DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
This action is in reply to the communications filed on 9/5/2025.
Claims 1-12 are amended.
Claim 13 is cancelled.
Claims 1-12 are currently pending and have been examined.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 9/5/2025 is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Under Step 1 of the Subject Matter Eligibility Test for Products and Processes, the claims must be directed to one of the four statutory categories. All the claims are directed to one of the four statutory categories (YES).
Under Step 2A of the Subject Matter Eligibility Test for Products and Processes (see MPEP § 2106 Subsection III), it is determined whether the claims are directed to a judicially recognized exception. Step 2A is a two-prong inquiry.
Under Prong 1, it is determined whether the claim recites a judicial exception (YES). Taking Claim 1 as representative, the claim recites limitations that fall within the certain methods of organizing human activity grouping of abstract ideas, including:
An information processing apparatus comprising:
at least one memory storing instructions; and
at least one processor that is configured to execute the instructions for:
acquiring product information about a product, by using a product information acquisition device;
processing the product by using the product information; and
changing an operation of at least one of the acquiring product information and the processing, depending on at least one of a target who uses the information processing apparatus and a position of the information processing apparatus.
Certain methods of organizing human activity include:
fundamental economic principles or practices (including hedging, insurance, and mitigating risk)
commercial or legal interactions (including agreements in the form of contracts; legal obligations; advertising, marketing or sales activities or behaviors; and business relations)
managing personal behavior or relationships or interactions between people (including social activities, teaching, and following rules or instructions)
The limitations as emphasized, are a process that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers a commercial interaction. That is, nothing in the claim element precludes the step from practically being performed by people. For example, “acquiring, processing, and changing” in the context of this claim encompasses advertising, and marketing or sales activities.
If a claim limitation, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers a commercial interaction but for the recitation of generic computer components, then it falls within the “certain methods of organizing human activity” grouping of abstract ideas. Accordingly, the claim recites an abstract idea.
Under Prong 2, it is determined whether the claim recites additional elements that integrate the exception into a practical application of the exception. This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application (NO).
The claim recites additional elements beyond the judicial exception(s), including:
An information processing apparatus comprising:
at least one memory storing instructions; and
at least one processor that is configured to execute the instructions for:
acquiring product information about a product, by using a product information acquisition device;
processing the product by using the product information; and
changing an operation of at least one of the acquiring product information and the processing, depending on at least one of a target who uses the information processing apparatus and a position of the information processing apparatus..
.
These limitations are not indicative of integration into a practical application because:
The additional elements of claim 1 are recited at a high level of generality (i.e. as generic computing hardware) such that they amount to nothing more than mere instructions to implement or apply the abstract idea on a generic computing hardware (or, merely use a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea.) Specifically, the additional element of at least one memory, instructions, at least one processor, a product acquisition device, and an information processing apparatus is recited at a high-level of generality (i.e., as a generic processor performing a generic computer function of connecting to a platform on a network) such that it amounts no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component. Accordingly, this additional element does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. The claim is directed to an abstract idea. Further, the additional elements to no more than generally link the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use (such as computers or computing networks). For example, stating that the acquiring is performed by using a product information acquisition device, only generally links the commercial interactions and management of relationships or interactions between people to a computer environment. Employing well-known computer functions to execute an abstract idea, even when limiting the use of the idea to one particular environment, does not integrate the exception into a practical application.
Additionally, the additional elements are insufficient to integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because the claim fails to i) reflect an improvement in the functioning of a computer or an improvement to another technology or technical field, ii) apply the judicial exception with, or use the judicial exception in conjunction with, a particular machine or manufacture that is integral to the claim, iii) effect a transformation or reduction of a particular article to a different state or thing, or iv) apply or use the judicial exception in some other meaningful way beyond generally linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment.
Accordingly, the judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application.
Under Step 2B, it is determined whether the claims recite additional elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. The claims of the present application do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception (NO).
In the case of system claim 1 taken individually or as a whole, the additional elements of claim 1 do not provide an inventive concept. As discussed above under step 2A (prong 2) with respect to the integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional elements used to perform the claimed functions amount to no more than a general link to a technological environment.
Even considered as an ordered combination (as a whole), the additional elements do not add anything significantly more than when considered individually.
Therefore, claim 1 does not provide an inventive concept and does not qualify as eligible subject matter.
Claim 11 is a system reciting similar functions as claim 1, and does not qualify as eligible subject matter for similar reasons. Examiner notes that Claim 1 additionally recites a plurality of payment support apparatuses, a shared apparatus, a payment communication device, a shared communication device, which only generally links the abstract idea to a technological environment (computer networks).
Claim 12 is a method reciting similar functions as claim 1, and does not qualify as eligible subject matter for similar reasons.
Claims 2-10 are dependencies of claim 1. The dependent claims do not add “significantly more” to the abstract idea. They recite additional functions that describe the abstract idea and only generally link the abstract idea to a particular technological environment, including:
receiving caller position information indicating a position of a target calling the information processing apparatus; controlling the self-propulsion mechanism, based on the caller position information. (no details are recited regarding what steps are performed to control the self-propulsion mechanism, it only generally links the abstract idea to a technological environment)
receiving, from an external apparatus of the information processing apparatus, congestion information indicating a degree of congestion around the external apparatus, controlling the self-propulsion mechanism, based on the congestion information.. ((no details are recited regarding what steps are performed to control the self-propulsion mechanism, it only generally links the abstract idea to a technological environment))
an imaging device that captures images of the product; a code reader that reads a code obtained by encoding the product information about the product attached to the product; an information reader that reads the product information about the product attached to the product; and a receiving device that detects an instruction action of the target and receives an input corresponding to the product, and(no details are recited regarding what steps are performed to detect an instruction action, it only generally links the abstract idea to a technological environment)
Accordingly, the Examiner concludes that there are no meaningful limitations in the claim that transform the judicial exception into a patent eligible application such that the claim amounts to significantly more than the judicial exception itself. The analysis above applies to all statutory categories of invention.
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter. The claims do not fall within at least one of the four categories of patent eligible subject matter because the claimed invention is directed signals per se.
Claim 20 is directed to a computer readable medium. Claims are given their broadest reasonable interpretation consistent with the specification during proceedings before the USPTO. See In re Zletz, 893.2d 319 (Fed. Cir. 1989). The broadest reasonable interpretation of a claim drawn to a computer readable medium typically covers forms of non-transitory media and transitory propaganda signals per se in view of the ordinary and customary meaning of computer readable media, particularly when the specification is silent. See MPEP 2111.01. Signals per se are non-statutory subject matter, therefore claims 8-14 are non-statutory. See In re Nuijten, 500 F.3d 1346, 1356-57 (Fed. Cir. 2007) (See Kappos Memo dated January 26, 2010).
Applicant is advised that amending the claims to recite a “non-transitory computer readable medium” shall overcome the noted rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2022/0012677 A1 to Rongley in view of US 2017/0072568 A1 to Hitchcock.
Regarding Claim 1, Rongley discloses An information processing apparatus comprising: at least one memory storing instructions; and at least one processor that is configured to execute the instructions for:
acquiring product information about a product, by using a product information acquisition device; ([0040] the cloud computing platform may transmit regular updates (e.g., software) to the one or more autonomous robots to enhance their ability to provide a customized shopping experience. In some cases, the data received from the one or more autonomous robots may include one or more of: user profiles, including a payment profile for each user, historical selling patterns at the retail store, prior shopping history for different user profiles, etc. In some examples, prior shopping history for a user profile may include a list of products bought by the user, brands and/or size (i.e., for clothing items), a list of items returned by the user, online reviews and ratings (if any) for items purchased by the user, etc.)
processing the product by using the product information; and ([0090] Second operation 220 may comprise identifying an inventory level for each of the plurality of autonomous storage units, the inventory level comprising at least a number/quantity and product description of one or more inventory items held by each autonomous storage unit. In some cases, the product description may comprise one or more of a barcode, a SKU, a QR code (if applicable), a brand name or product name, a size (e.g., to differentiate between 10 oz potato chips and 20 oz potato chips sold by the same manufacturer), and any other relevant information related to the inventory item. )
changing an operation of at least one of the acquiring product information and the processing, depending on at least one of a target who uses the information processing apparatus. ([0049] Similarly, the lockable cabinet of the autonomous robot may also serve to optimize user experience at retail stores that allow customers to order goods online and pick them up at the store. In some cases, autonomous robots may comprise a plurality of lockers for storing such goods, and users may be able to pick up their goods after confirming their identity. For instance, as described above, autonomous robots may be configured to confirm user/customer identity using one or more means, such as facial recognition, iris scan, fingerprint scan, voice recognition, security key or password, etc. In some examples, after confirming the customer's identity, the robot may unlock a cabinet or shelf carrying the customer's package.)
But does not explicitly disclose changing an operation depending on a position of the information processing apparatus.
Hitchcock, on the other hand, teaches hanging an operation depending on a position of the information processing apparatus. ([0039] For example, the robot (101) can further be used to assist product purchase and fulfillment. The robot (101) can be used to deliver goods to a central location for fulfillment. For example, in services such as hands free shopping and centralized fashion lounge, the customers can try on clothing from several different retailers in one location, after the robot (101) collects the goods from different retailers in a shopping mall and delivery the collected goods to the current retailer location of the customer.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Rongley to include the features as taught by Hitchcock. One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to modify Rongley in order to provide a user interface for interaction, and/or transport items. (Hitchcock, [0020]).
Regarding Claim 2, Rongley in view of Hitchcock teaches the apparatus of claim 1.
Rongley discloses acquiring biometric information on the target; authenticating the target by using the biometric information; ([0049] Similarly, the lockable cabinet of the autonomous robot may also serve to optimize user experience at retail stores that allow customers to order goods online and pick them up at the store. In some cases, autonomous robots may comprise a plurality of lockers for storing such goods, and users may be able to pick up their goods after confirming their identity. For instance, as described above, autonomous robots may be configured to confirm user/customer identity using one or more means, such as facial recognition, iris scan, fingerprint scan, voice recognition, security key or password, etc. In some examples, after confirming the customer's identity, the robot may unlock a cabinet or shelf carrying the customer's package.)
Hitchcock on the other hand, teaches identifying a store to which the target who uses the information processing apparatus belongs, based on a result of the authenticating; and changing the operation of at least one of the acquiring product information and the processing. ([0041] For example, when the robot (101) visits a retailer in a shopping mall, a person in the retailer store may interact with the robot (101) on behalf of the retailer. The touch screen (103) provides a user interface that communicates to the persons items to be placed inside the storage space (107) of the robot (101) and/or retrieved from the storage space (107). Thus, the robot (101) can transport goods from and/or to the retailer. [0042] Further, the robot (101) may receive offers and/or product inventory information from the representative of the retailer. For example, a computing device of the representative (e.g., a smart phone, a tablet computer, a computer having a dock station) can be used to transmit the information to the robot (101) via a wireless or wired connection.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Rongley to include the features as taught by Hitchcock. One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to modify Rongley in order to provide a user interface for interaction, and/or transport items. (Hitchcock, [0020]).
Regarding Claim 3, Rongley in view of Hitchcock teaches the apparatus of claim 2.
Hitchcock teaches the at least one processor is configured to execute the instructions for changing the operation of at least one of the acquiring product information and the processing to perform an operation related to a first store in a case where a target who belongs to the first store is authenticated, and changing the operation of at least one of the acquiring product information and the processing to perform an operation related to a second store in a case where a target who belongs to the second store is authenticated.; ( [0041] For example, when the robot (101) visits a retailer in a shopping mall, a person in the retailer store may interact with the robot (101) on behalf of the retailer. The touch screen (103) provides a user interface that communicates to the persons items to be placed inside the storage space (107) of the robot (101) and/or retrieved from the storage space (107). Thus, the robot (101) can transport goods from and/or to the retailer. [0042] Further, the robot (101) may receive offers and/or product inventory information from the representative of the retailer. For example, a computing device of the representative (e.g., a smart phone, a tablet computer, a computer having a dock station) can be used to transmit the information to the robot (101) via a wireless or wired connection.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Rongley to include the features as taught by Hitchcock. One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to modify Rongley in order to provide a user interface for interaction, and/or transport items. (Hitchcock, [0020]).
Regarding Claim 4, Rongley in view of Hitchcock teaches the apparatus of claim 1.
Hitchcock teaches controlling a self-propulsion mechanism that allows the information processing apparatus to self-propel; acquiring position information indicating the position of the information processing apparatus; and, identifying a store at which the information processing apparatus is used, based on the position information, and changing the operation of at least one of the acquiring product information and the processing ; ([0041] For example, when the robot (101) visits a retailer in a shopping mall, a person in the retailer store may interact with the robot (101) on behalf of the retailer. The touch screen (103) provides a user interface that communicates to the persons items to be placed inside the storage space (107) of the robot (101) and/or retrieved from the storage space (107). Thus, the robot (101) can transport goods from and/or to the retailer. [0042] Further, the robot (101) may receive offers and/or product inventory information from the representative of the retailer. For example, a computing device of the representative (e.g., a smart phone, a tablet computer, a computer having a dock station) can be used to transmit the information to the robot (101) via a wireless or wired connection.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Rongley to include the features as taught by Hitchcock. One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to modify Rongley in order to provide a user interface for interaction, and/or transport items. (Hitchcock, [0020]).
Regarding Claim 5, Rongley in view of Hitchcock teaches the apparatus of claim 1.
Rongley discloses receiving caller position information indicating a position of a target calling the information processing apparatus; controlling the self-propulsion mechanism, based on the caller position information. ; ([0137] In some embodiments, storage units 601 may be configured to carry clothing items, including shirts, pants, socks, etc., based on the prior shopping history of customer 604, which may take into account one or more of: brands or labels previously bought by the customer 604, sizes, colors and/or patterns (if applicable), price point (e.g., customer 604 usually buys t-shirts under $20, jeans under $100, etc.). In some cases, the storage units 601 may also carry inventory items that the customer 604 is likely to buy, which may be based on comparing an estimated probability to a probability threshold (e.g., 60%) set by the storage units 601, retail controller 605, or another central server or system. [0049] Similarly, the lockable cabinet of the autonomous robot may also serve to optimize user experience at retail stores that allow customers to order goods online and pick them up at the store. In some cases, autonomous robots may comprise a plurality of lockers for storing such goods, and users may be able to pick up their goods after confirming their identity. For instance, as described above, autonomous robots may be configured to confirm user/customer identity using one or more means, such as facial recognition, iris scan, fingerprint scan, voice recognition, security key or password, etc. In some examples, after confirming the customer's identity, the robot may unlock a cabinet or shelf carrying the customer's package.)
Regarding Claim 6, Rongley in view of Hitchcock teaches the apparatus of claim 4.
Hitchcock teaches receiving, from an external apparatus of the information processing apparatus, congestion information indicating a degree of congestion around the external apparatus; controlling the self-propulsion mechanism, based on the congestion information.; ([0075] In one embodiment, the camera data (145) collected by the robot (101) is analyzed to generate at least portion of the operation data (225), indicating the customer traffic level (233) in the retail space, [0105] the robots are configured to capture the photo images while being dispatched to the spaces; and the server is configured to analyze the photo images to determine measurements of the foot traffic in the area, wherein the prediction is based at least in part on the measurements of the foot traffic in the area.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Rongley to include the features as taught by Hitchcock. One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to modify Rongley in order to provide a user interface for interaction, and/or transport items. (Hitchcock, [0020]).
Regarding Claim 7, Rongley in view of Hitchcock teaches the apparatus of claim 2.
Rongley discloses the product information acquisition device includes at least one of: an imaging device that captures images of the product; a code reader that reads a code obtained by encoding the product information about the product attached to the product; an information reader that reads the product information about the product attached to the product; and a receiving device that detects an instruction action of the target and receives an input corresponding to the product, and ([0015] the at least one autonomous storage unit comprises one or more of an image recognition device and a radio frequency identification (RFID) reader. )
Hitchcock, on the other hand,. Teaches the at least one processor is configured to execute the instructions for identifying a store at which the information processing apparatus is used, and changing from which device included in the product information acquisition device to acquire the product information. ([0041] For example, when the robot (101) visits a retailer in a shopping mall, a person in the retailer store may interact with the robot (101) on behalf of the retailer. The touch screen (103) provides a user interface that communicates to the persons items to be placed inside the storage space (107) of the robot (101) and/or retrieved from the storage space (107). Thus, the robot (101) can transport goods from and/or to the retailer. [0042] Further, the robot (101) may receive offers and/or product inventory information from the representative of the retailer. For example, a computing device of the representative (e.g., a smart phone, a tablet computer, a computer having a dock station) can be used to transmit the information to the robot (101) via a wireless or wired connection.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Rongley to include the features as taught by Hitchcock. One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to modify Rongley in order to provide a user interface for interaction, and/or transport items. (Hitchcock, [0020]).
Regarding Claim 8, Rongley in view of Hitchcock teaches the apparatus of claim 2.
Rongley discloses identifying at which store the information processing apparatus is used and in response to acquisition of product information indicating a product that does not belong to a store at which the information processing apparatus is used, outputting information indicating the product that does not belong to the store. ([0119] In other cases, the inventory storage device may alert or advise the retail store, for instance, if a customer incorrectly placed an item on its shelves. )
Regarding Claim 9, Rongley in view of Hitchcock teaches the apparatus of claim 2.
Rongley discloses in response to an instruction of closing processing of payment processing at the store being received from the target, acquiring the biometric information on the target authenticating the target by using the biometric information and performing the closing processing in response to a success in the authenticating ([0045] In some embodiments, autonomous robots may serve as a point of sale (POS) within the retail control territory. For instance, an autonomous robot may include payment processing capabilities, such as credit card payments, Near Field Communication (NFC) payments, wire transfers, cryptocurrencies, etc., via one or more of the wireless, Bluetooth, and NFC systems. In some cases, the autonomous robot may also be configured to issue refunds to customers (e.g., if the customer is returning an item). Although not necessary, in some cases, a user or customer may set up a payment account (i.e., upload payment information to a customer profile) with the retail system, or an autonomous storage unit operating within the retail system. In such cases, the autonomous storage unit may utilize one or more of facial recognition technology, a finger-print reader, iris scanner, voice recognition, or any other identification techniques to confirm the user's identity and charge their account accordingly.)
Regarding Claim 10, Rongley in view of Hitchcock teaches the apparatus of claim 4.
Rongley discloses in response to an instruction of closing processing of payment processing at the store being received from the target, acquiring the position information indicating the position of the information processing apparatus, identifying a store at which the information processing apparatus is used, based on the position information, acquiring, from the target, identification information capable of identifying the target, and performing the closing processing in a case where the target is a person who belongs to the store, by using the identification information. ([0045] In some embodiments, autonomous robots may serve as a point of sale (POS) within the retail control territory. For instance, an autonomous robot may include payment processing capabilities, such as credit card payments, Near Field Communication (NFC) payments, wire transfers, cryptocurrencies, etc., via one or more of the wireless, Bluetooth, and NFC systems. In some cases, the autonomous robot may also be configured to issue refunds to customers (e.g., if the customer is returning an item). Although not necessary, in some cases, a user or customer may set up a payment account (i.e., upload payment information to a customer profile) with the retail system, or an autonomous storage unit operating within the retail system. In such cases, the autonomous storage unit may utilize one or more of facial recognition technology, a finger-print reader, iris scanner, voice recognition, or any other identification techniques to confirm the user's identity and charge their account accordingly. [0049] Similarly, the lockable cabinet of the autonomous robot may also serve to optimize user experience at retail stores that allow customers to order goods online and pick them up at the store. In some cases, autonomous robots may comprise a plurality of lockers for storing such goods, and users may be able to pick up their goods after confirming their identity. For instance, as described above, autonomous robots may be configured to confirm user/customer identity using one or more means, such as facial recognition, iris scan, fingerprint scan, voice recognition, security key or password, etc. In some examples, after confirming the customer's identity, the robot may unlock a cabinet or shelf carrying the customer's package. In other cases, a master controller (e.g., shown as retail controller 805 in FIG. 8) may transmit a QR code to the customer's mobile device. In such cases, the robot or autonomous storage unit may scan the QR code presented by the user on their mobile device, and unlock the particular cabinet or shelf corresponding to that QR code. )
Regarding Claim 11, Rongley discloses An information processing system comprising: a plurality of payment support apparatuses; and a shared apparatus, each of the plurality of payment support apparatuses including: ([0036] directing and controlling of autonomous inventory storage units (also referred to as autonomous robots) in a retail control territory in order to provide a personalized shopping experience to customers.) a payment communication device that communicates with an external apparatus of the payment support apparatus; ([0039] expediting check out process by directly billing the customer or providing payment processing at the robot (e.g., the robot may be configured to accept credit cards, digital wallets, cryptocurrencies, etc.),) at least one memory storing instructions; and at least one processor that is configured to execute the instructions for:
acquiring product information about a product, by using a product information acquisition device; ([0040] the cloud computing platform may transmit regular updates (e.g., software) to the one or more autonomous robots to enhance their ability to provide a customized shopping experience. In some cases, the data received from the one or more autonomous robots may include one or more of: user profiles, including a payment profile for each user, historical selling patterns at the retail store, prior shopping history for different user profiles, etc. In some examples, prior shopping history for a user profile may include a list of products bought by the user, brands and/or size (i.e., for clothing items), a list of items returned by the user, online reviews and ratings (if any) for items purchased by the user, etc.)
processing the product by using the product information; and ([0090] Second operation 220 may comprise identifying an inventory level for each of the plurality of autonomous storage units, the inventory level comprising at least a number/quantity and product description of one or more inventory items held by each autonomous storage unit. In some cases, the product description may comprise one or more of a barcode, a SKU, a QR code (if applicable), a brand name or product name, a size (e.g., to differentiate between 10 oz potato chips and 20 oz potato chips sold by the same manufacturer), and any other relevant information related to the inventory item. )
changing an operation of at least one of the acquiring product information and the processing, depending on at least one of a target who uses the information processing apparatus. ([0049] Similarly, the lockable cabinet of the autonomous robot may also serve to optimize user experience at retail stores that allow customers to order goods online and pick them up at the store. In some cases, autonomous robots may comprise a plurality of lockers for storing such goods, and users may be able to pick up their goods after confirming their identity. For instance, as described above, autonomous robots may be configured to confirm user/customer identity using one or more means, such as facial recognition, iris scan, fingerprint scan, voice recognition, security key or password, etc. In some examples, after confirming the customer's identity, the robot may unlock a cabinet or shelf carrying the customer's package.)
the shared apparatus including: a shared communication device that communicates with an external apparatus of the shared apparatus; ([0050]] FIG. 1 illustrates a system 100 configured for dynamically organizing autonomous storage units in a retail control territory, in accordance with one or more implementations. In some implementations, system 100 may include one or more servers 102. Server(s) 102 may be configured to communicate with one or more client computing platforms 104 according to a client/server architecture and/or other architectures. Client computing platform(s) 104 may be configured to communicate with other client computing platforms via server(s) 102 and/or according to a peer-to-peer architecture and/or other architectures. Users may access system 100 via client computing platform(s) 104)
at least one memory storing instructions; and at least one processor that is configured to execute the instructions for acquiring, from each of the plurality of payment support apparatuses via the payment communication device and the shared communication device, ([0039] expediting check out process by directly billing the customer or providing payment processing at the robot (e.g., the robot may be configured to accept credit cards, digital wallets, cryptocurrencies, etc.),)
payment support apparatus information including at least one of position information indicating a position of the payment support apparatus, usage status information indicating a usage status of the payment support apparatus, and payment information indicating payment made at the payment support apparatus, and ([0039] expediting check out process by directly billing the customer or providing payment processing at the robot (e.g., the robot may be configured to accept credit cards, digital wallets, cryptocurrencies, etc.),)
recording the payment support apparatus information. ([0046] record the same to a checkout database. In some cases, the autonomous storage unit may also record an identity (e.g., a photo, video) of the customer that removed the inventory items to the checkout database.)
But does not explicitly disclose changing an operation depending on a position of the information processing apparatus; position information indicating a position of the payment support apparatus,.
Hitchcock, on the other hand, teaches hanging an operation depending on a position of the information processing apparatus. ([0039] For example, the robot (101) can further be used to assist product purchase and fulfillment. The robot (101) can be used to deliver goods to a central location for fulfillment. For example, in services such as hands free shopping and centralized fashion lounge, the customers can try on clothing from several different retailers in one location, after the robot (101) collects the goods from different retailers in a shopping mall and delivery the collected goods to the current retailer location of the customer.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Rongley to include the features as taught by Hitchcock. One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to modify Rongley in order to provide a user interface for interaction, and/or transport items. (Hitchcock, [0020]).
Claim 12 is a method claim that is rejected with the same basis as claim 1.
Conclusion
/MICHELLE T KRINGEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3689