DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 8/19/2025 is being considered by the examiner.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
Claim 1: damping unit (accumulator [0041]), controller (processor [0048])
Claim 6: damping unit (accumulator [0041])
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 2 recites “a function” in at least two instances. It is unclear if these instances are the same or distinct. For purposes of examination these instances will be interpreted as being the same.
Claims 4 and 5 recite “predetermined threshold” in at least two instances. It is unclear if these instances are the same or distinct. For purposes of examination these instances will be interpreted as being distinct.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 and 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)&(a)(2) as being anticipated by US20130073151A1 (“Wada”).
As per claims 1 and 6, Wada teaches the limitations of the machine and method:
A work machine comprising: a work machine body configured to travel; a work implement attached to the work machine body; a damping unit configured to damp vibration of the work implement; a vibration information detection sensor configured to detect information regarding vibration of the work machine body; and a controller configured to control the damping unit based on the information regarding vibration detected by the vibration information detection sensor. (Wada at least the abstract, FIG. 3, [0037], [0041], [0077], [0082-0083])
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wada in view of JP2021024383A (“Masanori”, machine translation provided).
Regarding claim 2, Wada teaches the invention as described above. Wada teaches:
the controller is configured to switch the damping unit between a first state in which a function of damping vibration of the work implement is exerted and a second state in which a function of damping vibration of the work implement is not exerted, and the controller is configured to switch the damping unit to the first state based on the information regarding vibration. (Wada at least the abstract, [0009-0011], [0054])
Wada does not disclose:
controller is configured to switch the damping unit to the first state upon determining that the work machine body is vibrating based on the information regarding vibration
Masanori teaches the aforementioned limitation (Masanori at least the abstract).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Wada with the aforementioned limitations taught by Masanori with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to combine these references in order to reduce pitching vibration (Masanori abstract).
Regarding claim 3, Wada in combination with the other references teaches the invention as described above. Wada additionally teaches:
a hydraulic cylinder that drives the work implement, the damping unit including an on-off valve, and an accumulator connected to the hydraulic cylinder via the on-off valve, the damping unit being in the first state when the on-off valve is in an open state, the damping unit being in the second state when the on-off valve is in a closed state, and the controller being configured to control the on-off valve based on the information regarding vibration. (Wada at least the abstract, [0009-0011], [0054])
Regarding claim 4, Wada in combination with the other references teaches the invention as described above. Wada does not disclose:
the information regarding vibration is acceleration generated in the work machine body, and the controller is configured to determine that the work machine body is vibrating when at least one of an amplitude of the acceleration being larger than a predetermined threshold and a frequency of the acceleration being larger than a predetermined threshold is satisfied.
Masanori teaches the aforementioned limitation (Masanori at least [0025]: " an inertial measurement unit (Inertial Measurement Unit) that detects the acceleration / deceleration (vibration amount) and attitude of the lift arm 31, or an acceleration sensor that detects the acceleration / deceleration (vibration amount) may be used ").
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Wada with the aforementioned limitations taught by Masanori with a reasonable expectation of success. The motivation to combine these references is the same as above in claim 2.
Regarding claim 5, Wada in combination with the other references teaches the invention as described above. Wada provides for an angle sensor (Wada at least [0012]), but Wada does not disclose:
the information regarding vibration is a pitch angle generated in the work machine body, and the controller is configured to determine that the work machine body is vibrating when at least one of an amplitude of the pitch angle being larger than a predetermined threshold and a frequency of the pitch angle being larger than a predetermined threshold is satisfied.
Masanori teaches the aforementioned limitation (Masanori at least [0027], [0031], [0033]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Wada with the aforementioned limitations taught by Masanori with a reasonable expectation of success. The motivation to combine these references is the same as above in claim 2.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The following references teach aspects of the invention as claimed: US20070299589A1, US20170073923A1, US20200240114A1, US20160280221A1, US20150230403A1, US20120155999A1, US20080104866A1.
/O.T./Examiner, Art Unit 3669
/NAVID Z. MEHDIZADEH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3669