DETAILED ACTION
This is a first action on the merits. Claims 8-14 are pending.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement filed on 8/20/2025 has been reviewed and considered.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because:
The sheet numbers are placed in the bottom of the sheet. These numbers must be placed in the middle of the top of the sheet, but not in the margin. The numbers can be placed on the right-hand side if the drawing extends too close to the middle of the top edge of the usable surface. See 37 CFR 1.84(t).
In figures 1-6, the view number abbreviation “Fig.” should read “FIG.” in accordance with 37 CFR 1.84(u)(1).
In figure 1, the meaning of the dashed leader line of reference character 15 is unclear. Although dashed leaders are commonly used to indicate optional components, modified forms of construction must be shown in separate views in accordance with 37 CFR 1.84(h)(5).
In figure 1, angle sensor 27 should be labeled, because its generic representation would not be recognized by a person of ordinary skill in the art.
In figure 5, the meaning of the dashed leader lines of reference characters 40c, 40d, 63 and 64 is unclear. Although dashed leaders are commonly used to indicate optional components, modified forms of construction must be shown in separate views in accordance with 37 CFR 1.84(h)(5).
In figure 5, it is unclear if the leader line for reference character 40b ends in an arrow pointing at a dot, or points to an exclamation mark (i.e., the character “!”).
In figure 5, it is unclear how point 40b indicates an approach location between adjacent movement trajectories because, although point 40b is adjacent to trajectories 39a and 39b, it is not located on any trajectory, therefore, it is unclear how it represents an approach.
Specification
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because the first sentence is not grammatically complete. The Examiner recommends combining the first and second sentences with a comma. A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
In paragraph 58, lines 5-6, “The video … is played in synchronous with the animation” should read “The video … is played in synchronization with the animation”. This appears to be a typographical error.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
Claims 13-14 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 13, line 2, “a video of a camera” should read “a video from a camera”. This appears to be a typographical error.
In claim 13, lines 4-5, “in synchronous” should read “in synchronization”. This appears to be a typographical error.
In claim 14, lines 2-3, “the video of the camera” should read “the video from the camera”. This appears to be a typographical error.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “an information processing device configured to draw … and cause the terminal device to display” in claim 1, lines 9-15.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 8-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 8, lines 9-15, the limitation “an information processing device configured to draw … and cause the terminal device to display” invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function. Figure 3 discloses the server includes the information processing device, and figure 4 further discloses the information processing device includes the four sections, however, there is no specific structure disclosed for implementing the information processing device, and it is unclear whether the sections are implemented as hardware or software. Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph. For the purposes of examination, it will be assumed that the information processing device is a processor of the server and executes software instructions to implement the section functions.
Applicant may:
(a) Amend the claim so that the claim limitation will no longer be interpreted as a limitation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph;
(b) Amend the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites what structure, material, or acts perform the entire claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(c) Amend the written description of the specification such that it clearly links the structure, material, or acts disclosed therein to the function recited in the claim, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)).
If applicant is of the opinion that the written description of the specification already implicitly or inherently discloses the corresponding structure, material, or acts and clearly links them to the function so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function, applicant should clarify the record by either:
(a) Amending the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function and clearly links or associates the structure, material, or acts to the claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(b) Stating on the record what the corresponding structure, material, or acts, which are implicitly or inherently set forth in the written description of the specification, perform the claimed function. For more information, see 37 CFR 1.75(d) and MPEP §§ 608.01(o) and 2181.
Regarding claim 8, lines 9-12, the limitation “draw a movement trajectory of the work machine … obtained by tracing the position information for each time after movement and another work machine … with the position information for each time” renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether one movement trajectory is drawn based on the position information of two work machines, two movement trajectories are drawn, or a movement trajectory of a work machine and a position of another work machine are drawn. Dependent claim 9, as best understood, appears to further limit the system to drawing multiple movement trajectories, therefore, for the purposes of examination, and to avoid the double inclusion of the trajectory of another work machine, it will be assumed that claim 8 is directed to drawing a movement trajectory of the work machine and a position of another work machine.
Regarding claim 9, lines 3-4, the limitation “draws … each of the movement trajectories of the plurality of work machines” renders the claim indefinite because a plurality of work machines lacks sufficient antecedent basis in the claim. Although claim 8 recites a work machine and another work machine, it is unclear if the plurality includes these work machines, and/or any additional work machines. For the purposes of examination, it will be assumed that the server of claim 8 manages the operation history of a plurality of work machines, including the work machine and another work machine.
Regarding claim 9, lines 5-6, the limitation “draws … an intersection point of each of the movement trajectories” renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear what intersects each movement trajectory at the intersection point, i.e., it is unclear if the intersection point is the point at which two or more movements trajectories cross. It is further unclear whether all of the movement trajectories must intersect at the intersection point, or only at least two. Figure 5 discloses an intersection point between two of three trajectories, therefore, for the purposes of examination, it will be assumed that the intersection point is the point where at least two movement trajectories cross.
Regarding claim 9, lines 5-7, the limitation “draws … an approach location between the adjacent movement trajectories” renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether all of the movement trajectories must be adjacent, or only at least two. In figure 5, point 40b indicate the approach location between the adjacent movement trajectories, and point 40b is located between two trajectories that are adjacent to each other in the area near where they intersect. It is further unclear how this location is an approach location because it is not located on any trajectory. For the purposes of examination, it will be assumed that the approach location between the adjacent movement trajectories is merely a location that is close to at least two movement trajectories.
Regarding claim 9, lines 5-9, the limitation “draws … an approach location between each of the movement trajectories and the object” renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether all of the movement trajectories must approach the object, or only at least one. Figure 5 discloses drawing a location where a movement trajectory approaches an object, therefore, for the purposes of examination, it will be assumed that the approach location between each of the movement trajectories and object is a location where one movement trajectory approaches an object.
Regarding claim 10, lines 2-3, the limitation “the information device further stores a construction diagram representing a construction position of the work machine in the worksite” renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear how the construction diagram representing a construction position of the work machine is different from the map of claim 8 that has drawn on it the position of the work machine at different times. Figure 5 does not disclose a work machine position in or at work area 64, therefore, for the purposes of examination, it will be assumed that the construction diagram represents predetermined construction positions of the work machine.
Regarding claim 12, lines 2-6, the limitation “the operating information includes … operation information of the work machine” renders the claim indefinite because claim 8 discloses the operating information is of the work machine, therefore, it is unclear how the operation information of the work machine is different from the operation information of the work machine. Paragraph 18 discloses recording operation information of operating levers, therefore, for the purposes of examination, it will be assumed that operating information may include operating lever information.
Regarding claim 12, lines 7-8, in the limitation “draws the … information on the map close to the icon”, the term “close” is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “close” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. Therefore, it is unclear where the operating information is drawn on the map. For the purposes of examination, it will be assumed that the operating information and the icon must merely be drawn on the same map.
Claims 9-14 are rejected as being dependent on a rejected claim and for failing to cure the deficiencies listed above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 8-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fukuo et al. (US 2026/0160043) in view of Branscombe et al. (US 2019/0287407) and Makino et al. (JP 7114248), hereinafter Fukuo, Branscombe and Makino, respectively.
Regarding claim 8, as best understood, Fukuo discloses an operation history management system comprising: a controller (Fukuo; fig. 3: management room side control unit 7) configured to manage operation history of a work machine (Fukuo; para. 52: management room side control unit 7 superimposes, on the map image 70, and displays, on the map display device 5, an icon (image) 73 indicating the work history of the work machine 20 in association with the position of the work machine 20 on the map image 70) operating in a worksite (Fukuo; para. 54: management room side control unit 7 superimposes, on the map image 70, and displays, on the map display device 5, an image indicating a worked region 77 on the map image 70); and a terminal device communicatively connected to the controller (Fukuo; fig. 3: display group 2), wherein the controller receives operating information of the work machine in association with a time of acquisition of the operating information (Fukuo; para. 52: management room side communication device 9 receives information regarding a work history from each of the plurality of work machines 20. The work history is information indicating when, what work, and how many times (how many hours) was performed, and is created by the work machine side control unit 11) and position information of the work machine at the time, and the controller is configured to draw position information of the work machine operating in the worksite for each time after movement and another work machine operating in the worksite with the position information for each time, on a map, on the basis of the operating information and the position information, and cause the terminal device to display (Fukuo; para. 52: management room side control unit 7 superimposes, on the map image 70, and displays, on the map display device 5, an icon (image) 73 indicating the work history of the work machine 20 in association with the position of the work machine 20 on the map image 70).
Fukuo, as modified, does not explicitly disclose the controller is a server.
Branscombe, in the same field of endeavor (construction vehicle collision avoidance systems), discloses a server (Branscombe; para. 58: A controller (e.g., a processor implemented within controller 416…) … in a … remote computer server may generate or calculate a bounding box that may be displayed on a screen in the vehicle.) configured to manage operation history of a work machine operating in a worksite (Branscombe; para. 61: Typically, a controller (e.g., controller 416…) may receive … previous position data that may be stored in a memory accessible to the controller.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, with a reasonable expectation of success, to have implemented the management room side control unit of Fukuo on a server, as disclosed by Branscombe, since it is known in the art that a server is a well-understood, routine, and conventional control unit of centralized management infrastructures.
Although Fukuo’s control unit must inherently store, at least temporarily (e.g., in RAM), the operating information and the map in order to superimpose the work history and position on the map, Fukuo, as modified, does not explicitly disclose the server includes an information storage device configured to store operating information of the work machine in association with a time of acquisition of the operating information and position information of the work machine at the time, and store a map including information of a terrain, and an information processing device configured to draw a movement trajectory of the work machine operating in the worksite obtained by tracing the position information for each time after movement and another work machine operating in the worksite with the position information for each time, on the map having drawn thereon the terrain, on the basis of the operating information and the position information stored in the information storage device, and cause the terminal device to display.
Branscombe further discloses the server includes an information storage device configured to store operating information of a work machine in association with a time of acquisition of the operating information and position information of the work machine at the time (Branscombe; para. 61: Typically, a controller (e.g., controller 416…) may receive a current position of the vehicle (such as GNSS data, as described previously) as well as previous position data that may be stored in a memory accessible to the controller. When the controller accesses previous positional data, each latitude and longitude measurement stored in memory may also include a timestamp indicating when the measurement was recorded. The system controller forms a sequence of positional data points indicating the geolocation (latitude and longitude) of the vehicle over a period of time.), and store a map including information of a terrain (Branscombe; para. 50: system 300 may include a database or other data storage system that stores roadmap data), and an information processing device (Branscombe; para. 58: A controller (e.g., a processor implemented within controller 416…) … in a … remote computer server may generate or calculate a bounding box that may be displayed on a screen in the vehicle.) configured to draw a movement trajectory of the work machine operating in the worksite obtained by tracing the position information for each time after movement (Branscombe; para. 59: FIG. 5 shows an example embodiment of a bounding box 501 representing a mine haul truck that may be depicted on a display device in the vehicle. The bounding box 501 is depicted in an example map 503 of a mining environment, with easting 505 and northing 507 headings provided for orientation. A line 508 on the map depicts previous locations of a center point of the vehicle in the mine.) and another work machine operating in the worksite with the position information for each time, on the map having drawn thereon the terrain, on the basis of the operating information and the position information stored in the information storage device (Branscombe; fig. 7C).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, with a reasonable expectation of success, to have modified the server of Fukuo, as modified, to store in its memory the current and previous vehicle state information, and to display lines on the map depicting the previous locations of the vehicles, and other vehicle state information, as disclosed by Branscombe, to yield the predictable result of allowing the remote manager to quickly determine the travel paths of the vehicles without needing to observing them over a period of time, thereby allowing them to implement a corrective action earlier.
Fukuo discloses determining whether or not there is a possibility of a dump truck or worker interfering with the work machine (Fukuo; para. 80), however, it is unclear if the objects are stored in the map. Branscombe discloses a distributed objects database that stores a listing of vehicle that are present within the mine environment (Branscombe; para. 45), however, the database does not appear to include objects other than vehicles. Therefore, it is unclear if Fukuo, as modified explicitly discloses the map includes an object in the worksite.
Makino, in the same field of endeavor (construction vehicle collision avoidance), discloses a map stored in a server includes an object in a worksite (Makino; para. 33: external server 34 is equipped with a database of the terrain and buildings in the work area of the shovel 100, such as a map database, and outputs information about obstacles).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, with a reasonable expectation of success, to have modified the displayed roadmap data that is stored in the database of Fukuo, as modified, to include terrain and buildings in the work area, as disclosed by Makino, to yield the predictable result of providing the vehicles with information about static obstacles they may collide with.
Regarding claim 9, as best understood, Fukuo, as modified, discloses the information processing device simultaneously draws, on the same map, each of the movement trajectories of the plurality of work machines operating at a same time in the same worksite (Branscombe; fig. 7C) and draws on the map in an emphasized manner at least one of an intersection point of each of the movement trajectories, an approach location between the adjacent movement trajectories, an approach location between each of the movement trajectories and the terrain, and an approach location between each of the movement trajectories and the object (Fukuo; para. 81: the movable range 81 of the work machine 20 displayed at the center runs off to a road, and a dump truck (icon 90) is traveling on the road. Therefore, there is a possibility that the dump truck interferes with this work machine 20. Therefore, the management room side control unit 7 displays a warning image 85 in the vicinity of this work machine 20).
Regarding claim 10, as best understood, Fukuo, as modified, discloses the information storage device further stores a construction diagram representing a construction position of the work machine in the worksite, and the information processing device draws the construction diagram on the map in a superimposed manner (Fukuo; paras. 41-42: As illustrated in FIG. 4, the map display device 5 displays the map image 70. From each of a plurality of work machines 20, the management room side communication device (reception device) 9 receives position information of the work machine 20 and information on whether or not the work machine 20 is being automatically driven. The position information of the work machine 20 is acquired by the GNSS sensor 56. The automatic drive mode is an example of information indicating that the work machine 20 is being automatically driven. The management room side control unit 7 superimposes, on the map image 70, and displays, on the map display device 5, an icon 71 indicating the work machine 20 at the position of the work machine 20 on the map image 70.).
Claim(s) 11-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fukuo in view of Branscombe and Makino as applied to claim 9 above, and further in view of Lewis et al. (US 2022/0382439).
Regarding claim 11, as best understood, Fukuo, as modified, discloses the invention substantially as claimed as described above.
Fukuo, as modified, does not explicitly disclose the terminal device receives a user input operation to the map displayed on the terminal device and transmits it to the server, and the information processing device draws an icon representing the work machine on a position of the work machine on the map at a time specified by the input operation, and moves the icon along the movement trajectory on the map as the time passes.
Lewis, in the same field of endeavor (construction vehicle management systems), discloses a terminal device receives a user input operation to a map displayed on the terminal device (Lewis; para. 26: an operator can select a first machine (e.g., a truck traveling to destination X.) In response to the selection of the first machine, a compressed view (e.g., FIG. 4E) of the first machine can be displayed such that the operator knows the surrounding the first machine (e.g., a structure nearby, an obstacle in a route, etc.) and its status) and transmits it to a server (Lewis; para. 33: the user interface can be generated by a computing device communicably coupled to the server 101. The integrated user interface can display various views of one of more selected machines of the machines 103a-f, such that the operator can manage the selected machines accordingly), and an information processing device draws an icon representing the work machine on a position of the work machine on the map (Lewis; fig. 4E: the machine's position is represented by a circular icon) at a time specified by the input operation, and moves the icon along the movement trajectory on the map as the time passes (Lewis; para. 58: The user interface includes (i) a first section configured to display real-time locations of the multiple machines within the work site and (ii) a second section enabling a selection of one or more of the multiple machines.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, with a reasonable expectation of success, to have modified the map display device of Fukuo, as modified, to send, to the server, the remote user’s selection of which machines to track and display, as disclosed by Lewis, with the motivation of allowing the operator to select which machines they focus on at the same time (para. 21) thereby reducing distractions.
Regarding claim 12, as best understood, Fukuo, as modified, discloses the operating information includes at least one of a vehicle speed of the work machine, an orientation of a machine body of the work machine (Branscombe; para. 57: the controller may store previous vehicle state variables (such as position, speed, bearing, yaw, or others) in memory), an inclination angle of the machine body, an attitude of a work device of the work machine, a rotation speed of a prime mover of the work machine, and operation information of the work machine, and the information processing device draws the at least one of the operating information on the map close to the icon (Branscombe; fig. 7C: the haul truck speeds are drawn near the bounding boxes representing each vehicle).
Claim(s) 13-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fukuo in view of Branscombe, Makino and Lewis as applied to claim 11 above, and further in view of Kuhara (US 2019/0066516).
Regarding claim 13, as best understood, Fukuo, as modified, discloses the operating information includes a video of a camera attached to the work machine (Fukuo; para. 27: work machine 20 includes a camera 55 … the camera 55 is attached to the boom 31), and the information processing device simultaneously reproduces the video in synchronous with an animation in which the icon is moved along the movement trajectory (Fukuo; para. 13: display group 2 includes a plurality of displays, and these displays include … a remote control display device 4, and a map display device 5; paras. 41-42: map display device 5 displays the map image 70 … management room side control unit 7 superimposes, on the map image 70, and displays, on the map display device 5, an icon 71 indicating the work machine 20 at the position of the work machine 20 on the map image 70).
Although Fukuo discloses a remote control display device and a map display device are part of the same display group, Fukuo, as modified, does not explicitly disclose the map, with the real-time vehicle movement trajectory icon, and video are displayed on a same screen of the terminal device.
Kuhara, in the same field of endeavor (fleet management systems), discloses a map, with a real-time vehicle movement trajectory icon, and a video are displayed on a same screen of a terminal device (Kuhara; fig. 40).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, with a reasonable expectation of success, to have modified the contents of the remote control display device and map display device of Fukuo, as modified, to be displayed on the same screen, as disclosed by Kuhara, to yield the predictable result of displaying the information to the user when only one screen is available.
Regarding claim 14, as best understood, Fukuo, as modified, discloses the invention substantially as claimed as described above.
Fukuo, as modified, does not explicitly disclose the information processing device simultaneously reproduces the video of the camera attached to each of the plurality of work machines on the same screen of the terminal device.
Kuhara discloses an information processing device simultaneously reproduces video of a camera attached to each of a plurality of work machines on a same screen of a terminal device (Kuhara; fig. 42).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, with a reasonable expectation of success, to have modified the remote control display device of Fukuo, as modified, to simultaneously display video from multiple vehicles, as disclosed by Kuhara, to yield the predictable result of allowing the remote manager to simultaneously monitor the operation of multiple vehicles.
Supplemental References
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Gebers (US 2018/0268690) discloses displaying the trajectories of a plurality of emergency vehicles and indicating on a map a potential point of collision between an automobile and any of the emergency vehicles.
Zatravkin et al. (RU 2 326 046) disclose a system for monitoring the operation of a plurality of tower cranes at a worksite that displays a point of intersection of the cranes’ trajectories.
Conclusion
/JOSEPH THOMPSON/Examiner, Art Unit 3665
/Erin D Bishop/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3665