Status of Claims
This is in response to applicant’s filing date of August 22, 2025. Claims 1-15 are currently pending.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on August 22, 2025, is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Priority
Regarding U.S. Provisional Patent Application No. 63/487,623, filed March 01, 2023, Applicant’s claim for the benefit of a prior-filed application under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) or under 35 U.S.C. 120 is acknowledged.
Priority Prior-Filed Application
Applicant’s claim for the benefit of a prior-filed application, PCT/US2023/031324 filed on 08/29/2023, under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) or under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, 365(c), or 386(c) is acknowledged.
Claim Objections
In claim 13, line 1, the dependency on “claim 14” needs to be changed to a preceding claim (9-12). For the purpose of examination, claim 13 is assumed to be dependent on any of the preceding claims 9-12.
Claim Rejections -- 35 U.S.C. § 103
Claims 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sun et al (CN-114851227-A)(“Sun”), provided by Applicant in the IDS filed on 8/22/2025, a machine translation is attached hereto; Wang et al (US-20190206045-A1)(“Wang”), provided by Applicant in the IDS filed on 8/22/2025; and Adelson et al (US-20140253717-A1)(“Adelson”).
As per claim 1, Sun discloses a vision and tactile guided robot system (Figure 1) comprising:
a robot defining a tactile sensor configured to contact a surface of a component (Sun at Para. [0034] discloses a tactile sensor to obtain certain information about the object/component:” the robotic arm is controlled to reach the surface of the object, and the tactile sensor and mechanical The arm exploration action extracts the feature information of the object, uses the tactile surface exploration to obtain the surface roughness, unevenness and even the contour curvature of the object, uses the pressing to obtain the object hardness index”.) and ;
a red green blue depth (RGBD) camera configured to capture images of the surface of the component (Sun at Para. [0013] discloses an RGBD camera for object recognition and robot arm positioning:” vision processing module includes an RGBD camera, an image preprocessing module, and a deep learning model. The RGBD camera collects target object information, and after the image preprocessing module, the information is input into the deep learning model, and the object is initially recognized”.);
one or more processors (Sun at Para. [0011] discloses various modules (processors) for control the robotic arm:” device based on machine vision and tactile fusion perception, comprising a vision processing module, a tactile processing module, an object recognition module and a robot action module”.); and
a (Sun at Figure 1, steps S1 to S7, and robot arm and modules are presumed to have a memory/storage device for saving the steps followed in the flow method.)to:
control the tactile sensor so as to perform a tactile inspection of the surface, based at least in part on an RBGD image captured by the RGBD camera (Sun at Par. [0046] discloses controlling the arm with tactile sensor to acquire tactile information about the object:” position reached, according to the size of the force that the object can bear (for example, the flexible object must maintain a safe force at all times) and the required exploration speed to determine the exploration position, which can be realized by PID or fuzzy PID methods; then according to the obtained target Position enables control of robotic arms and exploration of object surfaces: Controls the robotic arm to perform two main actions: the first is approaching objects with visual feedback, and the second is tactile exploration with haptic feedback, such as pressing on objects, surfaces Explore or outline exploration. By pressing the object and collecting the force condition at all times, combined with the pressing distance of the robotic arm, the stiffness of the object can be calculated.”).
Sun does not explicitly disclose the use of a memory storing instructions to perform one or more imaging for inspection of a component.
Sun does not disclose, but Wang discloses a memory storing instructions (Wang at Para. [0005] discloses that an arm robot can include a series of instructions to perform component inspection:” memory storing instructions for execution by the processors, (i) receiving a command to capture a first image of a surface of a product, (ii) positioning, by actuating the plurality of rotatable joints, the camera at a first position that is substantially adjacent to the surface of the product, and capturing, via the camera, the first image of the surface of the product with the camera positioned at the first position.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the storing of instructions for imaging inspection taught in Wang in the machine vision and tactile fusion sensing apparatus in Sun with a reasonable expectation of success, because this results in the robots being utilized as uniformly as possible to identifying product defects, especially product defects that develop over time (see Wang at Para. [0003]).
Sun and Wang do not explicitly disclose the capturing of a tactile image with the disclosed tactile sensor.
Sun and Wang do not disclose, but Adelson discloses a device to capture tactile images of the surface of the component (Adelson at Figure 10 and Para. [0084] discloses a process where a material is controlled to come into contact with a surface to be inspected to produce a tactile image:” a reflective surface is to be used for three-dimensional imaging as contemplated herein, the web material may also include a thin, opaque, reflective material on a side of the web material facing the target surface. However, useful images of an impression may also or instead be captured simply by illuminating an opaque impression, or by backlighting a semi-transparent web material as described herein. In one aspect, providing web material may include forming a composite laminate such as by laminating multiple layers of material or by applying an ink or the like as a reflective material to a substrate of a clear elastomer to form the web material.”).
Adelson is considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because it is in the same field of systems for inspecting and measuring surface features of a variety of objects. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Sun and Wang further in view of Adelson to allow for capturing an image of a test object through a tactile process that acquires an impression of the surface topography of the test object. Motivation to do so would allow for inspecting and measuring surface features of a variety of objects by creating a three-dimensional model of the object formed from multiple measurements. (Adelson at Para. [0061]).
As per Claim 2, Sun, Wang, and Adelson disclose a robot system as recited in claim 1, the memory further storing instructions that, when executed by the one or more processers further cause the robot system to:
based on the RBGD image, determine a region of interest representative of an area on the surface in which a defect is defined (Sun at Para. [0034] discloses using the image acquired by the RGBD camera to control the movement of the tactile sensor:” tactile processing module includes a robotic arm and a tactile sensor. The visual processing module is used to locate the position of the object relative to the robotic arm. Based on the position obtained by vision, the robotic arm is controlled to reach the surface of the object, and the tactile sensor”.) ;
capture a first image, with the tactile sensor, of the surface within the region of interest (Adelson in Figure 10 and Para. [0008] discloses acquiring an impression of the object by the tactile sensor under the broadest interpretation an impression is the same as the claimed first image:” the web material being an elastomeric material adapted to conform to an object during contact; a roller configured to press the target surface against the web material, thereby providing an impression of the target surface in the web material”.);
move the tactile sensor toward the area on the surface (Adelson at Para. [0064] discloses pressing the tactile sensor against the object to create the impression:” tensioning control, speed control, positional control, and so forth as desired to maintain the web material 570 in a desired state in the imaging process. In general, the web material may include an elastomeric material adapted to conform to an object during contact, such as any of the elastomers described herein. The web material 570 may also or instead include a reflective material, such as any of the reflective materials described herein.”);
capture a second image, with the tactile sensor, of the surface within the region of interest (Adelson at Figure 1, camera 120, and Para. [0047] discloses using camera 120 to acquire images of the impressions:” deformation changes the surface normal of the membrane 115, which leads to a change in the amount of light reflected toward and detected by the imaging system 120 at each measured location on the surface. The resulting image pattern encodes the varying local surface topography of the object 130 as a collection of surface normals, and thus encodes the shape of the surface in a manner that can be recovered, e.g., by integrating a number of individual normals across a section of the measured surface.”);
generate a first foreground mask from the first image and the second image (Adelson at Para. [0047] discloses that the first and second image produce a resulting image (mask) of the surface of the object:” resulting image pattern encodes the varying local surface topography of the object 130 as a collection of surface normals, and thus encodes the shape of the surface in a manner that can be recovered, e.g., by integrating a number of individual normals across a section of the measured surface.”);
based on the first foreground mask, determine whether the defect is greater than a predetermined threshold (Adelson at Para. [0055] discloses the use of comparison analyses which is the same as a predetermined threshold to identify the location of a defect on the object:” a number of impressions from a roller may be compared to identify surface defects. Because the surface(s) of a single roller sensor will be used to capture many images, a comparison of multiple images created from a particular portion of the roller surface can be performed to learn the position of contaminants on the surface of the membrane. In such a case, the rotational position of the reflective membrane may be tracked during sensor operation so that comparisons can be made from object to object.”);
when the defect is greater than the predetermined threshold, stop the robot from moving further and capture two-dimensional (2D) images of the defect with the tactile sensor (Adelson at Para. [0048] discloses controlling the rotation to acquire a series of images which indicates that the roller is moved and maintained so that a region can be captured by the camera 120:” the roller 125 rotates, the cylinder 110 may also rotate and pull different portions of the object 130 between the roller 125 and the reflective membrane 115, thereby generating a series of images. The series of images so obtained can be stitched into a single image of the entire surface of interest of the object 130 by methods known in the art, such as those used to obtain panoramic photographs from a series of smaller photographs.”); and
based on the 2D images, reconstruct a three-dimensional (3D) image of the defect (Adelson at Para. [0066] discloses constructing a 3D image:” the controller 598 may include a processor or other processing circuitry configured to obtain a three-dimensional image using a number of images obtained by an imaging such as any of the imaging systems described herein, e.g., to calculate the three-dimensional image based on three-dimensional data encoded in one or more images of the target surface captured by the camera 520. The controller may also or instead include a processor similarly configured to obtain a surface gradient or a normal map for a target surface, which may be obtained from a single image or from a combination of a number of overlapping images obtained using any of the continuous imaging techniques described herein.”).
As per Claim 3, Sun, Wang, and Adelson disclose a robot system as recited in claim 2, the memory further storing instructions that, when executed by the one or more processers further cause the robot system to:
when the defect is less than the predetermined threshold, move the tactile sensor to a next intermediate point (Wang at Abstract and Claim 1 discloses identifying an area of interest to acquire an image for inspection:” an area of interest on the surface of the product, and (ii) a relative location of the area of interest on the surface; positioning, based on the relative location of the area of interest on the surface, the camera at a second position”.); and
at the next intermediate point, capture a third image, with the tactile sensor of the surface within the region of interest (Adelson at Para. [0048] discloses acquiring a series of images:” the cylinder 110 may also rotate and pull different portions of the object 130 between the roller 125 and the reflective membrane 115, thereby generating a series of images. The series of images so obtained can be stitched into a single image of the entire surface of interest of the object 130 by methods known in the art, such as those used to obtain panoramic photographs from a series of smaller photographs.”).
Adelson is considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because it is in the same field of systems for inspecting and measuring surface features of a variety of objects. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Sun and Wang further in view of Adelson to allow for capturing an image of a test object through a tactile process that acquires an impression of the surface topography of the test object. Motivation to do so would allow for inspecting and measuring surface features of a variety of objects by creating a three-dimensional model of the object formed from multiple measurements. (Adelson at Para. [0061]).
As per Claim 4, Sun, Wang, and Adelson disclose a robot system as recited in claim 3, the memory further storing instructions that, when executed by the one or more processers further cause the robot system to:
generate a second foreground mask from the first image and the third image (Adelson at Para. [0048] discloses using a series of images to form a composite thus creating a mask where surface normal can be ascertained:” series of images so obtained can be stitched into a single image of the entire surface of interest of the object 130 by methods known in the art, such as those used to obtain panoramic photographs from a series of smaller photographs. The measured surface normal field and/or height maps may also or instead be stitched together in a similar way.”); and
based on the second foreground mask, determine whether the defect is greater than the predetermined threshold (Adelson at Para. [0061] discloses obtaining the deflection on the surface from the composite image:” the roller 525 deflects away from the web material 570 to accommodate greater height or thickness of the object, the deflection may be measured and included in a three-dimensional model of the object formed from multiple measurements or samples.”).
As per Claim 5, Sun, Wang, and Adelson disclose a robot system as recited in claim 4, the memory further storing instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors further cause the robot system to:
continue to capture images at different points, with the tactile sensor, until the defect is greater than the predetermined threshold (Sun at Para. [0034] discloses the use of thresholding form the tactile sensor to ascertain points of defect on the object:” If the threshold requirements are not met, the initial recognition results are input into machine learning. The tactile processing module includes a robotic arm and a tactile sensor. The visual processing module is used to locate the position of the object relative to the robotic arm. Based on the position obtained by vision, the robotic arm is controlled to reach the surface of the object, and the tactile sensor and mechanical The arm exploration action extracts the feature information of the object, uses the tactile surface exploration to obtain the surface roughness, unevenness and even the contour curvature of the object”.).
As per Claim 6, Sun, Wang, and Adelson disclose a robot system as recited in claim 2, the memory further storing instructions that, when executed by the one or more processers further cause the robot system to:
based on the RBGD image, determine a normal direction relative to the surface (Sun at Para. [0045] discloses the use of visual guidance to guide the tactile sensor:” the robot first reaches the object through visual guidance and performs tactile exploration to extract the desired features.”); and
move the tactile sensor along the normal direction until it contacts the surface (Sun at Para. [0046] discloses guiding the tactile sensor until is in contact with the object:” After reaching the object surface, control the robot for tactile exploration, where contact position estimation and robotic arm control are crucial. The first is contact position estimation: in order to perform tactile exploration and extract corresponding features, it is necessary to obtain the current contact point position and the direction and magnitude of the applied force when determining the next exploration, and determine the next step of the robot arm according to the size of the target force.”).
As per Claim 7, Sun, Wang, and Adelson disclose a robot system as recited in claim 2, the memory further storing instructions that, when executed by the one or more processers further cause the robot system to:
based on the 3D image of the defect, determine one or more attributes corresponding to the defect (Adelson at Figure 2 and Para. [0061] discloses determining a measurement for the deflection on a surface:” the deflection may be measured and included in a three-dimensional model of the object formed from multiple measurements or samples.”).
As per Claim 8, Sun, Wang, and Adelson disclose a robot system as recited in claim 7, wherein the one or more attributes include a maximum depth or a minimum depth defined by the defect as measured from the surface along the normal direction (Adelson at Para. [0055] discloses determining certain attributes about a defect so as to offer a correction:” multiple measurements can be used to effectively filter-out the effect of the contaminants (e.g., a median or average value of a surface feature can be determined). In another aspect, a number of impressions from a roller may be compared to identify surface defects.”).
Claims 9-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sun et al (CN-114851227-A)(“Sun”), provided by Applicant in the IDS filed on 8/22/2025, a machine translation is attached hereto; and Adelson et al (US-20140253717-A1)(“Adelson”).
As per claim 9, Sun discloses a method performed by a vision and tactile guided robot system comprising a robot, a tactile sensor that defines an end effector of the robot, and a red green blue depth (RGBD) camera (Figure 1) , the method comprising:
capturing, by the RGBD camera, an RGBD image of a surface of the component (Sun at Para. [0013] discloses an RGBD camera for object recognition and robot arm positioning:” vision processing module includes an RGBD camera, an image preprocessing module, and a deep learning model. The RGBD camera collects target object information, and after the image preprocessing module, the information is input into the deep learning model, and the object is initially recognized”.);
moving the tactile sensor, by the robot, to a position in (Sun at Para. [0046] discloses guiding the tactile sensor until is in contact with the object:” After reaching the object surface, control the robot for tactile exploration, where contact position estimation and robotic arm control are crucial. The first is contact position estimation: in order to perform tactile exploration and extract corresponding features, it is necessary to obtain the current contact point position and the direction and magnitude of the applied force when determining the next exploration, and determine the next step of the robot arm according to the size of the target force.”) ; and
controlling the tactile sensor so as to perform a tactile inspection of the surface, based at least in part on the RGBD image captured by the RGBD camera (Sun at Par. [0046] discloses controlling the arm with tactile sensor to acquire tactile information about the object:” position reached, according to the size of the force that the object can bear (for example, the flexible object must maintain a safe force at all times) and the required exploration speed to determine the exploration position, which can be realized by PID or fuzzy PID methods; then according to the obtained target Position enables control of robotic arms and exploration of object surfaces: Controls the robotic arm to perform two main actions: the first is approaching objects with visual feedback, and the second is tactile exploration with haptic feedback, such as pressing on objects, surfaces Explore or outline exploration. By pressing the object and collecting the force condition at all times, combined with the pressing distance of the robotic arm, the stiffness of the object can be calculated.”).
Sun does not explicitly disclose the capturing of a tactile image with the disclosed tactile sensor.
Sun and Wang do not disclose, but Adelson discloses a device to contact with the surface of the component (Adelson at Figure 10 and Para. [0084] discloses a process where a material is controlled to come into contact with a surface to be inspected to produce a tactile image:” a reflective surface is to be used for three-dimensional imaging as contemplated herein, the web material may also include a thin, opaque, reflective material on a side of the web material facing the target surface. However, useful images of an impression may also or instead be captured simply by illuminating an opaque impression, or by backlighting a semi-transparent web material as described herein. In one aspect, providing web material may include forming a composite laminate such as by laminating multiple layers of material or by applying an ink or the like as a reflective material to a substrate of a clear elastomer to form the web material.”).
Adelson is considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because it is in the same field of systems for inspecting and measuring surface features of a variety of objects. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Sun further in view of Adelson to allow for capturing an image of a test object through a tactile process that acquires an impression of the surface topography of the test object. Motivation to do so would allow for inspecting and measuring surface features of a variety of objects by creating a three-dimensional model of the object formed from multiple measurements. (Adelson at Para. [0061]).
As per claim 10, Sun and Adelson disclose a method as recited in claim 9, the method further comprising:
based on the RBGD image, determine a region of interest representative of an area on the surface in which a defect is defined (Sun at Para. [0034] discloses using the image acquired by the RGBD camera to control the movement of the tactile sensor:” tactile processing module includes a robotic arm and a tactile sensor. The visual processing module is used to locate the position of the object relative to the robotic arm. Based on the position obtained by vision, the robotic arm is controlled to reach the surface of the object, and the tactile sensor”.) ;
capture a first image, with the tactile sensor, of the surface within the region of interest (Adelson in Figure 10 and Para. [0008] discloses acquiring an impression of the object by the tactile sensor under the broadest interpretation an impression is the same as the claimed first image:” the web material being an elastomeric material adapted to conform to an object during contact; a roller configured to press the target surface against the web material, thereby providing an impression of the target surface in the web material”.);
move the tactile sensor toward the area on the surface (Adelson at Para. [0064] discloses pressing the tactile sensor against the object to create the impression:” tensioning control, speed control, positional control, and so forth as desired to maintain the web material 570 in a desired state in the imaging process. In general, the web material may include an elastomeric material adapted to conform to an object during contact, such as any of the elastomers described herein. The web material 570 may also or instead include a reflective material, such as any of the reflective materials described herein.”);
capture a second image, with the tactile sensor, of the surface within the region of interest (Adelson at Figure 1, camera 120, and Para. [0047] discloses using camera 120 to acquire images of the impressions:” deformation changes the surface normal of the membrane 115, which leads to a change in the amount of light reflected toward and detected by the imaging system 120 at each measured location on the surface. The resulting image pattern encodes the varying local surface topography of the object 130 as a collection of surface normals, and thus encodes the shape of the surface in a manner that can be recovered, e.g., by integrating a number of individual normals across a section of the measured surface.”);
generate a first foreground mask from the first image and the second image (Adelson at Para. [0047] discloses that the first and second image produce a resulting image (mask) of the surface of the object:” resulting image pattern encodes the varying local surface topography of the object 130 as a collection of surface normals, and thus encodes the shape of the surface in a manner that can be recovered, e.g., by integrating a number of individual normals across a section of the measured surface.”);
based on the first foreground mask, determine whether the defect is greater than a predetermined threshold (Adelson at Para. [0055] discloses the use of comparison analyses which is the same as a predetermined threshold to identify the location of a defect on the object:” a number of impressions from a roller may be compared to identify surface defects. Because the surface(s) of a single roller sensor will be used to capture many images, a comparison of multiple images created from a particular portion of the roller surface can be performed to learn the position of contaminants on the surface of the membrane. In such a case, the rotational position of the reflective membrane may be tracked during sensor operation so that comparisons can be made from object to object.”);
when the defect is greater than the predetermined threshold, stop the robot from moving further and capture two-dimensional (2D) images of the defect with the tactile sensor (Adelson at Para. [0048] discloses controlling the rotation to acquire a series of images which indicates that the roller is moved and maintained so that a region can be captured by the camera 120:” the roller 125 rotates, the cylinder 110 may also rotate and pull different portions of the object 130 between the roller 125 and the reflective membrane 115, thereby generating a series of images. The series of images so obtained can be stitched into a single image of the entire surface of interest of the object 130 by methods known in the art, such as those used to obtain panoramic photographs from a series of smaller photographs.”); and
based on the 2D images, reconstruct a three-dimensional (3D) image of the defect (Adelson at Para. [0066] discloses constructing a 3D image:” the controller 598 may include a processor or other processing circuitry configured to obtain a three-dimensional image using a number of images obtained by an imaging such as any of the imaging systems described herein, e.g., to calculate the three-dimensional image based on three-dimensional data encoded in one or more images of the target surface captured by the camera 520. The controller may also or instead include a processor similarly configured to obtain a surface gradient or a normal map for a target surface, which may be obtained from a single image or from a combination of a number of overlapping images obtained using any of the continuous imaging techniques described herein.”).
As per claim 11, Sun and Adelson disclose a method as recited in claim 10, the method further comprising:
when the defect is less than the predetermined threshold, move the tactile sensor to a next intermediate point (Wang at Abstract and Claim 1 discloses identifying an area of interest to acquire an image for inspection:” an area of interest on the surface of the product, and (ii) a relative location of the area of interest on the surface; positioning, based on the relative location of the area of interest on the surface, the camera at a second position”.); and
at the next intermediate point, capture a third image, with the tactile sensor of the surface within the region of interest (Adelson at Para. [0048] discloses acquiring a series of images:” the cylinder 110 may also rotate and pull different portions of the object 130 between the roller 125 and the reflective membrane 115, thereby generating a series of images. The series of images so obtained can be stitched into a single image of the entire surface of interest of the object 130 by methods known in the art, such as those used to obtain panoramic photographs from a series of smaller photographs.”).
As per claim 12, Sun and Adelson disclose a method as recited in claim 11, the method further comprising:
generating a second foreground mask from the first image and the third image (Adelson at Para. [0048] discloses using a series of images to form a composite thus creating a mask where surface normal can be ascertained:” series of images so obtained can be stitched into a single image of the entire surface of interest of the object 130 by methods known in the art, such as those used to obtain panoramic photographs from a series of smaller photographs. The measured surface normal field and/or height maps may also or instead be stitched together in a similar way.”); and
based on the second foreground mask, determine whether the defect is greater than the predetermined threshold (Adelson at Para. [0061] discloses obtaining the deflection on the surface from the composite image:” the roller 525 deflects away from the web material 570 to accommodate greater height or thickness of the object, the deflection may be measured and included in a three-dimensional model of the object formed from multiple measurements or samples.”).
As per claim 13, Sun and Adelson disclose a method as recited in claim 14, the method further comprising:
continuing to capture images at different points, with the tactile sensor, until the defect is greater than the predetermined threshold (Sun at Para. [0034] discloses the use of thresholding form the tactile sensor to ascertain points of defect on the object:” If the threshold requirements are not met, the initial recognition results are input into machine learning. The tactile processing module includes a robotic arm and a tactile sensor. The visual processing module is used to locate the position of the object relative to the robotic arm. Based on the position obtained by vision, the robotic arm is controlled to reach the surface of the object, and the tactile sensor and mechanical The arm exploration action extracts the feature information of the object, uses the tactile surface exploration to obtain the surface roughness, unevenness and even the contour curvature of the object”.).
As per claim 14, Sun and Adelson disclose a method as recited in claim 10, the method further comprising:
based on the RBGD image, determine a normal direction relative to the surface (Sun at Para. [0045] discloses the use of visual guidance to guide the tactile sensor:” the robot first reaches the object through visual guidance and performs tactile exploration to extract the desired features.”); and
moving the tactile sensor along the normal direction until it contacts the surface (Sun at Para. [0046] discloses guiding the tactile sensor until is in contact with the object:” After reaching the object surface, control the robot for tactile exploration, where contact position estimation and robotic arm control are crucial. The first is contact position estimation: in order to perform tactile exploration and extract corresponding features, it is necessary to obtain the current contact point position and the direction and magnitude of the applied force when determining the next exploration, and determine the next step of the robot arm according to the size of the target force.”).
As per claim 15, Sun and Adelson disclose a method as recited in claim 9, the method further comprising:
based on the 3D image of the defect, determining one or more attributes corresponding to the defect (Adelson at Figure 2 and Para. [0061] discloses determining a measurement for the deflection on a surface:” the deflection may be measured and included in a three-dimensional model of the object formed from multiple measurements or samples.”).
CONCLUSION
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Edward H. Adelson (US-20090315989-A1) discloses a tactile sensor includes a photosensing structure, a volume of elastomer capable of transmitting an image, and a reflective skin covering the volume of elastomer.
Ueda et al (US-20080202202-A1) discloses a tactile sensor comprising a sensing section having an elastic member at a portion which contacts a measurement target; an image acquiring section for acquiring as image information the state of a contact surface of the measurement target and the elastic member. See Abstract and Figure 3.
Fang et al (CN-111208141-A) discloses a micro-cloth structure visual inspection device for industrial production, belonging to the technical field of robot sensor. The device comprises a deformation layer, a built-in light source, a camera, a roller cloth production line (for transmission), the deformation layer made from transparent material polydimethylsiloxane (PDMS).
Wang et al (US-20240153115-A1) discloses a retrographic sensor comprising a photosensitive detector configured to provide the image of the three-dimensional object pressed into the elastomeric pad of the retrographic sensor.
Shi et al (US-20220143835-A1) discloses a visual perception module that is configured to obtain image information of a surrounding environment of the apparatus; the tactile perception module is configured to obtain tactile information of the surrounding environment of the apparatus; the signal transmission module is configured to transmit the image information and the tactile information to the control module; and the control module is configured to generate a control instruction based on the image information and the tactile information, and transmit the control instruction.
/ELLIS B. RAMIREZ/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3658