DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which applicant regards as the invention. A broad range or limitation followed by linking terms (e.g., preferably, maybe, for instance, especially) and a narrow range or limitation within the broad range or limitation is considered indefinite since the resulting claim does not clearly set forth the metes and bounds of the patent protection desired. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a1) as being anticipated by JPH0874760 to Masao.
As to claim 1, Masao discloses A scroll pump comprising: an inlet for receiving fluid to be pumped (16/17 Fig 3,9,13); an outlet for conveying pumped fluid from the scroll pump (20); and two scroll members comprising a fixed scroll and an orbiting scroll interleaving with the fixed scroll and mounted such that rotation of a motor imparts an orbital motion to the orbiting scroll relative to the fixed scroll (5b,6b Fig 3,9,13), each of said scroll members comprising a base from which an involute wall extends to define a pumping chamber for conveying fluid from the inlet to the outlet (5,6,Fig 13) and which, with orbital movement of the orbiting scroll, transitions from an open configuration, in which the pumping chamber receives fluid from the inlet along a first flow path, to a closed configuration (Fig 3,9; Abs), in which the pumping chamber is substantially isolated from the inlet (Fig 7, alt Fig 9; Par 0010); wherein a base of one of the scroll members includes a channel (81)in fluid communication with the inlet and positioned so that, when the pumping chamber is in an open configuration (Fig 9,13), the pumping chamber receives fluid from the inlet along an additional flow path passing through the channel (Abs, Par 0010, 0014-0015; when open as shown in figure 9 flow 1 will act along the path as shown by the arrows at 16 and passing into the chamber, and flow 2 will act in a “into the page” direction as it passes into the groove 81 (unlabeled in Fig 9 but labeled in Figure 3) and whose depth is shown in figure 13 where flow 2 would go down into the groove 81 and then along the groove in an upward slope to pass into either the suction, swing or both working chambers Par 0010).
As to claim 2, Masao discloses first fluid flow path is arranged to convey fluid from the inlet and into the pumping chamber between the involute wall of the fixed scroll and one end of the involute wall of the orbiting scroll (Fig 3,7,9).
As to claim 3, Masao discloses wherein the first fluid flow path extends substantially parallel to the bases of the scroll members (passes as shown Figure 9, acting parallel to top and bottom plate aside from the second flow which branches off to go down “into the page”).
As to claim 4, Masao discloses wherein the channel is located adjacent to the inlet (16,81, Fig 3,9).
As to claim 5, Masao discloses wherein the channel is elongate in shape and extends lengthways partially about the axis of orbital movement of the orbiting scroll relative to the fixed scroll (81, Fig 9).
As to claim 6, Masao discloses wherein the channel extends around said axis by an angle in the range from 10 to 60 degrees, preferably in the range from 15 to 30 degrees (Fig 9, Par 0015).
As to claim 7, Masao discloses wherein the additional flow path is arranged to convey fluid into the pumping chamber in a direction which is substantially orthogonal to the bases of the scroll members (as stated in claim 1 above the second flow will pass “down” which is orthogonal to the “straight” path of the first flow as it passes “down” into 81 Fig 13, where the inlet flow portion interpreted as flow 1 will move along the circumference into the pumping chambers).
As to claim 8, Masao discloses wherein the direction in which fluid enters the pumping chamber from the channel (interpreted as “up” as moving up from within the channel” is substantially orthogonal to the direction in which fluid enters the pumping chamber directly from the inlet (as stated in claim 1 above the second flow will pass “down” and then “up” which is orthogonal to the “straight” path of the first flow as it passes “down” into 81 Fig 13, where the inlet flow portion interpreted as flow 1 will move along the circumference into the pumping chambers; equivalent to present disclosure) .
As to claim 9, Masao discloses wherein the channel is shaped such that the channel is in fluid communication with the pumping chamber when it is in an open configuration and is substantially isolated from the pumping chamber when it is in a closed configuration (Fig 3,8,9).
As to claim 10, Masao discloses comprising a plurality of pumping chambers (Par 0010), and wherein the channel is arranged to convey fluid from the inlet into an outermost pumping chamber (Fig 3,7,9; Par 0010).
As to claim 11, Masao discloses wherein the channel is arranged to convey fluid simultaneously into two pumping chambers, each of which is in an open configuration (Fig 3).
As to claim 12, Masao discloses wherein the channel is arranged to convey fluid into only one of the two pumping chambers when the other pumping chamber is in a closed position (Fig 9).
As to claim 13, Masao discloses wherein the channel is located in the base of the fixed scroll (81, 5 Fig 13).
Claims1,14,15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a1) as being anticipated by JPH11336678 to Hitachi.
As to claim 1, Hitachi discloses A scroll pump comprising: an inlet for receiving fluid to be pumped (5); an outlet for conveying pumped fluid from the scroll pump (2e); and two scroll members (2a,3a) comprising a fixed scroll and an orbiting scroll interleaving with the fixed scroll and mounted such that rotation of a motor imparts an orbital motion to the orbiting scroll relative to the fixed scroll, each of said scroll members comprising a base from which an involute wall extends to define a pumping chamber for conveying fluid from the inlet to the outlet and which (Fig 10), with orbital movement of the orbiting scroll, transitions from an open configuration, in which the pumping chamber receives fluid from the inlet along a first flow path, to a closed configuration, in which the pumping chamber is substantially isolated from the inlet (Fig 4); wherein a base of one of the scroll members includes a channel (30a, 30b) in fluid communication with the inlet and positioned so that, when the pumping chamber is in an open configuration, the pumping chamber receives fluid from the inlet along an additional flow path passing through the channel (flow path along channel vs above it or along path between inlet to the channel, Fig 1-4).
As to claim 14, Hitachi discloses wherein the channel is located in the base of the orbiting scroll (30b, 3a, Fig 3).
As to claim 15, Hitachi discloses comprising a first said channel in the base of the fixed scroll (30a, 2a) and a second said channel located in the base of the orbiting scroll (30b,3a; Fig 1,4).
Conclusion
/JESSE S BOGUE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3746