DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No.JP2023-052380, filed on 03/28/2023.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 08/28/2025 was filed. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
Route Planning Unit – First recited in claim 7 see applicant’s specification paragraph 19 “The server SY includes a communication circuit CS, a route planning unit RP, and a map database MDB. The map database MDB stores map data in which the surrounding environment of the robot MB is described” and applicant’s Fig.2.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 3-5 claims are generally narrative and indefinite, failing to conform with current U.S. practice. They appear to be a literal translation into English from a foreign document and are replete with grammatical and idiomatic errors.
Regarding claim 3, Claim 3 recites “…wherein processing of designating the transit node sequence specifies a presence-possible range of a mobile body on the basis of the transit node sequence that the processing designated immediately before canceling movement to the destination, and in a case where part or a whole of the presence-possible range overlaps with the stop-prohibited area, the processing designates a node at a distal end of the transit node sequence as a stop position of the mobile body”. Examiner submits that it is unclear and indefinite as to clearly ascertain the scope of “specifies a presence-possible range of a mobile body on the basis of the transit node sequence that the processing designated immediately before canceling movement to the destination”. It is unclear whether that the “processing of designating the transit node sequence presence-possible range of a mobile body” is only specified when the canceling of a movement occurs or the processing occurs as cancels a movement as a result.
The term “immediately” in claim 3 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “immediately” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. Examiner notes the term immediately does not have any context within the claim to accurately describe the bounds of the term. The term immediately can vary in scope depending on the scenario or situation and it is unclear at what time would make something not immediate.
Claim 3 recites the limitation "a distal end" in line 9. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Appropriate correction and/or clarification is earnestly solicited.
Regarding claim 4, Claim 4 recites the limitation "a stop position" in lines 6-7. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Appropriate correction and/or clarification is earnestly solicited.
Regarding claim 5, Claim 5 recites “…wherein processing of designating the transit node sequence designates a section in which routes of two mobile bodies overlap as the stop-prohibited area of a mobile body that passes through the section earlier”. Examiner submits that it is unclear and indefinite as to clearly ascertain the scope of the claim as currently written. Examiner notes that it is unclear what exactly is passing through the section earlier. Appropriate correction and/or clarification is earnestly solicited.
Examiner notes that dependent claims 3-5 will be addressed (if applicable) with prior art upon the overcoming of the outstanding 35 U.S.C. 101 and 35 U.S.C. 112(b) rejections. The compounding issues surrounding the 101 and 112(b) rejections makes
applying art against the claims in a reasonable manner difficult.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
101 Analysis – Step 1
Claim 1 is directed towards an information processing method (i.e. a process). Therefore, claim 1 is within at least one of the four statutory categories.
101 Analysis – Step 2A, Prong I
Regarding prong 1 of the Step 2A analysis, the claims are to be analyzed to determine whether they recite subject matter that falls within one of the following groups of abstract ideas: a) mathematical concepts, b) certain methods of organizing human activity, and/or c) mental processes.
Independent claim 1 includes limitations that recite abstract ideas (emphasized below in bold).
Claim 1 recites:
An information processing method to be executed by a computer, the method comprising
designating, as a transit node sequence to a destination, a transit node sequence of which a distal end does not overlap with a stop-prohibited area.
The examiner submits that the foregoing bolded limitation(s) constitute a “abstract idea” because under its broadest reasonable interpretation, the claim covers performance of this limitation in the human mind. For example, “the method comprising designating, as a transit node sequence to a destination, a transit node sequence of which a distal end does not overlap with a stop-prohibited area” in the context of this claim encompasses a user/operator making a mental decision/designation to generate a path for a robot/vehicle to traverse while inputting an area that is stop-prohibited to ensure that the robot/vehicle does not park/stop in that area. Accordingly, the claim recites at least one or more abstract idea(s).
101 Analysis – Step 2A, Prong II
Regarding Prong II of the Step 2A the claims are to be analyzed to determine whether the claim, as a whole, integrates the abstract into a practical application. It must be determined whether any additional elements in the claim beyond the abstract idea integrate the exception into a practical application in a manner that imposes a meaningful limit on the judicial exception. The courts have indicated that additional elements merely using a computer to implement an abstract idea, adding insignificant extra solution activity, or generally linking use of a judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use do not integrate a judicial exception into a “practical application.”
In the present case, the additional limitations beyond the above-noted abstract idea are as follows (where the underlined portions are the “additional limitations” while the bolded portions continue to represent the “abstract idea”):
An information processing method to be executed by a computer, the method comprising
designating, as a transit node sequence to a destination, a transit node sequence of which a distal end does not overlap with a stop-prohibited area.
For the following reason(s), the examiner submits that the above identified additional limitations do not integrate the above-noted abstract idea into a practical application. Regarding the additional limitations of “an information processing method to be executed by a computer”. The examiner submits that these limitations are insignificant extra solution activity. All of these limitations are just further defining and adding elements to the abstract idea.
Thus, taken alone, the additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. Further, looking at the additional limitation(s) as an ordered combination or as a whole, the limitation(s) add nothing that is not already present when looking at the elements taken individually. For instance, there is no indication that the additional elements, when considered as a whole, reflect an improvement in the functioning of a computer or an improvement to another technology or technical field, apply or use the above-noted judicial exception to effect a particular treatment or prophylaxis for a disease or medical condition, implement/use the above-noted judicial exception with a particular machine or manufacture that is integral to the claim, effect a transformation or reduction of a particular article to a different state or thing, or apply or use the judicial exception in some other meaningful way beyond generally linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment, such that the claim as a whole is not more than a drafting effort designed to monopolize the exception (MPEP § 2106.05). Accordingly, the additional limitation(s) do/does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea.
101 Analysis – Step 2B
Regarding Step 2B, representative independent claim 1 does not include additional elements (considered both individually and as an ordered combination) that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception for the same reasons to those discussed above with respect to Step 2A Prong II which discusses that the claim does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application. And as discussed above, the additional limitations of “an information processing method to be executed by a computer” the examiner submits that these limitations are an extra solution activity.
Further, a conclusion that an additional element is insignificant extra-solution activity in Step 2A should be re-evaluated in Step 2B to determine if they are more than what is well-understood, routine, conventional activity in the field. The additional limitation of “an information processing method to be executed by a computer” are well understood, routine, and conventional activities.
Dependent claims 2-6 do not recite any further limitations that cause the claim(s) to be patent eligible. Rather, the limitations of dependent claims are directed toward additional aspects of the judicial exception and/or well-understood, routine and conventional additional elements that do not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application. Therefore, dependent claims 2-6 are not patent eligible under the same rationale as provided for in the rejection of independent claim 1.
Independent claim 7 is analogous to claim 1 and is also rejected under the same premise. Claim 7 includes an information processing apparatus but the apparatus does not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application. Therefore, independent claim 7 is not patent eligible under the same rationale as provided for in the rejection of independent claim 1.
Independent claim 8 is analogous to claim 1 and 7 and is also rejected under the same premise. Claim 8 includes a mobile system comprising a mobile body and a server but the mobile system does not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application. Therefore, independent claim 8 is not patent eligible under the same rationale as provided for in the rejection of independent claims 1 and 7.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2 and 7-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Tsuji (US 2021/0229705 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Tsuji teaches an information processing method to be executed by a computer, the method comprising designating, as a transit node sequence to a destination, a transit node sequence of which a distal end does not overlap with a stop-prohibited area. [(see at least Fig.3, paragraphs 102) As in 102 “As illustrated in FIG. 3, the plural observation points P are imaginary points that are aligned in the advancing direction of the vehicle on the road ahead of the vehicle in the advancing direction. In the example illustrated in FIG. 3, the plural observation points P are aligned along a center of a lane that is adjacent to a road end 41 (for example, a first travel lane in the case where plural lanes are present).” As in 224 “As it has been described so far, the vehicle controller 10 according to the embodiment can generate the evacuation route in consideration of the width of the road shoulder area 40. More specifically, the evacuation route can be generated in consideration of at least one of the width of the road shoulder area 40 and the margin of the width thereof at each of the plural observation points P. In this way, it is possible to appropriately evacuate the vehicle to the road shoulder area 40.” As in 225 “More specifically, the evacuation route can be generated in consideration of at least one of the presence or the absence of the obstacle at each of the plural observation points P, the correspondence or the non-correspondence of the stopping permission area at each of the plural observation points P, and the possibility or the impossibility of stopping of the vehicle at each of the plural observation points P. In this way, it is possible to appropriately evacuate the vehicle to the road shoulder area 40 by avoiding the portion of the road shoulder area 40 where the vehicle cannot be stopped.”] Examiner notes Fig.3 depicts the sequential observation points (nodes) that are used to create a trajectory for a vehicle to traverse. The vehicle controller can generate an evacuation route where the vehicle is able to stop in using the plurality of observation points. The observation points are utilized along the trajectory to determine stopping permission at each observation point and is able to generate a trajectory using the plurality of observation points to guide the vehicle to an area where the vehicle can safely/legally park and avoid an area where the vehicle cannot be stopped (stop-prohibited area).
Regarding claim 2, Tsuji teaches wherein processing of designating the transit node sequence designates, as the transit node sequence, a node sequence up to a node that is a default number of nodes ahead or beyond the default number and that is not included in the stop-prohibited area. [(see at least paragraph 83) “the route generation section 116 generates travel map data (two-dimensional map data) that includes the road ahead of the vehicle in an advancing direction and the object existing on the road. Then, the route generation section 116 generates the candidate route by using a state lattice method. More specifically, the route generation section 116 sets a grid area including a large number of grid points on the road in the travel map data, and sequentially connects the plural grid points in the advancing direction of the vehicle, so as to set plural travel routes.”] Examiner notes that the plurality of grid points that are used to generate route information do not include a stop-prohibited area.
Regarding claim 7, Tsuji teaches an information processing apparatus comprising a route planning unit that designates, as a transit node sequence to a destination, a transit node sequence of which a distal end does not overlap with a stop-prohibited area. [(see at least Fig.3, paragraphs 102) As in 102 “As illustrated in FIG. 3, the plural observation points P are imaginary points that are aligned in the advancing direction of the vehicle on the road ahead of the vehicle in the advancing direction. In the example illustrated in FIG. 3, the plural observation points P are aligned along a center of a lane that is adjacent to a road end 41 (for example, a first travel lane in the case where plural lanes are present).” As in 224 “As it has been described so far, the vehicle controller 10 according to the embodiment can generate the evacuation route in consideration of the width of the road shoulder area 40. More specifically, the evacuation route can be generated in consideration of at least one of the width of the road shoulder area 40 and the margin of the width thereof at each of the plural observation points P. In this way, it is possible to appropriately evacuate the vehicle to the road shoulder area 40.” As in 225 “More specifically, the evacuation route can be generated in consideration of at least one of the presence or the absence of the obstacle at each of the plural observation points P, the correspondence or the non-correspondence of the stopping permission area at each of the plural observation points P, and the possibility or the impossibility of stopping of the vehicle at each of the plural observation points P. In this way, it is possible to appropriately evacuate the vehicle to the road shoulder area 40 by avoiding the portion of the road shoulder area 40 where the vehicle cannot be stopped.”] Examiner notes Fig.3 depicts the sequential observation points (nodes) that are used to create a trajectory for a vehicle to traverse. The vehicle controller can generate an evacuation route where the vehicle is able to stop in using the plurality of observation points. The observation points are utilized along the trajectory to determine stopping permission at each observation point and is able to generate a trajectory using the plurality of observation points to guide the vehicle to an area where the vehicle can safely/legally park and avoid an area where the vehicle cannot be stopped (stop-prohibited area).
Regarding claim 8, Tsuji teaches a mobile system comprising: a mobile body [(see at least paragraph 32) “FIG. 1 exemplifies a configuration of a vehicle control system 1 according to the embodiment. The vehicle control system 1 is provided in a vehicle (more specifically, a four-wheeled motor vehicle).”]; and a server that designates, as a transit node sequence to a destination of the mobile body, a transit node sequence of which a distal end does not overlap with a stop-prohibited area. [(see at least Fig.3, paragraphs 102) As in 102 “As illustrated in FIG. 3, the plural observation points P are imaginary points that are aligned in the advancing direction of the vehicle on the road ahead of the vehicle in the advancing direction. In the example illustrated in FIG. 3, the plural observation points P are aligned along a center of a lane that is adjacent to a road end 41 (for example, a first travel lane in the case where plural lanes are present).” As in 224 “As it has been described so far, the vehicle controller 10 according to the embodiment can generate the evacuation route in consideration of the width of the road shoulder area 40. More specifically, the evacuation route can be generated in consideration of at least one of the width of the road shoulder area 40 and the margin of the width thereof at each of the plural observation points P. In this way, it is possible to appropriately evacuate the vehicle to the road shoulder area 40.” As in 225 “More specifically, the evacuation route can be generated in consideration of at least one of the presence or the absence of the obstacle at each of the plural observation points P, the correspondence or the non-correspondence of the stopping permission area at each of the plural observation points P, and the possibility or the impossibility of stopping of the vehicle at each of the plural observation points P. In this way, it is possible to appropriately evacuate the vehicle to the road shoulder area 40 by avoiding the portion of the road shoulder area 40 where the vehicle cannot be stopped.”] Examiner notes Fig.3 depicts the sequential observation points (nodes) that are used to create a trajectory for a vehicle to traverse. The vehicle controller can generate an evacuation route where the vehicle is able to stop in using the plurality of observation points. The observation points are utilized along the trajectory to determine stopping permission at each observation point and is able to generate a trajectory using the plurality of observation points to guide the vehicle to an area where the vehicle can safely/legally park and avoid an area where the vehicle cannot be stopped (stop-prohibited area).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tsuji in view of Nister (US 2019/0250622 A1).
Regarding claim 6, Tsuji has all of the elements of claim 1 as discussed above.
Tsuji does not explicitly teach wherein processing of designating the transit node sequence designates a node and an edge through which a preferential mobile body executing a high-priority task passes as the stop-prohibited area of a non-preferential mobile body that passes through the node and the edge earlier than the preferential mobile body
However, Nister teaches wherein processing of designating the transit node sequence designates a node and an edge through which a preferential mobile body executing a high-priority task passes as the stop-prohibited area of a non-preferential mobile body that passes through the node and the edge earlier than the preferential mobile body. [(see at least paragraph 229) “The CNN may also be trained to identify emergency vehicles specific to the local area in which the vehicle is operating, as identified by GNSS sensor(s) 1258. Thus, for example, when operating in Europe the CNN will seek to detect European sirens, and when in the United States the CNN will seek to identify only North American sirens. Once an emergency vehicle is detected, a control program may be used to execute an emergency vehicle safety routine, slowing the vehicle, pulling over to the side of the road, parking the vehicle, and/or idling the vehicle, with the assistance of ultrasonic sensors 1262, until the emergency vehicle(s) passes.”]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of Tsuji to incorporate the teachings of Nister of processing of designating the transit node sequence designates a node and an edge through which a preferential mobile body executing a high-priority task passes as the stop-prohibited area of a non-preferential mobile body that passes through the node and the edge earlier than the preferential mobile body in order to execute a safety routine and pulling over or out of the way until the preferential/emergency vehicle/body passes. [(Nister 229)]
The Examiner has cited particular paragraphs or columns and line numbers in the references applied to the claims above for the convenience of the Applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings of the art and are applied to specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested of the Applicant in preparing responses, to fully consider the references in their entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the Examiner. See MPEP 2141.02 [R-07.2015] VI. A prior art reference must be considered in its entirety, i.e., as a whole, including portions that would lead away from the claimed Invention. W.L. Gore & Associates, Inc. v. Garlock, Inc., 721 F.2d 1540, 220 USPQ 303 (Fed. Cir. 1983), cert, denied, 469 U.S. 851 (1984). See also MPEP §2123.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
(US 2022/0073099 A1) Park - METHOD, DEVICE, AND COMPUTER PROGRAM FOR CONTROLLING STOP OF AUTONOMOUS VEHICLE USING SPEED PROFILE – Discloses a method, a device, and a computer program for controlling stop of an autonomous vehicle using a speed profile. The method of controlling, by a computing device, stop of an autonomous vehicle using a speed profile includes obtaining surrounding information of an autonomous vehicle, determining candidate routes for controlling stop of the autonomous vehicle on the basis of the surrounding information.
(US 2022/0001895 A1) Inaba - VEHICLE CONTROL DEVICE – discloses a vehicle control device that can ensure riding comfort or safety. A vehicle control device includes a driving plan calculation unit that calculates a drivable area, which is a space in which an own vehicle is safely drivable, based on a driving environment around the own vehicle and a destination of the own vehicle
/MOHAMMED YOUSEF ABUELHAWA/Examiner, Art Unit 3656