DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) (IDS) submitted on 09/29/2025 is/are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement(s) is/are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim(s) 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 14, claim limitation “the subgroup” refers definitively to an optional “a subgroup” limitation in 11, which makes claim 14 indefinite because it is not required that a subgroup is established as an antecedent limitation. Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 9-11, and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takahashi1 et al. (US 20220312035) (hereinafter Takahashi1) in view of Yang et al. (US 20240386617) (hereinafter Yang).
Regarding claim 1, Takahashi1 teaches A method of point cloud data, the method comprising:
encoding point cloud data (see Takahashi1 paragraphs 81 and 108-117 regarding encoding point cloud data including encoding the point cloud geometry based on a depth of the tree and encoding attribute data based on a level of detail also related to the depth of the tree and forming a bitstream of multiple slices including geomotry depth slices and attribute LoD slices with parameters for the depth layer); and
However, Takahashi1 does not explicitly teach transmitting a bitstream as needed for the limitations of claim 1.
Yang, in a similar field of endeavor, teaches transmitting a bitstream containing the point cloud data (see Yang paragraphs 52-60, 96-97, 105-109, and 121 regarding transmitting a bitstream of point cloud data and encoding geometry data of the point cloud based on a planar mode for a node of the tree based on density information based on the number of nodes, where information about using the planar mode is included based on a threshold where this information may be included in the header- in combination with Takahashi1, the transmission and planar mode of Yang may be incorporated into the method of Takahashi1 and signaled in the bitstream for the slices).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to modify the teaching of Takahashi1 to include the teaching of Yang so that in combination with Takahashi1, the transmission and planar mode of Yang may be incorporated into the method of Takahashi1 and signaled in the bitstream for the slices.
One would be motivated to combine these teachings in order to improve coding efficiency in a point cloud encoding method (see Yang paragraphs 52-60, 96-97, 105-109, and 121).
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Takahashi1 and Yang teaches all aforementioned limitations of claim 1, and is analyzed as previously discussed.
Furthermore, the combination of Takahashi1 and Yang teaches wherein the encoding of the point cloud data comprises: encoding geometry data of the point cloud data based on a depth of a tree; and encoding attribute data of the point cloud data based on a level of detail (LoD), wherein one or more depths of the tree are related to one or more LoDs (see Takahashi1 paragraphs 81 and 108-117 regarding encoding point cloud data including encoding the point cloud geometry based on a depth of the tree and encoding attribute data based on a level of detail also related to the depth of the tree and forming a bitstream of multiple slices including geomotry depth slices and attribute LoD slices with parameters for the depth layer).
Independent claim(s) 9-10 is/are analogous in scope to claim(s) 1, albeit in the inverse decoding form and/or regarding a memory and processor instructions as taught by Takahashi1 paragraph 243, and is/are rejected according to the same reasoning.
Regarding claim 11, the combination of Takahashi1 and Yang teaches all aforementioned limitations of claim 10, and is analyzed as previously discussed.
Furthermore, the combination of Takahashi1 and Yang teaches wherein the bitstream contains a dependent geometry data unit header, wherein the dependent geometry data unit header contains at least one of: information about a usage type of a planar mode; information about the number of final points included in a subgroup bounding box in a slice of the bitstream; information about a method of estimating the number of points in the slice for density information; information about the number of layers in a subgroup in the slice of the bitstream; or information about whether the planar mode is used for points in the layers in the slice of the bitstream (see Yang paragraphs 52-60, 96-97, 105-109, and 121 regarding transmitting a bitstream of point cloud data and encoding geometry data of the point cloud based on a planar mode for a node of the tree based on density information based on the number of nodes, where information about using the planar mode is included based on a threshold where this information may be included in the header- in combination with Takahashi1, the transmission and planar mode of Yang may be incorporated into the method of Takahashi1 and signaled in the bitstream for the slices).
One would be motivated to combine these teachings in order to improve coding efficiency in a point cloud encoding method (see Yang paragraphs 52-60, 96-97, 105-109, and 121).
Independent claim(s) 15 is/are analogous in scope to claim(s) 1, albeit in the inverse decoding form and/or regarding a memory and processor instructions as taught by Takahashi1 paragraph 243, and is/are rejected according to the same reasoning.
Claim(s) 3-8 and 12-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takahashi1 et al. (US 20220312035) (hereinafter Takahashi1) in view of Yang et al. (US 20240386617) (hereinafter Yang), further in view of Takahashi2 et al. (US 20240292026) (hereinafter Takahashi2).
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Takahashi1 and Yang teaches all aforementioned limitations of claim 2, and is analyzed as previously discussed.
Furthermore, the combination of Takahashi1 and Yang teaches wherein the bitstream contains one or more slices, wherein the slices include: geometry data for the one or more depths of the tree; or attribute data for one or more LoDs, wherein the slices include attribute data for the one or more LoDs (see Takahashi1 paragraphs 81 and 108-117 regarding encoding point cloud data including encoding the point cloud geometry based on a depth of the tree and encoding attribute data based on a level of detail also related to the depth of the tree and forming a bitstream of multiple slices including geomotry depth slices and attribute LoD slices with parameters for the depth layer),
However, the combination of Takahashi1 and Yang does not explicitly teach subgroups as needed for the limitations of claim 3.
Takahashi2, in a similar field of endeavor, teaches wherein: the geometry data in a layer for a level of the depth is included in one or more subgroups; and the attribute data in the layer for a level of the LoD is included in one or more subgroups (see Takahashi2 paragraphs 17, 83-84, 96-98, 108, and 268 regarding geometry data, layer, level and depth for subgroups in a point cloud encoding system- in combination with Takahashi1 and Yang, which encodes a for a point cloud using a planar mode with density information, the subgrouping of Takahashi2 may be incorporated into the density threshold/considerations of Yang's planar mode decoding based on a number of points in the subgroup based on maximum numbers of points in the slices).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to modify the combination of Takahashi1 and Yang to include the teaching of Takahashi2 so that in combination with Takahashi1 and Yang, which encodes a for a point cloud using a planar mode with density information, the subgrouping of Takahashi2 may be incorporated into the density threshold/considerations of Yang's planar mode decoding based on a number of points in the subgroup based on maximum numbers of points in the slices.
One would be motivated to combine these teachings in order to enhance coding efficiency in a point cloud encoding method (see Takahashi2 paragraphs 17, 83-84, 96-98, 108, and 268).
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Takahashi1, Yang, and Takahashi2 teaches all aforementioned limitations of claim 3, and is analyzed as previously discussed.
Furthermore, the combination of Takahashi1, Yang, and Takahashi2 teaches wherein the bitstream contains parameters for the layer (see Takahashi1 paragraphs 81 and 108-117 regarding encoding point cloud data including encoding the point cloud geometry based on a depth of the tree and encoding attribute data based on a level of detail also related to the depth of the tree and forming a bitstream of multiple slices including geomotry depth slices and attribute LoD slices with parameters for the depth layer).
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Takahashi1, Yang, and Takahashi2 teaches all aforementioned limitations of claim 3, and is analyzed as previously discussed.
Furthermore, the combination of Takahashi1, Yang, and Takahashi2 teaches wherein the encoding of the point cloud data comprises: encoding the geometry data of the point cloud data based on a planar mode for a node of the tree, wherein the planar mode is determined based on density information, the density information being calculated based on at least one of the number of points in a leaf node of the tree, the number of directly encoded nodes, or the number of child nodes of the node (see Yang paragraphs 52-60, 96-97, 105-109, and 121 regarding transmitting a bitstream of point cloud data and encoding geometry data of the point cloud based on a planar mode for a node of the tree based on density information based on the number of nodes, where information about using the planar mode is included based on a threshold where this information may be included in the header- in combination with Takahashi1, the transmission and planar mode of Yang may be incorporated into the method of Takahashi1 and signaled in the bitstream for the slices).
One would be motivated to combine these teachings in order to improve coding efficiency in a point cloud encoding method (see Yang paragraphs 52-60, 96-97, 105-109, and 121).
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Takahashi1, Yang, and Takahashi2 teaches all aforementioned limitations of claim 3, and is analyzed as previously discussed.
Furthermore, the combination of Takahashi1, Yang, and Takahashi2 teaches wherein the encoding of the point cloud data comprises: encoding the geometry data in the subgroups in a layer group of the tree (see Takahashi2 paragraphs 17, 83-84, 96-98, 108, and 268 regarding geometry data, layer, level and depth for subgroups in a point cloud encoding system- in combination with Takahashi1 and Yang, which encodes a for a point cloud using a planar mode with density information, the subgrouping of Takahashi2 may be incorporated into the density threshold/considerations of Yang's planar mode decoding based on a number of points in the subgroup based on maximum numbers of points in the slices)
based on a planar mode based on density information (see Yang paragraphs 52-60, 96-97, 105-109, and 121 regarding transmitting a bitstream of point cloud data and encoding geometry data of the point cloud based on a planar mode for a node of the tree based on density information based on the number of nodes, where information about using the planar mode is included based on a threshold where this information may be included in the header- in combination with Takahashi1, the transmission and planar mode of Yang may be incorporated into the method of Takahashi1 and signaled in the bitstream for the slices),
the density information being calculated based on at least one of: the number of points in the subgroups; the number of directly encoded points related to the layer group; or the number of child nodes in an upper layer for the subgroups in the layer group (see Takahashi2 paragraphs 17, 83-84, 96-98, 108, and 268 regarding geometry data, layer, level and depth for subgroups in a point cloud encoding system- in combination with Takahashi1 and Yang, which encodes a for a point cloud using a planar mode with density information, the subgrouping of Takahashi2 may be incorporated into the density threshold/considerations of Yang's planar mode decoding based on a number of points in the subgroup based on maximum numbers of points in the slices).
One would be motivated to combine these teachings in order to improve coding efficiency in a point cloud encoding method (see Yang paragraphs 52-60, 96-97, 105-109, and 121) and enhance coding efficiency in a point cloud encoding method (see Takahashi2 paragraphs 17, 83-84, 96-98, 108, and 268).
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Takahashi1, Yang, and Takahashi2 teaches all aforementioned limitations of claim 6, and is analyzed as previously discussed.
Furthermore, the combination of Takahashi1, Yang, and Takahashi2 teaches wherein the number of points in the subgroups in the layer group of the tree is determined based on: a final number of points related to a leaf layer group of the tree; a maximum number of points related to the slices; or the number of parent subgroups of the subgroups (see Takahashi2 paragraphs 17, 83-84, 96-98, 108, and 268 regarding geometry data, layer, level and depth for subgroups in a point cloud encoding system- in combination with Takahashi1 and Yang, which encodes a for a point cloud using a planar mode with density information, the subgrouping of Takahashi2 may be incorporated into the density threshold/considerations of Yang's planar mode decoding based on a number of points in the subgroup based on maximum numbers of points in the slices).
One would be motivated to combine these teachings in order to enhance coding efficiency in a point cloud encoding method (see Takahashi2 paragraphs 17, 83-84, 96-98, 108, and 268).
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Takahashi1, Yang, and Takahashi2 teaches all aforementioned limitations of claim 3, and is analyzed as previously discussed.
Furthermore, the combination of Takahashi1, Yang, and Takahashi2 teaches wherein the encoding of the point cloud data comprises: generating: density information calculated based on at least one of the number of points in the subgroups, the number of directly encoded points related to the layer group, or the number of child nodes in an upper layer for the subgroups in the layer group (see Takahashi2 paragraphs 17, 83-84, 96-98, 108, and 268 regarding geometry data, layer, level and depth for subgroups in a point cloud encoding system- in combination with Takahashi1 and Yang, which encodes a for a point cloud using a planar mode with density information, the subgrouping of Takahashi2 may be incorporated into the density threshold/considerations of Yang's planar mode decoding based on a number of points in the subgroup based on maximum numbers of points in the slices); and
information about whether a planar mode is used, the information being computed based on a threshold (see Yang paragraphs 52-60, 96-97, 105-109, and 121 regarding transmitting a bitstream of point cloud data and encoding geometry data of the point cloud based on a planar mode for a node of the tree based on density information based on the number of nodes, where information about using the planar mode is included based on a threshold where this information may be included in the header- in combination with Takahashi1, the transmission and planar mode of Yang may be incorporated into the method of Takahashi1 and signaled in the bitstream for the slices).
One would be motivated to combine these teachings in order to improve coding efficiency in a point cloud encoding method (see Yang paragraphs 52-60, 96-97, 105-109, and 121) and enhance coding efficiency in a point cloud encoding method (see Takahashi2 paragraphs 17, 83-84, 96-98, 108, and 268).
Regarding claim 12, the combination of Takahashi1 and Yang teaches all aforementioned limitations of claim 10, and is analyzed as previously discussed.
Furthermore, the combination of Takahashi1 and Yang teaches based on a planar mode based on density information (see Yang paragraphs 52-60, 96-97, 105-109, and 121 regarding transmitting a bitstream of point cloud data and encoding geometry data of the point cloud based on a planar mode for a node of the tree based on density information based on the number of nodes, where information about using the planar mode is included based on a threshold where this information may be included in the header- in combination with Takahashi1, the transmission and planar mode of Yang may be incorporated into the method of Takahashi1 and signaled in the bitstream for the slices),
However, the combination of Takahashi1 and Yang does not explicitly teach subgroups as needed for the limitations of claim 12.
Takahashi2, in a similar field of endeavor, teaches wherein the decoding of the point cloud data comprises: decoding geometry data of the point cloud data in a subgroup in a layer group of the tree (see Takahashi2 paragraphs 17, 83-84, 96-98, 108, and 268 regarding geometry data, layer, level and depth for subgroups in a point cloud encoding system- in combination with Takahashi1 and Yang, which encodes a for a point cloud using a planar mode with density information, the subgrouping of Takahashi2 may be incorporated into the density threshold/considerations of Yang's planar mode decoding based on a number of points in the subgroup based on maximum numbers of points in the slices)
the density information being calculated based on at least one of the number of points in the subgroup; the number of directly encoded points related to the layer group; or the number of child nodes in an upper layer for the subgroup in the layer group (see Takahashi2 paragraphs 17, 83-84, 96-98, 108, and 268 regarding geometry data, layer, level and depth for subgroups in a point cloud encoding system- in combination with Takahashi1 and Yang, which encodes a for a point cloud using a planar mode with density information, the subgrouping of Takahashi2 may be incorporated into the density threshold/considerations of Yang's planar mode decoding based on a number of points in the subgroup based on maximum numbers of points in the slices).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to modify the combination of Takahashi1 and Yang to include the teaching of Takahashi2 so that in combination with Takahashi1 and Yang, which encodes a for a point cloud using a planar mode with density information, the subgrouping of Takahashi2 may be incorporated into the density threshold/considerations of Yang's planar mode decoding based on a number of points in the subgroup based on maximum numbers of points in the slices.
One would be motivated to combine these teachings in order to enhance coding efficiency in a point cloud encoding method (see Takahashi2 paragraphs 17, 83-84, 96-98, 108, and 268).
Regarding claim 13, the combination of Takahashi1, Yang, and Takahashi2 teaches all aforementioned limitations of claim 12, and is analyzed as previously discussed.
Furthermore, the combination of Takahashi1, Yang, and Takahashi2 teaches wherein the number of points in the subgroup in the layer group of the tree is determined based on: a final number of points related to a leaf layer group of the tree; a maximum number of points related to a slice; or the number of parent subgroups of the subgroup (see Takahashi2 paragraphs 17, 83-84, 96-98, 108, and 268 regarding geometry data, layer, level and depth for subgroups in a point cloud encoding system- in combination with Takahashi1 and Yang, which encodes a for a point cloud using a planar mode with density information, the subgrouping of Takahashi2 may be incorporated into the density threshold/considerations of Yang's planar mode decoding based on a number of points in the subgroup based on maximum numbers of points in the slices).
One would be motivated to combine these teachings in order to enhance coding efficiency in a point cloud encoding method (see Takahashi2 paragraphs 17, 83-84, 96-98, 108, and 268).
Regarding claim 14, the combination of Takahashi1 and Yang teaches all aforementioned limitations of claim 11, and is analyzed as previously discussed.
However, the combination of Takahashi1 and Yang does not explicitly teach subgroups as needed for the limitations of claim 14.
Takahashi2, in a similar field of endeavor, teaches wherein the decoding of the point cloud data comprises: decoding geometry data in the subgroup based on the planar mode based on information about whether the planar mode is used for the points in the layers in the slice of the bitstream (see Takahashi2 paragraphs 17, 83-84, 96-98, 108, and 268 regarding geometry data, layer, level and depth for subgroups in a point cloud encoding system- in combination with Takahashi1 and Yang, which encodes a for a point cloud using a planar mode with density information, the subgrouping of Takahashi2 may be incorporated into the density threshold/considerations of Yang's planar mode decoding based on a number of points in the subgroup based on maximum numbers of points in the slices).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to modify the combination of Takahashi1 and Yang to include the teaching of Takahashi2 so that in combination with Takahashi1 and Yang, which encodes a for a point cloud using a planar mode with density information, the subgrouping of Takahashi2 may be incorporated into the density threshold/considerations of Yang's planar mode decoding based on a number of points in the subgroup based on maximum numbers of points in the slices.
One would be motivated to combine these teachings in order to enhance coding efficiency in a point cloud encoding method (see Takahashi2 paragraphs 17, 83-84, 96-98, 108, and 268).
Conclusion
/MATTHEW DAVID KIM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2483