Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the
Claim 3 “a quick release lock”
must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because the specification is silent about claim 3 limitation “a quick release lock.” Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
Claim 3 is objected to because specification is silent about limitation “a quick release lock.” Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 5-7, and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a) (1) as being anticipated by D1 (Landwehr, DE 198 57 266).
For Claim 1, D1 discloses, in Figures 1-12, a wheel hub for clamping into a fork, the wheel hub comprising a wheel hub-axle (as shown below) and a hub housing (as shown below) held on the wheel hub- axle, wherein the wheel hub-axle is designed as a hollow shaft (P.3, para. [1]), and the wheel hub further comprises a thru-axle (1) which can be inserted through the hollow shaft (Hollow shaft surrounds axle 1, P.3, para. [1]) to clamp the wheel hub into a fork in order to subsequently fix it at its respective ends to the fork ends, characterized in that the wheel hub comprises a locking latch (5; P.3, para. [2]) movably held in the hub housing, which can be brought into a locking position to secure the thru-axle in the hollow shaft (Locking latch 5 engages a groove in axle 1. P.6, para. [5]), wherein the locking latch (5) engages in a recess provided on the thru-axle (Figure 8.)
For Claim 2, D1 discloses the wheel hub according to claim 1, characterized in that to lock the thru-axle (1) in the hollow shaft, the locking latch (5) can be inserted through an opening in the hollow shaft into the recess (Figures 7-8.)
For Claim 3, D1 discloses the wheel hub according to claim 1, characterized in that the thru-axle (1) has a quick-release lock at at least one of its ends (Figure 7.)
For Claim 5, D1 discloses the wheel hub according to claim 1, characterized in that the locking latch (5) can be biased by a spring (7, Figure 10), which brings the locking latch (5) into a locking position as its resting position (P.5, para. [2].)
Claim 6 (Currently Amended): The wheel hub according to claim 1, characterized in that the recess is designed as a circumferential groove on the thru-axle (Figure 8.)
For Claim 7, D1 discloses the wheel hub according to claim 1, characterized in that the recess is formed by at least one pocket (groove in axle 1 that receives the locking latch 5, Figure 8), which is created by a radial wedge-shaped cutout on the outer circumference of the thru-axle (Figure 8.)
For Claim 10, D1 discloses a wheel with a wheel hub according claim 1 (Description.)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4 and 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over D1 (Landwehr, DE 198 57 266) in view of D2 (Leudtke et al., US Pub 20200331549).
For Claim 4, D1 discloses the wheel hub according to claim 1, but does not disclose characterized in that the wheel hub comprises an internal actuation mechanism inside the hub housing with an electrically driven motor, by which the locking latch is movable.
D2 teaches an actuation mechanism with motor 704 and cam 716 to lock and unlock a slider 714 (para. [0035]) providing a safe and reliable locking system. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify D1 with an actuation system, such that the actuation mechanism disposed inside the hub housing with an electrically driven motor, by which the locking latch is movable, as taught by D2 with a reasonable expectation of success of having a safe and reliable locking system.
For Claim 9, D1 discloses the wheel hub according to claim 4, but does not disclose characterized in that the locking latch (5) is actuated by an eccentric cam, which is mounted on an output shaft of the motor.
D2 teaches an actuation mechanism with motor 704 and eccentric cam 716 mounted on the motor shaft to lock and unlock a slider 714 (para. [0035]) providing a safe and reliable locking system. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify D1 with an actuation system, such that the actuation mechanism disposed inside the hub housing with an electrically driven motor, by which the locking latch is movable, as taught by D2 with a reasonable expectation of success of having a safe and reliable locking system.
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over D1 (Landwehr, DE 198 57 266) in view of D3 (Vetterick et al., DE 43 20 663).
For Claim 8, D1 discloses the wheel hub according to claim 7, but does not disclose characterized in that a plurality of pockets is provided, which are spaced radially from each other around the outer circumference of the thru-axle, and the wedge shape of a respective cutout has a complementary shape to the part of the locking latch that fully contacts the pocket when engaged.
D3 teaches a latch, for bicycle, with shaft 2 having plurality of wedge shape recesses 3 and matching locking bolt end 6a (P.5, para. [4]) providing a safe and secured latch. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the axle of D1 with a plurality of recesses (pockets), such that the plurality of recesses are spaced radially from each other around the outer circumference of the thru-axle, and the wedge shape of a respective cutout has a complementary shape to the part of the locking latch that fully contacts the pocket when engaged, as taught by D3 with a reasonable expectation of success of having a safe and secured lock.
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over D1 (Landwehr, DE 198 57 266) in view of D4 (Nicolai, US Pub 2006-0158022).
For Claim 11, D1 discloses a vehicle with a wheel according to claim 10, but does not disclose further comprising a fork with two fork legs, wherein at least one end of a fork leg has a closed bore for passing through the thru-axle.
D4 teaches a fork having two fork legs with at least one end of a fork leg has a closed bore (8) for passing through the thru-axle 18 (Figure 6) for ease of assembly. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify D1 with fork ends, such that at least one end of a fork leg has a closed bore for passing through the thru-axle, as taught by D4 with a reasonable expectation of success of providing ease of assembly.
Conclusion
Prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure and provides example of invention. A few of the prior art cited but not applied includes Watterson (US 1,150,406); Becker (US 10,173,465); and Terry (US 5,626,401).
/NATHAN CUMAR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3675