DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Dubosc (2016/0245475).
With respect to claim 1, Dubosc teaches an illuminating device (1) for an interior of a motor vehicle, (Fig. 9A), in particular for a trim part (Fig. 9A) and/or the backrest of a seat, comprising: a passive lighting element (3) which defines an outer lighting surface (Fig. 9B-C) having a light-emission direction (direction of 7 and 10); and at least two light sources (4 and 9) which can be switched differently (paragraph 31); wherein a first light source (9) of the at least two light sources shines through the at least partially translucent passive lighting element (3) in the light-emission direction for illumination (see item 10), characterized in that wherein in order to define the outer lighting surface, the passive lighting element (3) is configured to be translucent in the light-emission light-exit direction in at least one region (translucent region without reflecting particles; see paragraphs 66 and 96) defining a first lighting pattern (10) and configured to be reflective in at least one region (region including reflecting particles; see paragraphs 66 and 96) defining a second lighting pattern (7), and wherein a second light source (4) of the at least two light sources is provided for illuminating the an outside of the passive lighting element (3) such that the light from the second light source that hits the passive lighting element from the outside is reflected in the light- emission light-exit direction by the reflecting region (Fig. 9C), and, wherein, at least in the translucent region (translucent region without reflecting particles; see paragraphs 66 and 96), the passive lighting element (3) is designed such that the first lighting pattern and/or the second lighting pattern is not recognizable from the outside when the first light source (5) is switched off (paragraph 31).
As for claim 2, Dubosc teaches characterized in that wherein the non-recognition is brought about by a material treatment selected for the creation of the translucent region and/or the reflective region (paragraphs 31 and 65-66).
As for claim 3., Dubosc teaches wherein the translucent region (translucent griong without reflecting particles; see paragraphs 66 and 96) is light diffusing for light from the first light source. (paragraphs 31 and 92).
As for claim 4, Dubosc teaches wherein the reflective and translucent regions (3) at least partially overlap and/or that the lighting patterns on the lighting surface are interwoven (Fig. 9C and paragraphs 66 and 96).
As for claim 5, Dubosc teaches wherein the translucent and the reflective regions (3) are configured to produce different light impressions (Fig. 9C).
As for claim 6, Dubosc teaches wherein the first and second light sources emit light of at least one different property (paragraph 31).
As for claim 7, Dubosc teaches comprising at least one control unit (5) for controlling the operation of the at least two light sources (Fig. 9C and paragraph 96).
As for claim 8, Dubosc teaches wherein at least one of the at least two light sources is controllable in order to change at least one property of the emitted light therefrom (paragraph 31) and/or color temperature and/or light intensity, and/or the control unit is configured for dynamic operation of at least one of the at least two light sources in order to create a dynamic light impression of the lighting surface.
As for claim 9, Dubosc teaches wherein the first light source and/or the second light source comprise at least one LED (4 and paragraph 94) and/or is extended in at least one direction (Fig. 9C).
As for claim 10, Dubosc teaches wherein the passive lighting element (3) is inclined relative to the a horizontal and a vertical at least in the region of the lighting surface (Fig. 9C), and the second light source (4) is arranged above the lighting surface. (Fig. 9C; *note that “above” is a matter of perspective and changes with mounting orientation; see Fig. 5 vs Fig. 9C as an example).
As for claim 11, Dubosc teaches wherein the illuminating device is configured as a light module (Fig. 9C) with a support (V) that encompasses the lighting element (Figs. 1 and 9A), to which support the first and second light sources (4 and 9) are fastened (Figs. 1 and 9A).
As for claim 12, Dubosc teaches wherein the light module (Fig. 9C) is configured for insertion into a trim element (1) of the motor vehicle (Fig. 9A), and wherein the support (V) has a surface which continues a surface of the trim part and comprises the lighting surface (Fig. 9A).
As for claim 13, Dubosc teaches wherein the second light source (4) is installed in a concealed manner (Figs. 9A-C).
As for claim 14, Dubosc teaches comprising at least one illuminating device (Fig. 9C).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Fujita (2011/0170304); see: Fig. 1
Natsume et al. (2009/0154186); see: Fig. 3
/WILLIAM J CARTER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2875 8/19/2026