Specification
Applicant is reminded of the proper language and format for an abstract of the disclosure.
The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph on a separate sheet within the range of 50 to 150 words in length. The abstract should describe the disclosure sufficiently to assist readers in deciding whether there is a need for consulting the full patent text for details.
The language should be clear and concise and should not repeat information given in the title. It should avoid using phrases which can be implied, such as, “The disclosure concerns,” “The disclosure defined by this invention,” “The disclosure describes,” etc. In addition, the form and legal phraseology often used in patent claims, such as “means” and “said,” should be avoided.
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because the abstract appears to be more than just the abstract and adds in words from what appears to be a WIPO application page. A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See 37 CFR 1.438 for requirements of the abstract.
Claim Objections
Claims 8, 11, and 12 are objected to because of the following informalities:
- Claim 8 claims the limitation “processing the sequence of input tokens using a Transformer neural network to generate the policy output.” The capitalization of “Transformer” does not appear to be intended to mean a trademark or name of invention and appears to refer to the transformer, referred to as a with a lower case “t” in the art. Examiner suggests amending the language to be lower case.
- Claim 11 claims the limitation “wherein the encoder neural network comprises one or more condition layers configured as feature-wise Linear Modulation (FiLM) layers.” As the acronym is FiLM is used, examiner suggested amending the language to captalize the “f” to read “Feature-wise Linear Modulation” to match the acronym and the common use in the art.
- Claim 12 is given a similar objection to claim 11 where examiner suggests amending the language to read “Vision Transformer” to match the acronym.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 14 and 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 14 claims the limitation “generating the other policy based on the single channel object mask”. However, within claim 14 or claims 1 and 13, from which claim 14 depends, “the” single channel object mask does not have antecedent basis. Examiner notes that the first mention of a single channel object mask appears to be claim 6 and suggests that applicant amends “the single channel object mask” of claim 13 to be “a single channel object mask”. For prior art examination, examiner will interpret “the single channel object mask” to be “a single channel object mask”.
Claim 17 claims “environments characterized in the expert demonstration data”. However, there is no antecedent basis established for an expert demonstration data in the claim dependency tree 1, 15, and 17. Examiner suggests amending claim 17 to depend on claim 16 as it appears that they are of similar scope, where claim 15 pertains to different details. For prior art examination, examiner will interpret that claim 17 depends on claim 16.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 4-5, 7, 13, 15, 19, and 24-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US20210086353A1 (Shah).
Regarding claims 1, 24, and 25, Shah discloses a computer-implemented method, system, and non-transitory computer storage medium encoded with instructions, comprising:
receiving an observation image of an environment;
See Fig. 2 of Shah, where block 206 receives vision data comprising observation images of an environment (see at least [0037] and [0056] regarding semantic vision data).
receiving an input text sequence that describes a task to be performed by an agent in the environment and that references one or more objects in the environment;
See Fig. 2 of Shah, where block 202 describes receiving an input text sequence that describes a task to be performed by an agent in the environment and that references one or more objects in the environment ([0054], “As one example, the command can be “go through the door, turn left, go to the end of the hallway, then go through the door on the right.”)
generating an object localization input that includes
(i) a natural language phrase describing the one or more objects and
(ii) the observation image;
See Fig. 2 of Shah, where block 208 generates an objection localization input that includes both the natural language phrase describing the one or more objects ([0057], “For example, the system can generate a semantic embedding based on processing the semantic vision data using a semantic vision branch, and can generate a depth embedding model based on processing the depth data using a depth vision branch..”) and the observation image ([0057], “At block 208, the system generates vision embedding(s) based on processing of the instance of vision data using at least one vision branch of the model.”)
processing the object localization input using an object localization neural network to generate an object localization output that identifies respective locations of one or more objects in the observation image;
See Fig. 1 of Shah, where the neural network (170) is used to process the object localization input to generate an object localization output that identifies respective locations of one or more objects in the observation image (see at least [0050-0052]).
generating a policy input based on the observation image, the input text sequence, and the object localization output;
See Fig. 1 of Shah, where the policy input (natural language embedding 179) is outputted after the processing of the observation image (semantic vision data 161 and depth vision data 165), the input text sequence (language branch 170 and also see at least [0054]), and the object localization output (see at least [0052]).
processing the policy input using a policy neural network to generate a policy output that defines an action to be performed by the agent in response to the observation image;
See at least [0052] of Shah, where the policy output defining actions to be performed by the agent are indicated by reward values
selecting an action to be performed by the agent using the policy output; and
See Fig. 2 of Shah, where block 214 selects the action.
causing the agent to perform the selected action.
See Fig. 2 of Shah, where block 216 controls the agent to perform the action.
Regarding claim 4, with all the limitations of claim 1, the method further comprises:
wherein the object localization output comprises a segmentation mask that defines a respective pixel location of each of the one or more objects in the observation image.
[0033], “The semantic segmentation o_S can, for example, assign a one-hot semantic class id to each pixel.”
Regarding claim 5, with all the limitations of claim 1, the method further comprises:
wherein the object localization output comprises bounding box data that defines a respective bounding box that encompasses each of the one or more objects in the observation image.
[0039], “As one non-limiting example, the vision data can be processed using a trained faster-R-RNN model to generate a plurality of bounding boxes and corresponding classifications. The bounding boxes and classifications can then be used to assign corresponding classification labels to corresponding pixels (encompassed by the corresponding bounding boxes). The vision data that is processed to generate the semantic vision data can include, for example, a 2D RGB image, a 2.5D RGBD image, and/or a 3D point cloud.”
Regarding claim 7, with all the limitations of claim 1, the method further comprises:
wherein generating the policy input based on the observation image, the input text sequence, and the object localization output comprises:
generating an encoded representation of the second text segments.
See Fig. 1 of Shah, where the second text segments are encoded as they pass through the neural network.
Regarding claim 13, with all the limitations of claim 1, the method further comprises:
receiving another observation image of the environment, wherein the other observation image characterizes a subsequent state of the environment after an initial state of the environment in which the selected action was performed by the agent;
See Fig. 2 of Shah, where after block 218 determines that the goal has not been reached, another observation image of the environment that represents a subsequence state of the environment after an initial state of the environment in which the select action was performed is received.
generating another policy input based on the other observation image, the input text sequence, and the object localization output;
See Fig. 1 of Shah, where the policy input (natural language embedding 179) is outputted after the processing of the observation image (semantic vision data 161 and depth vision data 165), the input text sequence (language branch 170 and also see at least [0054]), and the object localization output (see at least [0052]). processing the other policy input using the policy neural network to generate another policy output that defines another action to be performed by the agent in response to the other observation;
See at least [0052] of Shah, where the policy output defining actions to be performed by the agent are indicated by reward values
selecting another action to be performed by the agent using the other policy output; and
See Fig. 2 of Shah, where block 214 selects the action.
causing the agent to perform the selection other action.
See Fig. 2 of Shah, where block 216 controls the agent to perform the action.
Regarding claim 15, with all the limitations of claim 1, the method further comprises:
wherein the object localization neural network has been pre-trained on a plurality of image-text pairs to perform an object localization task.
See Fig. 3 of Shah, where the neural network is trained on vision and natural language to perform a goal, where the achievement of the goal leads to a reward to be updated to direct the training towards the desired tuning.
Regarding claim 19, with all the limitations of claim 1, the method further comprises:
wherein the agent is a robot and the one or more computers are on-board the robot.
See at least Figs. 1 and 4 of Shah, where the figures show both the robot and the components of the robot.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2, 3, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US20210086353A1 (Shah).
Regarding claim 2, with all the limitations of claim 1, the method further comprises:
wherein generating the object localization input comprises:
parsing the input text sequence to identify first text segments that describe the one or more objects and second text segments that describe one or more skills required by the task; and
See Fig. 1 of Shah, where the language branch 170 comprises memory network 172 that parses the input text sequences to identify first and second text segments.
generating the natural language phrase describing the one or more objects by including the first text segments in the natural language phrase.
While Shah does not explicitly disclose generating the natural language phrase describing the one or more objects by including the first text segments in the natural language phrase, one of ordinary skill in the art would find it obvious that the phrase includes the first text segments as the agent maps the language phrase and action to be performed with a reward system (see at least [0052] of Shah, where [0052] describes providing a natural language input (“Exit the room, turn left and walk through the hall and enter the doorway in front of you”) parsed into appropriate actions towards objects within the language phrase (“a reward of +1.0 can be generated responsive to the simulated robotic agent “entering the doorway in front of you”, and optionally intermediate reward(s) can be generated for one or more waypoints such as “the hall””)).
Regarding claim 3, with all the limitations of claim 2, the method further comprises:
wherein parsing the input text sequence to identify the first text segments that describe the one or more objects comprises:
querying a language model neural network to identify the first text segments from the input text sequence.
See Fig. 1 of Shah, where the language model neural network (language branch 170) identifies the first text segments from the input text sequence.
Regarding claim 18, with all the limitations of claim 1, the method further comprises:
wherein the object localization output is a null output indicating that the one or more objects referenced in the input text sequence are not detected.
One of ordinary skill in the art would find it obvious to output null for an undetected object as null is well known in the art to indicate something that does not exist, where zero may be representative of a measurement value (such as black when dealing with grayscale).
Claims 6 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US20210086353A1 (Shah) and further in view of US20210264167A1 (Chen).
Regarding claim 6, with all the limitations of claim 1, the method further comprises:
wherein generating the policy input based on the observation image, the input text sequence, and the object localization output comprises:
generating, from the object localization output, a single channel object mask that has a non-zero value at at least one pixel location of each of the one or more objects in the observation image and zero values elsewhere in the observation image; and
While Shah does not explicitly disclose the generation of a single channel object mask that has a non-zero value at at least one pixel location of each of the one or more objects in the observation image and zero values elsewhere in the observation image, from a similar field of endeavor, Chen teaches object identification based on environments of autonomous systems such as vehicles and robots (see at least Abstract and [0026]). Specifically, Chen teaches the use of a single channel binary mask to identify dynamic objects in observation images ([0052]).
One of ordinary skill in the art would find it obvious, prior to the applicants, effective filing date, to combine the system of Chen to the system of Shah as the combination using the single channel masking provides improved utility on the existing training data for another dataset for object classification.
generating a channel-wise concatenation of the object mask and the observation image.
One of ordinary skill in the art would find it obvious to concatenate the object mask and the observation image as the mask pertains to the image, where the concatenation of the two would allow for improved object detection training by having specific locations of the masked objects.
Regarding claim 14, with all the limitations of claim 13, the method further comprises:
wherein generating the other policy input comprises generating the other policy input based on the single channel object mask.
While Shah does not explicitly disclose the generation of a single channel object mask, from a similar field of endeavor, Chen teaches object identification based on environments of autonomous systems such as vehicles and robots (see at least Abstract and [0026]). Specifically, Chen teaches the use of a single channel binary mask to identify dynamic objects in observation images ([0052]).
One of ordinary skill in the art would find it obvious, prior to the applicants, effective filing date, to combine the system of Chen to the system of Shah as the combination using the single channel masking provides a clear representation of objects of importance to be identified by the machine learning model.
Claims 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US20210086353A1 (Shah) and further in view of “AN IMAGE IS WORTH 16X16 WORDS: TRANSFORMERS FOR IMAGE RECOGNITION AT SCALE” (Dosovitskiy).
Regarding claim 12, with all the limitations of claim 1, the method further comprises:
wherein the object localization neural network is configured as a vision Transformer (ViT) neural network.
While Shah does not explicitly disclose that the object localization neural network is configured as a vision Transformer (ViT) neural network, from a similar field of endeavor, Dosovitskiy discloses the details of ViTs in image recognition, where the ViT attains excellent results compared to state-of-the-art convolutional networks (see at least Dosovitskiy, Abstract and section 1, paragraph 5).
One of ordinary skill in the art would find it obvious to try, prior to the applicant’s effective filing date, to implement the system of Dosovitskiy as the system of Dosovitskiy discloses significant advantages over state of the art neural networks used for object localization.
Claims 16 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US20210086353A1 (Shah) and further in view of US20210182620A1 (Tan).
Regarding claim 16, with all the limitations of claim 1, the method further comprises:
wherein the policy neural network is trained through imitation learning using expert demonstration data characterizing interactions of one or more expert agents with a corresponding environment while parameter values of the object localization neural network are held fixed during the training.
While Shah does not explicitly disclose the use of imitation learning using expert demonstration data characterizing interactions of one or more expert agents with a corresponding environment while parameter values of the object localization neural network are held fixed during training, Tan discloses a machine learning training method that utilizes imitation learning of expert data (see at least [0032] of Tan).
One of ordinary skill in the art would find it obvious, prior to the applicant’s effective filing date, to combine the system of Tan to the system of Shah as the training part of the system of Shah with imitation learning provides a complimentary advantage over utilizing only a model free approach such as DQN disclosed by Shah by reducing the state space and action space to pertain to configurations observed by the expert data rather than the range of motion of the robot.
Regarding claim 17, with all the limitations of claim 16, the method further comprises:
wherein the corresponding environments characterized in the expert demonstration data include different objects than the one or more objects included in the observation image.
In view of the rationale of claim 16, one of ordinary skill in the art would find it obvious that the corresponding environments in the expert demonstration data includes different objects as they are perspective invariant to the features of the state and can be applied to robots in new environments (see at least [0038] of Tan).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 8-11 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
The prior art does not teach or suggest, in the context of the claims, processing the channel-wise concatenation using an encoder neural network that is conditioned on the encoded representation of the second text segments to generate an encoded representation of channel-wise concatenation and processing the encoded representation of channel-wise concatenation using a token learner neural network to generate a sequence of input. However, the prior art does not teach all the limitations, and processing the sequence of input tokens using a transformer neural network to generate the policy output. The closest art of record US20210086353A1 (Shah) discloses processing channel-wise concatenation using an encoder neural network that is conditioned on the encoded representation of the second text segments to generate an encoded representation of channel-wise concatenation. However, the prior art does not teach all the limitations.
Conclusion
/J.J./Examiner, Art Unit 3656
/WADE MILES/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3656