Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: extraction unit, segmentation unit, recognition unit, arrangement control unit and synthesis unit in claims 1-18.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter.
Regarding claim 20, the claim does not fall within at least one of the four categories of patent eligible subject matter because what is being claimed reads on reads on software per se. Software by itself is not statutory. A claim to a data structure, per se, or other functional descriptive material, including computer programs, per se, is not patent eligible subject matter. This is exemplified In re Warmerdam 31 USPQ2d 1754 where the rejection of a claim to a disembodied data structure was affirmed. Functional descriptive material claimed in combination with an appropriate, i.e. “non-transitory”, computer readable medium to enable the functionality to be realized is patent eligible subject matter if it is capable of producing a useful, concrete and tangible result when used in the computer system. Compare Warmerdam to In re Lowry 32 USPQ2d 1031 where a memory with a data structure that increased computing efficiency was patentable.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5, 7-10, 12 and 17-20 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 20180150433 A1 to Sowden et al. (hereinafter “Sowden”).
Consider claim 1, Sowden discloses a video processing device comprising:
an extraction unit that extracts, from a camera video obtained by photographing at least one of a plurality of persons, feature information indicating features of the person (Par. [0085]: “facial recognition techniques”; Par. [0092]-[0093]: “Such types of image features can be detected in a variety of ways, e.g., … by obtaining or generating labels or other data describing image features which have been generated by a system using image recognition and detection techniques”);
a segmentation unit that segments a cropped video for each person from the camera video on a basis of the feature information (Par. [0063]: “if the user has permitted analysis of image content, the identified images may be analyzed to determine content, e.g., recognize human faces in the image, recognize landmarks, etc. Images may then be sorted based on image content, e.g., images that have recognized faces (e.g., of people within a user's social network, contact list, etc.) may appear earlier in the sort order than those with unrecognized faces or no faces”; Par. [0067] and 324 of Fig. 3: “a smart crop may be performed. For example, to perform the smart crop, a salient region of the image may be identified prior to cropping (e.g., a region centered on a detected face, object, etc. in the image), such that the cropping retains image content in the salient region”);
a recognition unit that recognizes the person appearing in the camera video (Par. [0063]: “the identified images may be analyzed to determine content, e.g., recognize human faces in the image); and
an arrangement control unit that arranges a plurality of the cropped videos on a basis of a recognition result of the person (Par. [0063]-[0065]: “Images may then be sorted based on image content, e.g., images that have recognized faces (e.g., of people within a user's social network, contact list, etc.) may appear earlier in the sort order than those with unrecognized faces or no faces … An image from the identified images in the sort order may be selected in block 318 for determination of placement of the image in the grid. For example, at a first execution of block 318, a first image in the sort order (or highest ranked image) may be selected. At subsequent executions of block 318, a next image in the sort order (or next highest rank) may be selected … In block 320, one or more cells in the grid are determined for placement of the selected image”).
Consider claim 2, Sowden discloses the video processing device according to claim 1, wherein the segmentation unit adjusts, on the basis of the feature information, a range of a segmented region in the camera video from which the cropped video is segmented (Par. [0067]: “a smart crop may be performed. For example, to perform the smart crop, a salient region of the image may be identified prior to cropping (e.g., a region centered on a detected face, object, etc. in the image), such that the cropping retains image content in the salient region. For example, the cropping may be performed centered on the salient region”).
Consider claim 3, Sowden discloses the video processing device according to claim 2, wherein the segmentation unit adjusts the range of the segmented region on a basis of at least any one of a size, aspect ratio, and resolution of a display unit on which the cropped video is displayed (Par. [0056]-[0061]: “In block 316, a number of grid columns in the display layout is determined. For example, to determine the number of grid columns, one or more parameters may be evaluated. The one or parameters may include, for example, a size of a display of a device … A larger number of columns may be determined when the display resolution is higher; Par. [0064]: “An image from the identified images in the sort order may be selected in block 318 for determination of placement of the image in the grid”).
Consider claim 4, Sowden discloses the video processing device according to claim 2, wherein the range of the segmented region is adjusted on a basis of the number of cropped videos displayed on a display unit (Par. [0041]: “In the examples of FIGS. 2B-2E, the highlighted image is highlighted by displaying the image across two or more cells of the grid, e.g., displayed at a size to cover two or more cells so that the image is a larger size than other, non-highlighted images in the grid that, e.g., are each displayed in one cell of the grid”; Par. [0068]: “if an image of the plurality of images is to be placed across two or more cells (e.g., as determined in block 320), the image may be cropped to a particular aspect ratio allowing the image to fit across the two or more cells”).
Consider claim 5, Sowden discloses the video processing device according to claim 1, wherein the segmentation unit adjusts a size of the cropped video on the basis of the feature information (Par. [0041]: “In each of FIGS. 2B-2E, a particular image is highlighted, e.g., is considered a highlighted image that can be displayed in a distinctive manner to indicate that it has been determined to have greater importance than other images not so highlighted. In the examples of FIGS. 2B-2E, the highlighted image is highlighted by displaying the image across two or more cells of the grid, e.g., displayed at a size to cover two or more cells so that the image is a larger size than other, non-highlighted images in the grid that, e.g., are each displayed in one cell of the grid”; Par. [0085]: “If a large face is present (e.g., indicating a portrait photograph) or a recognized face is present (e.g., the user's friend, the user's spouse, a user's favorite contact, etc.), a relatively higher importance score may be assigned to the image”).
Consider claim 7, Sowden discloses the video processing device according to claim 1, wherein the arrangement control unit arranges the cropped video at a position assigned to the person (Par. [0063]: “Images may then be sorted based on image content, e.g., images that have recognized faces (e.g., of people within a user's social network, contact list, etc.) may appear earlier in the sort order than those with unrecognized faces or no faces”; Par. [0047]: “images, such as images 204a-204c, 206a-206c, and 208a-208c, may be arranged in a display layout in a sort order”; Par. [0085]: “If a face is recognized as that of a particular individual, consent is obtained from that individual to perform such recognition and assign importance scores based on the recognition”. Note, therefore a particular individual may be given a particular importance in the sort order and thereby assigned to a particular position in the layout).
Consider claim 8, Sowden discloses the video processing device according to claim 1, wherein the arrangement control unit arranges a plurality of the cropped videos on a basis of an arrangement order of the persons on the camera video obtained by photographing a plurality of the persons (Par. [0063]: “Images may then be sorted based on image content, e.g., images that have recognized faces (e.g., of people within a user's social network, contact list, etc.) may appear earlier in the sort order than those with unrecognized faces or no faces”; Par. [0047]: “images, such as images 204a-204c, 206a-206c, and 208a-208c, may be arranged in a display layout in a sort order”).
Consider claim 9, Sowden discloses the video processing device according to claim 1, wherein the arrangement control unit selects the cropped video to be arranged on a basis of at least any one of a resolution of a region in the cropped video in which the person appears and an orientation of the person on the cropped video (Par. [0098]: “In some implementations, the importance score may be normalized. For example, in different implementations, the techniques used to determine the importance score may vary over time, e.g., due to changes in the user's preferences or activity, due to changes in weights assigned to different parameters, due to variance in image quality (e.g., a user may take some images using a camera that produces low quality images, and other images using a camera that produces high quality images”).
Consider claim 10, Sowden discloses the video processing device according to claim 1, wherein the arrangement control unit adds an effect associated with the person recognized by the recognition unit to the cropped video in which the person appears (Par. [0041]: “In each of FIGS. 2B-2E, a particular image is highlighted, e.g., is considered a highlighted image that can be displayed in a distinctive manner to indicate that it has been determined to have greater importance than other images not so highlighted. In the examples of FIGS. 2B-2E, the highlighted image is highlighted by displaying the image across two or more cells of the grid; Par. [0073]: “one or more highlighted images can be displayed with one or more other modifications to the image or grid to further emphasize the highlighted images. For example, one or more highlighted images can be displayed with a border or frame, can be displayed in a higher brightness or greater contrast than non-highlighted images”).
Consider claim 12, Sowden discloses the video processing device according to claim 1, wherein the recognition unit recognizes a face of the person (Par. [0085]: “facial recognition techniques … If a face is recognized as that of a particular individual”).
Consider claim 17, Sowden discloses the video processing device according to claim 1, further comprising: a synthesis unit that synthesizes a plurality of the cropped videos so as to be arranged side by side on a two-dimensional plane (Par. [0003]: “Implementations of the present application relate to an image grid with selectively prominent images … causing the plurality of images to be displayed in a user interface on a display screen based on the grid”).
Consider claim 18, Sowden discloses the video processing device according to claim 1, wherein the recognition unit recognizes the person appearing in the camera video by using a recognizer that has learned in advance the feature information of the person who possibly appears in the camera video (Par. [0085]: “the faces may be analyzed to determine if … a recognized face (e.g., of a person in the user's social network, in the user's contact list, etc.) is present in the image; Par. [0092]: “if user consent has been obtained, particular types of image features visually depicted in the identified images may be determined to have importance to the user … Labels can be determined by a system, in some cases, by accessing knowledge bases (e.g., knowledge graphs) and/or database data indicating descriptors related to the descriptors of determined image features”).
Consider claim 19, the video processing method is rejected along the same rationale as the video processing device of claim 1.
Consider claim 20, the program is rejected along the same rationale as the video processing device of claim 1, and because Sowden discloses the device implemented as a computer with software (Par. [0155]: “image management software”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 6 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sowden in view of US 20220237735 A1 to Zingade et al. (“Zingade”).
Consider claim 6, Sowden discloses the video processing device according to claim 1, and further teaches data describing image features which have been generated by a system using image recognition and detection techniques (Par. [0092]-[0093]) and detecting facial expressions (Par. [0085]), but fails to explicitly disclose wherein the feature information includes at least any one of feature points of a face of the person, a bounding box surrounding the face of the person, and position information of joints of the person.
In analogous art, Zingade discloses wherein the feature information includes at least any one of feature points of a face of the person, a bounding box surrounding the face of the person, and position information of joints of the person (Par. [0066]-[0067]: “detecting image regions that depict faces … The image regions 212A-214B may each be defined by a bounding box 224 … After detecting the image regions 212A-214B, the client application 134 detects facial landmarks 302”).
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill, in the art before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the teachings of Sowden in view of the above teachings of Zingade because Sowden teaches feature information generated from image recognition and detection techniques, and Zingade more specifically teaches techniques such as a bounding box and facial landmarks useful for matching image regions in different frames that depict the same face (Zingade: Par. [0066]).
Claim 11 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sowden in view of US 20230367539 A1 to Khatri et al. (“Khatri”).
Consider claim 11, Sowden discloses the video processing device according to claim 10, and further teaches highlighting an important image in a distinctive manner (Par. [0041]), wherein a recognized person may be considered important (Par. [0085]), and wherein the highlighted images can be displayed with a border or frame, or be displayed in a higher brightness or greater contrast (Par. [0073]), but fails to explicitly disclose wherein a color of the effect indicates the person recognized by the recognition unit.
In analogous art, Khatri discloses a highlight element to indicate a currently active speaker, such as by changing a color of the active speaker's name (Par. [0073]).
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill, in the art before the effective filing date of the invention, to recognize that the highlighting of an important image in a distinctive manner, as taught by Sowden, could be implemented using color, as taught by Khatri, to intuitively indicate an importance measure, such as of a recognized person.
Claim 13 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sowden in view of US 11622083 B1 to Creto et al. (“Creto”).
Consider claim 13, Sowden discloses the video processing device according to claim 12, but fails to explicitly disclose wherein, in a case where the recognition unit has failed to recognize the face, the arrangement control unit arranges the cropped video segmented from the camera video obtained by photographing the person previously.
In analogous art, Creto discloses wherein, in a case where the recognition unit has failed to recognize the face, the arrangement control unit arranges the cropped video segmented from the camera video obtained by photographing the person previously (Col. 11 Ln. 60 - Col. 12 Ln. 46 and Fig. 5: “At step 503, the one or more processors of either the conferencing system terminal device or the conferencing system server complex identify from the one or more video feeds that one or more portions of a subject are obscured … he intelligent imager can be used as a facial recognition device to detect the presence of a face of a subject, as well as whether that face is clearly depicted in the images captured by the intelligent imager or whether the face is at least partially obscured … apply obscured subject compensation content to images at locations where the one or more portions of the subject are obscured”; Col. 9 Ln. 12-29: “conferencing system terminal device 101 then apply obscured subject compensation content, optionally as overlay indicia that is computer-generated or previously captured to at least one videoconference feed during the videoconference”).
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill, in the art before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the teachings of Sowden in view of the above teachings of Creto to create less obscured images of the subject (Creto: Col. 2 Ln. 59-63).
Claims 14-16 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sowden in view of US 20180039745 A1 to Chevalier et al. (“Chevalier”).
Consider claim 14, Sowden discloses the video processing device according to claim 12, but fails to explicitly disclose wherein, in a case where the recognition unit has failed to recognize the face, the recognition unit recognizes the person on a basis of position information of joints of the person.
In analogous art, Chevalier discloses wherein, in a case where the recognition unit has failed to recognize the face, the recognition unit recognizes the person on a basis of position information of joints of the person (Par. [0260]-[0261]: “FIG. 3C shows a frame of so-called skeleton data, in which the joints of a person's skeleton are estimated … As shown in FIGS. 3J through 3M, the system, in some embodiments, correctly identifies “Tim” at different orientations relative the sensor (e.g., when he is turned to the side or facing entirely away from the sensor; Par. [0275]: “an important task of step 120 is to decide which features can and should be calculated for each person in a frame. For example, if a person is facing away from the sensor(s) at all times in the data-collection period, then the person's facial topography (e.g., nose morphology) will be unavailable and person identification must rely on different feature(s) altogether”; Par. [0281]: “the prioritization (in step 120) of which features to use for subsequent person identification (in step 125) depends on the availability of portions of a person … For example, if a head is present and oriented toward a sensor, then the ear-to-eye distance and the eye-to-eye distance may be used for subsequent person identification”).
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill, in the art before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the teachings of Sowden in view of the above teachings of Chevalier because facial recognition typically fails when the subject is not facing the camera (Chevalier: Par. [0018]-[0019]).
Consider claim 15, Sowden discloses the video processing device according to claim 1, wherein the segmentation unit segments the cropped video from the camera video obtained by a visible light camera (Par. [0067] and 324 of Fig. 3: “a smart crop may be performed. For example, to perform the smart crop, a salient region of the image may be identified prior to cropping (e.g., a region centered on a detected face, object, etc. in the image), such that the cropping retains image content in the salient region”), but fails to explicitly disclose, that the recognition unit recognizes the person appearing in the camera video obtained by a non-visible light camera.
In analogous art, Chevalier discloses wherein the recognition unit recognizes the person appearing in the camera video obtained by a non-visible light camera. (Par. [0261]: “In certain embodiments, person identification is performed using depth data only, for example, using an infrared time-of-flight sensor”).
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill, in the art before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the teachings of Sowden in view of the above teachings of Chevalier because facial recognition typically fails when the subject is not facing the camera (Chevalier: Par. [0018]-[0019]).
Consider claim 16, Sowden discloses the video processing device according to claim 1, wherein the segmentation unit segments the cropped video from the camera video obtained by a visible light camera (Par. [0067] and 324 of Fig. 3: “a smart crop may be performed. For example, to perform the smart crop, a salient region of the image may be identified prior to cropping (e.g., a region centered on a detected face, object, etc. in the image), such that the cropping retains image content in the salient region”), but fails to disclose wherein the extraction unit extracts the feature information of the person appearing in the camera video obtained by a non-visible light camera.
In analogous art, Chevalier discloses wherein the extraction unit extracts the feature information of the person appearing in the camera video obtained by a non-visible light camera (Par. [0260]-[0261]: “FIG. 3C shows a frame of so-called skeleton data, in which the joints of a person's skeleton are estimated … As shown in FIGS. 3J through 3M, the system, in some embodiments, correctly identifies “Tim” at different orientations relative the sensor; Par. [0275]: “For example, if a person is facing away from the sensor(s) at all times in the data-collection period, then the person's facial topography (e.g., nose morphology) will be unavailable and person identification must rely on different feature(s) altogether”; Par. [0138]: “the system further comprises an infrared time-of-flight sensor for acquiring the sensor data”; Par. [0140]: “the method comprising: quantifying, by a processor of a computing device, each of a plurality of features characteristic of a human detected within the sensor field (e.g., wherein the plurality of features comprises at least one static feature (e.g., height, leg length, shoulder-to-shoulder width”).
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill, in the art before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the teachings of Sowden in view of the above teachings of Chevalier because facial recognition typically fails when the subject is not facing the camera (Chevalier: Par. [0018]-[0019]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 20190279010 A1 to Xie et al. and US 20210209877 A1 to Neill et al. disclose features relating to identifying persons based on joint measurements.
US 20240430547 A1 to Usami et al., US 20210342648 A1 to Richards et al., and US 20220180132 A1 to Huang et al. disclose features relating to person identification based on nonvisible light
STEPHEN R. SMITH
Examiner
Art Unit 2484
/THAI Q TRAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2484