Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “acquisition portion” as recited in claims 13-22 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Objections
Claim 23 objected to because of the following informalities:
There is no colon (:) following the preamble. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
Acquisition portion: (no specific element labeled such in drawings, the spec says the recognition portion may acquire, driver recognition portion may acquire
Process portion: (130 Fig 2)
As noted above the acquisition portion is not explicitly labeled in the drawings, or recited in the disclosure. For claim analysis/rejection purposes the acquiring portion, will be the drive assist device which may be a processor as disclosed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 13-22 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
As noted above the applicant claims an “acquisition portion”, although originally claimed, however, the disclosure/specification does not identify/include such portion. Unlike the process portion which is claimed and disclosed/shown (element 130 Fig 2), there is no showing specifically of an “acquisition portion”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 13, 19-21 and 23-24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Esaki, US 20240029454.
In considering claim 13,
The claimed acquisition portion….is met where camera 2 acquires images of the driver (Fig 2) which is acquired by line of sight estimating device 11, which includes line of sight estimating unit 232, along with determining unit 233 and correcting unit 235 (and units 231, 234) as shown which captures images at predetermined cycles (interval) (para 39)
The claimed process portion which estimates…. Is met by line of sight estimating device 11 (Fig 2) which estimates the line of sight of the driver even when the driver’s face is directed toward the right or left (para 15, 35, 54, 80, 84, 88), where the determination used a predetermined period of time for estimation (para 8, 13, 14, 34, 57,86). Regarding the impossible as noted (para 06) when the drivers face is facing left or right with respect to the front of the vehicle and angle of monitoring camera it is impossible to precisely detect facial feature point in the captured image. Esaki discloses the reliability (between 0.0 to 1.0) based upon detected facial features (para 50-58, Fig 3), where if the threshold is below a predetermined value, the system determines whether the user is in a gazing state, based upon the first line of sight and multiple other line of sight within a predetermined period of time including (Fig 5) the detection of objects in the direction of the line of sight (Fig 6), which may include pedestrians 501, 502 or crosswalk 503. (para 69, 73. 78)
In considering claim 19.
The claimed driver…is met (para 2-8, 10-15, 29-35, 38-42, 45, 54-55, 57, 59-62, 72-77, 79-80 and 84-89).
The claimed on a condition….the examiner notes they system detects objects in the field of view of the driver outside the vehicle using camera 3 (Fig 2), where as noted in claim 1, when the reliability (impossible) of the first line of sight is low (s104) the system determines a gazing state (step 105, para 57, 59 and 66) which includes the detection of those objects when performing gaze detection (Fig 5-6).
In considering claim 20,
Esaki disclose the objects may be a pedestrian (Fig 5, 501-502).
In considering claim 21,
The claimed reference direction….is met where the forward direction using camera 3 (Fig 2).
The claimed process portion..is met where the system can precisely estimate the line of sight and direction of orientation of the drivers face (para 10-13, 31-40, 42, 47-55, 61, 65, 70, 76, 79-84 and 89-90) when it may be impossible to capture the face of the driver (para 6).
In considering claim 23,
Refer to claim 13. Esaki disclose the use of a computer/processor to execute the invention (para 13, 43-44 and 85).
In considering claim 24,
Refer to claim 13. Esaki discloses the use of a non-transitory computer-readable medium…(para 13, 43-44 and 85).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 14, 17 and 22 and is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Esaki, US 20240029454.
In considering claim 14,
As noted Esaki discloses the left/right directions, with respect to a reference direction) (forward) which uses the center of the imaging surface as the original (para 52, 53, 54, 58, 70. 88), which is base upon the vehicle and the monitoring system shown which is based upon the position/orientation (centering) of the vehicle.
Regarding the second region being further away, the examiner notes this would depend upon the placement of the monitoring camera(s) with respect to the driver position, where Esaki discloses the use of one or more cameras (88), where if the camera was installed off center to the driver, the area of coverage which include regions that were off center (being further away when head turned), which would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, the motivation to install a camera off center would depend upon the vehicle spacing/resources and system/design specification to not block the drivers field of view, thus being an obvious modification to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
In considering claim 17,
The claimed imaging portion…as noted camera 2 (Fig 2) is directed to the driver.
The claimed first region is met where the system is able to determine reliability of a captured image, based upon the head position/turning in the horizontal direction.
The claimed range…as noted in claim 14, based upon the position of the camera, if the camera is not centered directly at the driver, but angled from a position, there will be a greater range in a respective direction based upon such angle. For example if the camera is mounted towards the door, the left side of the face/head would have a greater angle of detection then the right side.
Regarding the predetermined direction, as noted in claim 14, the placement of the camera(s) would be a design choice based upon resources/vehicle accessibility, which allow the driver to be monitored but also to ensure the drivers field of view was not obstructed via any devices, where any camera placement off center from the driver would provide a greater range in one direction then the other for capturing the face as would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
In considering claim 22,
a-b) the claimed notification…is met where UI 4/display device includes a notification unit (para 41, 45, 53, 64-65 (Fig 2), which gives the driver a warning.
Regarding the direction and estimation see claim 1.
Regarding the intensity the examiner notes Esaki does not explicitly recite a 1st and 2nd intensity level although such warnings/notification are notoriously well-known in the field of vehicles, to provide the driver information which can notify the driver of events which may require immediate (higher level) attention (pedestrian in the crosswalk) vs (crosswalk present, pedestrian on side of road), thus being an obvious modification to one or ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, for the benefit of ensuring the driver was aware of the surroundings which vary in their intensity (pedestrian in the road, pedestrian on the side of the road), thus raising to different levels of notification(s).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 15-16 and 18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The prior art of record does not appear to disclose the additional limitations of the claims as explicitly recited.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure—see newly cited references on attached form PTO-892.
Some notable prior arts, which disclose driver detection:
US 20200254876 (para 69-70, 73);
US 20210357670 (para 41-43);
US 20140204193 (para 24).
Any response to this action should be mailed to:
Commissioner of Patents and Trademarks
Washington, D.C. 20231
or faxed to:
(571)-273-8300
Any inquiry of a general nature or relating to the status of this application or proceeding should be directed to the Technology Center 2600 Customer Service Office whose telephone number is
(703)305-HELP.
General information about patents, trademarks, products and services offered by the United States Patent and Trademark Office (USPTO), and other related information is available by contacting the USPTO’s General Information Services Division at:
800-PTO-9199 or 703-308-HELP
(FAX) 703-305-7786
(TDD) 703-305-7785
An automated message system is available 7 days a week, 24 hours a day providing informational responses to frequently asked questions and the ability to order certain documents. Customer service representatives are available to answer questions, send materials or connect customers with other offices of the USPTO from 8:30 a.m. - 8:00p.m. EST/EDT, Monday-Friday excluding federal holidays.
For other technical patent information needs, the Patent Assistance Center can be reached through customer service representatives at the above numbers, Monday through Friday (except federal holidays) from 8:30 a.m. to 5:00 p.m. EST/EDT.
The Patent Electronic Business Center (EBC) allows USPTO customers to retrieve data, check the status of pending actions, and submit information and applications. The tools currently available in the Patent EBC are Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) and the Electronic Filing System (EFS). PAIR (http://pair.uspto.gov) provides customers direct secure access to their own patent application status information, as well as to general patent information publicly available. EFS allows customers to electronically file patent application documents securely via the Internet. EFS is a system for submitting new utility patent applications and pre-grant publication submissions in electronic publication-ready form. EFS includes software to help customers prepare submissions in extensible Markup Language (XML) format and to assemble the various parts of the application as an electronic submission package. EFS also allows the submission of Computer Readable Format (CRF) sequence listings for pending biotechnology patent applications, which were filed in paper form.
/BRIAN P YENKE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2422