Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “negative polarity” in the drawings these must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 6-8, and 18-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN 112003474 A hereinafter, ‘474 in view of Tomas Manez et al (2024/0235397) hereinafter, Tomas.
In regards to claim 1, ‘474 teaches a display power supply device, comprising (abstract):
a first power conversion circuit configured to generate a first display driving voltage having a polarity (fig. 1 bottom converter circuit)
‘474 fails to teach generating having a negative polarity; and
However, Tomas teaches generating having a negative polarity.[0193].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the teachings of ‘474 to further include generating having a negative polarity as taught by Tomas in order to provide for systems with negative input voltages [0193].
Therefore, ‘474 in view of Tomas teaches a second power conversion circuit comprising (fig. 1 bigger dashed box):
a first power switch configured to transmit an input voltage to a first node (fig. 1 S3),
an inductor (fig. 1 L2)) having one end electrically connected to the first node (fig. 1 node between switches) and the other end to which the first display driving voltage is supplied (fig. 1 output of 1st stage), and
a second power switch configured to control an electrical connection between the first node and a first load, wherein the second power conversion circuit is configured to generate a second display driving voltage having a negative polarity by controlling the first and second power switches in a buck-boost mode (fig. 1 buck boost)pg. 4-5/11).
In regards to claim [Claim 18] ‘474 teaches a power supply device, comprising (abstract):
a first power conversion circuit configured to generate a first voltage (fig. 1 output of first converter) generating having a polarity. (fig. 1 bottom converter circuit)
‘474 fails to teach generating having a negative polarity; and
However, Tomas teaches generating having a negative polarity.[0193].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the teachings of ‘474 to further include generating having a negative polarity as taught by Tomas in order to provide for systems with negative input voltages [0193].
Therefore, ‘474 in view of Tomas teaches a first power conversion circuit configured to generate a first voltage (fig. 1 output of first converter ‘474) generating having a negative polarity [193] Tomas
a second power conversion circuit configured to supply an input voltage and the first voltage to one end and the other end of an inductor, respectively, by controlling a first power switch, and to output electric energy generated in the inductor as a second voltage by controlling a second power switch (fig. 1 L2 output from first buck-boost circuit) ‘474.
In regards to claim [Claim 2], ‘474 in view of Tomas teaches the display power supply device of claim 1, wherein an absolute value of a voltage level of the first display driving voltage is lower than an absolute value of a voltage level of the second display driving voltage (pg. 6/8 100V and output of 1200V) ‘474.
In regards to claim [Claim 6], ‘474 in view of Tomas teaches display power supply device of claim 1, wherein the first power conversion circuit is configurated to convert the input voltage to generate the first display driving voltage [0208] for display devices Tomas.
In regards to claim [Claim 7], ‘474 in view of Tomas teaches display power supply device of claim 6, wherein the first power conversion circuit comprises a buck-boost type power stage in which the input voltage is transferred to one side of the inductor and a ground voltage is supplied to the other side thereof.(fig. 1 L1 and pg. 6/8) ‘474
In regards to claim [Claim 8], ‘474 in view of Tomas teaches display power supply device of claim 1, wherein the first display driving voltage has a voltage level lower than ground voltages of the first load and a second load. (pg. 6/8 100V and output of 1200V) ‘474 in view of [0193] Tomas
In regards to claim [Claim 19], ‘474 in view of Tomas teaches the power supply device of claim 18, wherein the first voltage has a voltage level lower than a ground voltage of a load to which the second voltage is supplied [193] Tomas.
In regards to claim [Claim 20], ‘474 in view of Tomas teaches power supply device of claim 18, wherein the first power conversion circuit is configured to operate in a buck-boost mode, and the second power conversion circuit is configured to operate in a buck-boost mode or a boost mode (fig. 1 buck-boost mode for both conversion circuits) ‘474.
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN 112003474 A hereinafter, ‘474 in view of Tomas Manez et al (2024/0235397) hereinafter, Tomas further in view of Park et al 2015/0005203, hereinafter, Park.
In regards to claim [Claim 3] ‘474 and Tomas fail to teach the display power supply device of claim 2, wherein the first power conversion circuit is configured to supply the first display driving voltage to an N-DAC of a device that alternately supplies positive and negative voltages to a pixel disposed on a display panel using a P-DAC and the N-DAC.
However, Park teaches wherein the first power conversion circuit is configured to supply the first display driving voltage to an N-DAC of a device that alternately supplies positive and negative voltages to a pixel disposed on a display panel using a P-DAC and the N-DAC (fig. 1 (PDAC and NDAC) [0031-0040] .
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the teachings of ‘474 and Tomas to further include wherein the first power conversion circuit is configured to supply the first display driving voltage to an N-DAC of a device that alternately supplies positive and negative voltages to a pixel disposed on a display panel using a P-DAC and the N-DAC as taught by Park in order to enable precharing [0035].
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN 112003474 A hereinafter, ‘474 in view of Tomas Manez et al (2024/0235397) hereinafter, Tomas further in view of Jung et al 2023/0396142
In regards to claim [Claim 5]. ‘474 and Tomas fails to teach the display power supply device of claim 1, wherein the second display driving voltage is configurated to be generated before the first display driving voltage.
However, Jung teaches wherein the second display driving voltage is configurated to be generated before the first display driving voltage (fig. 6 Pul2 before pul1.[0059-0065]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the teachings of ‘474 in view of Tomas to further include wherein the second display driving voltage is configurated to be generated before the first display driving voltage as taught by Jung with simple substitution of one duty ratio for another and the results would have preformed equally well at driving the display.
Claim(s) 11-12, and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Noh 2020/0304028 hereinafter, Noh in view of Tomas Manez et al (2024/0235397) hereinafter, Tomas.
In regards to claim 11, Noh teaches a display power supply device, comprising:
a first power conversion circuit configured to generate a first display driving voltage having a polarity; (fig. 1 bottom converter circuit) Noh and
‘474 fails to teach generating having a negative polarity; and
However, Tomas teaches generating having a negative polarity.[0193].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the teachings of ‘474 to further include generating having a negative polarity as taught by Tomas in order to provide for systems with negative input voltages [0193].
Therefore, Noh in view of Tomas Manez teaches a second power conversion circuit comprising (fig. 4 (120) Noh):
an inductor having one end electrically connected to a first node and the other end to which an input voltage is supplied (fig. 4 L2) Noh
a first power switch configured to transmit a first display driving voltage to the first node (fig. 4 S3 and N3), and
a second power switch configured to control an electrical connection between the first node and a first load (fig. 1 S4),
wherein the second power conversion circuit is configured to generate a second display driving voltage by controlling the first and second power switches in a boost mode (fig. 4 No [0033] Noh).
In regards to claim [Claim 12], Noh in view of Tomas teaches the display power supply device of claim 11, wherein the input voltage and the second display driving voltage have positive polarities (fig. 4 (positive voltage) Noh), and a voltage level of the input voltage is lower than a voltage level of the second display driving voltage. [0193] Tomas
In regards to claim [Claim 15], Noh in view of Tomas teaches display power supply device of claim 11, wherein the first display driving voltage has a voltage level lower than a ground voltage of the first load. in view of (fig. 4 Vi in view of [0193] Tomas)
Claim(s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Noh in view of Tomas Manez et al (2024/0235397) hereinafter, Tomas further in view of Park et al 2015/0005203, hereinafter, Park.
In regards to claim [Claim 13], Noh and Tomas fail to teach the display power supply device of claim 11, wherein the first power conversion circuit is configured to supply the first display driving voltage to an N-DAC of a device that alternately supplies positive and negative voltages to a pixel disposed on a display panel using a P-DAC and the N-DAC.
However, Park teaches wherein the first power conversion circuit is configured to supply the first display driving voltage to an N-DAC of a device that alternately supplies positive and negative voltages to a pixel disposed on a display panel using a P-DAC and the N-DAC. (fig. 1 (PDAC and NDAC) [0031-0040]) .
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the teachings of Noh and Tomas to further include wherein the first power conversion circuit is configured to supply the first display driving voltage to an N-DAC of a device that alternately supplies positive and negative voltages to a pixel disposed on a display panel using a P-DAC and the N-DAC as taught by Park in order to enable precharing [0035].
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4, 9-10, 14, and 16-17 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/GRANT SITTA/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2622