CTNF 19/160,696 CTNF 81459 Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Claims 1-25 are currently under review. Priority 02-26 AIA Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55. Information Disclosure Statement The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on August 28, 2025 is being considered by the examiner. Specification 06-11 AIA The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed. Claim Objections 07-29-01 AIA Claim s 1-2, 8, 11, and 21 are objected to because of the following informalities: typographic errors . Appropriate correction is required. Claim 1, line 3: “a processor configured [[to]] to: ” Claim 2, line 3: “the processor is further configured to: ” Claim 2, line 4: “ obtains obtain position information of the second” Claim 2, line 6: “ generates generate an image for a right eye of the” Claim 8, line 2: “further comprising comprising: ” Claim 11, line 2: “further comprising comprising: ” Claim 21, line 3: “the plurality of display modes includes includes: ” Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-12-aia AIA (a)(2) the claimed invention was described in a patent issued under section 151, or in an application for patent published or deemed published under section 122(b), in which the patent or application, as the case may be, names another inventor and was effectively filed before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15-03-aia AIA Claim s 1-5, 7, 10, and 12-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Sato (Pub. No.: US 2024/0275935 A1) . With respect to Claim 1 , Sato discloses a display apparatus (fig. 2, item 104; ¶23, “the display may be a liquid crystal display, a plasma display, an organic EL display, a field emission display (FED), a mini LED display, a micro LED display, or a large LED array”) , comprising: a display (fig. 2, item 104; ¶23) ; a processor (fig. 2 is an external view of fig. 1, items 101 and 102 are a processor; ¶21; ¶33-34) configured to obtain, from an output of a sensor (fig. 2, items 202-1 and 202-2; ¶25) configured to obtain position information in a real space, user position information including position information of a first user (¶24-25) , generate an image for a right eye of the user and an image for a left eye of the first user on a basis of the position information of the first user (figs. 4-5; ¶50) , generate an image for a second user, which is targeting the second user different from the first user (figs. 4-5; ¶50) , and control the display to display a display image including the image for the right eye of the first user (fig. 3; ¶51) , the image for the left eye of the first user (fig. 3; ¶51) , and an image for the second user (fig. 3; ¶51) ; a user separation layer (fig. 4; portion of item 402 that is a parallax barrier to which a lenticular lens is attached; ¶134, “a lens element 402 such as a lenticular lens is used for each element image 401, but the present invention is not limited to this. In addition to a lenticular lens, the lens attached to the surface may be a spherical lens that controls the direction of light, or a large lens or sheet that matches the size of a large LED array. For example, instead of the lens elements 402, a parallax barrier or the like in which a plurality of slits are arranged may be used.”) that is relatively fixed with respect to a surface of the display and is configured to separate the display image into a viewpoint of the first user and a viewpoint of the second user (¶134, “a lens element 402 such as a lenticular lens is used for each element image 401, but the present invention is not limited to this. In addition to a lenticular lens, the lens attached to the surface may be a spherical lens that controls the direction of light, or a large lens or sheet that matches the size of a large LED array. For example, instead of the lens elements 402, a parallax barrier or the like in which a plurality of slits are arranged may be used.”) ; and a left and right image separation layer (fig. 4, item 402 that comprises a lenticular lens) that is relatively fixed with respect to the surface of the display and is configured to separate the display image into an image for a right eye and an image for a left eye (¶134, “In addition to a lenticular lens, the lens attached to the surface may be a spherical lens that controls the direction of light”) . With respect to Claim 2 , claim 1 is incorporated, Sato discloses wherein the processor obtains position information of the second user from the output of the sensor (¶24-25) , and generates an image for a right eye of the second user and an image for a left eye of the second user as the image for the second user on a basis of the position information of the second user (¶50) . With respect to Claim 3 , claim 1 is incorporated, Sato discloses wherein the processor generates a two-dimensional image as the image for the second user (Claim 1: “an image generation unit configured to generate, for each of the one or more user viewpoint positions, a display image, which is a two-dimensional image obtained by projecting the three-dimensional object on the screen”) . With respect to Claim 4 , claim 3 is incorporated, Sato discloses wherein the two-dimensional image is either the image for the right eye of the first user or the image for the left eye of the first user (Claim 5: “for each of the detected user viewpoint positions, a right-eye display image and a left-eye display image, which are two-dimensional images obtained by projecting the three-dimensional object onto the screen, respectively from a right eye and a left eye of the user at the user viewpoint position”) . With respect to Claim 5 , claim 3 is incorporated, Sato discloses wherein the two-dimensional image is a center viewpoint image with a viewpoint at a center between the right eye of the first user and the left eye of the first user (¶76-77, center of the head is also a center between the right eye and the left eye) . With respect to Claim 7 , claim 1 is incorporated, Sato discloses wherein a distance between the display and the left and right image separation layer is larger than a distance between the display and the user separation layer (¶134, “a lens element 402 such as a lenticular lens is used for each element image 401, but the present invention is not limited to this. In addition to a lenticular lens, the lens attached to the surface may be a spherical lens that controls the direction of light, or a large lens or sheet that matches the size of a large LED array. For example, instead of the lens elements 402, a parallax barrier or the like in which a plurality of slits are arranged may be used.” – with the user separation layer being between the display and the left and right image separation layer, the distance between the display and the left and right image separation layer is larger than a distance between the display and the user separation layer) . With respect to Claim 10 , claim 7 is incorporated, Sato discloses wherein the user separation layer is arranged between the display and the left and right image separation layer (¶134, the user separation layer is a lenticular lens and the left and right image separation layer is a parallax barrier) . With respect to Claim 12 , claim 7 is incorporated, Sato discloses wherein the display is a self-light-emitting-type display (¶23, “the display may be a liquid crystal display, a plasma display, an organic EL display ”) that emits light from a display screen, and the user separation layer and the left and right image separation layer are arranged on a side of the display screen of the display (¶134) . With respect to Claim 13 , claim 7 is incorporated, Sato discloses wherein the user separation layer (fig. 4, portion of item 402 that is a parallax barrier to which a lenticular lens/left and right image separation layer is attached; ¶134, “a lens element 402 such as a lenticular lens is used for each element image 401, but the present invention is not limited to this. In addition to a lenticular lens, the lens attached to the surface may be a spherical lens that controls the direction of light, or a large lens or sheet that matches the size of a large LED array. For example, instead of the lens elements 402, a parallax barrier or the like in which a plurality of slits are arranged may be used.”) is constituted by a barrier element in which slit parts that transmit light and barrier parts that suppress light are alternately arranged, and the left and right image separation layer is constituted by a lenticular lens (¶134) . Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-22-aia AIA Claim s 6 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sato as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Perreault et al. (Pub. No.: US 2022/0400245 A1) hereinafter referred to as Perreault . With respect to Claim 6 , claim 1 is incorporated, Sato does not explicitly mention wherein the processor generates, on a basis of the user position information, a composite image combining images included in the display image and controls the display to display the composite image. Perreault teaches a display apparatus (fig. 1, item 100; ¶11) , comprising: a display (fig. 1, item 116; ¶12) ; a processor (fig. 1, item 130: controller; ¶16) configured to obtain, from an output of a sensor (fig. 1, item 106; ¶15; ¶21) configured to obtain position information, generate an image for a right eye of the first user and an image for a left eye of the first user on a basis of the position information of the first user; control the display to display a display image including the image for the right eye of the first user, the image for the left eye of the first user (¶17; ¶22, “the display light is projected from the display panel 102 in a direction that intercepts the current pose of the corresponding viewer”) ; wherein the processor generates, on a basis of the user position information, a composite image combining images included in the display image and controls the display to display the composite image (¶10, “a two-dimensional (2D) frame or composite 3D frame (that is, a frame formed from the interleaving of pixels from a left-eye image and pixels of a right-eye image of a stereoscopic image pair) can be “steered” toward an expected viewer position through activation of the subset of backlight pixels associated with that expected viewer position”; ¶17; ¶23) . Therefore it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the display apparatus of Sato, wherein the processor generates, on a basis of the user position information, a composite image combining images included in the display image and controls the display to display the composite image, as taught by Perreault so as to support multiple viewers by successively steering different frames for different viewers to their respective expected viewer positions (¶10) . With respect to Claim 14 , claim 1 is incorporated, Sato does not teach wherein the user separation layer includes a backlight including a plurality of light-emitting regions that forms a stripe pattern and irradiates the display with light from the plurality of light-emitting regions. Perreault teaches a display apparatus (fig. 1, item 100; ¶11) , comprising: a display (fig. 1, item 116; ¶12) ; a processor (fig. 1, item 130: controller; ¶16) configured to obtain, from an output of a sensor (fig. 1, item 106; ¶15; ¶21) configured to obtain position information, generate an image for a right eye of the first user and an image for a left eye of the first user on a basis of the position information of the first user; control the display to display a display image including the image for the right eye of the first user, the image for the left eye of the first user (¶17; ¶22, “the display light is projected from the display panel 102 in a direction that intercepts the current pose of the corresponding viewer”) ; wherein the processor generates, on a basis of the user position information, a composite image combining images included in the display image and controls the display to display the composite image (¶10, “a two-dimensional (2D) frame or composite 3D frame (that is, a frame formed from the interleaving of pixels from a left-eye image and pixels of a right-eye image of a stereoscopic image pair) can be “steered” toward an expected viewer position through activation of the subset of backlight pixels associated with that expected viewer position”; ¶17; ¶23) ; wherein a user separation layer (fig. 1, item 128) includes a backlight (fig. 1, item 114) including a plurality of light-emitting regions that forms a stripe pattern and irradiates the display with light from the plurality of light-emitting regions (¶25-26) . Therefore it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the display apparatus of Sato, wherein the user separation layer includes a backlight including a plurality of light-emitting regions that forms a stripe pattern and irradiates the display with light from the plurality of light-emitting regions, as taught by Perreault so as to support multiple viewers by successively steering different frames for different viewers to their respective expected viewer positions (¶10) . 07-22-aia AIA Claim s 8-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sato as applied to claim 7 above, and further in view of Perrault and Khorasaninejad et al. (Pub. No.: US 2022/0107500 A1) hereinafter referred to as Khorasaninejad . With respect to Claim 8 , claim 7 is incorporated, Sato teaches further comprising a backlight that radiates light onto the display (¶23, Liquid crystal displays have a backlight) . Sato does not teach wherein the display is arranged between the user separation layer and the left and right image separation layer. Perreault teaches a display apparatus (fig. 1, item 100; ¶11) , comprising: a display (fig. 1, item 116; ¶12) ; a processor (fig. 1, item 130: controller; ¶16) configured to obtain, from an output of a sensor (fig. 1, item 106; ¶15; ¶21) configured to obtain position information, generate an image for a right eye of the first user and an image for a left eye of the first user on a basis of the position information of the first user; control the display to display a display image including the image for the right eye of the first user, the image for the left eye of the first user (¶17; ¶22, “the display light is projected from the display panel 102 in a direction that intercepts the current pose of the corresponding viewer”) ; wherein the processor generates, on a basis of the user position information, a composite image combining images included in the display image and controls the display to display the composite image (¶10, “a two-dimensional (2D) frame or composite 3D frame (that is, a frame formed from the interleaving of pixels from a left-eye image and pixels of a right-eye image of a stereoscopic image pair) can be “steered” toward an expected viewer position through activation of the subset of backlight pixels associated with that expected viewer position”; ¶17; ¶23) ; wherein the display (fig. 1, item 116) is arranged between the user separation layer (fig. 1, item 124; ¶13-14) and the left and right image separation layer (fig. 1, item 120; ¶12-14) . Therefore it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the display apparatus of Sato, wherein the display is arranged between the user separation layer and the left and right image separation layer, as taught by Perreault so as to support multiple viewers by successively steering different frames for different viewers to their respective expected viewer positions (¶10) . Sato and Perreault combined do not teach wherein the display is a see-through-type display that modulates light from the backlight . Khorasaninejad teaches a display apparatus (fig. 1, item 100; ¶102) , comprising: a display (fig. 1, item 1; ¶102) ; a processor (fig. 1, item 9; ¶103) configured to: obtain, from an output of a sensor (fig. 1, item 8) configured to obtain position information (¶103) , generate an image for a first user (¶103, “Using the received tracking data, the processor 9 may send one or more signals to one or more control modules 2-6 to modify the wavefront of light before it reaches the user 7. This feedback system and processing of the tracking data by processor 9 may improve the quality of the image perceived by one or more users 7”) , and control the display to display a display image (¶103) ; wherein the display is a see-through-type display that modulates light from the backlight (fig. 1, items 2-6 = backlight; ¶102, “The control modules 2-6 may be placed before the display 1 in the case of a transparent (see-through) display such as those used with augmented reality glasses. In the case of a liquid-crystal display (LCD) or other display that utilizes a backlight, the control modules 2-6 may be integrated with the backlight module”) . Therefore it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the combined display apparatus of Sato and Perreault, wherein the display is a see-through-type display that modulates light from the backlight, as taught by Khorasaninejad, so as to provide a variety of implementations. With respect to Claim 9 , claim 8 is incorporated, Sato does not teach wherein the user separation layer is arranged between the display and the backlight, and the left and right image separation layer is arranged on a side opposite to the backlight of the display. Perreault teaches a display apparatus (fig. 1, item 100; ¶11) , comprising: a display (fig. 1, item 116; ¶12) ; a processor (fig. 1, item 130: controller; ¶16) configured to obtain, from an output of a sensor (fig. 1, item 106; ¶15; ¶21) configured to obtain position information, generate an image for a right eye of the first user and an image for a left eye of the first user on a basis of the position information of the first user; control the display to display a display image including the image for the right eye of the first user, the image for the left eye of the first user (¶17; ¶22, “the display light is projected from the display panel 102 in a direction that intercepts the current pose of the corresponding viewer”) ; wherein the processor generates, on a basis of the user position information, a composite image combining images included in the display image and controls the display to display the composite image (¶10, “a two-dimensional (2D) frame or composite 3D frame (that is, a frame formed from the interleaving of pixels from a left-eye image and pixels of a right-eye image of a stereoscopic image pair) can be “steered” toward an expected viewer position through activation of the subset of backlight pixels associated with that expected viewer position”; ¶17; ¶23) ; wherein the display (fig. 1, item 116) is arranged between the user separation layer (fig. 1, item 124; ¶13-14) and the left and right image separation layer (fig. 1, item 120; ¶12-14) ; wherein the user separation layer (fig. 1, item 124; ¶13-14) is arranged between the display (fig. 1, item 116) and the backlight (fig. 1, item 112) , and the left and right image separation layer (fig. 1, item 120) is arranged on a side opposite to the backlight of the display (fig. 1) . Therefore it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the combined display apparatus of Sato and Khorasaninejad, wherein the user separation layer is arranged between the display and the backlight, and the left and right image separation layer is arranged on a side opposite to the backlight of the display, as taught by Perreault so as to provide alternative implementations of the user separation layer and the left and right image separation layer . 07-22-aia AIA Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sato as applied to claim 10 above, and further in view of Khorasaninejad in view of Karaoguz et al. (Pub. No.: US 2011/0159929 A1) hereinafter referred to as Karaoguz . With respect to Claim 11 , claim 10 is incorporated, Sato does not teach further comprising a backlight that radiates light onto the display, wherein the display is a see-through-type display that modulates light from the backlight. Khorasaninejad teaches a display apparatus (fig. 1, item 100; ¶102) , comprising: a display (fig. 1, item 1; ¶102) ; a processor (fig. 1, item 9; ¶103) configured to: obtain, from an output of a sensor (fig. 1, item 8) configured to obtain position information (¶103) , generate an image for a first user (¶103, “Using the received tracking data, the processor 9 may send one or more signals to one or more control modules 2-6 to modify the wavefront of light before it reaches the user 7. This feedback system and processing of the tracking data by processor 9 may improve the quality of the image perceived by one or more users 7”) , and control the display to display a display image (¶103) ; further comprising a backlight (fig. 1, items 2-6 = backlight) that radiates light onto the display (fig. 1, item 1) , wherein the display is a see-through-type display that modulates light from the backlight (¶102, “The control modules 2-6 may be placed before the display 1 in the case of a transparent (see-through) display such as those used with augmented reality glasses. In the case of a liquid-crystal display (LCD) or other display that utilizes a backlight, the control modules 2-6 may be integrated with the backlight module”) . Therefore it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the combined display apparatus of Sato and Perreault, further comprising a backlight that radiates light onto the display, wherein the display is a see-through-type display that modulates light from the backlight, as taught by Khorasaninejad, so as to provide a variety of implementations. Sato and Khorasaninejad combined do not teach the user separation layer and the left and right image separation layer are arranged between the display and the backlight. Karaoguz teaches a display apparatus (fig. 26, item 2600; ¶169) , comprising: a display (fig. 26, item 2642; ¶176) ; a processor (fig. 26, item 2602; ¶170) configured to: obtain, from an output of a sensor (fig. 26, item 2616) configured to obtain position information in a real space, user position information including position information of a first user (¶173) , control the display to display a display image (¶178) ; a user separation layer (fig. 26, item 2644) ; and a left and right image separation layer (fig. 26, item 2644; ¶176, “one or more adaptable light manipulators 2644 within adaptable screen assembly 2606”) ; wherein the user separation layer (fig. 10, item 1024; ¶107) and the left and right image separation layer (fig. 10, item 1026; ¶108; ¶165) are arranged between the display and the backlight (fig. 10; ¶106, “each pixel in pixel array 1022 may operate to selectively pass light emitted by a backlighting source (not shown in FIG. 10) to produce light 1032”) . Therefore it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the combined display apparatus of Sato and Khorasaninejad, wherein the user separation layer and the left and right image separation layer are arranged between the display and the backlight, as taught by Karaoguz so as to provide an alternative implementation . 07-22-aia AIA Claim s 15 and 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sato as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Hansen (Pub. No.: US 2019/0243151 A1) . With respect to Claim 15 , claim 1 is incorporated, Sato does not teach wherein the user separation layer includes a first stripe pattern for separating the display image, the left and right image separation layer includes a second stripe pattern for separating the display image, and a direction of the first stripe pattern intersects with a direction of the second stripe pattern as viewed from a direction orthogonal to a display screen of the display. Hansen teaches a display apparatus (fig. 1, item 100; fig. 4, item 400; fig. 5, item 500; ¶23; ¶38; ¶43) , comprising: a display (figs. 1 or 4-5, item 102; ¶23) ; a processor (fig. 8, item 802; ¶60) configured to: obtain, from an output of a sensor (¶21) configured to obtain position information, and control the display to display a display image (¶23; ¶41; ¶44) ; a user separation layer (figs. 1 and 4, item 104; ¶23) ; and a left and right image separation layer (figs. 1 and 4, item 106; ¶23) , wherein the user separation layer includes a first stripe pattern for separating the display image (figs. 1 and 4-5) , the left and right image separation layer includes a second stripe pattern for separating the display image (figs. 1 and 4-5) , and a direction of the first stripe pattern intersects with a direction of the second stripe pattern as viewed from a direction orthogonal to a display screen of the display (figs. 1 and 4-5, when viewing the display in a stacked manner, the first stripe pattern intersects the second stripe pattern in an overlapping manner) . Therefore it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the display apparatus of Sato, wherein the user separation layer includes a first stripe pattern for separating the display image, the left and right image separation layer includes a second stripe pattern for separating the display image, and a direction of the first stripe pattern intersects with a direction of the second stripe pattern as viewed from a direction orthogonal to a display screen of the display, as taught by Hansen so as to enable adjustment of a viewing angle of one viewer without affecting an angle of display of another viewer (¶21) . With respect to Claim 18 , claim 15 is incorporated, Sato does not teach wherein the user separation layer is capable of electrically controlling the direction of the first stripe pattern, and the processor controls the user separation layer to change the direction of the first stripe pattern on a basis of the user position information. Hansen teaches a display apparatus (fig. 1, item 100; fig. 4, item 400; fig. 5, item 500; ¶23; ¶38; ¶43) , comprising: a display (figs. 1 or 4-5, item 102; ¶23) ; a processor (fig. 8, item 802; ¶60) configured to: obtain, from an output of a sensor (¶21) configured to obtain position information, and control the display to display a display image (¶23; ¶41; ¶44) ; a user separation layer (figs. 1 and 4, item 104; ¶23) ; and a left and right image separation layer (figs. 1 and 4, item 106; ¶23) , wherein the user separation layer is capable of electrically controlling the direction of the first stripe pattern (¶36-37; ¶40-41; ¶44) , and the processor controls the user separation layer to change the direction of the first stripe pattern on a basis of the user position information (¶36-37; ¶40-41; ¶44) . Therefore it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the display apparatus of Sato, wherein the user separation layer is capable of electrically controlling the direction of the first stripe pattern, and the processor controls the user separation layer to change the direction of the first stripe pattern on a basis of the user position information, as taught by Hansen so as to enable adjustment of a viewing angle of one viewer without affecting an angle of display of another viewer (¶21) . With respect to Claim 19 , claim 15 is incorporated, Sato does not teach wherein the user separation layer is capable of electrically controlling ON or OFF of the first stripe pattern, and the processor controls the user separation layer so that the first stripe pattern is turned off in a case where the number of users is one. Hansen teaches a display apparatus (fig. 1, item 100; fig. 4, item 400; fig. 5, item 500; ¶23; ¶38; ¶43) , comprising: a display (figs. 1 or 4-5, item 102; ¶23) ; a processor (fig. 8, item 802; ¶60) configured to: obtain, from an output of a sensor (¶21) configured to obtain position information, and control the display to display a display image (¶23; ¶41; ¶44) ; a user separation layer (figs. 1 and 4, item 104; ¶23) ; and a left and right image separation layer (figs. 1 and 4, item 106; ¶23) , wherein the user separation layer is capable of electrically controlling ON or OFF of the first stripe pattern (¶45, “While one or another viewer may not be present, a viewer may decide they prefer a single image is displayed, not two simultaneous images. In these cases, a viewer may interact with the display or another control mechanism to convey a signal that deactivates the parallax barriers to restore normal viewing options. Deactivation of the parallax barrier can include removing opaque regions such as parallax barrier lines”) , and the processor controls the user separation layer so that the first stripe pattern is turned off in a case where the number of users is one (¶45, “In these cases, a viewer may interact with the display or another control mechanism to convey a signal that deactivates the parallax barriers to restore normal viewing options. Deactivation of the parallax barrier can include removing opaque regions such as parallax barrier lines. In an example, a detection of one viewer being present may lead to an automatically sent signal to switch to a single image mode”) . Therefore it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the display apparatus of Sato, wherein the user separation layer is capable of electrically controlling ON or OFF of the first stripe pattern, and the processor controls the user separation layer so that the first stripe pattern is turned off in a case where the number of users is one, as taught by Hansen so as to enable adjustment of a viewing angle of one viewer without affecting an angle of display of another viewer (¶21) . 07-22-aia AIA Claim s 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sato as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Grossman (Pub. No.: US 2017/0347083 A1) . With respect to Claim 20 , claim 1 is incorporated, Sato does not teach wherein the processor switches and executes a plurality of display modes on a basis of the number of users. Grossman teaches a display apparatus (fig. 1, item 10; ¶43) , comprising: a display (fig. 1, item 16; ¶43) ; a processor (¶43, a personal computer comprises a processor) configured to: obtain, from an output of a sensor (fig. 1, item 20; ¶43-44) configured to obtain position information, generate an image for a first user (¶44) , generate an image for a second user (¶26) , and control the display to display a display image (¶43, “a personal computer, including a graphics card 12 which drives a monitor 14 so as to display images on a screen 16 of the monitor”) ; wherein the processor switches and executes a plurality of display modes on a basis of the number of users (¶16, “selecting a view mode from a plurality of pre-defined view modes which comprise view modes with different numbers of views to be displayed”; ¶82, “this camera may be used to detect and count the number of viewers, and N will then be adapted automatically, either in direct or indirect proportion, to the number of viewers”) . Therefore it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the display apparatus of Sato, wherein the processor switches and executes a plurality of display modes on a basis of the number of users, as taught by Grossman so as to enable free choice of a number of viewers, a number of views, a number of channels to display these views, and the free assignment of these three to each other, even while the system is running (¶21) . 07-22-aia AIA Claim s 21-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sato and Grossman as applied to claim 20 above, and further in view of Hinnen et al. (Pub. No.: US 2015/0049176 A1) hereinafter referred to as Hinnen . With respect to Claim 21 , claim 20 is incorporated, Sato does not teach wherein the plurality of display modes includes a first display mode that generates the image for the right eye of the first user and the image for the left eye of the first user and an image for a right eye of the second user and an image for a left eye of the second user and causes the display to display these images. Grossman teaches a display apparatus (fig. 1, item 10; ¶43) , comprising: a display (fig. 1, item 16; ¶43) ; a processor (¶43, a personal computer comprises a processor) configured to: obtain, from an output of a sensor (fig. 1, item 20; ¶43-44) configured to obtain position information, generate an image for a first user (¶44) , generate an image for a second user (¶26) , and control the display to display a display image (¶43, “a personal computer, including a graphics card 12 which drives a monitor 14 so as to display images on a screen 16 of the monitor”) ; wherein the processor switches and executes a plurality of display modes on a basis of the number of users (¶16, “selecting a view mode from a plurality of pre-defined view modes which comprise view modes with different numbers of views to be displayed”; ¶82, “this camera may be used to detect and count the number of viewers, and N will then be adapted automatically, either in direct or indirect proportion, to the number of viewers”) ; wherein the plurality of display modes includes a first display mode that generates the image for the right eye of the first user and the image for the left eye of the first user (¶44) and an image for a right eye of the second user and an image for a left eye of the second user (¶44) and causes the display to display these images (¶44) . Therefore it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the display apparatus of Sato, wherein the plurality of display modes includes a first display mode that generates the image for the right eye of the first user and the image for the left eye of the first user and an image for a right eye of the second user and an image for a left eye of the second user and causes the display to display these images, as taught by Grossman so as to enable free choice of a number of viewers, a number of views, a number of channels to display these views, and the free assignment of these three to each other, even while the system is running (¶21) . Although Grossman teaches a plurality of pre-defined view modes (¶16) , Sato and Grossman combined do not teach a second display mode that generates the image for the right eye of the first user and the image for the left eye of the first user and a two dimensional image targeting the second user and causes the display to display these images. Hinnen teaches a display apparatus (fig. 1; ¶71) , comprising: a display (fig. 1, item 162; ¶73) ; a processor (fig. 1, item 140; ¶81) configured to: obtain from an output of a sensor (fig. 1, item 130; ¶81) configured to obtain position information, generate an image for a right eye of the first user and an image for a left eye of the first user on a basis of the position information of the first user (¶90) , generate an image for a second user, which is targeting the second user different from the first user (¶90) , and control the display to display a display image (¶90) ; wherein the processor switches and executes a plurality of display modes (¶33, first mode: 3D for both first and second user, second mode: 3D for first user and 2D for second user or vice versa) ; wherein a second display mode that generates the image for the right eye of the first user and the image for the left eye of the first user (¶90) and a two dimensional image targeting the second user and causes the display to display these images (¶90) . Therefore it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the combined display apparatus of Sato and Grossman, such that a second display mode that generates the image for the right eye of the first user and the image for the left eye of the first user and a two dimensional image targeting the second user and causes the display to display these images, as taught by Hinnen so as to providing practical ways of indicating to the viewer that they are at a conflict position where the 3D effect is not correctly provided (¶18) . With respect to Claim 22 , claim 21 is incorporated, Sato does not teach wherein the processor executes the second display mode in a case where the number of users is one, executes the first display mode in a case wherein the number of users is two. Grossman teaches a display apparatus (fig. 1, item 10; ¶43) , comprising: a display (fig. 1, item 16; ¶43) ; a processor (¶43, a personal computer comprises a processor) configured to: obtain, from an output of a sensor (fig. 1, item 20; ¶43-44) configured to obtain position information, generate an image for a first user (¶44) , generate an image for a second user (¶26) , and control the display to display a display image (¶43, “a personal computer, including a graphics card 12 which drives a monitor 14 so as to display images on a screen 16 of the monitor”) ; wherein the processor switches and executes a plurality of display modes on a basis of the number of users (¶16, “selecting a view mode from a plurality of pre-defined view modes which comprise view modes with different numbers of views to be displayed”; ¶82, “this camera may be used to detect and count the number of viewers, and N will then be adapted automatically, either in direct or indirect proportion, to the number of viewers”) ; wherein the plurality of display modes includes a first display mode that generates the image for the right eye of the first user and the image for the left eye of the first user (¶44) and an image for a right eye of the second user and an image for a left eye of the second user (¶44) and causes the display to display these images (¶44) ; wherein the processor executes the second display mode in a case where the number of users is one (¶25) , executes the first display mode in a case wherein the number of users is two (¶26) . Therefore it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the combined display apparatus of Sato and Hinnen, wherein the processor executes the second display mode in a case where the number of users is one, executes the first display mode in a case wherein the number of users is two, as taught by Grossman so as to enable free choice of a number of viewers, a number of views, a number of channels to display these views, and the free assignment of these three to each other, even while the system is running (¶21) . With respect to Claim 23 , claim 21 is incorporated, Sato does not teach wherein the processor executes the first display mode in a case where the number of users is equal to or smaller than two, and executes the second display mode in a case where the number of users is equal to or larger than three. Grossman teaches a display apparatus (fig. 1, item 10; ¶43) , comprising: a display (fig. 1, item 16; ¶43) ; a processor (¶43, a personal computer comprises a processor) configured to: obtain, from an output of a sensor (fig. 1, item 20; ¶43-44) configured to obtain position information, generate an image for a first user (¶44) , generate an image for a second user (¶26) , and control the display to display a display image (¶43, “a personal computer, including a graphics card 12 which drives a monitor 14 so as to display images on a screen 16 of the monitor”) ; wherein the processor switches and executes a plurality of display modes on a basis of the number of users (¶16, “selecting a view mode from a plurality of pre-defined view modes which comprise view modes with different numbers of views to be displayed”; ¶82, “this camera may be used to detect and count the number of viewers, and N will then be adapted automatically, either in direct or indirect proportion, to the number of viewers”) ; wherein the plurality of display modes includes a first display mode that generates the image for the right eye of the first user and the image for the left eye of the first user (¶44) and an image for a right eye of the second user and an image for a left eye of the second user (¶44) and causes the display to display these images (¶44) ; wherein the processor executes the first display mode in a case where the number of users is equal to or smaller than two (¶26-27; ¶31-32, first display mode is dynamic) , and executes the second display mode in a case where the number of users is equal to or larger than three (¶27; ¶32; ¶34, the second display mode is static) . Therefore it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the combined display apparatus of Sato and Hinnen, wherein the processor executes the first display mode in a case where the number of users is equal to or smaller than two, and executes the second display mode in a case where the number of users is equal to or larger than three, as taught by Grossman so as to enable free choice of a number of viewers, a number of views, a number of channels to display these views, and the free assignment of these three to each other, even while the system is running (¶21) . With respect to Claim 24 , claim 21 is incorporated, Sato and Grossman combined do not teach wherein the plurality of display modes includes a third display mode that generates only a predetermined two-dimensional image and causes the display to display the predetermined two-dimensional image, and the processor executes the third display mode in a case where the number of users is zero. Hinnen teaches a display apparatus (fig. 1; ¶71) , comprising: a display (fig. 1, item 162; ¶73) ; a processor (fig. 1, item 140; ¶81) configured to: obtain from an output of a sensor (fig. 1, item 130; ¶81) configured to obtain position information, generate an image for a right eye of the first user and an image for a left eye of the first user on a basis of the position information of the first user (¶90) , generate an image for a second user, which is targeting the second user different from the first user (¶90) , and control the display to display a display image (¶90) ; wherein the processor switches and executes a plurality of display modes (¶33, first mode: 3D for both first and second user, second mode: 3D for first user and 2D for second user or vice versa) ; wherein a second display mode that generates the image for the right eye of the first user and the image for the left eye of the first user (¶90) and a two dimensional image targeting the second user and causes the display to display these images (¶90) ; wherein the plurality of display modes includes a third display mode that generates only a predetermined two-dimensional image and causes the display to display the predetermined two-dimensional image (¶7; ¶98) , and the processor executes the third display mode in a case where the number of users is zero (¶7; ¶98) . Therefore it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the combined display apparatus of Sato and Grossman, wherein the plurality of display modes includes a third display mode that generates only a predetermined two-dimensional image and causes the display to display the predetermined two-dimensional image, and the processor executes the third display mode in a case where the number of users is zero, as taught by Hinnen so as to providing practical ways of indicating to the viewer that they are at a conflict position where the 3D effect is not correctly provided and reduce resource usage (¶18) . With respect to Claim 25 , claim 20 is incorporated, Sato does not teach wherein the processor obtains the number of users from the output of the sensor or obtains the number of users from information input via a predetermined input apparatus. Grossman teaches a display apparatus (fig. 1, item 10; ¶43) , comprising: a display (fig. 1, item 16; ¶43) ; a processor (¶43, a personal computer comprises a processor) configured to: obtain, from an output of a sensor (fig. 1, item 20; ¶43-44) configured to obtain position information, generate an image for a first user (¶44) , generate an image for a second user (¶26) , and control the display to display a display image (¶43, “a personal computer, including a graphics card 12 which drives a monitor 14 so as to display images on a screen 16 of the monitor”) ; wherein the processor switches and executes a plurality of display modes on a basis of the number of users (¶16, “selecting a view mode from a plurality of pre-defined view modes which comprise view modes with different numbers of views to be displayed”; ¶82, “this camera may be used to detect and count the number of viewers, and N will then be adapted automatically, either in direct or indirect proportion, to the number of viewers”) ; wherein the processor obtains the number of users from the output of the sensor (¶82) . Therefore it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the combined display apparatus of Sato and Hinnen, wherein the processor obtains the number of users from the output of the sensor or obtains the number of users from information input via a predetermined input apparatus, as taught by Grossman so as to enable free choice of a number of viewers, a number of views, a number of channels to display these views, and the free assignment of these three to each other, even while the system is running (¶21) . Allowable Subject Matter 12-151-08 AIA 07-43 12-51-08 Claim s 16-17 and 19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. 13-03-01 AIA The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: With respect to Claim 16, Bennett et al. (Pub. No.: US 2011/0157696 A1) teaches a parallax barrier (fig. 19, item 300) that is inclined, however none of the prior art teaches the display includes a plurality of pixels arranged in a grid form in a vertical direction and a horizontal direction of the display screen, and the direction of the first stripe pattern is a direction inclined on a same side as the direction of the second stripe pattern with respect to the vertical direction of the display screen . Conclusion 07-96 AIA The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Bennett et al. (Pub. No.: US 2011/0157696 A1) figure 19 . Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to DONNA V Bocar whose telephone number is (571)272-0955. The examiner can normally be reached Monday - Friday 8:30am to 5pm EST. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Amr A Awad can be reached at (571)272-7764. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /DONNA V Bocar/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2621 Application/Control Number: 19/160,696 Page 2 Art Unit: 2621 Application/Control Number: 19/160,696 Page 3 Art Unit: 2621 Application/Control Number: 19/160,696 Page 4 Art Unit: 2621 Application/Control Number: 19/160,696 Page 5 Art Unit: 2621 Application/Control Number: 19/160,696 Page 6 Art Unit: 2621 Application/Control Number: 19/160,696 Page 7 Art Unit: 2621 Application/Control Number: 19/160,696 Page 8 Art Unit: 2621 Application/Control Number: 19/160,696 Page 9 Art Unit: 2621 Application/Control Number: 19/160,696 Page 10 Art Unit: 2621 Application/Control Number: 19/160,696 Page 11 Art Unit: 2621 Application/Control Number: 19/160,696 Page 12 Art Unit: 2621 Application/Control Number: 19/160,696 Page 13 Art Unit: 2621 Application/Control Number: 19/160,696 Page 14 Art Unit: 2621 Application/Control Number: 19/160,696 Page 15 Art Unit: 2621 Application/Control Number: 19/160,696 Page 16 Art Unit: 2621 Application/Control Number: 19/160,696 Page 17 Art Unit: 2621 Application/Control Number: 19/160,696 Page 18 Art Unit: 2621 Application/Control Number: 19/160,696 Page 19 Art Unit: 2621 Application/Control Number: 19/160,696 Page 20 Art Unit: 2621 Application/Control Number: 19/160,696 Page 21 Art Unit: 2621 Application/Control Number: 19/160,696 Page 22 Art Unit: 2621 Application/Control Number: 19/160,696 Page 23 Art Unit: 2621