Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
This Non-final Office Action is in response to the amended claims filed on 8/26/2025.
Claims 1-15 are currently pending.
Claim Objections
Claim 15 is objected to under 37 CFR 1.75(c) as being in improper form because a multiple dependent claim should refer to other claims in the alternative only. See MPEP § 608.01(n).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 4 recites the limitation "the pre-chamber spark plug" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5, 7-11 and 13-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lentz et al. (US 3,257,503).
As to claim 1 Lentz discloses a spark plug for a gas engine comprising a seating surface of a tapered shape (figure 3 #42), a first thread (figure 1 #46) and a second thread (figure 1 #20), wherein the seating surface (figure 3 #42) is interposed between the first thread and the second thread.
As to claim 2 Lentz discloses the spark plug according to claim 1, wherein the seating surface has a conical shape (best shown in figure 3).
As to claim 3 Lentz discloses the spark plug according to claim 1, wherein the first thread (figure 1 #46) has a first diameter that is smaller than a second diameter of the second thread (figure 1 #20).
The first thread is internal and the second external giving the external thread a wider diameter.
As to claim 4 Lentz discloses the spark plug according to claim 1, wherein along a longitudinal axis of the pre-chamber spark plug, the first thread and the second thread are arranged in the area of opposing sides of the seating surface. (shown in figure 1)
As to claim 5 Lentz discloses the spark plug according to claim 1, wherein the first thread (figure 1 #26) and the second thread (figure 1 #20) are arranged within a tip portion (figure 1 #12) of the spark plug, wherein in particular the tip portion comprises a pre-combustion chamber (the prechamber is the unnumbered hollow area under #28 within the tip of the sparkplug).
As to claim 7 Lentz discloses a spark plug sleeve (figure 1 #12) for mounting a spark plug according to claim 1 on a gas engine, comprising a further seating surface (figure 1 #36) of a tapered shape, a further first thread (figure 1 #46) and a further second thread (figure 1 #20), wherein the further seating surface is interposed between the further first thread and the further second thread (shown in figure 1).
As to claim 8 Lentz discloses the spark plug sleeve according to claim 7, wherein the further seating surface has a conical shape (shown in figure 1).
As to claim 9 Lentz discloses the spark [[Spark]] plug sleeve according to claim 7,wherein the further first thread (figure 1 #46) has a first diameter (D1) that is smaller than a second diameter (D2) of the further second thread (figure 1 #20).
The first thread is internal and the second external giving the external thread a wider diameter.
As to claim 10 Lentz discloses the spark plug sleeve according claim 7, wherein along a longitudinal axis (L) of the spark plug sleeve (figure 1 #12), the further first thread (figure 1 #46) and the further second thread (figure 1 #20) are arranged in the area of opposing sides of the further seating surface (figure 1 #36, shown in figure 1).
As to claim 11 Lentz discloses the spark plug sleeve (figure 1 #12) according to claim 7, wherein the further first thread (figure 1 #46) and the further second thread (figure 1 #20) are arranged within a tip portion (figure 1 #12) of the spark plug sleeve (the sleeve itself is the tip portion).
As to claim 13 Lentz discloses the spark plug sleeve according to claim 7, further comprising an external thread (figure 1 #20) configured to form a threaded connection between the spark plug sleeve (figure 1 #12) and a cylinder head (not shown ) of the engine.
As to claim 14 Lentz discloses the spark plug sleeve according to claim 13, wherein the further first thread (figure 1 #26) and the external thread (figure 1 #20) overlap in a direction along the longitudinal axis (L) of the spark plug sleeve (figure 1 #12).
As to claim 15 Lentz discloses a spark plug assembly (figure 1), in particular for a gas engine comprising a spark plug according to claim 1 and a spark plug sleeve (figure 1 #12) according to claim 7, wherein the spark plug is received within the spark plug sleeve (shown in figure 1) such that the first thread (figure 1 #26) is engaged with the further first thread (figure 1 #46), the second thread (figure 1 #20) is engaged with the further second thread (the thread of the cylinder head not shown), and that the seating surface (figure 1 # 42) abuts on the further seating surface (figure 1 #36).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lentz et al. (US 3,257,503).
As to claim 6 Lentz discloses the spark plug according to claim 1, wherein the first thread (figure 1 #26) is arranged at a first distance (d1) from the seating surface (figure 1 #42), wherein the second thread (figure 1 #20) is arranged at a second distance (d2) from the seating surface, however is silent to each one of the first distance (d1) and the second distance (d2) is smaller than a diameter (D1) of the pre-chamber spark plug at the seating surface.
In Gardner v. TEC Syst., Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 USPQ 232 (1984), the Federal Circuit held that, where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device.
In this case the dimensions of the device would not change the operation of the device the dimensions would be changed in order to fit into the cylinder head of the engine.
As to claim 12 Lentz discloses the spark plug sleeve according to claim 7, wherein the further first thread (figure 1 #46) is arranged within a first distance (d1) from the further seating surface (figure 1 #36), wherein the further second thread (figure 1 #20) is arranged at a second distance (d2) from the further seating surface (figure 1 #36), however is silent to each one of the first distance (d1) and the second distance (d2) is smaller than a diameter (D1) of the spark plug sleeve (figure 1 #12) at the further seating surface [[(26b)]].
In Gardner v. TEC Syst., Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 USPQ 232 (1984), the Federal Circuit held that, where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device.
In this case the dimensions of the device would not change the operation of the device the dimensions would be changed in order to fit into the cylinder head of the engine.
Conclusion
SHERMAN D. MANLEY
Examiner
Art Unit 3747
/SHERMAN D MANLEY/Examiner, Art Unit 3747
/JACOB M AMICK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3747