DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
the vehicle is configured to be separately sellable in claim 2;
a predetermined member configured to enable a predetermined additional function in claim 6.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2 and 6-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a) (1) and (a) (2) as being anticipated by Chinese Publication 217048423 by Chen (Here forth “Chen”).
Regarding claim 1, Chen discloses a set product, comprising:
a container having a first function of being mountable on or towable by a transportation mobile body and moving together with the transportation mobile body in a state in which a vehicle to be transported is stored (Page 12, Para 2 of Chen; the case it transportable with a vehicle within and it is inferred that a transportation mobile body would be required to enable this movement),
a second function of being able to serve as a display case of the vehicle by being installed at a sales location in a state in which the vehicle to be sold is stored, or by being installed at a viewing location in a state in which the vehicle to be viewed is stored (Page 10 Para 4 of Chen; the panels are transparent to display vehicle within and Page 9 Para 2, it can be installed and displayed at product displaying sites ), and a third function of being installable at a location designated by a user and serving as a garage when the user uses the vehicle (Fig 1-2 of Chen, the case can be a garage as it can fully enclose and protect the vehicle; a garage is a building for storing vehicles which this is);
the container further having a housing including at least a first side surface which functions as an entrance for the vehicle and is openable and closable, and a second side surface which is made of a material that allows the vehicle to be viewed and is in a normally closed state (Fig 1-2 of Chen and Page 10 Para 4 of Chen, there is at least one entrance for vehicle to be loaded and material allows for viewing), and
the vehicle to be stored in the container (Page 12, Para 2 of Chen, vehicle can be stored within container).
Regarding claim 2, Chen further disclose wherein each of the container and the vehicle is configured to be separately sellable (as the container and vehicle are not attached to each other, they are capable of being separably sold).
Regarding claim 6, Chen further disclose wherein the container further includes a predetermined member configured to enable a predetermined additional function (Page 10 Para 4 of Chen, there are light and audio emitting devices attached).
Regarding claim 7, Chen further discloses wherein a plurality of the set products configure a unit, and the containers included in the plurality of set products are combined to enable a predetermined additional function (Page 10 Para 4 of Chen, there are light and audio emitting devices attached).
Regarding claim 8, Chen discloses a method of using a set product including a vehicle and a container capable of storing the vehicle, the method comprising: a first step of causing the container to be mounted on or towed by a transportation mobile body and move together with the transportation mobile body in a state in which the vehicle to be transported is stored (Page 12, Para 2 of Chen; the case it transportable with a vehicle within and it is inferred that a transportation mobile body would be required to enable this movement) ;a second step of causing the container having a housing including at least a first side surface which functions as an entrance for the vehicle and is openable and closable, and a second side surface which is made of a material that allows the vehicle to be viewed and is in a normally closed state to serve as a display case of the vehicle by installing the container at a sales location in a state in which the vehicle to be sold is stored (Fig 1-2 of Chen and Page 10 Para 4 of Chen, there is at least one entrance for vehicle to be loaded and material allows for viewing;(Page 10 Para 4 of Chen; the panels are transparent to display vehicle within and Page 9 Para 2, it can be installed and displayed at product displaying sites), or by installing the container at a viewing location in a state in which the vehicle to be viewed is stored; and a third step of installing the container at a location designated by a user and causing the container to serve as a garage when the user uses the vehicle (Fig 1-2 of Chen, the case can be a garage as it can fully enclose and protect the vehicle; a garage is a building for storing vehicles which this is).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen in view of US Publication 2012/0296567 by Breed (Here forth Breed).
Regarding claim 3, Chen does not expressly disclose the vehicle sold with a monitoring service.
Breed disclose a similar product that teaches wherein at least one of the container or the vehicle is sold with at least one service, the service being provided after sale and selected from among monitoring service, management service, or maintenance service for the container or the vehicle (Para 487 of Breed, monitoring services can be sold to dealers that provide the service to the vehicle owners after they purchase the vehicle).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art having the teachings of Chen and Breed before them, when the application was filed, to have modified the vehicle shipping container of Chen to include a monitoring serves for the vehicle after it is sold, as taught by Breed, to advantageously provide useful diagnostic information to the vehicle owner to help them with maintenance.
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen in view of Foreign Publication CN108885731 by Natarajan (Here forth “Natarajan”) .
Regarding claim 4, Chen does not expressly disclose medium affixed to container including website containing information.
Natarajan disclose a similar set product wherein a medium affixed to the container includes a URL of a website containing information regarding the vehicle to be sold and information regarding sale (Page 26 Para 3 of Natarajan, display 112 attach can draw sales information from a website).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art having the teachings of Chen and Natarajan before them, when the application was filed, to have modified the vehicle shipping container of Chen to include medium affixed to container including website containing information, as taught by Breed, to advantageously provide useful sales information to a customer.
Claim 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen in view of Foreign Publication WO2018/009152 by Shyshov (Here forth “Shyshov”) .
Regarding claim 5, Chen does not expressly disclose a power generation unit.
Sheyshov disclose a similar vehicle shipping container that teaches wherein the container includes a power generation unit and a power storage unit for storing electric power generated by the power generation unit (Page 44 Para 5 of Chen, solar battery attached to electrically drive the movable doors).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art having the teachings of Chen and Sheyshov before them, when the application was filed, to have modified the vehicle shipping container of Chen to include a power generation unit, as taught by Sheyshoy, to advantageously aid the user in opening the doors/panels.
Conclusion
/JESSICA KAVINI TAMIL/Examiner, Art Unit 3733
/ANDREW T KIRSCH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3733