DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5 and 7-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Augst (DE-102014210943-A9 – see English translation for citations below).
As to claim 1, Augst teaches a display system for a vehicle, comprising:
a display field (see at least [0007] “a vehicle brand emblem .. is designed in such a way that its appearance can be changed depending on one or more predetermined criteria.”; [0037] “The brand emblem may also include one or more electronically controlled displays.”);
a controllable optical screen (see at least [0037] “A change in luminance and/or reflection properties can be achieved by changing transparency and/or translucency and/or by influencing reflectivity using an electrochromic, LC elements or TFT elements.”; [0038] “electrochromic elements, LC (Liquid Crystal) effects or TFT (Thin Film Transistor) elements are arranged and controlled in such a way that a pattern typical for a certain texture is formed.”); and
a control device (see at least [0010] “The change can be carried out automatically by a control unit”; [0075] “The change of the brand emblem 20 is carried out electronically by means of a control unit that is installed inside or separately from the brand emblem 20.”),
wherein the optical screen is arranged on and/or in front of the display field (see at least [0035] “the trademark emblem may comprise one or more at least partially translucent surface areas, behind which one or more light sources are arranged”; [0088] “the brand emblem can comprise .. at least partially translucent surface areas, .. behind which one or more light sources are arranged.”),
wherein the display field is configured to represent a display content (see at least [0034] “another trademark may be displayed in only part of the trademark emblem as an alternative or additional element to the corresponding content of the trademark emblem”; [0035] “one or more light sources are arranged, which are designed in particular to emit colored light in order to backlight a respective surface area ... Multiple light sources, preferably individually controllable, or groups of light sources can be controlled separately. They can also be arranged in a matrix, for example.”; [0037] “The brand emblem may also include one or more electronically controlled displays.”; [0099] “a mask that .. represent another brand”),
wherein the control device is configured to control the screen way of signals (see at least [0038] “electrochromic elements, LC (Liquid Crystal) effects or TFT (Thin Film Transistor) elements are arranged and controlled in such a way that a pattern typical for a certain texture is formed.”; [0043] “assignment .. can be achieved, using a look-up table and/or a predefined logical link.”; [0071] “control information is generated depending on one or more criteria, wherein the criteria represej5nt an operating mode of the vehicle, and the control information is transferred to the brand emblem to determine or change the appearance of the brand emblem as perceived by an observer from outside the vehicle.”), and
wherein the screen is configured to selectively represent a design which at least partially covers the display field based at least in part on the signals provided by the control device (see at least [0030] “some areas can change their color while other areas retain their color.”; [0038] “Textures can be created, for example, by controlling a light source that illuminates at least one layer of the brand emblem from the inside through a mask pattern. Textures can also be achieved by selectively changing the reflection properties and/or transparency and/or translucency. This can, for example, B. so-called electrochromic elements, LC (Liquid Crystal) effects or TFT (Thin Film Transistor) elements are arranged and controlled in such a way that a pattern typical for a certain texture is formed.”; [0045] “assigning a specific change in the appearance of the brand emblem to one or more criteria.”; [0071] “control information is generated.. , and the control information is transferred to the brand emblem to determine or change the appearance”; [0086] “individual surface segments .. change their color, while the other surface segments .. retain their color.”).
As to claim 10, Augst teaches a method for representing a design on and/or in front of a display content with a display system for a vehicle, comprising: representing display content by a display field of the display system (see at least [0034] “another trademark may be displayed in only part of the trademark emblem as an alternative or additional element to the corresponding content of the trademark emblem”; [0035] “one or more light sources are arranged, which are designed in particular to emit colored light in order to backlight a respective surface area … Multiple light sources, preferably individually controllable, or groups of light sources can be controlled separately. They can also be arranged in a matrix, for example.”; [0036] “One or more light sources can be controlled depending on the ambient light. This allows the correct luminous intensity and/or color rendering to be produced under various lighting conditions.”; [0037] “The brand emblem may also include one or more electronically controlled displays.”; [0099] “a mask that .. represent another brand”);
controlling an optical screen by way of signals from a control device, the screen arranged on and/or in front of a display field (see at least [0035] “the trademark emblem may comprise one or more at least partially translucent surface areas, behind which one or more light sources are arranged”; [0071] “control information is generated depending on one or more criteria, .., and the control information is transferred to the brand emblem to determine or change the appearance of the brand emblem”; [0088] “the brand emblem can comprise .. at least partially translucent surface areas, .. behind which one or more light sources are arranged.”); and
selectively representing the design by the screen based at least in part on the signals provided by the control device (see at least [0030] “some areas can change their color while other areas retain their color.”; [0038] “Textures can be created, for example, by controlling a light source that illuminates at least one layer of the brand emblem from the inside through a mask pattern. Textures can also be achieved by selectively changing the reflection properties and/or transparency and/or translucency. This can, for example, B. so-called electrochromic elements, LC (Liquid Crystal) effects or TFT (Thin Film Transistor) elements are arranged and controlled in such a way that a pattern typical for a certain texture is formed.”; [0045] “assigning a specific change in the appearance of the brand emblem to one or more criteria.”; [0071] “control information is generated.. , and the control information is transferred to the brand emblem to determine or change the appearance”; [0086] “individual surface segments .. change their color, while the other surface segments .. retain their color.”),
wherein the display field is at least partially covered by the represented design (see at least [0035] “the trademark emblem may comprise one or more at least partially translucent surface areas, behind which one or more light sources are arranged, which are designed in particular to emit colored light in order to backlight a respective surface area .. Multiple light sources, preferably individually controllable, or groups of light sources can be controlled separately.”; [0038] “Textures can be created, for example, by controlling a light source that illuminates at least one layer of the brand emblem from the inside through a mask pattern. Textures can also be achieved by selectively changing the reflection properties and/or transparency and/or translucency. This can, for example, so-called electrochromic elements, LC (Liquid Crystal) effects or TFT (Thin Film Transistor) elements are arranged and controlled in such a way that a pattern typical for a certain texture is formed.”).
As to claim 2, Augst teaches the display system according to claim 1 (see above rejection), wherein the screen is configured as a switchable glass, is configured as a thin-film transistor display, and/or includes electrical ink (see at least [0037] “A change in luminance and/or reflection properties can be achieved by changing transparency and/or translucency and/or by influencing reflectivity using an electrochromic, LC elements or TFT elements.”; [0038] “electrochromic elements, LC (Liquid Crystal) effects or TFT (Thin Film Transistor) elements are arranged and controlled in such a way that a pattern typical for a certain texture is formed.” – note “and/or” language requires only one in the list), and
wherein: the display field comprises light elements configured as organic light-emitting diodes or as micro-light-emitting diodes, or the display field is configured as a liquid crystal display or as a light source (see at least [0035] “For example, colored light-emitting diodes (LEDs) or color OLEDs can be used as light sources.”; [0088] “For example, color LEDs or color OLEDs can be used as light sources.” – note “or” language only requires one in the list).
As to claim 3, Augst teaches the display system according to claim 1 (see above rejection), wherein the screen is subdivided into at least two areas (see at least [0011] “The change in the appearance of the brand emblem preferably relates to the inner area (in the extended central area) of the brand emblem, which is located, in particular, within at least one, two or more borders.”; [0030] “For example, some areas can change their color while other areas retain their color.”; [0035] “Multiple light sources, preferably individually controllable, or groups of light sources can be controlled separately.”; [0076] “In the round central field 23, a circle divided into four area segments 24, 25, 26, 27 is arranged.”),
wherein at least one area is configured to be switched to be at least partially translucent (see at least [0037] “A change in luminance and/or reflection properties can be achieved by changing transparency and/or translucency and/or by influencing reflectivity using an electrochromic, LC elements or TFT elements.”; [0038] “Textures can also be achieved by selectively changing the reflection properties and/or transparency and/or translucency.”), and
wherein at least one further area is configured to be switched to be at least partially opaque (see at least [0037] “A change in luminance and/or reflection properties can be achieved by changing transparency and/or translucency and/or by influencing reflectivity using an electrochromic, LC elements or TFT elements.”; [0038] “Textures can also be achieved by selectively changing the reflection properties and/or transparency and/or translucency.” - note transparency exists on a continuous spectrum from 100% clear (transparent) to 0% clear (opaque) – therefore “changing transparency” includes at least partially opaque; further electrochromic elements work by altering their light transmission state when voltage is applied, typically transitioning from highly clear to a dark, heavily tinted, or opaque state to block light; LC (Liquid Crystal) elements work by twisting to either allow light through or cross-polarize to block it entirely. Switching an LC cell to block light makes it inherently opaque; TFT (Thin-Film Transistor) act as the active matrix switches driving the LC or electrochromic layers to change those exact light-blocking states - Because the underlying physical mechanisms of these elements are known to achieve opacity or near-opacity, "at least partially opaque" is inherent).
As to claim 4, Augst teaches the display system according to claim 1 (see above rejection), wherein the screen is configured to represent the design in color or in a translucent manner (see at least [0030] “the brand emblem is designed to change its color or color combination temporarily or permanently, at least in certain areas, by means of control by a control unit.”; [0038] “Textures can also be achieved by selectively changing the reflection properties and/or transparency and/or translucency.”).
As to claim 5, Augst teaches the display system according to claim 1 (see above rejection), wherein the screen is static and has a static design, or wherein the screen is configured to fix and/or retain a representation set by the control device for the design (see at least [0030] “According to a further embodiment, the brand emblem is designed to change its color or color combination temporarily or permanently, at least in certain areas, by means of control by a control unit.”; [0082] “The change in appearance can be carried out for a predetermined period of time or permanently.”).
As to claim 7, Augst teaches the display system according to claim 1 (see above rejection), wherein the display field and the screen are arranged on an outer wall of the vehicle and/or symmetrically to a central longitudinal axis of the vehicle (see at least [0002] “Brand emblems are located in various places on the vehicle. As a rule, at least one brand emblem is located on the hood and/or the radiator, at the rear of the vehicle usually on a flap”; [0068] “Preferably, the brand emblem is located (with the vehicle's handlebars in a straight position) in the coordinate position at Y = 0 in vehicle coordinates.”; [0074] “The vehicle 10 includes a bonnet 11, at the front end of which a brand emblem 20 is arranged” – note a location at Y=0 corresponds to the central longitudinal axis of the vehicle. The display field and optical screen are components of the exterior brand emblem and therefore share that exterior, centrally located arrangement).
As to claim 8, Augst teaches the display system according to claim 1 (see above rejection), wherein the control device is configured to control the display field by way of signals and to cause the display content to be represented (see at least [0034] “another trademark may be displayed in only part of the trademark emblem as an alternative or additional element to the corresponding content of the trademark emblem”; [0035] “Multiple light sources, preferably individually controllable, or groups of light sources can be controlled separately. They can also be arranged in a matrix, for example.”; [0036] “One or more light sources can be controlled depending on the ambient light. This allows the correct luminous intensity and/or color rendering to be produced under various lighting conditions.”; [0037] “The brand emblem may also include one or more electronically controlled displays.”; [0099] “a mask that .. represent another brand”).
As to claim 9, Augst teaches the display system according to claim 8 (see above rejection), wherein the display content of the display field is configured to represent information to road users in an area surrounding the vehicle (see at least [0005] “The object of the present invention is to provide a means of better signaling a state, preferably an active drive mode of a vehicle, to the outside.”; [0018] “Visualizing the type of drive allows other road users to visually perceive that the vehicle is electrically powered and therefore largely silent.”; [0025] “a change in the appearance of the brand emblem can visually confirm that the vehicle has been identified, so that an observer can also know that the garage door ... will open automatically.”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Augst (DE-102014210943-A9 – see English translation for citations below).
As to claim 6, Augst teaches the display system according to claim 1 (see above rejection), wherein the screen is configured to be set in one of an active state and a passive state (see at least [0046] “The trademark emblem according to the invention is designed in such a way that a change in appearance occurs or can occur in the active state.”),
wherein the screen is electrically connected to the control device in the active state (see [0075] “The change of the brand emblem 20 is carried out electronically by means of a control unit that is installed inside or separately from the brand emblem 20.”),
wherein the screen is configured to set the design to be represented as a function of the signals provided by the control device (see at least [0071] “control information is generated depending on one or more criteria, .., and the control information is transferred to the brand emblem to determine or change the appearance of the brand emblem”).
Augst does not directly teach wherein the screen is electrically disconnected from the control device in the passive state.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide an electrically disconnected passive or power-off state for Augst’s electronically controlled screen. Augst recognizes operation independent of the vehicle power supply and the desirability of reducing or avoiding continued electrical connection – see [0048] “This makes it possible to avoid connecting energy-consuming components of the brand emblem to a vehicle's electrical system. This allows the brand emblem to be attached independently of the vehicle's electrical system, especially the power supply system.”. Augst further teaches that the vehicle electrical system may be switched off while the emblem retains or continues its appearance using local stored energy – see [0049] “This allows the vehicle’s electrical system to operate as usual, e.g. be switched off after the vehicle is locked.”). In view of these teachings, it would have been obvious to provide a switching arrangement in which the optical screen is electrically connected to the control device during an active programming or updating state and electrically disconnected during a passive state. The reason would have been to reduce standby power consumption, isolate the screen after the desired design has been established, and permit operation or retention of the emblem appearance independently of the main vehicle control and power system. Electrically disconnecting the screen during a passive state would have amounted to the predictable use of a conventional power or signal-isolation switch to achieve Augst’s goal of avoiding unnecessary connection of energy-consuming emblem components to the vehicle electrical system.
Conclusion
/JENNIFER L ZUBAJLO/Examiner, Art Unit 2627 7/22/2026
/KE XIAO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2627