DETAILED ACTION
This is the first office action for US Application 19/160,441 for a Four-Frame Connector and Display Stand for Display Stands.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 4, and 6-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 2002/0153339 to Carletti. Regarding claim 1, Carletti discloses a four-frame connector (12) for a display stand. The connector comprises a support base (28), and a plurality of connecting columns (58) extending from one side of the support base. The support base includes a first supporting part (see figure 2… the top part of the support base containing 3 of the columns 58) and a second supporting part (see figure 2… the bottom part of the support base containing the 1 remaining column 58 of the columns in the first supporting part) connected to the first supporting part. The second supporting part is fixedly connected to a middle part of the first supporting part (the parts form one piece).
The plurality of connecting columns include two first connecting columns 58 set on the first support part (the first support part has a total of 3 columns 58) and located on both sides of the second support part, extending in the same direction (see figure 2… columns 58 are located on the left and right of the first support part). There is a second connecting column set on one side of the second supporting part (see figure 2… the column 58 of the second supporting part is on one side of the second supporting part). The plurality of connecting column has a columnar body (66) and at least one limit strip (the upper portion of 64) protruding radially from the column body (see figure 2 and para 0049-0051).
Regarding claim 4, the support base (28) is penetrated by three positioning holes (see figure 2… 2 of the holes 78 on the first supporting part and one hole 78 on the second supporting part), two of the three positioning holes are located at two ends of the supporting part, and another one of the three positioning holes is located at an end of the second supporting part away from the first supporting part. Regarding claim 6, the two first connecting columns are located between the two of the three positioning holes on the first support part (see figure 2). Regarding claim 7, the second connecting column is located between the other of the three positioning holes and the first supporting part (see figure 2).
Regarding claim 8, the first supporting part has multiple first grooves (see figure 2… 2 of 18a and 1 of 32 on a side away from 3 columns 58 that are on the first supporting part) on a side away from the two first connecting columns, and the second supporting part has multiple second grooves (see figure 2… 1 of 18a and 2 of 32 on a side away from the 1 column that is on the second supporting part) on a side away from the second connecting column.
Regarding claim 9, an edge of the second supporting part has multiple buckle slots (18a, 32) which are on the same side as the second connecting column. Regarding claim 10, the display stand includes multiple interconnected frames and the four-frame connectors for the display stand according to claim 1, the display stand four-frame connectors being used to connect four adjacent frames (see figure 1 and abstract… a plurality of rods 10, 14 creating multiple adjacent frames).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Carletti. Carletti does not disclose four limit strips, including the at least one limit strip, provided on each of the plurality of connecting columns. However, the specific number of limit strips on the connecting columns is a design preference that would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to provide additional limit strips for connecting additional objects.
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Carletti in view of US 2011/0296660 to Alkas et al. Carletti does not disclose an end of each of the plurality of connecting columns away from the support base as provided with a chamfer. Alkas et al. provides a teaching for providing chamfers (808 and 810) on a fastener of a display stand. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to have provided chamfered edges on the connecting columns of Carletti to eliminate sharp edges as taught by Alkas et al. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to eliminate sharp edges to avoid injuries.
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Carletti in view of GB 2563149 to Dixon. Carletti discloses each of the three positioning holes (78) as including a round hole. Carletti does not disclose a plurality of limit holes protruding radially outward from the round hole, the three positioning holes being petal-shaped. Dixon discloses a connector (10) comprising a positioning hole (26) including a round hole and a plurality of limit holes (28) protruding radially outward from the round hole resulting in a petal-shaped positioning hole. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to have provided petal-shaped positioning holes as the positioning holes of Carletti, to assist with aligning the positioning holes with a fastener as taught by Dixon. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to provide a means for aligning a connector with the positioning hole.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 2021/02777649 to Bowron
US 2014/0286695 to Jocham
US 2021/0307508 to Phillips
US 2016/0002909 to Bowron
US 11536020 to Bowron
US 5033901 to Dias
US 2014/0014608 to Brandstrom
DE 202004007905 to Tzeng
GB 2563149 to Dixon
The above prior art discloses various display stand or frame connectors.
(toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
STEVEN M. MARSH
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3632
/STEVEN M MARSH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3632