DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hendry (US 20220394302 A1).
Claim 19 recites a bitstream generated by a method for encoding an image, the method comprising: “obtaining a first quantization index; deriving a second quantization index by shifting the first quantization index; deriving a first reconstructed transformed coefficient and a second reconstructed transformed coefficient by performing dequantization on the first quantization index and the second quantization index respectively; and generating final reconstructed transformed coefficients by applying a first weight and a second weight to the first reconstructed transformed coefficient and the second reconstructed transformed coefficient respectively” is a product by process claim limitation where the product is the bitstream and the process is the method steps to generate the bitstream. MPEP §2113 recites “Product-by-Process claims are not limited to the manipulations of the recited steps, only the structure implied by the steps”. Thus, the scope of the claim is the recording medium for storing the bitstream (with the structure implied by the method steps). The structure includes the obtaining a first quantization index; deriving a second quantization index by shifting the first quantization index; deriving a first reconstructed transformed coefficient and a second reconstructed transformed coefficient by performing dequantization on the first quantization index and the second quantization index respectively; and generating final reconstructed transformed coefficients by applying a first weight and a second weight and other information manipulated by the steps.
To be given patentable weight, the recording medium and the bitstream (i.e. descriptive material) must be in a functional relationship. A functional relationship can be found where the descriptive material performs some function with respect to the recording medium to which it is associated. See MPEP §2111.05(I)(A). When a claimed “computer-readable medium merely serves as a support for information or data, no functional relationship exists”. MPEP §2111.05(III).
The recording medium storing the claimed bitstream in claim 16 merely services as a support for the recording medium of the bitstream and provides no functional relationship between the stored bitstream and recording medium.
Therefore, the structure bitstream, which scope is implied by the method steps, is non-functional descriptive material and given no patentable weight. MPEP §2111.05(III).
Thus, the claim scope is just a storage medium storing data and is anticipated by Hendry ([0016] According to an embodiment of the present document, a computer-readable digital storage medium storing encoded video/image information generated according to the video/image encoding method disclosed in at least one of the embodiments of this document is provided; [0017] According to an embodiment of the present document, a computer-readable digital storage medium storing encoded information or encoded video/image information causing a decoding apparatus to perform the video/image decoding method disclosed in at least one of the embodiments of this document is provided).
Claim(s) 1-9, 13, and 17-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Yan et al. (US 20260046408 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Yan teaches a method for decoding an image (video decoder of fig. 1), the method comprising:
deriving a first quantization index ([0110] and [0117], Q-1(yi), the original reconstructed coefficient is first calculated by Q-1(yi));
deriving a second quantization index by shifting the first quantization index ([0110] and [0117], Q-1(y’i), reconstructed value when the quantization indices is shifted 1 quantization index to the opposite direction to the zero center as Q-1(y’i)));
deriving a first reconstructed transformed coefficient and a second reconstructed transformed coefficient by performing dequantization on the first quantization index and the second quantization index respectively ([0110], [0117], and [0119] dequantization transform coefficient in equations (11), (13), and (15)); and
generating final reconstructed transformed coefficients by applying a first weight and a second weight to the first reconstructed transformed coefficient and the second reconstructed transformed coefficient respectively ([0110] in equation (11), the number 892 as a first weight is considered and the number 42 is considered as a second weight; one of examples:[0117] in equation (13) (2N-ωsi) and ωsi are considered as first weight and second weight; another example: [0119] in equation (15) (2N-ωe(QP)) and ωe(QP) are considered as first weight and second weight that are applied to the first reconstructed transformed coefficient Q-1(yi) and the second reconstructed transformed coefficient Q-1(y’i).
Regarding claim 2, Yan teaches the method of claim 1, Yan further teaches wherein the second quantization index is derived by shifting the first quantization index by a predetermined integer value ([0083] and [0088] integer quantization indexes qk).
Regarding claim 3, Yan teaches the method of claim 2, Yan further teaches wherein an absolute value of the predetermined integer value is 1 ([0086]).
Regarding claim 4, Yan teaches the method of claim 2, Yan further teaches wherein a sign of the predetermined integer value is determined to be identical to a sign of the first quantization index ([0086]).
Regarding claim 5, Yan teaches the method of claim 1, Yan further teaches wherein the first weight and the second weight are determined according to a quantization parameter, a value of the first quantization index, a position of a current block, a size of the current block, a position of a subblock, a position of a sample of the current block or the subblock, and the number of non-zero samples of the current or subblock ([0123] to [0128] it is provided to decide the dequantization offset values and weighting factors at the encoder side with rate-distortion optimization and signal the offset values and weighting factors to the decoder side. The offset values and weighting factors can be decided and signaled at picture/slice/CTU/CU/TU level).
Regarding claim 6, Yan teaches the method of claim 1, Yan further teaches further comprising determining whether or not to shift the first quantization index, wherein when the first quantization index is determined to be shifted, the second quantization index is derived by shifting the first quantization index ([0110] and [0111] [0110] In practice, since quantization indices should be integer, the original reconstructed coefficient is first calculated by Q.sup.−1(y.sub.i)) and reconstructed value when the quantization indices is shifted 1 quantization index to the opposite direction to the zero center as Q.sup.−1(y′.sub.i)) where y′.sub.i=y.sub.i+(y.sub.i>0? 1:−1). Then the weighted sum of Q.sup.−1(y.sub.i)) and Q.sup.−1(y′.sub.i)) as the reconstructed coefficient is taken as follow.x^=(982*Q-1(yi)+42*Q-1(y′i))≫10(11); this shifting on reconstruction coefficient is done only if the quantization index is not zero).
Regarding claim 7, Yan teaches the method of claim 6, Yan further teaches wherein in the determining of whether or not to shift the first quantization index, at least one syntax element indicating whether or not to apply the quantization index shifting is obtained from a bitstream, and whether or not to shift the first quantization index is determined based on the at least one syntax element ([0076] and [0077] the syntax elements indicating the quantized transform coefficients; [0095] to [0096] the quantization indexes specified in the syntax).
Regarding claim 8, Yan teaches the method of claim 7, Yan further teaches wherein the at least one syntax element is encoded in at least one data unit of a video parameter set, a sequence parameter set, a picture parameter set, an adaptive parameter set, a picture header, a slice header, an encoding unit, a transform unit, and a subblock unit ([0070], [0071], [0074], [0076], and [0077]).
Regarding claim 9, Yan teaches the method of claim 6, Yan further teaches wherein whether or not to shift the first quantization index is determined based on a quantization parameter ([0100] and [0101] ZeroPos[n], [0103] x∈R.sup.n is the n length real numbered coefficient to be quantized, y∈Z.sup.n is the quantization indices defined on discrete set of reconstruction points. Using any quantizer Q(⋅) and dequantizer function Q.sup.−1(⋅), the indices and reconstruction can be obtained by y=Q(x) and {circumflex over (x)}=Q.sup.−1(y) respectively. Here, function R(⋅) is the rate function of the indices and function D(⋅,⋅) is a distortion metric such as Mean Square Error (MSE). [0110] shifting and [0111] this shifting on reconstruction coefficient is done only if the quantization index is not zero).
Regarding claim 13, Yan teaches the method of claim 6, Yan further teaches wherein whether or not to shift the first quantization index is determined based on a two-dimensional position of the first quantization index within a block ([0086] shift to left and right, [0105]; fig. 4A for two-dimensional block).
Regarding claim 17, Yan teaches the method of claim 6, Yan further teaches wherein whether or not to shift the first quantization index is determined based on a prediction mode or filtering mode that is applied to a current block ([0107] for prediction mode and [0110] and [0111] for shifting the first quantization index).
Regarding claim 18, Yan further teaches a method for encoding an image (video encoder 20 of fig. 1), the method comprising:
obtaining a first quantization index ([0110] and [0117], Q-1(yi), the original reconstructed coefficient is first calculated by Q-1(yi));
deriving a second quantization index by shifting the first quantization index ([0110] and [0117], Q-1(y’i), reconstructed value when the quantization indices is shifted 1 quantization index to the opposite direction to the zero center as Q-1(y’i)));
deriving a first reconstructed transformed coefficient and a second reconstructed transformed coefficient by performing dequantization on the first quantization index and the second quantization index respectively ([0110], [0117], and [0119] dequantization transform coefficient in equations (11), (13), and (15)); and
generating final reconstructed transformed coefficients by applying a first weight and a second weight to the first reconstructed transformed coefficient and the second reconstructed transformed coefficient respectively ([0110] in equation (11), the number 892 as a first weight is considered and the number 42 is considered as a second weight; one of examples:[0117] in equation (13) (2N-ωsi) and ωsi are considered as first weight and second weight; another example: [0119] in equation (15) (2N-ωe(QP)) and ωe(QP) are considered as first weight and second weight that are applied to the first reconstructed transformed coefficient Q-1(yi) and the second reconstructed transformed coefficient Q-1(y’i)
Regarding claim 19, Yan further teaches a computer-readable recording medium for storing a bitstream generated by a method for encoding an image ([0011] According to a seventh aspect of the present disclosure, there is provided a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium for storing a bitstream to be decoded by the method according to the first aspect), wherein the method for encoding an image comprises:
obtaining a first quantization index ([0110] and [0117], Q-1(yi), the original reconstructed coefficient is first calculated by Q-1(yi));
deriving a second quantization index by shifting the first quantization index ([0110] and [0117], Q-1(y’i), reconstructed value when the quantization indices is shifted 1 quantization index to the opposite direction to the zero center as Q-1(y’i)));
deriving a first reconstructed transformed coefficient and a second reconstructed transformed coefficient by performing dequantization on the first quantization index and the second quantization index respectively ([0110], [0117], and [0119] dequantization transform coefficient in equations (11), (13), and (15)); and
generating final reconstructed transformed coefficients by applying a first weight and a second weight to the first reconstructed transformed coefficient and the second reconstructed transformed coefficient respectively ([0110] in equation (11), the number 892 as a first weight is considered and the number 42 is considered as a second weight; one of examples:[0117] in equation (13) (2N-ωsi) and ωsi are considered as first weight and second weight; another example: [0119] in equation (15) (2N-ωe(QP)) and ωe(QP) are considered as first weight and second weight that are applied to the first reconstructed transformed coefficient Q-1(yi) and the second reconstructed transformed coefficient Q-1(y’i).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yan et al. (US 20260046408 A1) in view of Xu et al. (US 20220232224 A1).
Regarding claim 10, Yan teaches the method of claim 9, but Yan does not teach wherein when the quantization parameter has a value corresponding to lossless compression environment or near-lossless compression environment, the shifting of the first quantization index is determined not to be applied
Xu teaches wherein when the quantization parameter has a value corresponding to lossless compression environment or near-lossless compression environment, the shifting of the first quantization index is determined not to be applied ([0203] 5. If lossless coding is used, the transform and/or quantization process may be applied without bit-shifting; [0213] f. In one example, if lossless coding is used for the current video unit, the number of bit-shifting for dequantization may be equal to 0 (e.g., without bit-shifting)).
Taking the teachings of Yan and Xu together as a whole, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the de-quantization without bit-shifting of XU into the quantization index of Yan for the performance of the overall transform codec can typically be improved if the knowledge about the set of reconstruction levels associated with a quantization index qk is also exploited in the entropy coding.
Claim(s) 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yan et al. (US 20260046408 A1) in view of Schwarz et al. (US 20210084304 A1).
Regarding claim 15, Yan teaches the method of claim 6, Yan further teaches wherein whether or not to shift the first quantization index is determined based on a one-dimensional position index of the first quantization index within a block and wherein the one-dimensional position index is transformed from a two-dimensional coordinate value according to an arbitrary scanning method.
Schwarz teaches wherein whether or not to shift the first quantization index ([0063] Each transform coefficient t.sub.k is mapped to a quantization index q.sub.k, which is also referred to as transform coefficient level)is determined based on a one-dimensional position index of the first quantization index within a block ([0176] any coding/reconstruction order of quantization indexes is possible, such as the horizontal or vertical scan additionally specified in H.265|MPEG-H HEVC, are any other uniquely defined order, the horizontal or vertical scan is considered one-dimensional) and wherein the one-dimensional position index is transformed from a two-dimensional coordinate value according to an arbitrary scanning method ([0013] the media signal is a two-dimensional signal, such as a picture, and a sequence of samples is obtained by use of some scanning pattern which turns the two-dimensional spatial arrangement of the samples into a one-dimensional sequence along which, then, the construction of the aforementioned quantization point grid takes place).
Taking the teachings of Yan and Schwarz together as a whole, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the quantization index in one dimensional of Schwarz into the quantization index of Yan for the performance of the overall transform codec can typically be improved if the knowledge about the set of reconstruction levels associated with a quantization index qk is also exploited in the entropy coding.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 11, 12, 14, and 16 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Ahn (US 20240323370 A1) discloses the first and second threshold values of Table 1 may be derived based on a predetermined parameter QP. Here, QP may be determined using at least one of a first quantization parameter of the P block, a second quantization parameter of the Q block, or an offset for deriving the QP. The offset may be a value encoded and signaled by the encoding apparatus.
Xia et al. (US 20240087585 A1) discloses a quantization index corresponding to a quantization operation of the second latent variable may be further determined, to obtain a second quantization index. The first quantization index and the second quantization index are encoded into the bitstream.
Contact Information
TUNG T. VO
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2425
/TUNG T VO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2425