DETAILED ACTION
Non Final
Information Disclosure Statement
Each information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 8/19/2025, 8/28/2026 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Interpretation
It is noted that upon review, no claim terminology was determined to be of sufficient means plus function nonce/style language so as to invoke 35 USC 112 6th paragraph. Any generic terms appeared to be sufficiently modified by their either prepository terms, modifiers or use in the art to take any generic terms out of potential scope of 112 6th. It is noted that during prosecution the claim language may change and thus there is no final disposition on such interpretation until time as the claims may issue.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Gustafson (US 2019/0024547.)
Gustafson discloses in claim 24: A lubricant distribution system (at 16 figure 1) comprising: a bulk tank (26) configured to store a supply of fresh lubricant (oil); a pump (34) configured to pump the fresh lubricant from the bulk tank to an application system (at 20); a flow control (functional arrangement via ph 0031/0041/0042/0052/ and claim 16) configured to disable pumping by the pump based on receipt of a flow control signal (via 24b,d); a tank alarm configured to output a visual alarm, an audio alarm, or (alt grouping under MPEP 2131) both (notification device 22, ph 0020, 0040, 0069) based on receipt of an alarm signal (id); a low level sensor (30/32, ph 0052) configured to generate a control level signal based on fall of lubricant within the bulk tank; a high level sensor (14, id) configured to generate a monitor level signal based on rise of lubricant within the bulk tank (ph 0015); and a level manager (16) configured to: generate the flow control signal in response to the control level signal from the low level sensor (claim 16); and generate the alarm signal in response to one of the control level signal and the monitor level signal (the level from either 14 or 30, as applied to claim 10, 11); wherein the level manager is operable in a first substate in which the level manager generates the alarm signal based on the control level signal (30 as discussed) and in a second substate in which the level manager generates the alarm signal based on the monitor level signal (14 as discussed.)
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1-18 and 21are allowed. The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the prior art fails to disclose or render obvious the following: “the level manager comprising: a housing; a plurality of channel ports mounted to the housing, each channel port providing a connection point for data and power communications…the control level sensor, the monitor level sensor, the flow control, and the tank alarm are connected to the level manager via a signal channel connected to a single channel port of the plurality of channel ports” (emphasis added) in combination with the other limitations set forth in the independent claims; where it is noted that Gustafson discloses: A level manager (at 16 figure 1) for a lubricant distribution system (ph 0002, 0013, 0014), the level manager comprising: a connection point for data and power communications (via 24a,b,c) with the level manager; control circuitry (40/42/44/38); and memory (id) encoded (as necessary in the memory 44) with instructions that, when executed by the control circuitry, cause the control circuitry to: generate a control signal in response to a control level signal from a control level sensor and provide the control signal to a flow control (see ph 0031/0041/0042/0052/ and claim 16), the flow control configured to stop flow of lubricant one of into a lubricant tank and out of the lubricant tank based on the control signal (per ph 0015); and generate an alarm signal in response to one of the control level signal and a monitor level signal from a monitor level sensor and provide the alarm signal to a tank alarm to activate the tank alarm (notification device 22, ph 0020, 0040, 0069); wherein the control level sensor is one of a high level sensor (at 14) of the lubricant tank and a low level sensor (at 30) of the lubricant tank (at 26), and wherein the monitor level sensor is the other one of the high level sensor and the low level sensor (ph 0015); Wiersma discloses: a housing (at 10 figure 3); a plurality of [contacts] (at 202 figure 4 that make up a single channel) mounted to the housing, each [contact] providing a connection point for data [or] power communications (power/pump valve/overflow valve/low,high,overflow floats) with the level manager; control circuitry (200 ph 0034); and memory (id) encoded (as necessary in the memory) with instructions that, when executed by the control circuitry, cause the control circuitry to: generate a control signal in response to a control level signal from a control level sensor and provide the control signal to a flow control (see ph 0035), the flow control configured to stop flow of lubricant one of into a lubricant tank and out of the lubricant tank based on the control signal (per ph 0035); and generate an alarm signal (via alarm 170 ph 0030); wherein the control level sensor is one of a high level sensor (at 178) of the lubricant tank and a low level sensor (at 176) of the lubricant tank (at 102), and wherein the monitor level sensor is the other one of the high level sensor and the low level sensor (178/102); and wherein the control level sensor, the monitor level sensor, the flow control, and the tank alarm are connected to the level manager via a signal channel (at 202);
but Gustafson and/or in view of Wiersma lack the above claimed arrangement and accordingly, it would not have been obvious to provide such an arrangement especially with the lack of teaching of the above claimed arrangement and without improper hindsight construction of the same, accordingly the claims must be allowed.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Bolland (US 6938635) discloses a level switch for a processing tank with shut down for over filling and low fluid; Duenas (US 6336362) discloses a reporting circuit for monitoring the fluid level in a tank and an electrical conductor that carries both power an signal for sensor feedback.
/Matthew W Jellett/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3753