DETAILED ACTION
This is a Non-final office action on the merits. The U.S. Patent and Trademark Office (the Office) has received claims 1-13 in application number 19/161,093. Claims 1-13 are pending and have been examined on the merits.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claim 10 recites it is dependent on claim 9. Claim 9 is dependent on Claim 8 which is dependent on Claim 6 which is dependent on Claim 1. Claim 10 also recites “a label with the batch and sensor data, as defined in claim 1, and optionally some or all of the additional data as defined in claim 4”. Examiner holds that the scope of the phrases “as defined in claim 1”, “optionally” and “as defined in claim 4” is not clear in the context of the dependencies. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Examiner is using the “step” annotation from the flowchart of MPEP 2106 (III), and MPEP 2106.04 and MPEP 2106.05 for clarity.
Claims 1-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Step 1:
Independent Claims 1 and 11 and dependent Claims 2-10 and 12-13 recite a method (process) thereby falling into one of the four statutory categories of invention.
Step 2A, prong 1:
Applicant recites the following elements in Claim 1 (and similarly Claim 11):
(CURRENTLY AMENDED) A method of autonomously tracking a batch of agricultural product, comprising: creating a batch of agricultural product at a point of harvest in a virtual space that mirrors and is associated with a physical batch of harvested agricultural product; detecting, by a plurality of sensors, the presence of radio- frequency identification (RFID) tags respectively associated with different stages of agricultural product harvest, transportation, and storage, wherein each of the plurality of sensors are configured to identify the batch of agricultural product and to send sensor data in association with a batch identifier, wherein the sensor data are at least one of time of agricultural product movement, date of agricultural product movement, equipment involved and location; sending to a virtual or physical database the sensor data collected by the plurality of sensors in association with the batch identifier; storing in the virtual or physical database the sensor data received from the plurality of sensors in association with the batch identifier; receiving a query for the batch of agricultural product; in response to the query, accessing the physical or virtual database to determine the associated sensor data for said batch of agricultural product; and outputting the sensor data and associated batch identifier for display.
Examiner has bolded the elements that are part of the abstract idea.
These elements recite: acquiring data relating to products and their locations during a production process at different times, storing the data and outputting the data. These elements represent an abstract idea in the category of Certain Methods of Organizing Human Activity in the subcategory of Commercial or Legal interactions because it is a common commercial practice for producers of products to track the locations of items, store the locations and output the locations. Claim 1 (and similarly Claim 11) thus recites an abstract idea. Dependent Claims 2-10 and 12-13 contain the same abstract idea by virtue of their dependency on Claim 1 or Claim 11, respectively. Accordingly Claims 1-13 recite an abstract idea.
Step 2A, prong 2:
In addition to the abstract idea discussed above, Claim 1 also recites the following additional elements:
Sensor – Applicant recites a wide range of types and purposes of sensors in their specification at approximately page 8, line 15 and page 9, last paragraph, through page 10 but does not provide detailed technical disclosure of any special features, technologies or benefits relating to Applicant’s inventive concept. Examiner holds that Applicant’s claimed sensor is a general purpose sensor.
RFID tag – Applicant describes an RFID tag in their specification on page 8 as being read by an RFID reader to produce location data because the location of the RFID reader is known but Applicant does not provide detailed technical disclosure of any special features, technologies or benefits relating to Applicant’s inventive concept. Examiner holds that Applicant’s claimed RFID tag is a general purpose RFID tag.
Database – Applicant describes a database in their specification on page 11, top, as a general purpose data storage system (ie a computer memory). Applicant does not provide detailed technical disclosure of any special features, technologies or benefits relating to Applicant’s inventive concept. Examiner holds that Applicant’s claimed database is a general purpose database.
Dependent Claims 6-10 also recite the additional element of System/Processor/Memory – Applicant describes System/Processor/Memory in the specification on page 13 as a general purpose computer. Applicant does not provide detailed technical disclosure of any special features, technologies or benefits relating to Applicant’s inventive concept. Examiner holds that Applicant’s claimed System/Processor/Memory is a general purpose System/Processor/Memory.
Dependent Claims 8-10 also recite a Container/Bag/Jar/Pail - Applicant does not provide detailed technical disclosure of any special features, technologies or benefits relating to Applicant’s inventive concept. Examiner holds that Applicant’s claimed container/bag/jar/pail is a general purpose container/bag/jar/pail.
MPEP 2106.05(f)(2) states “Use of a computer or other machinery in its ordinary capacity for economic or other tasks (e.g., to receive, store, or transmit data) or simply adding a general purpose computer or computer components after the fact to an abstract idea (e.g., a fundamental economic practice or mathematical equation) does not integrate a judicial exception into a practical application”.
As discussed, the additional elements Sensor, RFID tag, Database, System/Processor/ Memory, and Container/Bag/Jar/Pail are broadly claimed and used in their ordinary capacity with no detailed technical disclosure of any special features or technologies and, thus, they do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application.
The claims as a whole do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limitations on practicing the abstract idea. Claims 1- 13 are therefore directed to an abstract idea.
Step 2B: As discussed above, Applicant claims the abstract idea of acquiring data relating to products and their locations during a production process at different times, storing the data and outputting the data. As discussed above, Applicant also recites the additional elements of: Sensor, RFID tag, Database, System/Processor/Memory, and Container/Bag/Jar/Pail.
As discussed above with respect to Step 2A, the claimed Sensor, RFID tag, Database, System/Processor/Memory, and Container/Bag/Jar/Pail are hardware or software constructs recited at a high level of generality and amount to no more than instructions to apply the exception using general purpose computer systems. MPEP 2106.05(f) states that merely adding a general purpose computer or computer components to an abstract idea does not amount to significantly more, thus Sensor, RFID tag, Database, System/Processor/Memory, and Container/Bag/Jar/Pail are not significantly more.
The additional elements alone or in combination do not improve the functioning of a computer or any other technology or technological field. The additional elements alone or in combination do not apply the judicial exception to a particular (non-general purpose) machine. The additional elements alone or in combination do not effect a transformation or reduction of a particular article to a different state or thing. Applicant does not claim or teach in their specification any special purpose hardware or improvements thereof. Therefore, the claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
Dependent Claims 2, 3 and 5 contain the same abstract idea by virtue of their dependency on Claim 1 and further limit the abstract idea by further limiting data.
Dependent Claim 4 contains the same abstract idea by virtue of its dependency on Claim 1 and further limit the data output.
Dependent Claims 6-10 and 12-13 contain the same abstract idea by virtue of their dependency on Claim 1 or Claim 11, respectively, and further limit the abstract idea by further limiting data input.
Claims 1-13 are not patent eligible.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-7 and 11-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by U.S. Patent Publication 2003/0182144 (Pickett).
Regarding Claims 1 and 11:
Pickett teaches a system to identify and track batches of agricultural products. Pickett teaches: A method of autonomously tracking a batch of agricultural product, comprising: creating a batch of agricultural product at a point of harvest in a virtual space that mirrors and is associated with a physical batch of harvested agricultural product; ([0075] “each data profile is associated with a particular crop from a defined geographic area” and [0046] “If a data profile contains different classifications (e.g., planting information, growing information, and harvesting information, chemical application information, and weather information) of crop data or a combination of production information, processing information, and manufacturing information, the data profile may be referred to as a collective data profile or a data profile” and [0052] “the crop tracing method and system of the present invention traces the crop through the agricultural production process… For example, the database can be maintained by a producer at the farm office, by an information service provider… The producer (i.e., grower) can use the data profile to market or sell the crop and can also deliver the data profile to a purchaser of the crop or to a downstream users of the crop so the users can obtain an agricultural product with verification and/or a high degree of confidence that a desired differentiated attribute is present.”).
detecting, by a plurality of sensors, the presence of radio-frequency identification (RFID) tags respectively associated with different stages of agricultural product harvest, transportation, and storage, wherein each of the plurality of sensors are configured to identify the batch of agricultural product and to send sensor data in association with a batch identifier, wherein the sensor data are at least one of time of agricultural product movement, date of agricultural product movement, equipment involved and location; ([0078] “The sensor input 318 may comprise one or more sensors mounted on the agricultural machine 311 (e.g., combine), such as yield sensors, moisture sensors, harvesting information sensors, harvested crop-information sensors, agricultural machine-setting sensors or other detection devices as will be later described in more detail. The sensor input 318 may collect harvesting information and crop information associated with the particular crop during or after harvesting” and [0072] “During or after harvesting operations, a container identification device 424 (e.g., optical, radio frequency, or electromagnetic detector or reader) supports identification of storage volumes (e.g., containers) to distinguish one storage volume (e.g., container) for holding the crop from another storage volume. The storage volume may comprise a container, a segregated storage bin, or any other mobile or stationary container for storing an agricultural product or crop”).
sending to a virtual or physical database the sensor data collected by the plurality of sensors in association with the batch identifier; storing in the virtual or physical database the sensor data received from the plurality of sensors in association with the batch identifier; ([0073] “The data collection interface 326 receives the input data from one or more of the foregoing data inputs 412. The data processor 334 may arrange or organize the input data prior to storing the input data in the data storage 332 or transferring the input data to another address or device. In one embodiment, the arranged input data may be referred to as a data profile. The data storage device 332 stores or electronically records at least one of crop information, planting information, planting location data, growing information, harvesting information, harvesting location data, processing information chemical application information, and weather information about the characteristics of a particular crop from a defined geographic area” and [0075] “each data profile is associated with a particular crop from a defined geographic area”).
receiving a query for the batch of agricultural product; ([0075] “A subscriber or user may request data profile or a portion of a data profile on a particular crop or a particular agricultural product by sending an electronic request from a subscriber terminal 352 to the data management system 350 via a communications network 348 (e.g., the Internet)”).
in response to the query, accessing the physical or virtual database to determine the associated sensor data for said batch of agricultural product; and outputting the sensor data and associated batch identifier for display. ([0156] “the consumer can access all or a part of the collective data profile as shown by the arrow 44. This access may be via a terminal at the retail outlet, via a personal computer using a network, such as the Internet, etc. A sample data profile 12 is shown in FIG. 17 as it may be presented to a consumer (e.g., in a display of a subscriber terminal 352)”).
Regarding Claim 2:
Pickett teaches all of the elements of Claim 1. Pickett also teaches: The method of claim 1, wherein additional data is input into the database or measured by additional sensors and associated with the batch of agricultural product, wherein the additional data is collected before agricultural product movement, during agricultural product movement, after agricultural product movement, or any combination thereof. ([0083] “The data processor 436 comprises an appender 438 and an assignment module 440. The appender 438 appends additional crop information to a corresponding data profile or an inchoate data profile” and [0101] “the data profile may supplemented with additional information from one or more of the following: a grower, an auditor of a grower, a processor (e.g., via a processor data processing system 434), a manufacturer (e.g., via a manufacturer data processing system 435) or another downstream user of the crop, a derivative of the particular crop, or a final product based on the particular crop. The additional information may comprise one or more of the following: production information, processing information, auditing information, manufacturing information, and a packaging identifier. The production information comprises one or more of the following: crop information, the recorded planting information, growing information, harvesting information, weather information, and chemical information. The processing information may relate to one or more processing steps performed by a crop processor or another recipient. The packaging identifier is associated with a package of the particular crop, a derivative product thereof, or a final product thereof”).
Regarding Claim 3:
Pickett teaches all of the elements of Claims 1 and 2. Pickett also teaches: The method of claim 2, wherein the additional data of the batch of agricultural product comprises one or more of: volume, mass, harvest location coordinates, moisture content, protein content, crop variety, crop type, nutritional properties, seed application data, chemical application data, fertilizer application data, soil conditions, soil type, agronomy data, seed type, certifications, weather data throughout crop lifecycle, crop-specific data, carbon sequestration or emissions, or any combination thereof. (See [0103] – [0107], for example [0104] “soil conditions”).
Regarding Claim 4:
Pickett teaches all of the elements of Claims 1-3. Pickett also teaches: The method of claim 3, further comprising accessing the database to determine one or more properties associated with the batch of agricultural product in response to the query, and outputting the one or more properties of the batch of agricultural product. ([0129] “the user may obtain the following information via a subscriber terminal 352 on a characteristic of the particular crop or a derivative thereof: an organic crop, an organically grown vegetable, an organically grown fruit, number two yellow corn, high oil corn, high starch corn…”).
Regarding Claim 5:
Pickett teaches all of the elements of Claim 1. Pickett also teaches: The method of Claim 1, wherein at least one of the plurality of sensors, the RFID tags and a Global Positioning System (GPS) locating device are placed on one or more of a harvester, tank, cart, truck, truck container, auger, leg, conveying device, and storage bin. ([0159] “data regarding the seed planted may be captured by a handheld data reader 76, such as a barcode reader, used to scan a barcode 78 on a seed bag 80. The barcode 78 contains information about the seed, in particular, the seed variety and other information that may be placed in the barcode by the seed producer. The barcode of the seed bag 80 is read by the barcode reader 76 prior to or at the time that the seed is placed into one of the hoppers 72 of the planter. The information collected by the reader 76 is downloaded to the computer 56. The producer 16 can also use the reader 76 to collect other planting or other production information. Other types of data collection devices can be used in place of the optical barcode reader. One alternative is radio frequency (RF) tags and readers. The method of the present invention is not limited to the use of any particular data collection device”).
Regarding Claim 6:
Pickett teaches all of the elements of Claim 1. Pickett also teaches: A system for autonomously tracking a batch of agricultural product, comprising: a processor; and a non-transitory computer-readable memory having computer- executable instructions stored thereon, which when executed by the processor configure the system to perform the method of claim 1. ([0083] “processor data processing system 434 may comprise a data processor 436, a data storage device 332, and a data collection interface 326 coupled to a databus 426” and see Fig 6).
Regarding Claim 7:
Pickett teaches all of the elements of Claims 1 and 6. Pickett also teaches: The system of claim 6, further comprising the plurality of sensors. ([0078] “The sensor input 318 may comprise one or more sensors mounted on the agricultural machine 311 (e.g., combine), such as yield sensors, moisture sensors, harvesting information sensors, harvested crop-information sensors, agricultural machine-setting sensors or other detection devices”).
Regarding Claim 12:
Pickett teaches all of the elements of Claim 11. Pickett also teaches: The method of claim 11 wherein the plurality of sensors are further configured to detect at least one of an orientation, a speed, an acceleration and a relative position with respect to other equipment of the harvesting, transportation and storage equipment. ([0163] “The combine 100 has a position receiver 104 that receives signals 60 from GPS satellites 62 and/or the differential GPS signals 64 from transmitter(s) 66. Information regarding the location of the combine while the crop in the grain tank is harvested is temporarily stored in a combine computer 106”).
Regarding Claim 13:
Pickett teaches all of the elements of Claim 11. Pickett also teaches: The method of claim 11 wherein the plurality of sensors are further configured to detect at least one of a change in weight and a direction of change in weight and sub-equipment working state of the harvesting, transportation and storage equipment. ([0178] “location and weight information of each bag of fruit harvested by given person can be collected. The information may be collected using a hand held device that receives location information from GPS signals, by field number, or by the number of a particular tree. Weight information for each bag of fruit picked can be collected electronically from a scale as each bag is weighed”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 8-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Publication 2003/0182144 (Pickett) in view of Canadian Patent CA 2607616 (Dodd) in view of Canadian Patent CA 3048298 (Alsayar).
Regarding Claim 8:
Pickett teaches all of the elements of Claims 1 and 6. Pickett does not specifically teach but Dodd, in the same field of art, teaches: The system of claim 6, further comprising: a system and components for serialized sampling of a batch of agricultural product, wherein the samples are collected from a location along the different stages of agricultural product harvest, transportation, and storage, ([page 10, lines 12-24] “as illustrated in Fig. 3 there are various points in the grain harvesting and transportation chain where it may be particularly advantageous to sample the grain. Early on in the process, for example, at step A, it may be useful to sample each load of grain from individual trucks to ensure that the grain in each truck is safe before it is mixed in with the bulk material in the grain elevator 48. Catching a contaminant at this level could be particularly useful in that it would prevent a large amount of grain from becoming contaminated. Another point at which the grain supply can be checked for contaminants is B when the grain from the grain elevator is off-loaded to another medium for further delivery, such as by railroad car. Yet another place where the grain can be sampled is when it is delivered to or from a loading dock C. Sampling at this stage is important as the grain is being agglomerated, and inadvertently mixing in a portion of contaminated grain may contaminate a large store of grain”).
and are virtually associated with the batch of agricultural product via a unique identification number, label, RFID chip, bar code, QR code, or serial number, wherein the agricultural product samples are representative samples of the batch from which they were taken ([Column 4, lines 21-24] “In one embodiment, a sample collected from a capture media is marked with a unique code, and this code is used to track that particular sample, and by inference the bulk grain store from which that sample was collected, throughout the rest of the food monitoring process”).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that the agricultural product tracking system taught by Pickett could predictably be improved by taking and testing samples at various points in the farm to table process, as taught by Dodd, for the reasons suggested by Dodd in [page 10, lines 12-24] to prevent contaminated products getting combined with a larger store of agricultural products.
Pickett does not specifically teach but Alsayer, in the same field of art, teaches: wherein the serialized samples are collected, segmented into tamper-proof containers, and stored separately from a storage bin for said batch ([page 21, lines 22-28] “In some embodiments, holding containers could provide a form of child-resistance, tamper proofing and/or tamper detection. Examples of holding containers include jars, bins, vessels, bags, packets, boxes, bottles and cartridges (for vaporization devices, for example), any of which could be made out of wood, paper, cardboard, plastic, glass and/or metal, for example. Some holding containers, such as jars and bottles, could be sealed with caps or lids. In some embodiments, caps include tamper-proof induction seals”).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that the agricultural product tracking system taught by Pickett could predictably be improved by putting the products in tamper-proof containers so that the locations and condition of the products at various points could be honestly tested without any risk of inadvertent or intentional contamination or switching, as taught by Alsayer.
Regarding Claim 9:
Pickett teaches all of the elements of Claims 1, 6 and 8. Pickett does not specifically teach but Alsayer teaches: The system of claim 8, wherein the tamper-proof containers are bags, jars, or pails. ([page 21, lines 22-28] “In some embodiments, holding containers could provide a form of child-resistance, tamper proofing and/or tamper detection. Examples of holding containers include jars, bins, vessels, bags, packets, boxes, bottles and cartridges (for vaporization devices, for example), any of which could be made out of wood, paper, cardboard, plastic, glass and/or metal, for example. Some holding containers, such as jars and bottles, could be sealed with caps or lids. In some embodiments, caps include tamper-proof induction seals”).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that the agricultural product tracking system taught by Pickett could predictably be improved by putting the products in tamper-proof containers so that the locations and condition of the products at various points could be honestly tested without any risk of inadvertent or intentional contamination or switching, as taught by Alsayer.
Regarding Claim 10:
Pickett teaches all of the elements of Claims 1, 6, 8 and 9. Pickett does not specifically teach but, as Applicant’s claims are best understood, Alsayer teaches: The system of claim 9, wherein the tamper-proof containers are affixed with a label with the batch and sensor data, as defined in claim 1, and optionally some or all of the additional data as defined in claim 4. ([Page 30, lines 1-9] “An ICS could use labels that are applied to holding containers and/or other packaging to help record and track cannabis products. In some embodiments, holding containers with pre-existing labels could be used. For example, a label with a unique identifier could be applied to a holding container without any knowledge of the cannabis product that will be later held in that holding container. Once the cannabis product that has been or will be transferred to the holding container is known, the label could be recorded in an ICS along with information relating to that cannabis product. Such information could include a cannabis producer number, lot number, batch number and/or plant number, for example.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that the agricultural product tracking system taught by Pickett could predictably be improved by labeling the sample containers with specific details, as taught by Alsayer, because it is predictable that lack of sufficient labeling risks sample getting lost or confused for others, ruining the analysis.
Conclusion
/KIMBERLY S. BURSUM/Examiner, Art Unit 3627