This action is in response to the preliminary amendment and documents received on August 20, 2025.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1- are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over RIEDEL et al. (US 2015/0127151) in view of STRAUSS et al. (US 9,492,929).
In reference to claim 1, RIEDEL et al. discloses a robot system comprising: a robot arm 1 having a plurality of links 6-11 connected by a plurality of joints 4 such that the links 6-11 are movable relative to one another (figure 2); controllables drives designed to move respective joints to a desired joint configuration according to a programed movement path (paragraph [0048]); a controller 2 designed follow a stored program (paragraph [0019]) to control the drives (paragraph [0048]); a gripper fastened to a tool flange (paragraph [0012]) of the robot arm 1. RIEDEL et al. does not definitively disclose a second gripping tool secured to the tool flange.
STRAUSS et al. teaches a robot system 100 comprising: a first gripper 324 and a second gripper 336 fastened to a tool flange of a robot arm 108. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing the invention to have modified the robot system of RIEDEL et al. to include a first and second gripping tool as taught by STRAUSS et al. since column 1 lines 25-30 of STRAUSS et al. states such a modification is beneficial for handling various objects.
Regarding claims 2 and 3, paragraphs [0054] RIEDEL et al. disclose the controller 2 designed and configured to detect forces occurring in the joints 4 of the robotic arm during movement (figure 2) of the robot arm. STRAUSS et al. teaches a controller 106 configured to detect 104 forces occurring in the robotic arm 108 and control movement of the gripper from between an open position and a closed position in response to the detected forces (column 6 lines 39-60). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing the invention to have modified the controller of REIDEL et al. to control the first and second grippers per the modification in view of STRAUSS et al. in response to forces detected in the robotic arm since column 6 lines 39-60 of STRAUSS et al. suggests such a modification ensures effective control of the grippers relative to a product and environment.
With respect to claims 4, 5 and 7-9, the first gripping tool of REIDEL et al. in view of STRAUSS et al. is characterized by a first jaw 324 and a second jaw 330 that are movable relative to one another such that a contact surface (figure 3B) of each of the first and second jaws 324, 330 are configured to grip a wall of an article.
In reference to claim 6, figures 2-3 of REIDEL et al. discloses the tool flange configured to execute various pivoting motions (angles) with the gripping tool of STRAUSS et al. secured thereto.
Regarding claim 10 and the functional limitations of the previous claim(s), Examiner would like to note that Applicant’s invention is drawn to an apparatus rather than a process/method. Although neither REIDEL et al. nor STRAUSS et al. specifically disclose using the robot system to grip and close a container upper part and latches as desired by Applicant’s invention, it has been held that recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed product from a prior art product satisfying the claimed structural limitations.1
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Refer to the attached PTO-892 for a notice of references cited and recommended for consideration based on their disclosure of limitations related to the claimed invention. In particular, the references cited are drawn to robotic systems including arms actuated by a controller and/or grippers attachable to a robotic arm. MIYAUCHI (US 2015/0166208) teaches the knowledge in the art to utilize grippers of a robotic arm system to handle the closure of a container.
Other helpful telephone numbers are listed for applicant's benefit:
Allowed Files & Publication (888) 786-0101
Assignment Branch (800) 972-6382
Certificates of Correction (703) 305-8309
Fee Questions (571) 272-6400
Inventor Assistance Center (800) PTO-9199
Petitions/special Programs (571) 272-3282
Information Help line 1-800-786-9199
//GLORIA R WEEKS/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3731
May 30, 2026
1 Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (1987).