DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-5, 8-13, 15, 17, 20-21, 23-25, and 29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US PG Pub 2004/0068737 to Itoh (“Itoh”) in view of US PG Pub 2018/0139482 to Bhatia (“Bhatia”) and US PG Pub 2005/0022210 to Zintel (“Zintel”).
Regarding claim 1, “A monitoring device for monitoring a status of a display apparatus” reads on a TV channel selecting status monitoring method and apparatus for monitoring the channel to which the TV set is being actually tuned (¶0001) disclosed by Itoh and represented in Fig. 1.
As to “the monitoring device comprising: an infra-red, IR, receiver for detecting an IR signal transmitted from a remote control” Itoh discloses (¶0051-¶0052) that the monitoring apparatus comprises a remote control signal receiving part receives and identifies infrared signal emanating from the remote control device as represented in Fig. 1 (element 34).
As to “a radio wave receiver for receiving a radio wave signal…” Itoh discloses (¶0068) that the TV receives a radio signal from remote control.
As to “a memory configured to store a current status of the display apparatus, the current status comprising a channel displayed on the display apparatus and a power status” Itoh discloses (¶0052-¶0053) that the storage part stores channel selecting status data in the memory where when the power supply of the TV set 1 is turned ON, the channel information storage part holds the channel information held when the power supply was turned OFF last.
As to “a processor configured to determine: (i) from the IR signal, a first operating instruction for operating the display apparatus, wherein the first operating instruction comprises a first channel change instruction and/or a first power instruction” Itoh discloses (¶0052) that the light receiving part 341 receives the infrared signal emitted from the remote control signal transmitter 2 and converts it to an electric signal, which is provided to the identifying part 342. Based on the signal pattern represented by the electric signal, the identifying part 342 identifies the operational content instructed by the user with the remote control signal transmitter 2, then determines the channel to be switched to, if necessary, by reference to channel information held in the channel information storage part 343, and stores information about the determined channel in the channel information storage part; the instruction comprises among others a channel change information and a power ON/OFF commands.
As to “wherein the processor is further configured to: determine a first updated status of the display apparatus based at least in part on the first operating instruction; determine a second updated status of the display apparatus based at least in part on the second operating instruction; …replace the current status stored in the memory with one of the first or second updated statuses…and… replace the one of the first or second updated statuses stored in memory with the other of the first or second updated statuses…” Itoh discloses (¶0052) that when having received a signal for direct selection of a particular channel by the user through manipulation of any one of the buttons 24 of the remote control signal transmitter 2 shown in FIG. 2, this remote control signal receiving part stores information on the selected channel in the channel information storage part 343. Upon receiving a signal for switching the currently selected channel to the immediately preceding or following channel through manipulation of the button 23, the remote control signal receiving part changes the channel information stored in the channel information storage part 343 to information on the immediately preceding or following channel.
Itoh meets all the limitations of the claim except “a radio wave receiver for receiving a radio wave signal from a user device.” However, Bhatia discloses (¶0145-¶0146) that the remote control mobile application running on the mobile device communicates with the TV set using Bluetooth transmitter as represented in Fig. 4C; (¶0052) the user device such as mobile enabled with an infrared remote control component and sends the channel switch command to TV via an infrared communication channel.
As to “(ii) based at least in part on the radio wave signal, determine a second operating instruction for operating the display apparatus, wherein the second operating instruction comprises a second channel change instruction and/or a second power instruction” Bhatia discloses (¶0070, ¶0145-¶0146, ¶0221) that the plurality of TV event messages are sent using the remote control mobile application on the mobile device where the events includes TV on/off and channel change, etc. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Itoh’s system by using a radio wave signal from a user device for channel change and/or power instruction as taught by Bhatia in order to control display apparatus using both infrared signal and wireless/radio signal from the user device.
Combination of Itoh and Bhatia meets all the limitations of the claim except “at a first time, replace the current status stored in the memory with one of the first or second updated statuses based on which of the IR signal and the radio wave signal is received first; and at a second time after the first time, replace the one of the first or second updated statuses stored in memory with the other of the first or second updated statuses based on which of the IR signal and the radio wave signal is received second.” However, Zintel discloses (abstract, claim 1) that the device maintains a state table representative of operation states of the controlled device; (¶0061) it receives control events from multiple control sources; (¶0142, ¶0410) the state table is updated in response to the events/commands completed successfully; (¶0131) controlled devices store the state of services where user Control Points are required to synchronize to the state on Controlled Devices; (claim 1) distributing controlled computing device state update events having sequence numbers assigned according to a sequential order following the predefined initial sequence number and data defining said changes to the controller computing device. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Itoh and Bhatia’s systems by sequential order to replace the status stored in the memory as taught by Zintel in order to process received commands according to their order of receipt and updating stored device state after processing each received event (Zintel - ¶0007).
Regarding claim 3, “The monitoring device of claim 1, wherein: the first or second operating instruction comprises the respective first or second channel change instruction; the first or second channel change instruction comprises a respective first or second channel up instruction or a respective first or second channel down instruction; and the processor is configured to determine an updated channel displayed on the display apparatus based at least in part on the current status stored in the memory and on the first or second channel up instruction or first or second channel down instruction” Itoh discloses (¶0052) that when having received a signal for direct selection of a particular channel by the user through manipulation of any one of the buttons 24 of the remote control signal transmitter 2 shown in FIG. 2, this remote control signal receiving part stores information on the selected channel in the channel information storage part 343. Upon receiving a signal for switching the currently selected channel to the immediately preceding or following channel through manipulation of the button 23, the remote control signal receiving part changes the channel information stored in the channel information storage part 343 to information on the immediately preceding or following channel.
Regarding claim 4, “The monitoring device of claim1, wherein the processor is configured to perform an initialization operation to initialize the current status stored in the memory, the initialization operation comprising: receiving an initialization signal from the user device, the initialization signal comprising information specifying a channel for display on the display apparatus and/or information specifying a power status of the display apparatus; determining, based at least in part on the initialization signal, an initial status of the display apparatus, the initial status comprising the channel currently displayed on the display apparatus and/or the current power status; and storing the initial status in the memory as the current status” combination of Itoh and Bhatia teaches this limitation where Itoh discloses (¶0052) that when the user inputs a direct selection of a particular channel, the channel number is stored (this direct selection is a form of initialization); the channel number saved is also reused when the power supply of the TV is turned back ON after having been OFF (this is a form of requesting of the initialization value); this signal is received from the remote control and not from a user device, and Bhatia discloses (¶0145-¶0147) that the plurality of TV event messages such as TV on/off and channel change are sent using the remote control mobile application on the mobile device as represented in Fig. 4C.
Regarding claim 5, “The monitoring device of claim 4, wherein the monitoring device is configured to request the initialization signal from the user device” Bhatia discloses (¶0145-¶0147) that the plurality of TV event messages such as TV on/off and channel change are sent using the remote control mobile application on the mobile device as represented in Fig. 4C.
Regarding claim 8, “The monitoring device of claim 1, wherein the radio wave signal is associated with an application operating on the user device, the application associated with controlling and/or monitoring the display apparatus” Bhatia discloses (¶0257-¶0259) that the program selection of the TV is controlled via an application on the mobile device as represented in Figs. 8H-J.
Regarding claim 9, “The monitoring device of claims 1, wherein the radio wave signal is a Wi-Fi signal or a Bluetooth signal” Bhatia discloses (¶0145-¶0146) that the radio signal is transmitted via a Bluetooth transmitter.
Regarding claim 10, “The monitoring device of claims 1, wherein the user device is a computing device, a portable computing device, a smart phone, a tablet computer, a portable computer, or a wearable device” Bhatia discloses (¶00145-¶0146) that the user device is the mobile, laptop computer, or a desktop computer.
Regarding claim 11, “The monitoring device of claim1, wherein the IR signal comprises a signal code representing the first operating instruction, and wherein the processor is configured to determine the first operating instruction from the IR signal by: comparing the signal code to a plurality of stored codes, each stored code associated with a respective known operating instruction; identifying a matching code from the plurality of stored codes based on a similarity between the signal code and the matching code; and identifying the known operating instruction associated with the matching code as the first operating instruction of the IR signal” Itoh discloses (¶0042, ¶0052) that the remote control signal receiving part comprises a light receiving part, an identifying part and a channel information storage part. The light receiving part receives the infrared signal emitted from the remote control signal transmitter and converts it to an electric signal, which is provided to the identifying part. Based on the signal pattern represented by the electric signal, the identifying part identifies the operational content instructed by the user with the remote control signal transmitter, then determines the channel to be switched to by reference to channel information held in the channel information storage part, and stores information about the determined channel in the channel information storage part 343 as represented in Fig. 8.
Regarding claim 12, “The monitoring device of claim 11, wherein the processor is configured to: receive an identification of the display apparatus from the user device; and identify the plurality of stored codes based on the identification of the display apparatus” Bhatia discloses (¶0259) that the user mobile device turns into the TV remote control where the user selects/configures one of the multiple devices including Apple TV and Google TV options and further presented with an array of fast keys/codes for different channels as represented in Fig. 8I.
Regarding claim 13, “The monitoring device of claim 1, wherein the remote control directly controls the display apparatus” Itoh discloses (¶0040) remote control transmitter controls TV set as represented in Fig. 1.
Regarding claim 15, “The monitoring device of claim1, wherein the monitoring device further comprises a network connection for transmitting a status of the display apparatus to a remote server” Itoh discloses (¶0043) that the monitoring apparatus is connected to the TV set via the cables, and is connected to a telephone circuit or the like via a cable for sending monitored data to a center as represented in Fig. 1 (element 7).
Regarding claim 17, “The monitoring device of claim1, wherein the memory is further configured to store viewer information associated with the status of the display apparatus” Itoh discloses (¶0068) that the monitoring information stored is linked to a person watching the content.
Regarding claim 20, see rejection similar to claim 1.
Regarding claim 21, see rejection similar to claim 3.
Regarding claim 23, see rejection similar to claim 4.
Regarding claim 24, see rejection similar to claim 5.
Regarding claim 25, see rejection similar to claim 15.
Regarding claim 29, “A non-transitory computer-readable medium comprising instructions which, when executed by a computer, cause the computer to perform the method of claims 20” Bhatia discloses (¶0592) a TV audience monitoring processor-readable non-transitory medium storing processor-executable instructions, said instructions issuable by a processor.
Claims 14 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Itoh in view of Bhatia and Zintel as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of US PG Pub 2015/0026709 to Falcon (“Falcon”).
Regarding claim 14, “The monitoring device of claim1, wherein the processor is configured to replace the current status with the first or second updated status by storing in the memory: the current status as a previous status” Itoh discloses (¶0052) that when having received a signal for direct selection of a particular channel by the user through manipulation of any one of the buttons 24 of the remote control signal transmitter 2 shown in FIG. 2, this remote control signal receiving part stores information on the selected channel in the channel information storage part 343. Upon receiving a signal for switching the currently selected channel to the immediately preceding or following channel through manipulation of the button 23, the remote control signal receiving part changes the channel information stored in the channel information storage part 343 to information on the immediately preceding or following channel.
Combination of Itoh, Bhatia, and Zintel meets all the limitations of the claim except “replace the current status with the first or second updated status by storing in the memory: …a time associated with the previous status.” However, Falcon discloses (¶0050, ¶0059-¶0061) the metering device using an infrared sensor to monitor channel selection, where (¶0073-¶0074) each user command is represented by a record containing a corresponding timestamp, a command identification (usually associated to a specific key of a remote control) as represented in Fig. 6. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Itoh, Bhatia, and Zintel’s systems by associating timestamp with the previous status as taught by Falcon in order to identify the remote control used for issuing each recognized command (Falcon - ¶0069).
Regarding claim 16, “The monitoring device of claim 1, wherein the processor is configured to identify, based on the current status stored in the memory and a time associated with the current status, content displayed on the display apparatus” Falcon discloses (¶0050, ¶0059-¶0061) the metering device using an infrared sensor to monitor channel selection, where (¶0073-¶0074) each user command is represented by a record containing a corresponding timestamp, a command identification (usually associated to a specific key of a remote control) as represented in Fig. 6.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 2018/0270442 to Park
US 2018/0167680 to Finc
/PINKAL R CHOKSHI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2425