DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) was filed 8/22/2025. The submission is in
compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claims 1,5,7,9,13 and 16 are objected to because of the following informalities. Appropriate correction is required.
Claims 1 and 9 recite “a mnemonic seed 130.” Reference characters in a claim should be enclosed within parentheses (MPEP 608.01(m)). Suggest deleting “130” or reciting “(130)”.
Claim 1 recites “Apparatus for managing.” Suggest “An apparatus for managing.”
Claim 13 recites “Endpoint storing.” Suggest “An endpoint storing.”
Claim 5 recites “in-formation.” Suggest “information.”
Claim 7 recites “block-chain.” Suggest “blockchain.”
Claim 16 recites “per-sonal.” Suggest “personal.”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Claim 1 is directed to an apparatus comprising circuitry, which is a machine, one of the four statutory categories.
Claim 1 recites “generate an asymmetric key pair based on a mnemonic seed” and “generate a DID based on the asymmetric key pair.” As claimed, these limitations generically recite deriving a key pair from a seed and an identifier from that key pair. The claim does not recite any particular derivation function, key length or algorithm. But for the “circuitry configured to” language, at this level of generality, both steps can practically be performed in the human mind or with pen and paper, by deriving values from a remembered passphrase and writing down an identifier based on the key pair. If a claim limitation, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind but for the recitation of generic computer components, then it falls within the “Mental Processes” grouping of abstract ideas. Claim 1 therefore recites a mental process. See MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(III).
The additional elements are “an apparatus … comprising circuitry configured to “and “in a first mode of operation.” The circuitry is recited at a high level of generality. The specification describes circuitry 110 as including ‘general purpose processors” among other generic analog or digital elements (spec. p. 3, 1.30 – p. 4, 1. 5). It amounts to mere instructions to apply the abstract idea using a generic computer (MPEP 2106.05(f)). “In a first mode of operation” only labels when the steps occur and does not limit how they are performed (MPEP 2106.05(h)). Claim 1 does not recite encrypting, storing, backing up or otherwise using the generated key pair of DID. The technical benefit the specification describes, backing up encrypted personal information associated with the DID so that is not lost if the apparatus is lost (spec. p. 2, 11. 9-14), is therefore not reflected in claim 1 (MPEP 2106.05(a)). The abstract idea is not integrated into a practical application.
The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional element of using a processor to perform both the ranking and determining steps amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a
generic computer component. Mere instructions to apply an exception using a generic computer
component cannot provide an inventive concept. The claim is not patent eligible.
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter.
Claim 16 is directed to “A decentralized identifier, DID, document comprising: information on trustable interactions with an associated subject; and information on an endpoint having stored personal associated to a subject of the DID.” The claim recites only information. It does not recite any physical medium, machine, or hardware on which the DID document is stored. A data structure or compilation of information per se does not fall within any of the four statutory categories of invention. See MPEP 2106.03.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 6-7, 9-12 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 6 is dependent on claim 2 and recites “submit the DID and the DID document to a public ledger.” There is insufficient antecedent basis for “the DID document” in the claim, since a DID document is first introduced in claim 4. For purposes of examination, the limitation is interpreted as “a DID document.” Claim 7 depends on claim 6 and inherits the defect of claim 6.
Claim 9 depends on claim 1 and recites “generate an asymmetric key pair based on a mnemonic seed 130; generate a decentralized identifier based on the asymmetric key pair.” Claim 1 already recites an asymmetric key pair, a mnemonic seed and a DID. It is unclear whether the elements of the second mode of operation are the same as, or different from, those of the first mode. For purposes of examination, the limitations are interpreted as the same key pair, mnemonic seed and DID regenerate in the second mode of operation. Claims 10-12 depend on claim 9 and inherit the defect of claim 9.
Claims 10 and 11 recite “the asymmetric key pair” and “the private key of the asymmetric key pair.” Since claims 1 and 9 each introduce an asymmetric key pair, it is unclear which key pair is referenced. For purposes of examination, the limitation is interpreted as the key pair generated in the second mode of operation.
Claim 12 recites “solve the challenge and submit the result to the endpoint.” There is insufficient antecedent basis for “the result” in the claim. For purposes of examination, the limitation is interpreted as “a result of solving the challenge.”
Claim 16 recites “an associated subject” and “a subject of the DID.” It is unclear whether these are the same subject or different subjects. For purposes of examination, both are interpreted as the subject of the DID.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over Patel et al. (US 20190229909), in view of Yang et al. (US 20200145209).
As per claim 1
Patel discloses an apparatus for managing decentralized identifiers, DID, the apparatus comprising circuitry [Patel, 0018, “a computing system 100 typically includes at least one hardware processing unit 102 and memory 104. The processing unit 102 may include a general purpose processor and may also include a field programmable gate array (FPGA), an application specific integrated circuit (ASIC), or any other specialized circuit.”], [Patel, 0057, “the DID lifecycle management module 320 may reside on and be executed by one or more of user device 301, web browser 302, and the operating system 303”] configured to, in a first mode of operation [Patel, 0069, “the recovery module 360 allows the DID owner 201 to select one or more recovery mechanisms 365 at the time the DID 205 is created”]: generate an asymmetric key pair based on a mnemonic seed 130 [Patel, par 0077, “the random words 421-424 are able to represent the random sequence of bits 425”], [Patel, par 0078, “. The first private key recovery mechanism 435A may be a key stretching function or some other like function that is able to generate the private key recovery seed 441 based on the random sequence of bits 425 that is represented by the random words 421-424.”], [Patel, par 0078, “The second private key recovery mechanism 435B may be a function such as the HMAC-SHA512 algorithm or like algorithm that is able to regenerate the private key 206 based on the private key recovery seed 441 as an input”], [Patel, par 0083, “the public key 207 (and any number of additional public keys) may be recovered based on the recovered private key 206”];
Patel does not disclose but Yang discloses and generate a DID based on the asymmetric key pair [Yang, par 0083, “The user-side system 310 may also generate or retrieve a cryptographic key pair including a public key and a private key for use to create the DID.”], [Yang, par 0091, “the identity management application 533 may generate a cryptographic key pair for the user. The cryptographic key pair may comprise a public key and a private key to be used to create the DID associated with the user”].
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Patel so that the DID is created from the public key of the key pair, as taught by Yang. One would have been motivated to do so in order to ensure each DID is unique before its DID document is created and uploaded, avoiding failed uploads and saving processing effort [Yang, par 0086, “This may effectively prevent potential failed attempts to upload the DID document due to duplication of the DID, and thus save processing and computation efforts in creating and uploading the DID document.”].
Claims 2-7, 9, 12, 13 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over Patel, in view of Yang, further in view of Murdoch.
As per claim 2, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated herein.
Patel discloses wherein the circuitry is configured to store personal information associated with the DID [Patel, par 0049,” The credential information 215 may be any information that is associated with the DID owner 201's background. For instance, the credential information 215 may be (but not limited to) a qualification, an achievement, a government ID”], [Patel, par 0022, “The computer-executable instructions (and the manipulated data) may be stored in the memory 104 of the computing system 100”].
Patel does not disclose but Murdoch discloses encrypt the personal information [Murdoch, par 0160, “the data object 506 is encrypted by the encryption/decryption key 509 to generate an encrypted data object 510”]; and cause an endpoint to store the encrypted personal information together with an identifier associated to the DID [Murdoch, par 0025, “The encrypted data object is then stored in the personal storage”], [Murdoch, par 0108, “the personal storage identifier 502 may be a combination of an identifier of the identity hub and the associated DID”].
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Patel so that the DID owner’s data is encrypted and stored in a personal storage identified using the DID, as taught by Murdoch. One would have been motivated to do so in order to keep the DID owner’s data available if the device is lost while protecting it from the storage provider.
As per claim 3, the rejection of claim 2 is incorporated herein.
Patel does not disclose but Murdoch discloses wherein the identifier associated to the DID is the DID or information depending on the key pair associated with the DID [Murdoch, par 0108, “the personal storage identifier 502 may be a combination of an identifier of the identity hub and the associated DID”].
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Patel so that the identifier associated to the DID is the DID or information depending on the key pair associated with the DID, as taught by Murdoch. One would have been motivated to do so in order to keep the DID owner’s data available if the device is lost while protecting it from the storage provider.
As per claim 4, the rejection of claim 2 is incorporated herein.
Patel discloses wherein the circuitry is further configured to: generate a DID document having information on the endpoint [Patel, par 0060, “The DID creation module 330 may then use the DID 205 and the private and public key pair to generate the DID document 210.”], [Patel, par 0047, “The DID document 210 may also include one or more service endpoints 213. A service endpoint may include a network address at which a service operates on behalf of the DID owner 201. Examples of specific services include discovery services, social networks, file storage services such as identity servers or hubs”].
As per claim 5, the rejection of claim 4 is incorporated herein.
Patel discloses wherein the circuitry is further configured to include in- formation on an authorization mechanism for the endpoint [Patel, par 0044, “The authentication information 211 may specify one or more mechanisms by which the DID owner 201 is able to prove that the DID owner 201 owns the DID 205”], [Patel, par 0043, “The public key 207 may be used by third party entities that are given permission by the DID owner 201 to access information and data owned by the DID owner 201”].
As per claim 6, the rejection of claim 2 is incorporated herein.
Patel discloses wherein the circuitry is further configured to submit the DID and the DID document to a public ledger [Patel, par 0061, “. The DID creation module 330 uses the registrar 310 to record the DID hash 231, DID hash 241, and DID hash 251 in the distributed ledger in the manner previously described and to store the DID document 210”], [Patel, par 0052, “the DID document 210 may be stored on the actual distributed ledger”], [Patel, par 0051, “distributed ledger or blockchain 220 include, but are not limited to, Bitcoin [BTC”].
As per claim 7, the rejection of claim 6 is incorporated herein.
Patel does not disclose but Yang discloses wherein the circuitry is configured to cause a public block- chain to store the DID and the DID document in a smart contract [Yang, par 0092, “The one or more transactions may invoke a blockchain contract 331 for managing DIDs and DID documents on the blockchain 330”], [Yang, par 0077, “executed by one or more virtual machines associated with the blockchain 330 to perform operations such as creating DIDs, storing DID documents”].
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Patel so that the DID and DID document are stored on the public ledger through a smart contract, as taught by Yang. One would have been motivated to do so in order to manage the relationship between DIDs and DID documents with code executed by the ledger itself.
As per claim 9, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated herein.
Patel discloses wherein the circuitry is further configured to, in a second mode of operation: generate an asymmetric key pair based on a mnemonic seed 130 [Patel, par 0069, “The recovery module may then be run on any device associated with the DID 205”], [Patel, par 0082, “The key generation module 440 may use the first private key recovery mechanism 435A and the extracted random words 421-424 to generate the private key recovery seed”], [Patel, par 0083, “The second private key recovery mechanism 435B may then perform its specified operation on the private key recovery seed 441 to recover the private key 206. Once the private key 206 is recovered, the public key 207 (and any number of additional public keys) may be recovered”]; communicate with a public ledger to receive a DID document associated to the DID [Patel, par 0052, “the DID document 210 may be stored on the actual distributed ledger”], [Patel, par 0070, “the DID owner 201 may use the recovery module to access the recovery mechanism 365 from the DID document 210”]; extract information on an endpoint from the DID document [Patel, par 0047, “Accordingly, the service endpoints 213 operate as pointers for the services that operate on behalf of the DID owner 201. These pointers may be used by the DID owner 201 or by third party entities to access the services that operate on behalf of the DID owner 201.”].
Patel does not disclose but Yang discloses generate a decentralized identifier based on the asymmetric key pair [Yang, par 0083, “The user-side system 310 may also generate or retrieve a cryptographic key pair including a public key and a private key for use to create the DID.”], [Yang, par 0091, “the identity management application 533 may generate a cryptographic key pair for the user. The cryptographic key pair may comprise a public key and a private key to be used to create the DID associated with the user”].
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Patel so that the DID is created from the public key of the key pair, as taught by Yang. One would have been motivated to do so in order to ensure each DID is unique before its DID document is created and uploaded, avoiding failed uploads and saving processing effort [Yang, par 0086, “This may effectively prevent potential failed attempts to upload the DID document due to duplication of the DID, and thus save processing and computation efforts in creating and uploading the DID document.”].
Patel in view of Yang does not disclose but Murdoch discloses communicate with the endpoint to receive encrypted personal information [Murdoch, par 0123, “The DID management module 720 may request for the data object 713 stored at the identity hub 711 on behalf of the DID 721”], [Murdoch, par 0123, “The identity hub 711 may send the encrypted data object 713 to the DID management module 720”].
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Patel in view of Yang so that, after the keys and DID are regenerated on a new device, the device uses the service endpoint in the DID document to retrieve the DID owner’s encrypted data, as taught by Murdoch. One would have been motivated to do so in order to restore the DID owner’s data as well as the keys after loss of a device.
As per claim 12, the rejection of claim 9 is incorporated herein.
Patel does not disclose but Yang discloses wherein the circuitry is further configured to: receive a challenge defined within the DID document from the endpoint [Yang, par 0094, “the DID authentication challenge may comprise a ciphertext created by encrypting original text using a public key associated with the DID that is recorded in the DID document”]; and solve the challenge and submit the result to the endpoint to authenticate with the endpoint [Yang, par 0095, “the response to the DID authentication challenge may comprise plaintext that is the result of decrypting the ciphertext in the challenge using the private key associated with the DID”].
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Patel so that the device proves ownership of the DID by answering a challenge derived from the DID document, as taught by Yang. One would have been motivated to do so in order to ensure the endpoint releases the encrypted data only to the owner of the DID.
As per claim 13
Patel does not disclose but Yang discloses receive a DID document associated with the identifier from a public ledger [Yang, par 0094, “a blockchain transaction invoking a blockchain contract 331 for managing DIDs”], [Yang, par 0094, “obtain the DID document corresponding to the DID”]; submit a challenge to the originator of the query based on authentication information defined in the DID document [Yang, par 0094, “the DID authentication challenge may comprise a ciphertext created by encrypting original text using a public key associated with the DID that is recorded in the DID document”]; receive a response to the challenge; determine whether the response is correct [Yang, par 0095, “check the response by comparing decrypted text in the response with the original text that was used to create the DID authentication challenge”]; and submit the encrypted personal information if the response is correct [Yang, par 0095, “If the response is determined to be correct, the SDK 312 may return a message to the verifier 532 indicating the DID is a valid proof of identity of the user”], [Yang, par 0098, “The verifier 532 may process the service request and provide appropriate services to the user”].
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Patel so that an entity receiving a request associated with a DID retrieves the DID document from the public ledger, submits a challenge to the requester based on the authentication information defined in the DID document, and acts on the request only if the response is correct, as taught by Yang. One would have been motivated to do so in order to verify that the requester controls the private key of the DID before acting on the request, without relying on a centralized account system, since Patel already stores the DID document on a distributed ledger with authentication information specifying how the DID owner proves ownership of the DID.
Patel in view of Yang does not disclose but Murdoch discloses the endpoint storing encrypted personal information, the endpoint comprising circuitry configured to [Murdoch, par 0117, “The identity hub 711 may correspond to the identity hub 411 of FIG. 4, and stores one or more encrypted data objects 712, 713 of the DID owner”]: receive a query to download encrypted personal information and an identifier [Murdoch, par 0162, “receiving a request for the encrypted data object from the DID management module”].
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Patel in view of Yang so that the endpoint performing the challenge is a personal storage that stores the DID owner’s encrypted personal information, receives a request for that information, and submits the encrypted personal information when the response to the challenge is correct, as taught by Murdoch. One would have been motivated to do so in order to keep the DID owner’s personal data available off the device while protecting it from the storage provider and releasing it only to the owner of the DID.
As per claim 15, the rejection of claim 14 is incorporated herein.
Patel discloses further comprising: storing the DID and an associated DID document on a public ledger [Patel, par 0061, “record the DID hash 231, DID hash 241, and DID hash 251 in the distributed ledger”], [Patel, par 0061, “store the DID document”], [Patel, par 0052, “the DID document 210 may be stored on the actual distributed ledger”], [Patel, par 0051, “the distributed ledger or blockchain 220 include, but are not limited to, Bitcoin [BTC], Ethereum, and Litecoin.”].
Patel does not disclose but Yang discloses as a smart contract [Yang, par 0092, “The one or more transactions may invoke a blockchain contract 331 for managing DIDs and DID documents on the blockchain 330”], [Yang, par 0076, “The contracts may be executed by one or more virtual machines associated with the blockchain 330 to perform operations such as creating DIDs, storing DID documents”].
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Patel so that the DID and DID document are stored on the public ledger through a smart contract, as taught by Yang. One would have been motivated to do so in order to manage the relationship between DIDs and DID documents with code executed by the ledger itself.
Claims 8,10 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over Patel, in view of Yang and Murdoch, further in view of Jones et al. (“JSON Web Encryption (JWE), “IETF RFC 7516”).
As per claim 8, the rejection of claim 2 is incorporated herein.
Patel does not disclose but Murdoch discloses encrypting with the private key of the asymmetric key pair [Murdoch, par 0087, “A third subset of the data may have a setting 421 that encrypts the subset of data with the private key 206 and public key 207 pair (or some other key pair) associated with the DID owner 201”]
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Patel so that the DID owner’s personal information is protected by encryption with the private key of the DID owner’s asymmetric key pair, as taught by Murdoch. One would have been motivated to do so in order to bind access to the protected personal information to the DID owner’s key pair, since Patel already generates the asymmetric key pair associated with the DID.
Patel in view of Murdoch does not disclose but Jones discloses wherein encrypting the personal information comprises encrypting the personal information with a random key using symmetric encryption [Jones, pg 15, Section 5.1, step 2, “generate a random CEK value”], [Jones, pg 5, Section 2, “Content Encryption Key (CEK) A symmetric key for the AEAD algorithm used to encrypt the plaintext”], [Jones, pg 9, Section 3.3, “Perform authenticated encryption on the plaintext with the AES GCM algorithm using the CEK as the encryption key”], and encrypting the random key [Jones, pg 14, Section 5.1, step 4, “encrypt the CEK to the recipient and let the result be the JWE Encrypted Key”], [Jones, pg 9, Section 3.3, “Encrypt the CEK with the recipient's public key using the RSAES - OAEP algorithm”].
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Patel in view of Murdoch so that the personal information is encrypted with a randomly generated symmetric key and that random key is itself encrypted, as taught by Jones. One would have been motivated to do so in order to encrypt the personal information with fast symmetric encryption while limiting the slower asymmetric operation to the short random key.
As per claim 10, the rejection of claim 9 is incorporated herein.
Patel does not disclose, but Murdoch discloses wherein the circuitry is further configured to decrypt the encrypted personal information [Murdoch, par 0127, “the DID management module 720 may then decrypt the encrypted data object 713′ to recover the accessible data object 727”], and store the decrypted personal information [Murdoch, par 0127, “The decrypted data object 727 may be stored in a non-volatile storage (e.g., a hard drive) at the DID management module 720”].
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Patel so that, after the encrypted personal information is received from the endpoint, the circuitry decrypts it and stores the decrypted personal information, as taught by Murdoch. One would have been motivated to do so in order to give DID owner usable access to the restored personal information on the new devices, since Patel’s recovery is directed to restoring the DID owner’s access after the loss of a device.
Patel in view of Murdoch does not disclose but Jones discloses using the asymmetric key pair [Jones, pg, 9, Section 3.3, “Encrypt the CEK with the recipient's public key using the RSAES - OAEP algorithm”], [Jones, pg 17, Section 5.2, step 9, “decrypt the JWE Encrypted Key to produce the CEK”].
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Patel in view of Murdoch so that the encrypted personal information is decrypted using the DID owner’s asymmetric key pair, with the content encryption key encrypted to the public key and recovered with the private key as taught by Jones. One would have been motivated to do so in order to ensure that only the holder of the private key regenerated from the mnemonic seed can recover the personal information, since Murdoch already protects data encryption keys by encrypting them with a public key so that only the matching private key can recover them.
As per claim 11, the rejection of claim 10 is incorporated herein.
Patel does not disclose but Murdoch discloses wherein decrypting the encrypted personal information comprises: decrypting an encrypted symmetric key using the private key of the asymmetric key pair [Murdoch, par 0143, “The requesting entity (e.g., the first other entity 920, or the second other entity 930) may then use its private key 923 or 933 to decrypt the encrypted encryption/ decryption key 922 or 932”]; and decrypting the personal information using the decrypted symmetric key [Murdoch, par 0143, “The decrypted encryption/decryption key 912 may then be used to decrypt the encrypted data object 913.”]
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Patel so that, decrypting the encrypted personal information comprises first decrypting an encrypted symmetric key using the private of the asymmetric key pair and then decrypting the personal information using the decrypted symmetric key, as taught by Murdoch. One would have been motivated to do so in order to decrypt the personal information with faster symmetric decryption while limiting the private key operation to the short symmetric key.
Claims 14 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over Patel, in view of Murdoch et al. (US 20200401734).
As per claim 14
Patel discloses a method to backup personal information associated with a decentralized identifier, DID [Patel, par 0049,” The credential information 215 may be any information that is associated with the DID owner 201's background. For instance, the credential information 215 may be (but not limited to) a qualification, an achievement, a government ID”], [Patel, par 0068, “the UI 335 may include the option to allow the DID owner 201 to export the private key 206 to an off device secured database”].
Patel does not disclose but Murdoch discloses the method comprising: encrypting the personal information [Murdoch, par 0160, “the data object 506 is encrypted by the encryption/decryption key 509 to generate an encrypted data object 510”], storing the encrypted personal information on an endpoint using an identifier associated to the DID [Murdoch, par 0025, “The encrypted data object is then stored in the personal storage”], [Murdoch, par 0108, “the personal storage identifier 502 may be a combination of an identifier of the identity hub and the associated DID”].
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Patel so that the DID owner’s data is encrypted and stored in a personal storage identified using the DID, as taught by Murdoch. One would have been motivated to do so in order to keep the DID owner’s data available if the device is lost while protecting it from the storage provider.
As per claim 16
Patel discloses a decentralized identifier, DID, document comprising: information on trustable interactions with an associated subject [Patel, par 0037, “relates the DID owner 201 to mechanism to engage in trustable interactions with the DID owner 201”], [Patel, par 0042, “the DID document 210 describes how to use the DID 205”], [Patel, par 0044, “The authentication information 211 may specify one or more mechanisms by which the DID owner 201 is able to prove that the DID owner 201 owns the DID 205”]; and information on an endpoint [Patel, par 0047, “The DID document 210 may also include one or more service endpoints 213. A service endpoint may include a network address at which a service operates on behalf of the DID owner 201. Examples of specific services include discovery services, social networks, file storage services such as identity servers or hubs, and verifiable claim repository services.”]
Patel does not disclose but Murdoch discloses having stored per-sonal information associated to a subject of the DID [Murdoch, par 0097, “the DID document 210 may include an end point 213 that is an address or pointer to the identity hub 411”], [Murdoch, par 0086, “identity hub 411 may include data storage 420. The data storage 420 may be used to store any type of data that is associated with the DID owner 201”].
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Patel so that the identity hub identified by the service endpoint in the DID document holds the DID owner’s personal data, as taught by Murdoch. One would have been motivated to do so in order to let the DID owner, or a party holding the DID, locate the owner’s stored data from the DID document alone.
Conclusion
/SAIPRATAP PREM/Examiner, Art Unit 2494
/JUNG W KIM/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2494