DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 0 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
101 Analysis – Step 1
Claim 1 is directed to an apparatus (i.e. a machine), therefore, the claim is within at least one of the four statutory categories.
Claim 13 is directed toward a method (i.e. a process), therefore, the claim is within at least one of the four statutory categories.
Claim 14 is directed to a computer-readable non-transitory recording medium (i.e. a machine), therefore, the claim is within at least one of the four statutory categories.
101 Analysis – Step 2A, Prong I
Regarding Prong I of the Step 2A analysis in the 2019 PEG, the claims are to be analyzed
to determine whether they recite subject matter that falls within one of the follow groups of abstract ideas: a) mathematical concepts, b) certain methods of organizing human activity, and/or c) mental processes.
Independent claim 13 includes limitations that recite an abstract idea (emphasized below)
and will be used as a representative claim for the remainder of the 101 rejection. Claim 13 recites:
13. A method of restricting a movement of a robot toward an outside of a predetermined allowable operation range, the method comprising:
acquiring, by a processor, a current position of the robot;
determining, by the processor, a first direction toward the outside and a second direction orthogonal to the first direction, on the basis of the acquired current position and a boundary of the allowable operation range adjacent to the current position;
generating, by the processor, a first movement command for moving the robot in the determined first direction, and a second movement command for moving the robot in the determined second direction, in order to move the robot; and
restricting, by the processor, a movement of the robot in accordance with the first movement command, while permitting a movement of the robot in accordance with the second movement command.
The examiner submits that the foregoing bolded limitation(s) constitute a “mental process” because under its broadest reasonable interpretation, the claim covers performance of the limitation in the human mind. Specifically, “acquiring… a current position of the robot” may encompasses a mental process as a person may simply look at the robot and make an evaluation of the robot’s current position. The step of “determining… a first direction toward the outside and a second direction orthogonal to the first direction, on the basis of the acquired current position and a boundary of the allowable operation range adjacent to the current position” may also encompass a mental process as the same person can look at the robot and make a mental determination of the directions that would cause the robot to move out towards the boundary of the robot’s allowable operation range. The person may additionally determine in his or her mind a direction that is orthogonal to the previously determined direction. Furthermore, “restricting … a movement of the robot in accordance with the first movement command, while permitting a movement of the robot in accordance with the second movement command” may be interpreted as a person making an evaluation of permitting or restricting a movement command under the broadest reasonable interpretation if the movement command is interpreted as an mere mental instruction and not a signal.
The examiner submits that the foregoing bolded limitation(s) constitute a “mathematical concept” because under its broadest reasonable interpretation, the claim recites limitations that are based on or involve a mathematical concept. The “restricting … a movement of the robot in accordance with the first movement command, while permitting a movement of the robot in accordance with the second movement command” may encompass a mathematical concept under the broadest reasonable interpretation as paragraphs 0088 and 0089 of the specification discloses wherein the movement restriction processing of steps S18 and S19 includes the previously generated first and second movement commands being inputted into an arithmetic element which “performs arithmetic processing such as multiplication of the coefficient p for movement restriction on the first movement command Cm1”.
101 Analysis – Step 2A, Prong II
Regarding Prong II of the Step 2A analysis in the 2019 PEG, the claims are to be analyzed to determine whether the claim, as a whole, integrates the abstract into a practical application. As noted in the 2019 PEG, it must be determined whether any additional elements in the claim beyond the abstract idea integrate the exception into a practical application in a manner that imposes a meaningful limit on the judicial exception. The courts have indicated that additional elements merely using a computer to implement an abstract idea, adding insignificant extra solution activity, or generally linking use of a judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use do not integrate a judicial exception into a “practical application.”
In the present case, the additional limitations beyond the above-noted abstract idea are as follows (where the underlined portions are the “additional limitations” while the bolded portions continue to represent the “abstract idea”):
13. A method of restricting a movement of a robot toward an outside of a predetermined allowable operation range, the method comprising:
acquiring, by a processor, a current position of the robot;
determining, by the processor, a first direction toward the outside and a second direction orthogonal to the first direction, on the basis of the acquired current position and a boundary of the allowable operation range adjacent to the current position;
generating, by the processor, a first movement command for moving the robot in the determined first direction, and a second movement command for moving the robot in the determined second direction, in order to move the robot; and
restricting, by the processor, a movement of the robot in accordance with the first movement command, while permitting a movement of the robot in accordance with the second movement command.
For the following reason(s), the examiner submits that the above identified additional limitations do not integrate the above-noted abstract idea into a practical application.
Regarding the additional limitations of “by the processor”, the examiner submits that these limitations amount to nothing more than an instruction to apply the abstract idea using a generic computer as the recited components are recited at a high level of generality (i.e. as a general means of determining the current position, the first and second direction, and restricting the movement). Furthermore, the “generating, by the processor, a first movement command for moving the robot in the determined first direction, and a second movement command for moving the robot in the determined second direction, in order to move the robot” limitations are insignificant extra-solution activities to the judicial exceptions because the generation of the movement commands is insignificant and does not impose a meaningful limit as the movement commands have yet to be output to the robot, as described in paragraphs 88 and 89 of the specification.
Thus, taken alone, the additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. Further, looking at the additional limitation(s) as an ordered combination or as a whole, the limitation(s) add nothing that is not already present when looking at the elements taken individually. For instance, there is no indication that the additional elements, when considered as a whole, reflect an improvement in the functioning of a computer or an improvement to another technology or technical field, apply or use the above-noted judicial exception to effect a particular treatment or prophylaxis for a disease or medical condition, implement/use the above-noted judicial exception with a particular machine or manufacture that is integral to the claim, effect a transformation or reduction of a particular article to a different state or thing, or apply or use the judicial exception in some other meaningful way beyond generally linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment, such that the claim as a whole is not more than a drafting effort designed to monopolize the exception (MPEP § 2106.05). Accordingly, the additional limitation(s) do/does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea.
101 Analysis – Step 2B
Regarding Step 2B of the Revised Guidance, representative independent claim 1 does not include additional elements (considered both individually and as an ordered combination) that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception for the same reasons to those discussed above with respect to determining that the claim does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional elements of “by the processor” amounts to nothing more than an instruction to apply the abstract idea using a generic computer and the “generating a first and second movement commands” limitations are insignificant extra-solution activities.
Further, a conclusion that an additional element is insignificant extra-solution activity in Step 2A should be re-evaluated in Step 2B to determine if they are move than what is well-understood, routine, conventional activity in the field. The additional limitations of “storing at the memory and sending to the interceptor of the validation route,” are well-understood, routine, and conventional activities because the validation route is generically claimed to be stored at the memory and sent to the interceptor. MPEP 2106.05(d)(II), and the cases cited therein, including Intellectual Ventures I, LLC v. Symantec Corp., 838 F.3d 1307, 1321 (Fed. Cir. 2016), TLI Communications LLC v. AV Auto. LLC, 823 F.3d 607, 610 (Fed. Cir. 2016), and OIP Techs., Inc., v. Amazon.com, Inc., 788 F.3d 1359, 1363 (Fed. Cir. 2015), indicate that mere collection or receipt of data over a network is a well‐understood, routine, and conventional function when it is claimed in a merely generic manner. Hence, the claim is not patent eligible. Additionally, independent claims 1 and 13 reciting the same or similar elements as above is not patent eligible as for the same reasons described above.
Dependent claim(s) 2-12 and 14 do not recite any further limitations that cause the claim(s) to be patent eligible. Rather, the limitations of dependent claims 2-12 and 14 are directed toward additional aspects of the judicial exception (since the limitations of claims 2-12 simply address the “acquiring… determining… and restricting…” limitations of claims 1 and 13), insignificant extra-solution activities that merely use a computer (since the limitations of claim 14 is recited at a high level of generality and merely describe how to generally “apply” the abstract ideas using a computing device), and/or well-understood, routine and conventional additional elements that do not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application (since the limitations of claims 2-12 and 14 are recited as a general means of gathering data for use in the following steps, recite generic computer components, are insignificant extra-solution activities, and are well-understood, routine, and conventional activities). Therefore, dependent claims 2-12 and 14 are not patent eligible under the same rationale as provided for in the rejection of claims 1 and 13.
Therefore, claim(s) 1-14 is/are ineligible under 35 USC §101.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Isobe (JP 7028083 B2).
Regarding claim 1, Isobe discloses:
An apparatus configured to restrict a movement of a robot toward an outside of a predetermined allowable operation range (Fig. 1, robot control device 3), the apparatus comprising:
a position acquisition unit configured to acquire a current position of the robot (at least as in page 4, line 20-21, “PO is the actual hand position of the robot arm 1”);
a direction setting unit configured to determine a first direction toward the outside and a second direction orthogonal to the first direction, on the basis of the current position acquired by the position acquisition unit and a boundary of the allowable operation range adjacent to the current position (at least as in page 4, line 25-31, “FIG. 4 is an explanatory diagram of a position command correction process performed by the position command correction unit 7 in step S4. X .sub.d is a component that has invaded the operation limiting area 10 of the position command, and is a line segment connecting the hand position PO of the current robot arm .sub.1 and the position command P d .sub.and a plane defining the operation limiting area 10. When the intersection is P .sub.C , the position vector from P .sub.C to P .sub.d is X.sub.d”; at least as in page 4, line 38-47, “the vector X .sub.d connecting the calculated PC and the position command .sub.P .sub.d is calculated, and the X .sub.d is decomposed into a vector X .sub.n orthogonal to the plane defining the operation restriction region 10 and a vector X .sub.t on the plane”);
a command generating unit configured to generate a first movement command for moving the robot in the first direction determined by the direction setting unit, and a second movement command for moving the robot in the second direction determined by the direction setting unit, in order to move the robot (at least as in page 4, ln. 42-46, wherein “the vector X .sub.d connecting the calculated PC and the position command .sub.P .sub.d is calculated, and the X .sub.d is decomposed into a vector X .sub.n orthogonal to the plane defining the operation restriction region 10 and a vector X .sub.t on the plane. .. From the X .sub.n calculated above and the preset correction coefficient α, the corrected position command P .sub.mod is calculated using the above equation (1)” and further wherein equation (1) generates the corrected position command by removing the orthogonal vector component of the from the original position command); and
a movement restriction unit configured to restrict a movement of the robot in accordance with the first movement command, while permitting a movement of the robot in accordance with the second movement command (at least as in page 5, ln. 1-2, “The position command correction unit 7 outputs the corrected position command P .sub.mod calculated above to the inverse kinematics calculation unit 8”; at least as in page 5, ln. 3-8, “The inverse kinematics calculation unit 8 calculates the angle pattern of each joint axis of the robot arm 1 from the position command, and the angle pattern selection unit 9 is among the angle patterns of each joint axis calculated by the inverse kinematics calculation unit 8. The robot arm 1 selects the angle pattern of each joint axis that does not invade the motion restriction area stored in the motion restriction area storage unit 6, and the position command converted into the angle pattern of each joint axis is sent to each joint axis of the robot arm 1”).
Regarding claim 2, Isobe further discloses:
The apparatus of claim 1, further comprising a reference point setting unit configured to determine, as a reference point, a point on the boundary adjacent to the current position acquired by the position acquisition unit, wherein the direction setting unit is configured to determine the first direction and the second direction with reference to the reference point set by the reference point setting unit (at least as in page 4, ln. 42-46, wherein “the vector X .sub.d connecting the calculated PC and the position command .sub.P .sub.d is calculated, and the X .sub.d is decomposed into a vector X .sub.n orthogonal to the plane defining the operation restriction region 10 and a vector X .sub.t on the plane. .. From the X .sub.n calculated above and the preset correction coefficient α, the corrected position command P .sub.mod is calculated using the above equation (1)”; at least as in page 4, ln. 23-24, “P .sub.mod is the position command. Indicates the position command corrected by the correction unit”; at least as in page 4, ln. 30-31, “By using the preset correction coefficient α (α ≧ 1), the corrected position command is calculated by the following equation (1)").
Regarding claim 3, Isobe further discloses:
The apparatus of claim 2, wherein the reference point setting unit is configured to determine, as the reference point, the point having a minimum distance from the current position (at least as in page 4, ln. 25-47, wherein the corrected position command is calculated through equation (1) by calculating the vector between the current hand position and the initial command position Pd, decomposing the vector Xd into orthogonal vector Xn and vector Xt which is on the plane, subtracting Xn from Xd based on a correction coefficient, therefore, Pmod is the point having a minimum distance from the current position command Po).
Regarding claim 4, Isobe further discloses:
The apparatus of claim 2, wherein the direction setting unit is configured to determine, as the first direction, a normal direction of the boundary at the reference point determined by the reference point setting unit (at least as in page 2, ln. 30-33, “When the hand of the robot arm 1 approaches the operation limiting area 10 according to the position command generated by the position command generation unit 5, the position command correction unit 7 outputs a component in the boundary surface normal direction of the operation restriction area 10 of the position command. Decrease and correct the position command of the destination of the hand”).
Regarding claim 5, Isobe further discloses:
The apparatus of claim 2, wherein the direction setting unit is configured to set an operation range coordinate system, an origin of the operation range coordinate system being the reference point set by the reference point setting unit, the operation range coordinate system including a first axis defining the first direction and a second axis defining the second direction, wherein the command generating unit is configured to generate the first movement command in the direction of the first axis and the second movement command in the direction of the second axis, with reference to the operation range coordinate system (at least as in page 4, ln. 29-31, “the intersection is P .sub.C , the position vector from P .sub.C to P .sub.d is X.sub.d .”; at least as in page 4, ln. 38-47, “The intersection P .sub.C between the line segment connecting P .sub.d and the plane defining the operation restriction area 10 stored in the operation restriction area storage unit 6 is calculated. Next, the vector X .sub.d connecting the calculated PC and the position command .sub.P .sub.d is calculated, and the X .sub.d is decomposed into a vector X .sub.n orthogonal to the plane defining the operation restriction region 10 and a vector X .sub.t on the plane”; at least as in page 2, ln. 30-33, “the position command correction unit 7 outputs a component in the boundary surface normal direction of the operation restriction area 10 of the position command. Decrease and correct the position command of the destination of the hand”).
Regarding claim 6, Isobe further discloses:
The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the command generating unit is configured to:
generate a movement command for moving the robot to the outside (at least as in page 3, ln. 23-24, “in step S1, the external operating force detecting unit 4 determines whether or not a force is applied to the robot arm 1 by the operator”; at least as in page 3, ln. 27-31, “When the external operation force detection unit 4 detects the external operation force, the process proceeds to step S2, and the external operation force detection unit 4 converts the information of the external operation force acquired from the robot arm 1 into the external operation force information and generates a position command”);
generate a component in the first direction of the movement command as the first movement command (at least as in page 3, ln. 31-34, “As the external operating force information, vector information of the force to the hand of the robot arm 1, torque information of each joint axis of the robot arm 1, deviation between the command position of each joint axis of the robot arm 1 and the actual position, etc. can be considered”; at least as in page 4, ln. 25-47, wherein the position vector Xd of the position command Pd consists of vector component Xn); and
generate a component in the second direction of the movement command as the second movement command (at least as in page 3, ln. 31-34, “As the external operating force information, vector information of the force to the hand of the robot arm 1, torque information of each joint axis of the robot arm 1, deviation between the command position of each joint axis of the robot arm 1 and the actual position, etc. can be considered”; at least as in page 4, ln. 25-47, wherein the position vector Xd of the position command Pd consists of vector component Xt).
Regarding claim 7, Isobe further discloses:
The apparatus of claim 6, wherein the first movement command and the second movement command each include a command value that defines a velocity of the robot, an acceleration of the robot, or a torque to drive the robot, wherein the movement restriction unit is configured to restrict the movement of the robot in accordance with the first movement command by decreasing the command value of the first movement command, while permitting the movement of the robot in accordance with the second movement command without decreasing the command value of the second movement command (at least as in page 5, ln. 40-51, “when the robot arm 1 invades the operation limiting area 10 by the position command generated based on the external operation force information, the position command is given. A position command correction unit 7 for generating a corrected position command by reducing the component in the boundary surface normal direction of the operation restriction region 10 is provided”; at least as in page 2, ln. 1-6, “the robot arm is driven in the same manner as before using the corrected force information after making a correction to reduce the component of the force information applied to the hand in the movement limiting area direction. do. As a result, as the hand approaches the movement-restricted area, the force in the movement-restricted area is ignored”).
Regarding claim 8, Isobe further discloses:
The apparatus of claim 1, further comprising:
a force acquisition unit configured to acquire a handling force applied to the robot in order to move the robot (at least as in page 2, ln. 15-18, “The robot arm 1 includes a sensor 2 capable of detecting the magnitude of a force applied from the outside to the hand of the robot arm 1. The device capable of detecting the magnitude of the force is not limited to the torque sensor and the force sensor, but may be the current value of each joint shaft motor”); and
a force component arithmetic unit configured to obtain a component in the first direction of the handling force acquired by the force acquisition unit as a first force component, and obtain a component in the second direction of the handling force as a second force component, wherein the command generating unit is configured to generate the first movement command in response to the first force component obtained by the force component arithmetic unit, and generate the second movement command in response to the second force component obtained by the force component arithmetic unit (at least as in page 2, ln. 22-26, “The external operation force detection unit 4 detects the external operation force applied to the hand of the robot arm 1 from the force information acquired from the sensor 2 of the robot arm 1… The position command generation unit 5 generates a position command instructing the position of the movement destination of the hand of the robot arm 1 based on the external operation force information transmitted from the external operation force detection unit 4”; at least as in page 2, ln. 30-33, “When the hand of the robot arm 1 approaches the operation limiting area 10 according to the position command generated by the position command generation unit 5, the position command correction unit 7 outputs a component in the boundary surface normal direction of the operation restriction area 10 of the position command”).
Regarding claim 9, Isobe further discloses:
The apparatus of claim 8, wherein the movement restriction unit is configured to restrict the movement of the robot in accordance with the first movement command by decreasing the first force component, while permitting the movement of the robot in accordance with the second movement command without decreasing the second force component (at least as in page 5, ln. 40-51, “when the robot arm 1 invades the operation limiting area 10 by the position command generated based on the external operation force information, the position command is given. A position command correction unit 7 for generating a corrected position command by reducing the component in the boundary surface normal direction of the operation restriction region 10 is provided”; at least as in page 2, ln. 1-6, “the robot arm is driven in the same manner as before using the corrected force information after making a correction to reduce the component of the force information applied to the hand in the movement limiting area direction. do. As a result, as the hand approaches the movement-restricted area, the force in the movement-restricted area is ignored”).
Regarding claim 10, Isobe further discloses:
The apparatus of claim 1, further comprising:
a position arithmetic unit configured to obtain a target position for moving the robot from the current position (at least as in page 2, ln. 24-26, “The position command generation unit 5 generates a position command instructing the position of the movement destination of the hand of the robot arm 1 based on the external operation force information transmitted from the external operation force detection unit 4”); and
a notification signal generating unit configured to generate a notification signal for notifying a movement direction from the current position to the target position or a distance between the target position and the boundary (at least as in page 5, ln. 20-25, “the position command correction unit 7 performs the position command correction process, and at the same time, whether or not the hand of the robot arm 1 invades the operation restriction area 10 from the position command correction unit 7 into the alarm generation unit 12. Tell the judgment result. When the alarm generation unit 12 receives a determination result that the hand of the robot arm 1 invades the operation restriction area 10, it generates an alarm indicating a factor of invading the operation restriction area 10”).
Regarding claim 11, Isobe further discloses:
The apparatus of claim 1, further comprising a position arithmetic unit configured to obtain a target position for moving the robot from the current position, wherein the movement restriction unit is configured to prohibit the movement of the robot in the first direction, when the target position obtained by the position arithmetic unit is outside the allowable operation range (at least as in page 2, ln. 30-33, “When the hand of the robot arm 1 approaches the operation limiting area 10 according to the position command generated by the position command generation unit 5, the position command correction unit 7 outputs a component in the boundary surface normal direction of the operation restriction area 10 of the position command. Decrease and correct the position command of the destination of the hand”; at least as in page 3, ln. 48-51, “When it is determined by the position command correction unit 7 in step S3 that the hand of the robot arm 1 invades the operation restriction area 10 with the position command as it is, the process proceeds to step S4, and the position command correction unit 7 corrects the position command”).
Regarding claim 12, Isobe further discloses:
The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the position acquisition unit is configured to repeatedly acquire the current positions when the movement restriction unit moves the robot in a restricted manner, and wherein the apparatus further comprises an operation range setting unit configured to set a new allowable operation range on the basis of the current position acquired by the position acquisition unit during the restricted movement (at least as in page 4, ln. 20-24, “PO is the actual hand position of the robot arm 1 calculated from the rotation angle of each joint axis acquired from the motor encoder of the robot arm”; at least as in page 3, ln. 11-21, “The information of the operation restriction area 10 is defined in the three-dimensional position coordinate system in the robot control device 3… defining the operation restriction area 10, a method of designating three positions in the three-dimensional space and dividing the area by using an infinite plane in the three-dimensional space, or a method of setting the area of the three-dimensional polyhedron by using a plurality of planes… a method of operating the robot arm 1 at the corresponding position, and a method of setting the hand position information of the robot arm 1 by the method. There is”; at least as in page 5, ln. 12-25, “the position command correction unit 7 performs the position command correction process, and at the same time, whether or not the hand of the robot arm 1 invades the operation restriction area 10 from the position command correction unit 7 into the alarm generation unit 12”; at least as in page 5, ln. 26-30, “it is determined by the position command correction unit 7 that the position command P.sub.d has invaded the operation restriction area 10 and that the hand of the robot arm 1 has invaded the operation restriction area 10 in the position command P .sub.d as it is in step S3. At this time, the operation of the robot arm may be stopped until the operator applies a force so as not to enter the operation restriction area 10”).
Regarding claim 13, Isobe discloses:
A method of restricting a movement of a robot toward an outside of a predetermined allowable operation range, the method comprising:
acquiring, by a processor, a current position of the robot (at least as in page 4, line 20-21, “PO is the actual hand position of the robot arm 1”);
determining, by the processor, a first direction toward the outside and a second direction orthogonal to the first direction, on the basis of the acquired current position and a boundary of the allowable operation range adjacent to the current position (at least as in page 4, line 25-31, “FIG. 4 is an explanatory diagram of a position command correction process performed by the position command correction unit 7 in step S4. X .sub.d is a component that has invaded the operation limiting area 10 of the position command, and is a line segment connecting the hand position PO of the current robot arm .sub.1 and the position command P d .sub.and a plane defining the operation limiting area 10. When the intersection is P .sub.C , the position vector from P .sub.C to P .sub.d is X.sub.d”; at least as in page 4, line 38-47, “the vector X .sub.d connecting the calculated PC and the position command .sub.P .sub.d is calculated, and the X .sub.d is decomposed into a vector X .sub.n orthogonal to the plane defining the operation restriction region 10 and a vector X .sub.t on the plane”);
generating, by the processor, a first movement command for moving the robot in the determined first direction, and a second movement command for moving the robot in the determined second direction, in order to move the robot (at least as in page 4, ln. 42-46, wherein “the vector X .sub.d connecting the calculated PC and the position command .sub.P .sub.d is calculated, and the X .sub.d is decomposed into a vector X .sub.n orthogonal to the plane defining the operation restriction region 10 and a vector X .sub.t on the plane. .. From the X .sub.n calculated above and the preset correction coefficient α, the corrected position command P .sub.mod is calculated using the above equation (1)” and further wherein equation (1) generates the corrected position command by removing the orthogonal vector component of the from the original position command); and
restricting, by the processor, a movement of the robot in accordance with the first movement command, while permitting a movement of the robot in accordance with the second movement command (at least as in page 5, ln. 1-2, “The position command correction unit 7 outputs the corrected position command P .sub.mod calculated above to the inverse kinematics calculation unit 8”; at least as in page 5, ln. 3-8, “The inverse kinematics calculation unit 8 calculates the angle pattern of each joint axis of the robot arm 1 from the position command, and the angle pattern selection unit 9 is among the angle patterns of each joint axis calculated by the inverse kinematics calculation unit 8. The robot arm 1 selects the angle pattern of each joint axis that does not invade the motion restriction area stored in the motion restriction area storage unit 6, and the position command converted into the angle pattern of each joint axis is sent to each joint axis of the robot arm 1”).
Regarding claim 14, Isobe further discloses:
A computer-readable non-transitory recording medium configured to record a computer program that causes the processor to execute the method of claim 13 (at least as in page 2, ln. 19-21, “The robot control device 3 includes an external operation force detection unit 4, a position command generation unit 5, an operation limiting area storage unit 6, a position command correction unit 7, an inverse kinematics calculation unit 8, and an angle pattern selection unit 9”).
Conclusion
/RICARDO I VISCARRA/Examiner, Art Unit 3657
/ADAM R MOTT/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3657