DETAILED ACTION
The present application is being examined under the AIA first to file provisions. In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
Application Status
This office action is in response to the claims filed 8/26/2025.
Claims 1-15 are currently pending and being examined.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The IDS filed on 8/26/2025 has been considered. See the attached PTO 1449 forms.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier.
Such claim limitations are:
“cap applicator devices configured to apply at least one cap to each package” in claim 11, which is being interpreted to encompass any cap applying device.
“a package forming apparatus for forming the packages and filling the packages with the pourable product” in claim 12, which is being interpreted to encompass any package forming apparatus capable of forming and filling packages.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-12 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
In claims 1, 2, and 5, “the control units” lack sufficient antecedent basis, since only “a control unit” was claimed in claim 1.
In claim 4, “the leading package” lacks sufficient antecedent basis.
In claim 10, “the distance between the seats” lacks sufficient antecedent basis.
“cap applicator devices” in claim 11 invokes 112(f) but is indefinite because no specific type of cap applicator devices are specified in the disclosure.
“a package forming apparatus for forming the packages and filling the packages with the pourable product” in claim 12 invokes 112(f) but is indefinite because no specific type of package forming apparatus is specified in the disclosure.
In the claim 15 preamble, “The method for applying caps” lacks sufficient antecedent basis.
Claims dependent on the above claims are therefore also rejected as being dependent on a rejected claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7 and 13-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Morselli et al. EP 3135613 in view of Cordia et al. US 5,341,915.
Regarding claim 1:
Morselli teaches a conveying apparatus (1) for conveying a succession of packages (C) of a pourable product ([0003], last sentence) along at least an advancement path (F); the conveying apparatus comprising: at least a belt conveying system (6, 7, 8) configured to advance the packages along a portion of the advancement path and between an inlet station (2) at which the belt conveying system receives the packages and an outlet station (8) at which the belt conveying system releases the packages; and
a control unit configured to control operation of the belt conveying system ([0062]-[0063]); wherein the belt conveying system comprises two conveyor belts (9) spaced apart from each other, advancing along respective paths and being configured to engage the packages advancing along the portion of the advancement path from opposite lateral sides thereof (see FIG. 2); at least a first sensor device configured to detect at a first detection station (L1) positioned between the inlet station and the outlet station a presence of a package and to generate a first signal associated with the presence of the detected package ([0062]-[0063]); wherein the conveying apparatus comprises a second sensor device arranged at a second detection station (L2) and configured to detect a presence of a package to generate a second signal associated with the presence of the package at the second detection station ([0071]-[0074]).
Morselli does not teach the control units configured to accelerate and/or decelerate the conveyor belts on the basis of the first signal; and the second sensor device configured to detect a presence of a package about to be released at the outlet station and to generate a second signal associated with the presence of the package at the outlet station.
Cordia teaches an alternative conveyor system to precisely feed articles (abstract), having at least a first sensor device (P2) configured to detect at a first detection station (see FIG. 5b) positioned between the inlet station and the outlet station a presence of a package and to generate a first signal associated with the presence of the detected package (col. 10, lines 48-51); wherein the control unit (60) is configured to accelerate and/or decelerate the conveyor belts on the basis of the first signal (col. 10, lines 51-54), wherein, the conveying apparatus comprises a second sensor device (P1) arranged at a second detection station (see FIG. 2) and configured to detect a presence of a package about to be released at the outlet station and to generate a second signal associated with the presence of the package at the outlet station (col. 8, line 64 through col. 9, line 10).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, at the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the sensor arrangement and control of Morselli’s apparatus by providing speed control of the conveyor based on the signals of first and second sensors arranged as claimed, as taught by Cordia, since this would lead to a precisely controlled feeding of the packages based on their actual positions.
Regarding claim 2:
The combination of Morselli and Cordia teaches the conveying apparatus according to claim 1, as discussed above, wherein the control units configured to accelerate and/or decelerate the conveyor belts such that the detected package is released at the outlet station at a predetermined speed (Cordia, col. 4, lines 60-65).
Regarding claim 3:
The combination of Morselli and Cordia teaches the conveying apparatus according to claim 2, as discussed above, wherein the predetermined speed is the same for each one of the packages of said succession, which are detected by the first sensor device (Cordia, col. 8, line 64 through col. 9, line 10).
Regarding claim 4:
The combination of Morselli and Cordia teaches the conveying apparatus according to claim 3, as discussed above, wherein the leading package is subject to only one step of accelerating and one step of decelerating (Cordia, col. 4, lines 49-55).
Regarding claim 5:
The combination of Morselli and Cordia teaches the conveying apparatus according to claim 2, as discussed above, wherein the belt conveying system comprises one or more motors (Cordia, 54, 58) configured to advance the conveyor belts along the respective paths; wherein the control units configured to control the one or more motors such that, in use, the one or more motors advance the conveyor belts in a manner that each package is released at the outlet station at the predetermined speed and/or that each package is subject to at least one step of accelerating and one step of decelerating (col. 4, lines 45-55).
Regarding claim 6:
The combination of Morselli and Cordia teaches the conveying apparatus according to claim 1, as discussed above, wherein the second detection station substantially coincides with the outlet station (i.e., it is downstream of the first detection station, thus coinciding with the outlet).
Regarding claim 7:
The combination of Morselli and Cordia teaches the conveying apparatus according to claim 1, as discussed above, further comprising the packages of said succession, wherein each package has a predetermined length along the advancement path; wherein a distance between the first detection station and the outlet station is greater than the predetermined length of each package (see FIG. 5c).
Regarding claim 13:
The combination of Morselli and Cordia teaches a method for conveying a succession of packages of a pourable product along at least an advancement path, the method comprising the steps of: advancing the packages along a portion of the advancement path and between an inlet station and an outlet station by means of two conveyor belts spaced apart from each other and engaging the packages from opposite lateral sides thereof; detecting at a first detection station between the inlet station and the outlet station a presence of a package at the first detection station; and generating a first signal associated with the presence of a detected package at the first detection station; controlling, on the basis of at least the first signal, the conveyor belts; releasing the packages at the outlet station, further comprising the following steps: detecting a presence of a package about to be released at the outlet station, and generating a second signal associated with the presence of the package at the outlet station (all addressed in claim 1 rejection above), wherein the conveyor belts are controlled also as a function of the second signal (Cordia, col. 8, line 64 through col. 9, line 2).
Regarding claim 14:
The combination of Morselli and Cordia teaches the method according to claim 13, as discussed above, wherein the conveyor belts are controlled so as to release each package at the outlet station at a predetermined speed (Cordia, col. 4, lines 60-65).
Claims 8-12 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of Morselli and Cordia, as applied above, and further in view of Applicant Admitted Prior Art (“AAPA”).
Regarding claims 8-10, and 15:
The combination of Morselli and Cordia teaches the conveying apparatus according to claim 1, as discussed above, but does not teach wherein the conveying apparatus comprises an auxiliary conveyor having a plurality of seats, each seat being configured to host at least one respective package, and being configured to advance the seats along an auxiliary path; wherein the belt conveying system is configured to align the packages with respect to the seats such that each package being released at the outlet station is fed to a respective seat; wherein the control unit is configured to accelerate and/or decelerate the conveyor belts such that the detected package is released at the outlet station at a predetermined speed, wherein the auxiliary conveyor is configured to advance the seats at a defined advancement speed; wherein the belt conveying system is configured such that the predetermined speed substantially corresponds to the defined advancement speed; wherein each package is released relative to one another at a distance which is equal to a distance or a multiple of the distance between the seats.
However, AAPA teaches “the belt conveying system generally feeds the packages to an auxiliary conveyor having a plurality of seats and configured to convey the packages within at least one treatment apparatus comprising at least one treatment device, e.g. cap applicator, arranged along a path defined by the auxiliary conveyor. In particular, the belt conveying system is configured to feed the packages to the auxiliary conveyor such that each package is correctly positioned and fed into a respective seat” (see Background Art section of the submitted specification).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, at the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the apparatus of the combination of Morselli and Cordia, by providing an auxiliary conveyor having a plurality of seats, each seat being configured to host at least one respective package, and being configured to advance the seats along an auxiliary path; wherein the belt conveying system is configured to align the packages with respect to the seats such that each package being released at the outlet station is fed to a respective seat, as taught by AAPA, in order to further process the packages. It would have further been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, at the effective filing date of the invention, to ensure the control unit is configured to accelerate and/or decelerate the conveyor belts such that the detected package is properly released at the outlet station at a predetermined speed, wherein the auxiliary conveyor is configured to advance the seats at a defined advancement speed; wherein the belt conveying system is configured such that the predetermined speed substantially corresponds to the defined advancement speed; wherein each package is released relative to one another at a distance which is equal to a distance or a multiple of the distance between the seats, in order to ensure the packages are properly released, received, and conveyed by the apparatus.
Regarding claim 11:
The combination of Morselli and Cordia teaches a conveying apparatus according to claim 1 (see claim 1 rejection above).
The combination of Morselli and Cordia does not teach a capping machine for applying caps on packages filled with a pourable product, the capping machine comprises: a cap applicator device configured to apply at least one cap to each package; wherein the one or more cap applicator devices is arranged downstream from the belt conveying system.
However, AAPA teaches “a treatment machine may be arranged in a position operatively downstream from the filling machine and configured to execute one or more additional treatments on the packages. For example, the treatment machine may comprise a cap applicator for applying caps on the packages” (page 3 of the submitted specification).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, at the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the apparatus of the combination of Morselli and Cordia, by providing a downstream capping machine with a cap applicator device, as taught by AAPA, to apply caps to the stream of packages for use by a consumer.
Regarding claim 12:
The combination of Morselli, Cordia, and AAPA teaches a packaging plant for producing packages filled with a pourable product, the packaging plant comprising: a package forming apparatus for forming the packages and filling the packages with the pourable product (see Background Art section of the submitted specification: “Packages formed from the afore-described multilayer packaging material are normally produced in fully automatic packaging plants, which at least form the packages from the multilayer packaging material and fill the packages with the pourable food product”); at least one capping machine according to claim 11 (see claim 11 rejection above).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: for example, see sensors 30 and 31 in Brizzi et al. US 5,473,862 and sensors 35 in FIG. 4 of Crawford et al. US 4,921,092.
/DARIUSH SEIF/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3731