DETAILED ACTION
The following is in response to the application filed 8/26/2025. Claims 1-5 and 5-7 are pending (two claims are numbered “5” for the purposes of compact prosecution, the claims will be examined and referred to as 5 (first instance) and 5 (second instance).
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: a lengthy specification.
Appropriate correction is required.
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because it includes purported merits of the invention (see below, emphasis added). Correction is required. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
Applicant is reminded of the proper content of an abstract of the disclosure.
A patent abstract is a concise statement of the technical disclosure of the patent and should include that which is new in the art to which the invention pertains. The abstract should not refer to purported merits or speculative applications of the invention and should not compare the invention with the prior art.
If the patent is of a basic nature, the entire technical disclosure may be new in the art, and the abstract should be directed to the entire disclosure. If the patent is in the nature of an improvement in an old apparatus, process, product, or composition, the abstract should include the technical disclosure of the improvement. The abstract should also mention by way of example any preferred modifications or alternatives.
Where applicable, the abstract should include the following: (1) if a machine or apparatus, its organization and operation; (2) if an article, its method of making; (3) if a chemical compound, its identity and use; (4) if a mixture, its ingredients; (5) if a process, the steps.
Extensive mechanical and design details of an apparatus should not be included in the abstract. The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph within the range of 50 to 150 words in length.
See MPEP § 608.01(b) for guidelines for the preparation of patent abstracts.
Claim Objections
Claims 5 (first) and 5(second) are objected to because of the following informalities: the claim number “5” has been used for two different dependent claims. For examination purposes, the claims are referred to claim 5 (first) and claim 5(second). Applicant should correct. Applicant is reminded, the correct numbering of claims as provided in 37 CFR 1.126 which requires the original numbering of the claims to be preserved throughout the prosecution. When claims are canceled, the remaining claims must not be renumbered. When new claims are presented, they must be numbered consecutively beginning with the number next following the highest numbered claims previously presented (whether entered or not).
Applicant should delete claim 5 (second) and add the claim limitation recitation to new claim 8.
. Appropriate correction is required.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because the drawings are not in black font and drawing and the drawing are blurry. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
1.84 and 1.121 (d) are required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 4-5, 5-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 4 recites the limitation "a nick" in lines 6 and 7. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claims 5 and 5-7 inherit the deficiencies of claim 4 and are therefore also rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-5 and 5-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Claims 1-5 and 5-7 are directed to a system and method. The claims fall within one of the four statutory categories of invention (processes, machines, manufactures and compositions of matter).
Claim 4, as exemplary, recites the abstract idea of prompting users to create a nick;
wherein a nick is a unique user identifier;
users each selecting at least one nick via the account management environment;
the account management environment storing the nicks in a database in communication with the at least one server computer;
the account management environment verifying the selected nick(s) of each user via at least one authentication scheme;
the account management environment assigning a UID to each user which is immutable;
the account management environment prompting the user(s) to provide information pertaining to sources of their resources;
the user(s) disclosing the location and type of their source(s), each containing resources; and
the account management environment assigning each disclosed source of the user to their verified nick.
Under Step 2A Prong 1, the claim as a whole recites the series of steps instructing how perform a transaction securely, which falls within the abstract idea grouping of Certain Methods of Organizing Human Activities, specifically the subgroupings of a fundamental economic practice (mitigating risk) and a commercial/legal interactions of sales activities, behaviors and business relations of conducting secure transactions. Thus, the claim recites an abstract idea.
Under Step 2A prong 2, this judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. The claim as a whole merely describes how to generally “apply” the concept of performing a secure transaction in a computer environment. The claimed computer components (server computer, network, database, ) are recited at a high level of generality and are merely invoked as tools to perform an existing economic process. Simply implementing the abstract idea on a generic computer is not a practical application of the abstract idea. Accordingly, these additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. The claim is directed to an abstract idea.
The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed with respect to Step 2A prong 2, the claim describes how to generally “apply” the concept of how to perform a secure transaction in a computer environment. Thus, even when viewed separately and as a whole, these additional claim elements do not provide meaningful limitations to transform the abstract idea into a patent eligible application of the abstract idea such that the claims amount to significantly more than the abstract idea itself. The claim is ineligible.
The recitation of claim limitations that attempt to cover any solution to an identified problem with no restriction on how the result is accomplished and no description of the mechanism for accomplishing the result, does not integrate a judicial exception into a practical application or provide significantly more because this type of recitation is equivalent to the words "apply it".
See MPEP 2106
As for dependent claims 2, 5 (second instance) and 6, the claims recite limitations that further define the same abstract idea noted in claims 1 and 4. Therefore, claims 5-6 are considered patent ineligible for the reasons given in the above rejection of claim 4.
As for dependent claim 3 and 7, the claims recite limitations that further define the abstract idea noted in claim 1 and 4. In addition, the claims recite the additional elements of generic cryptocurrency wallets. The cryptocurrency wallet is recited at a high level of generality such that it amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component. Even in combination, these additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application and do not amount to significantly more than the abstract idea itself. The claims are ineligible.
As for dependent claim 5 (first instance), this claim recites limitations that further define the abstract idea noted above. In addition, they recite the additional element of a terminal. The terminal is recited at a high level of generality such that it amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component. Even in combination, the additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application and do not amount to significantly more than the abstract idea itself. The claim is ineligible.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Sells et al. (US 2022/ 0051219 A1).
Specifically as to claim 1, Sells et al. disclose a unified resource transaction system and framework to facilitate transactions between users (user-to-user) and external parties (user-to-external party) comprising: at least one server computer, said at least one server computer
hosting an account management environment to a network which is accessible to users (Fig. 17; para [0105]); and wherein the account management environment is disposed in communication with sources of the users, facilitating transactional access to resources of said sources of the users (Fig. 17; para [0105]).
Specifically as to claim 2, wherein sources are financial accounts (Fig. 17; para [0105]).
Specifically as to claim 3, wherein sources are cryptocurrency wallets (Fig. 17; para [0105]).
Subject Matter Free from Prior Art
Claims 4-7 are free from Prior art. Specifically as to claim 4, Sells et al. teaches a method of enacting secured resource transactions between users and between users and external parties, the method comprising: connecting at least one server computer to a network (Figs. 16-17; para (0104]-[0105]); the at least one server computer hosting an account management environment which is accessible to users of the account management environment (Figs. 16-17; para [O 104]-[0105]). NY Digital further teaches user authentication (para [0025], and verification (para (0999]). However, none of the prior art, either taken alone or in combination, specifically teaches or fairly suggests the account management environment prompting users to create a nick; wherein a nick is a unique user identifier; users each selecting at least one nick via the account management environment; the account management environment storing the nicks in a database in communication with the at least one server computer; the account management environment verifying the selected nick(s) of each user via at least one authentication scheme; the account management environment assigning a UID to each user which is immutable; the account management environment prompting the user(s) to provide information pertaining to sources of their resources; the user(s) disclosing the location and type of their source(s), each containing resources; and the account management environment assigning each disclosed
source of the user to their verified nick.
Claims 5 (first), 5(second)-7 depend directly or indirectly from claim 4 and thus also are free of prior art for the same reasons.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Jung Jong et al. disclose a system and method for providing unface channel user interface by using nickname and recording medium (see especially figure 1). Youn discloses a method for providing an electronic commerce consumer with monetary benefits in quantity .
Kelly S. Campen
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3691
/KELLY S. CAMPEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3691