle information includes position information of the obstacle [see Paragraph 0059 - discusses that the location of the obstacle detected is reported to the server].
However, the combination of Zhang and Takao fails to disclose wherein the obstacle information includes a captured image of the obstacle, and object recognition processing is executed using the captured image, and an object of the obstacle is identified.
Sohn discloses wherein obstacle information includes a captured image of an obstacle, and object recognition processing is executed using the captured image, and an object of the obstacle is identified [see Paragraphs 0116-0118 - discusses that a robot transmits data of an object to a server, the data is image data, and the server uses a neural network to recognize attributes of an object to identify the object].
Sohn suggests that the neural network recognizes the usage pattern and usage environment and the data is then used by the robot to become smarter and evolve with continual use [see Paragraphs 0123-0126].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, with a reasonable expectation of success, to modify the server as taught by Zhang to receive a captured image of an obstacle, perform object recognition processing using the captured image, and identify an object of the obstacle as taught by Sohn in order to recognizes the usage pattern and usage environment for the robot and have the robot become smarter and evolve [Sohn, see Paragraphs 0123-0126].
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 2-4, 6-9, 12, and 14-17 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/SHAYNE M. GILBERTSON/Examiner, Art Unit 3665